BBB Accredited Business since

Shea Homes

Additional Locations

Phone: (925) 245-3600 Fax: (925) 245-8831 View Additional Phone Numbers 2580 Shea Center Dr, Livermore, CA 94551 http://www.sheahomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new home developer.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shea Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shea Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shea Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 05/05/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Layne Marceau, President Ms. Joanne Anderson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Layne Marceau, President
Number of Employees

135

Business Category

Home Builders Mortgage Lender

Alternate Business Names
JF Shea

Additional Locations

  • 2580 Shea Center Dr

    Livermore, CA 94551

  • PO Box 5064

    Livermore, CA 94551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My condo flooded in February and the new contractor that renovated it and discovered that **** Homes did not insulate the pipes at all On February 20th the fire sprinkler pipe over my Kitchen burst causing a flood in my condo of the entire 1st floor. When the ceiling was removed, the contractor doing the renovation work (***** ****) discovered that the pipes were not insulated at all and they are in an attic space that is unconditioned. According to the code in NC any pipe in an area that gets below 40 degrees must be insulated or the area tented to protect the pipes. The day of the flood I spoke with a **** Homes punch man (****) and he told me that "**** Homes has no responsibility for this issue". Several days later, I contacted ****'s Homes and asked to speak with ****, **** or **** **** or ***** ****** (the companies top executives) and was told that they were too busy to speak to me. Then, I was referred to the warranty girl (***) who then referred me to the property management group. Anyone with any authority would not come to the phone. Then, ****, the current superintendent in the neighborhood, came to speak with me and my contractor. He explained that he had only built the last 6 units in the neighborhood and that he was tenting the area in my floorplan to protect it. Basically, **** Homes changed their practice as they realized they were not doing it correctly. **** said that he would go into the office at **** Homes and tell **** **** to contact me. As of yet, nobody from **** has contacted me. I consulted an attorney who sent a letter a week ago via certified mail to **** **** explaining the situation and asked **** to call him. We have not heard a word. The upsetting thing is not only the amount of money that I am spending to cover deductibles on 2 insurance companies, lost time at work, etc but that **** Homes clearly did shoddy work in my condo (and believe many of the units in our neighborhood as 9 have had floods in the past year due to similar issues)and won't even acknowledge my calls. This is simply bad business...bad work up front and bad customer service to fix their mistakes that have been very costly and stressful to me. I have filed a complaint with the Charlotte BBB and doing it with the California BBB because this is where **** Homes is headquartered. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Better Business Bureau of Charlotte

Desired Settlement: Full reimbursement for anything not covered by the 2 insurance companies involved (there is a HOA insurance...Travelers...and my contents insurance company...Stillwater), lost time at work and an apology from Shea Homes for their poor workmanship and for how they have handled this situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/21) */ To Whom It May Concern: We are in receipt of the attached complaint filed by ******* ****** ("Ms. ******") against Shea Homes Limited Partnership ("SHLP"). We believe there are two errors with the complaint requiring it to be dismissed. Shea Homes Limited Partnership is not affiliated with Shea Homes of North Carolina. They are unrelated companies, albeit sharing a name. Furthermore, SHLP's corporate headquarters is in Walnut, California, not in Northern California. SHLP has a division in Northern California, but it is not SHLP's headquarters nor is SHLP or its Northern California Division legally affiliated with Shea Homes of North Carolina. Ms. ****** has also filed her complaint with the North Carolina Better Business Bureau, which appears to be the proper venue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shea Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)