This business is not BBB accredited.

The Honey Do Maintenance and Repair Company

Phone: (925) 570-4867 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 5419, Pleasanton, CA 94566 http://www.thehoneydo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers handyman and contractor referral services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Honey Do Maintenance and Repair Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Honey Do Maintenance and Repair Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business started locally: 09/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mike Urueta, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Urueta, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Handyman Services

Service Area
This business service area covers: San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek.
Alternate Business Names
The Honey Do.com
Industry Tips
Handyman

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 5419

    Pleasanton, CA 94566 (925) 828-2700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honey Do was hired to perform electrical work on a rental property. Honey Do failed to meet 4 confirmed appointments with no notification. On June 24th, 2014 I contacted Honey Do (**** ********* inquire about his company and if he could perform the inspection and disabilying of an Attic Electric Fan. **** said that he could perform this work. I was informed that as a first time customer that he required an up front payment of $170.00 for two hours work before he would start the job, but he then stated that he could get the job completed by the up coming week-end. The week-end came and went without further contact and the job was not done. The check for $170 was returned to me for insufficient address (Suite # missing). I remailed the check to Honey Do on June 30th. On 7/9 I left a telephone message with Honey Do (****) regarding the status of this job. No return call! On 7/15 I called the renter and no appointment had been setup and the renter had not been notified by Honey Do to setup an appointment. On 7/21 I called **** and was informed that he was waiting for a call from the renter to setup and appointment for the week-end. He said he would give me a call back when appointment was established. I did not receive a return call! An appointmetn was setup for August 3rd, at 3:00 PM. He did not call to say he would be late. The renter call Honey Do well after the agreed upon time frame to see whether he would keep the appointment or not. He said he had a job that was running late and that he would make it later in the day. At 9:00 PM he finally called and we decided to make an appointment for another day. An appointment was set-up for Sunday, August 10th 10:00 AM. Renter called at 9:41 and asked Honey Do (****) if he was going to keep the appointment? Honey Do said that they would call them right before they left the prior job and that it would be soon. Honey Do did not keep the appoinment and kept the renters waiting until 11:30 when the renter sent a text saying he had another appointment and had to leave at 12:00 noon. Honey Do did not respond to the text message! After 4, if not more attempts to have this work completed by Honey do, I snet a letter via e-mail to Hney Do as well as a certified Letter stating that I no longer wished to do business with this cmpany. I further asked for our refurn of $170.00. At that time Honey Do (****) informed us that we would not receive a refund. We infomed Honey Do that we would notify the Better Business Bureau and file a small claims court action. He stated that he didn't care what we do, that we would not receive a refund. This company did not at anytime act in good faith. The company failed to keep multiple appointments and had no regard for the renter of the property in question or my company. ***** **

