BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

GiftRocket

Phone: (800) 443-8762

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues12
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues10
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints33

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (33)BBB Closure Definitions
01/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cannot contact them concerning 2 gift cards with wrong email address. All emails are returned undeliverable
I ordered 2 gift cards for and was charged $107.. each. However the wrong email address was used and now I cannot contact them to resolve it. They have a bad email address in the contact us portion of their website.

Desired Settlement
I would like the money back for the two gift cards with the wrong email address

Business Response
Contact Email: *****@giftrocket.com
Hi *****,

Did you email *******@giftrocket.com? We've never had problems with that email.

Please let us know the confirmation codes on each order and we'd be happy to cancel.

Best,
*****

01/06/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a gift certificate and my friend didn't receive it. Tried to log in to figure out why and it tells me my e-mail address isn't valid.
Ordered a gift certificate and my friend didn't receive it. Tried to log in to figure out why and it tells me my e-mail address isn't valid even though I got a confirmation from them at the same e-mail address. Very frustrated. I want to know what I can do to stop this.

Desired Settlement
If they are legit then I want my friend to get the gift. If not I want a refund.

Business Response
Our manager responded to that request within 1 business day over email and sent the customer an email where they could change the email they used. The customer changed the email, and then did nothing with the gift. We haven't heard from them since, and this is the first I'm hearing on the follow-up.

I've cancelled the customer's purchase and refunded them for the gift.

01/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
giftrocket.com does not have our permission to use our name, sell giftcards or represent eatery X press in Stow, Ohio buyer beware.
giftrocket.com is selling gift cards using our name **************. They do not have our permission to use our name, sell giftcards or represent eatery X press in Stow, Ohio Anyone buying these giftcards should know they have no value towards any of our products.
Thank You
**************
**********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
We would like them to remove our name and business from their web site and never use it again. Stop selling giftcards using our name. Close their business.

Business Response
We have removed this business as a courtesy to the business owner. Thanks.

12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seems their web site is faudulent and already put charges through my credit card.
Ordered 2 Gifts for 54.50 ea via the internet on their web site for my mother for Christmas. When I went to claim them on their web site (so I could bring the certificates themselves to see her), they asked for other cking account to transfer money to!!!!! so I picked send a check. When I want to send the info to send a check from their co. to my mom, it went into Application Error. Then I did research, I couldnt believe what I found! This companys apparently a scam!

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of $109.00 for the 2 gifts I didnt get.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Email: *****@giftrocket.com
Hi ******,

I'm sorry about your experience with GiftRocket. We had some serious hosting problems yesterday and that is why you saw the application error. Would you please email *******@giftrocket.com and let us know under what email you purchased the gifts? We'd be happy to give you a full refund.

Best,
*****

Consumer Response

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GiftRocket.com is a scam site.
GiftRocket.com sells unauthorized gift cards to my salon ranging from %50 - $1000. LIDO Salon & Spa is in no way affiliated with this site. Clients beware, any purchases made from this site will not be redeemed.

Desired Settlement
Services pertaining to LIDO Salon & Spa to be removed from their site.

Business Response
We have removed the business from our database, Thank you."


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 6
02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Giftrocket uses inaccurate advertisements and words to describe service when in reality the site is a scam with no accountability.
Received $100 according to email on 02/09/2014

Words were used in the email that the money is now in your possesion. Redeem INSTANTLY through one of four methods. On closer inspection, NONE of these payment methods is instant or received shortly like promised and advertised. But the email has assured me that cash is in my possession and I will receive it in my bank account in 3-4 days.

5 business days go by and there is no word from Giftrocket about anything. I email them and ask where is the money? I now receive a response from their "security team" that the transaction has been cancelled?

I email back for further inquiry and I'm met with the same abrupt attitude telling me that the transaction is cancelled and to go elsewhere. ZERO customer service and ZERO effort to try to help their customer.

The way the website is set up leaves the customer extremely uninformed and a haven for illicit activities to take place. If there is a way to further report this company for unlawful business practices, I would love to pursue it. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
$100 from one of the four methods promised on the website.

Business Response
Hi -

We reserve the right to refuse service and we did cancel this transaction as our security team determined the gift card was improperly purchased. The sender was not charged for the purchase and the recipient was notified of the cancellation.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Couple articles mean nothing. Site is misleading as evidenced by multitude of reports poor service from giftrocket. **** down this sorry excuse for company or at least warn everyone of their criminal ways.



Final Business Response
We have been written up in numerous reputable publications including Forbes and the San Francisco Chronicle. A few of our press clippings can be found here:
http://www.giftrocket.com/press

Some users do not follow the terms and conditions of our website, so we must refuse service as we have done in this case.

10/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Using my name on their site without my consent http://www.giftrocket.com/gift-card/************************************************s
This company sells gift cards. They are using my name without my consent, ("Cash with an ecard, suggested for use at ***** ******, Certified Hypnotherapist") and I did and online search and found many business owners who complain of the same violation.

Desired Settlement
Take my name off of their site immediately. I also suggest that you require them to only use names of businesses with whom they have contracted, or shut them down for invasion of privacy and false advertising. Thank you.

