BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a network of physicians who have joined together to provide all types of medical care to the local community. Through Hill Physicians consumers can choose form thousands of primary care doctors and specialists located across Northern California.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hill Physicians Medical Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hill Physicians Medical Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hill Physicians Medical Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 1996 Business started: 12/01/1983 Business started locally: 12/01/1983 Business incorporated 12/15/1983 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Med. Bd. of Calif/Dept of Con. Affairs
1426 Howe Ave, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.mbc.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
The number is 24707.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Crawford, Director of Marketing & Communications Ms. Jamila Carter, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jamila Carter, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Crawford, Director of Marketing & Communications
Number of Employees

500

Business Category

Health & Medical - General Medical Case Management Health Maintenance Organizations Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans Health & Wellness Hospital Consultants Hospitals Medical Record Service Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians - Specialists

Service Area
This business service area covers: The Bay Area.
Alternate Business Names
Hill Physicians Medical Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1016 E Bianchi Rd Ste C20

    Stockton, CA 95210

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1792 Tribute Rd Ste 300

    Sacramento, CA 95815

  • 2409 Camino Ramon

    San Ramon, CA 94583 (800) 445-5747 (925) 820-8300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1435 River Park Dr # 200

    Sacramento, CA 95815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my mother is dying and her case manager wont call her back to give her the supportive services she needs. my mother needs specialized referrals and tracking of a complex medical condition, her case worker never calls her back and trying to get a hold of a supervisor is impossible. the phone rep "******" told me oh well nothing you can do but leave a voicemail and when I told her my mom was dying she said well that's all I can do for you is transfer you for a voicemail. Kathy posey and Lisa have yet to return my calls.

Desired Settlement: call me to discuss my mothers care or I will sue hills.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/12) */ As Manager of Customer Service at Hill Physicians Medical Group I (****** S. ******) received this consumer complaint. As with any member correspondence I begin researching the member issue using the information listed in the BBB letter submitted. I found this complaint was filed by the daughter on her mother's behalf. On 10/5 I contacted the member's daughter ******** ***** to gather her mom's member information for me to begin my research of the matter. After locating her mother ****** ******** in our system I contacted the manager of our Case Management department. In my communication with the manager I informed her of the matter the member is having with getting a response from her assigned Case Manager. It was explained the member's daughter is stating they have tried contacting two Case Managers. The member states she has left messages for both of them and no one has returned her phone calls. I requested the manager research this matter and look to resolve it for this member by contacting her to get the details as to how we can assist her. On 10/8 I was informed by the manager of the Case Management department that she contacted the member's daughter, ********...and listened to her concerns. After speaking with the manager the daughter stated that she is satisfied at this point and feels like the issues are resolved. The manager provided her with her contact information so she can call her directly if she has any further concerns.

9/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to get a bill from basepoint out of louisville, ky for my son for $270.00. this company has submitted this to hill for over 1 year and half Hill has not paid this bill from Basepoint-CL for my son **************-# XXXXXXXX-XXX-XXXX-$270.00. This was for emergency services which is covered in my policy, yet hill does not respond or pay. I want this bill paid immediately.

Desired Settlement: bill to be paid

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/20) */ As Manager of Customer Service at Hill Physicians Medical Group I (****** S. ******) received this consumer complaint. As with any member correspondence I begin researching the member issue using the information listed in the BBB letter submitted. I performed a name search in our member database. I was unable to locate a member ****** ***** with an address in *******, CA. I also entered his son's name ****** ******* in our system database and was again unsuccessful at locating him in our member database. On Monday, August 17th,2015 I contacted ****** ***** at the phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) listed in the letter. I left a voicemail for ****** ***** identifying myself as the Customer Service Manager at Hill Physicians Medical Group. In the voicemail I acknowledged my reason for calling was to assist with his claim issue for his son. I left my direct phone number for him to contact me along with my time of availability Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm. On Tuesday, August 18th, 2015 I contacted ****** ***** for a second time at the same phone number listed in the letter. I left another voicemail identifying myself as the Customer Service Manager at Hill Physicians Medical Group. In the voicemail I acknowledged my reason for calling was to assist with his claim issue for his son. Again I left my direct phone number for him to contact me along with my time of availability Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm. On Wednesday, August 19th, 2015 I contacted ****** ***** again for the third time at the same phone number listed in the letter. I left another voicemail with the same information as my previous two messages. I have not received a return call from ****** *****. Due to the limited amount of information in the letter I do not have the ability to further research this complaint/issue. A member ID number, claim number or health plan name would provide me with the information needed to fully research the issue. At any time if ****** ***** contacts me with the necessary information to research and provide next steps or resolution to this claim issue I will be happy to assist him. Thank you ****** S. ****** Manager of Customer Service XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been in contact with ****** and would like to wait until payment has actually been received before I consider this closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/09/09) */ In response to BBB letter received on 8/25/15 I (****** S. ******) contacted the appropriate party at the health plan. I received confirmation that the claim was paid on 8/25/15. I contacted the member ***** ***** and left a message to inform him that the claim was paid on 8/25/15. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not speak to son as representative even though mother had stroke and can't speak on her own behalf. My mother had a massive stroke recently and cannot speak, eat, or walk on her own. Hill Physicians, her insurance company, gave her 2 options to go to rehab, none of which offer Vietnamese speaking staff, which is my mom's first language. San Jose has a much more appropriate rehab center that is out of network, but willing to do a Letter of Agreement with Hill Physicians for payment, so I called the Hill Physicians member services phone line and spoke to a representative. He discussed my moms case briefly with me, but after explaining my request he suddenly refused to speak with me citing that under HIPAA privacy rules they can only speak directly with my mom or her doctor. I told them my mom has physically lost the ability to speak because of the stroke, so a family member must be able to speak on her behalf, but they still refused to speak with any family members other than directly with my mom, which is impossible. I asked to speak to a supervisor or a legal department representative, and the customer service rep refused to transfer me. After multiple attempts, he finally said I could leave a message for his supervisor who was in a meeting but would call me back in 30 minutes. It's now about 5 hours later and the offices are closed, and no one has returned my call. This is an urgent matter as my mother will be transferred out of the hospital and to a rehab facility withing 72 hours.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak directly to a senior representative at Hill Physicians regarding this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/30) */ The member's adult son, who was handling care arrangement for his mother, was under the impression that a request for services had been submitted to Hill Physicians and subsequently denied. A review of the member's record did not indicate receipt of an authorization request. The manager of Customer Service has contacted the member's adult son to apologize for the confusion on the phone and explain how the member's physician can submit an authorization request, if desired. The member's adult son indicates satisfaction with his mother's care facility and is no longer actively seeking a transfer to an out-of-network facility. We apologize for the inconvenience of the HIPAA screening questions and acknowledge that the caller did provide sufficient information to speak on his mother's behalf. To reduce the likelihood of any such incidents in the future, we are coaching the agent who handled the call and re-emphasizing screening protocols to our entire team.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hill Physicians Medical Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)