Desired Settlement: When Honey Do failed to live upto the agreed appointments we asked for a refund of the $170.00 up front "first time Customer" payment. We were informed that there would be no refund and that we were informed that the company had a "No return" policy. This statement was never made to us and none of the documentation on the internet reflect a "No return" policy. We do not want to do business with this company. We want our refund of $170.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/22) */ Honey Do was hired to perform electrical work on a rental property. Honey Do failed to meet 4 confirmed appointments with no notification. (This is untrue, the tenant failed to return phone calls and canceled several appointments with us). On June 24th, 2014 I contacted Honey Do (**** ********* inquire about his company and if he could perform the inspection and disabilying of an Attic Electric Fan. **** said that he could perform this work. I was informed that as a first time customer that he required an up front payment of $170.00 for two hours work before he would start the job, but he then stated that he could get the job completed by the up coming week-end. (I informed ***** that we have a two hour minimum just to show up to the job. I also explained to her that we collect the first two hour minimum up front just to show up and she had the opportunity to pay either with cash, check or credit card as an option for this payment. I then asked her if she'll be the one meeting us to pay this upfront before we begin work plus any materials. I explained to her that her time will begin when we arrive at her front curb, then I would knock on the door, do a quick meet and greet, then we would do a brief walk through of the project. While I'm assessing a material list, figuring out what tools I'm going to need to do the job and then while the customer is writing a check I would go get tools or if I have to get materials they would need to write an additional amount for those items needed or necessary too. ***** informed me that she wouldn't be able to meet with me and that she wanted me to meet with her tenant. I was given the tenants contact information and after I called him twice before he finally returned my phone call. The Tenant canceled our appointment on two occasions and I had to rescheduled one time. The last time which is in question, is due to that fact that I am booked out anywhere from two weeks to three weeks out from when a customer calls me to set up an appointment. The tenant changed the Monday's through Friday's that I normally book appointments. I reserve only a couple weekends per month for Honey do projects. I placed him as an on call customer and not a regular set appointment. On calls means that when I finish with a customer whom already has a set appointment, I would be calling him whenever that project finishes. I explained to him that I would call before I come over and this lets me know that he's home and lets him know that I'm on my way. I mentioned to him that I also had another customer near his neighborhood and that I would come by afterwards. I called him and let him know that I was in route. I got a voicemail from him canceling on me yet again, due to his daughter having soccer practice and that he forgot about. I have this message saved for your review on my voice messages. If you give me an email address I can forward it to you for your review. I have already forwarded it to *****. I since haven't heard from her accept through you when she decided to file this false complaint. I arrived at this job and nobody was home, I left my business card informing him that I was here and immediately called ***** to inform her that he canceled on my with a no show and later discovered that he had left me a voice message. The time date and stamp is on both my voice messages, and his voice message that he left me on my voice message. Bottom line, both the tenant and ***** were aware of our two hour minimum and I offered to give her one hour back, since I already drove over forty-five minutes to come service her rental. Her tenant was challenging over the phone having conversations with him tempting to set up an original appointment and several following. He was never promised an appointment but rather placed "On Call" status. He failed to stay home once I confirmed him being home and us in route to the job. After calling *****, we agreed that I would attempt to yet, make another appointment with her tenant and explained to her that I normally would have to charged her our two hour minimum due to her tenant leaving while we were headed to her rental project, however, I was working with her. We agreed to have me reschedule with him. ***** called me back several days later asked for a full refund even after I offered to call him het a fifth time to set up an appointment. I did call him but he never bothered to call me back but rather lied to ***** saying that he waited for me but then forgot that his daughter had a soccer game. I emailed her his voice message stating he had to leave and that he couldn't wait for me any longer and here we are today). The week-end came and went without further contact and the job was not done. The check for $170 was returned to me for insufficient address (Suite # missing). I remailed the check to Honey Do on June 30th. On 7/9 I left a telephone message with Honey Do (****) regarding the status of this job. No return call! On 7/15 I called the renter and no appointment had been setup and the renter had not been notified by Honey Do to setup an appointment. On 7/21 I called **** and was informed that he was waiting for a call from the renter to setup and appointment for the week-end. He said he would give me a call back when appointment was established. I did not receive a return call! (No job was done yet due to her tenant hadn't returned my phone call yet). Plus, we did talk on the phone, I had inquired as to where her check was and that her tenant still hasn't returned my phone call). An appointmetn was setup for August 3rd, at 3:00 PM. He did not call to say he would be late. The renter call Honey Do well after the agreed upon time frame to see whether he would keep the appointment or not. He said he had a job that was running late and that he would make it later in the day. At 9:00 PM he finally called and we decided to make an appointment for another day. (Once again, no appointment was set up, they were merely place on "ON CALL LIST". I called as I stated that I would that If I was able to get to them this day, then I would. I mentioned that I would call, once again in the event that I finished up a job ahead of them on my rotation of projects). An appointment was set-up for Sunday, August 10th 10:00 AM. Renter called at 9:41 and asked Honey Do (****) if he was going to keep the appointment? Honey Do said that they would call them right before they left the prior job and that it would be soon. Honey Do did not keep the appoinment and kept the renters waiting until 11:30 when the renter sent a text saying he had another appointment and had to leave at 12:00 noon. Honey Do did not respond to the text message! (Clearly in the above written message, I had set up with them as an "On Call", I did call them after I finished the customer that I had before them. ***** even wrote exactly what I tell other customers that need me to place them on "ON CALL" list. If the tenant had to leave, then they needed to reschedule prior to my arrival. (I ask all my clients for at least a 48 hour notice) I actually came to the home and nobody answered the door, so I left my card. Weather I'm there for one minute or the full two hours. It's a minimum just to show up. These terms were agreed upon by client and with each and every client now for the past 15 years. We tell the same thing to each client). After 4, if not more attempts to have this work completed by Honey do, I sent a letter via e-mail to Hney Do as well as a certified Letter stating that I no longer wished to do business with this cmpany. I further asked for our refurn of $170.00. At that time Honey Do (****) informed us that we would not receive a refund. We infomed Honey Do that we would notify the Better Business Bureau and file a small claims court action. He stated that he didn't care what we do, that we would not receive a refund. (This is untrue, what I explained to *****, was that we drove to her home and that her tenant left, and that if didn't matter that he had another appointment, we have our terms, she agreed and I even attempted to work with her regarding a return visit, in which I would only charge her for one hour verses the full two hours. She originally agreed but later called back several day's later stating that I was lying and that her tenant was telling her that I was lying. When she called back server days later asking me for a refund on her deposit, I reminded her that it wasn't a deposit and that it was our two hour minimum for this project, she chose not to take my option an then she then explained to me that she would contact the BBB. I told her that it is what it is and that you need to do what you're going to do. Our agreement is the same with every client. We have never had a complaint like this, due to most clients actually understand the agreement and are aware of this two hour minimum and usually reschedule with us. This is a first in fifteen years of doing business this Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Answer to rebuttal! As we do not have a signed contract nor does the Honey Do Co. This case comes down to who is fabricating the facts. I for one have learned a big lesson at a small price. In reviewing the other complaint against The Honey Do company, they were not so lucky. If you are checking on this company(esspecially if your job is a small one) think twice before getting involved. All I was looking for was a reputable company to work with our property management company handling a multitude of home repairs in the Concord/Pleasant Hill area. Needless to say I have learned my lesson and will never work with a company that requires an up-front payment of any kind. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/04) */ I'm sorry that you feel this way Mrs. ******, the reason why we have a two (2) hour minimum is due to this very reason. Your not able to control what your tenant does. If we show up to a home/business and they leave/left. It's a service call regardless if were there for one minute or the entire two hours. I sent you the voice message (Via email)confirming I was on my way, and your tenant stating that he is leaving due to an event that came up that he forgot about. In fifteen years of running our business, we stand behind our work with 100% quality. If you have an issue, you should take it up with your Tenant. He is the one who failed to keep your commitment to administer your service repair. If you have any further questions, email us at ****@thehoneydo.com Kind Regards THD