Business Response
Hi,

We have removed the customer's business listing as requested. We are always willing to remove a business if they do not want to be eligible for suggestion.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no proposed resolution to the poor business practices (what looks like misappropriation, invasion of privacy, and so on) observed by GiftRocket. I believe that a lawyer is aware of the issue regarding GiftRocket, but not through me, through someone else. I personally have other larger, life and death matters that I'm attending to, but perhaps that lawyer will move forward in some capacity.

Final Business Response
We've removed the business owner from our site as a courtesy. If he / she has ***** concerns or would like to file a complaint, they can send it over to *****@giftrocket.com where our lawyers will take a look.

09/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The card was canceled for no apparent reason after I redeemed it.
On 9/7, I received a gift card from GiftRocket. I redeemed it and 9/9 received an email that it had been cancelled. I emailed customer service and asked why with no response. I emailed again today what their valid reasons are for cancelling orders. They emailed me back a funny reason of "You sent and redeemed the gift to yourself, so rather have you lose
out on the service fee we canceled the gift and did not charge you. ***** ***** ********* ********** I emailed them back my opinion of that and said I wanted to talk to his manager. I looked on the website but can't find a phone, address, or name or contact email for anyone else, so I'm coming here.
This is sloppy for so many reasons: 1. They sent me the email to redeem the card and I redeemed it before they canceled the order. 2. They cancelled the order after the card was redeemed for a reason that should have been done before transaction was made. 3. They aren't allowed to make financial decisions for me and decide whether I should make a transaction with their company. 4. "Saving me the service fees" is the stupidest reason I have ever heard of. This is a scam. Is this a real company? It seems like a really smart child hacker set up a fake company to play with people online. 5. There is no contact info on website for issues or complaints. No manager except ***** *****

Desired Settlement
I would like the card sent to me with no service fees since they want to save me the service fees.

Business Response
HI,

Since our gift cards are redeemed online for cash, sending and redeeming gifts to yourself is not an approved use. It violates our terms of service with our bank as this is a form of money transfer. As such any gifts sent and redeemed by the same party will not be approved.

If the customer has questions about the legitimacy of our company they can read our press clippings here: http://www.**********.com/press
We have been written up by the San Francisco Chronicle and Forbes amount other publications.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You just admitted ***** **** was lying when he said you canceled the transaction to "save me the service fee," and this doesn't look like an apology at all.
There are a few other reasons I am still unhappy with the company. You are still lying when you say your bank considers a gift card purchase a money transfer. Purchasing a gift card is not transferring money. Money transfers only occur when you transfer money from 1 acct to another or from 1 person to another. You can purchase a gift card at the store too, and it doesn't have to have someone's name on it; it is a purchase and not a transfer. Gift cards are a product and not a service. A customer is not sending themselves a check by purchasing a gift card at a company. If someone wanted money, they would not go and purchase a gift card, they would take the money from their bank or use their card at an ATM or just write themselves a check. That is highly offensive to go implying people are crazy in a statement supposedly to be a resolution to a problem, when you are the ones who are crazy.
A company does not have a real right to decide the reasons for a purchase or who it is sent to either, or to know why a purchase is being made. This is America, and companies are not allowed to control our decisions to this extent.
Business is supposed to be about the customers. Unfortunately, some have forgotten that. Customers always supposed to come first, provided that it doesn't harm someone or the company. A business' policies should always put the customers first, provided that the company isn't losing more than its worth and no one is getting hurt. So things are fair.
Another lie is that this is a security issue, as a person can also easily put any name on a gift card and have it sent to themselves. They can also have a gift card sent to their own address for someone else with that person's name on it to give to them in person. Other companies allow this without any security problems whatsoever. It could also be a typographical error. You can tell its a lie because the customer may have accidentally put their own name in the field, and the company didn't even ask the customer whatsoever whether this card was being sent to themselves or someone else. Like I said before, we also have cases where 2 people who do know each other have the same name. This is not even enough information to prove that the card is being sent to the purchaser, despite the previous lies of purchasing a gift card being a "security issue" and "money transfer." Whether it is or not is irrelevant, as the whole statement is a lie.
Also, you give advice to the customer that instead of trying to have problems with your company resolved, they should go find another "service provider." First of all, you are turning all customers who have problems with your company away and have no problem resolution in your company. Second of all, you are not a service provider, a gift card is considered goods and not services. This is the worst advice ever and if you don't want any customers and can't solve any problems with any customers, why would the company even be open? The answer is it wouldn't. You wouldn't be open just to turn away every customer who has an issue with the company.
This statement does not even begin to try to resolve the problem. Its farfetched, offensive, rude, crude, malicious, and unacceptable.


Final Business Response
Hi,

Our security team determined that the gift was sent and redeemed by the sender. As we stated before this is not an approved use and thus we canceled the gift. We are a gifting company, not a money transferring service, so we do not allow customers to pay for gifts with their credit card only to send themselves checks. That is considered money transferring by our bank.

Further we reserve the right to refuse service at our discretion. The customer was not charged for this purchase. If they are dissatisfied with our company they can use another service provider.

Thank you.

04/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gift Certificates/Cards

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.