9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is for delayed action and poor communication in the completion of our deck. In July 2013, we hired **** ****** to build a 20x22 composite deck. He was given specific colors for the decking and rail system. We drew up plans on how we would like it built. A formal contract was never written up. **** and my husband agreed on $6500 to build the deck. It was due in 4 installments at intervals as the deck was built. Problems arose when the 4th installment was due. We found out the $6500 was to build the deck perimeter and to put the decking down. We thought it was for the complete deck. He was going to charge more labor for the railing and lighting installations. He told us we were well aware and had signed a contract stating this. We told him that we hadn't signed any contract. He was emphatic that we did and even told me "you just don't remember". He said he would bring the contract out. He never found a contract as there never was one. On October 18, 2013, the pressure treated wood, hardware and railing ballasters were delivered. **** was here to accept the delivery and planned to work that week. Unfortunately, on his way home, he was in a car accident and injured his back. We arrived home on October 22, 2013 from Tahoe, and discovered the decking and rail ballasters were the wrong color. **** didn't want to return these items without seeing them first. We received 3 to 4 calls during his recovery. He called to tell us he was going to physical therapy. Then, he phoned to tell us his last PT appointment made the pain worse. Then, he had a bulging disc and he was sick at Thanksgiving. The last call was that he was bringing some workers out to start the deck. He brought the workers on Dec 20, 2013. The workers had the perimeter of the deck done by Dec. 30. The backyard was unsafe, with exposed joists, for several weeks. We couldn't use our patio door or enjoy the backyard. I was afraid one of the grandchildren might get hurt. Finally, the decking was put down. During this time **** returned all of the unused pressure treated wood and hardware. The amount of the materials came to $1648.20. He kept that money to use as labor against the railing system. Just his way of getting more money from us. The decking and ballasters were returned only to find out we couldn't get a refund because it had been too long. I was angry. The refund was eaten up by restocking fees and freight charges. I told **** that he and the lumber company had better decide who made the ordering mistake because we wanted our money refunded. **** told me it was the lumber companies fault. The lumber company told me it was ****'s fault and they had the paperwork to prove it. **** requested $5000 to be put in his wife's account to pay for the railing system, $150 for delivery charges and $53 for nails(no receipt). He quoted us an overcharge on the railing system so there was a balance of $938.48 left in the account. The $5000 was deposited to the account Jan. 31, 2014. He is still holding that money for sales tax and can't tell us how much it is. I called **** to find out why he hadn't been out to work on the deck. He had been doing other jobs. I was furious. I told him I wanted the deck done by Easter. We were having grandchildren over for an egg hunt. It never happened. On March 11, he came out and did wiring, on March 14 he had a dental appointment and never called until March 30. He worked April 6-9,worked April 16,didn't call or show up April 21-30. On May 5, he called to say he had a pulled a muscle. He came with a worker to install the railing system which was finished between May 9-17. That was the last I heard from him. There is still one 6 foot section to complete. He has been completely paid for the deck. I have seen on Linkedin that he is doing a summer internship at Livermore Labs. When we talked to him in May, he said he would have to get with us and work out a time to finish the last section of the railing system. He never mentioned to us that he had other plans for the summer. I'm wondering when that will be.

Desired Settlement: As of July 25, we have not seen or heard from ****. It has been almost a year and our deck still is not completed. We feel we have been very patient with this situation but, now feel we have been taken advantage of. We want the sales tax issue resolved and if **** can't tell us how much the sales tax is, then we want the $938.48, he is holding in his wife's account, refunded to us in it's entirety. If he can tell us how much the sales tax is, then we want a print out of the monies owed and for what materials specifically. This was supposed to be our "dream deck" but it has turned into a very stressful and eye opening experience. We will be very cautious when hiring anyone else to do work in and around our home from now on. They are not "doing you a favor" because they know certain family members. But lastly, we want this deck completed, DONE! And, we want it done, NOW!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX XXXX Contact Email: *******@thehoneydo.com Good morning, After having a phone call with the BBB, I am writing you because you asked me to respond. This complaint has nothing to do with The Honey Do Maintenance & Repair Co. Thank you ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Honey Do Maintenance and Repair Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)