BBB Accredited Business since

Kemgas

Additional Locations

Phone: (707) 964-4774 Fax: (707) 964-8265 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 580, Fort Bragg, CA 95437 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kemgas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Propane gas delivery services.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Kemgas


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kemgas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kemgas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kemgas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1936 Business started locally: 06/01/1936 Business incorporated 01/08/1940 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles R. Kemppe, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles R. Kemppe, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Delivery Service

Service Area
This company services the bay area.
Alternate Business Names
Kemppe Liquid Gas Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 1300 N Main St

    Fort Bragg, CA 95437

  • PO Box 580

    Fort Bragg, CA 95437 (707) 964-4774 (800) 840-4774

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kemgas removed my propane tank despite being alerted by tenant that she was not the authorized person to deal with. service person went to my rental and told the tenant they were removing the tank due to non use. She told them to contact me, as she lacked authority to deal with them. They removed without contacting me. When I found out I called the service mgr. He was totally unresponsive, merely rudely defended all the actions of the company. No attempt to communicate or respect the customer. With no success from him I left a message for the manager asking for a rebate on the pro-rated rental I had already paid, as well as a refund for the gas left in the tank. They did not have the common courtesy to reply. I am a retired quality management consultant/instructor. I have always used anecdotes to illustrate good or bad customer service. I wish I was still active since this is a prime example of total disregard for service or common courtesy. There were three junctures calling for decent service: 1. at time of contact with tenant, tech should have left and called me. 2. When I spoke with the service manager he could have recognized my displeasure and acknowledged my feelings. Instead he was abrasive. 3. When I called requesting a refund of unused services, they should have responded.

Desired Settlement: Apology, training for personnel, refund of credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/14) */ I would like to start by apologizing for your negative experience with our company. That being said, I would like to give a brief explanation of the reasoning behind our actions. When we set a tank for our customers we do our best to set a tank of an appropriate size for the load. Our technicians are well-trained, from years of setting tanks, but it is not always possible to accurately gauge how much propane a customer will use. Because of this, we often must change out tanks for a more appropriate size based on the customer's actual use. Sometimes we must set a tank of a larger size, sometimes we must downsize a tank and other times, when no fuel is being delivered at all, we must remove our tanks to place them elsewhere. Tanks are expensive, you see. As a small, family-owned and operated business, we cannot afford to leave unused steel on the ground. In regards to the technician who picked up the tank, it had come to our attention that this particular tank had not seen a delivery in 3 years. That is a very long time for an expensive piece of equipment to sit unused. Our technician stopped by to speak with the homeowner (and to see if the home was even still occupied) and was greeted by the current tenant who said that they no longer used to propane and they didn't mind one bit if we picked up the tank. Like any other utility, the responsibility, unless otherwise stated in advance, by the landlord, falls on the tenant's shoulders. If our tank is not being used and the current tenant says they will not be using it any time soon, then we have every right - both morally and legally - to retrieve our equipment. As far as your experience with our customer service, I do apologize that you felt it was less than professional. I know our service manager is always very polite while dealing with our customers; however, I am aware it is difficult to find courtesy in someone's behavior while you're being told that something you disagree with is going to happen with or without your consent. As a utility company, there are policies in place that must be adhered to. Unfortunately, it's not always what the customer would like to hear. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Tenant told me she told the tech that they must speak to me. I understand the legal stance you are taking, that minus any other information the tenant speaks for the landlord. This does not reflect good service. As a professional in the field of communications, I understand your assumption that my only reason for dissatisfaction with the service managers response. However I still feel that he came far short of good service. The company still has not addressed a credit for the unused portion of the prepaid rent,nor any remaining gas in the tank at time of removal.

4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was offered free installation they didn't full disclose. and they offer 2.29 gal one year also and now they say i am not qualified after instaled My name is ***** ****** I am 74 and my vision is not good these days because of cataracts and a hole in my retina in one eye. In June 2010 i suffered a heart attack and received 2 stents. i have a dissability retirement and social security to live on which has just enough for a month to month if i am careful. I get very cold in the cold weather we had On or around December 12,2013 i called Kemgas to order new service and was offered free installation and a price of 2.29 for one year and they were going to transfer the gas left in the tank i had and fill up a tank they would deliver and i could use this tank free of charge for the year This was agreeable to me and i went on line and signed up the weather was getting extremely cold and i needed to use my gas heater A man came out to look at the set up i have, and said it was good. The next day two men came out and changed the tank and i signed a paper they said was just permission to leave the tank and fill it with propane which it was filled i think 2 days later Now i get a contract in the mail saying i am not eligible for the discount or installation and further more i was a customer in the year 2000 and now i have to pay full price and for the installation. i was in shock that they hadn't told me this before they installed the tank I could have used someone else. I could have gotten the same offer from another dealer

Desired Settlement: I am not sure how to settle this if they live up to the agreement we had before the tank and gas was delivered i would be satisfied but to wait till the tank was changed and the gas delivered to tell me that i am loosing the discount and free installation because i was a customer 14 years ago is bait and switch and is at the very least unfair if not a crime let me use up this gas and they can take back their tank

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/08) */ First of all I would like to start by giving some basic information regarding our introductory rates. Our introductory rate is a discounted rate that fluctuates with the market. This rate is given as a courtesy to new tank set customers, during their first year of service, and it is not required that we offer this rate to anyone. In the propane industry, almost all companies offer these introductory specials. But there are people out there who abuse these introductory specials by switching from one company to another as soon as their intro rates become standard market rates. This is very costly for the propane companies. In order to prevent this, we have implemented a policy that disallows the intro rates on new tank sets for customers that have switched out from our company, to another, in the past. ***** ****** is one such customer. She had switched from our company to another company several years back. Upon inquiring about getting a new tank set, she had not disclosed that she had previously been a customer of Kemgas. Because of this, she was quoted the standard intro rates that we give to new tank set customers. Upon opening the account, we discovered that she had previously switched from our company to another, and we had removed the intro specials from her account. However, our attempt to contact her was unsuccessful and we were unable to inform her of the situation before our driver delivered fuel to her tank. Because of our failure to inform ***** about our policy regarding previous customers and intro rates, we have decided to give ***** the intro specials that any other new tank set would receive. She will be contacted about the change on her account, and we will re-bill her for the delivery that she received, at the intro rate she was quoted. Also, to avoid having this happen in the future, we have now made it policy that our customer service representatives ask any future, potential customers if they have had Kemgas in the past. We will also make sure that the new customer is qualified for the intro rates, before any delivery is made, and if they are not we will contact them and inform them, as well, before any delivery is made. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) i am sorry that there was that mix up I had to contact another gas company because the one i had SUBURBAN DID not answer their phone and I was desperate to fire up my wall furnace because of the unusual cold snap we had. I normally use very little gas with a demand water heater but i was just trying to get prices and offers in case SUBURBAN never returned my calls. After KEMGAS co notified SUBURBAN to come get the empty tank then i got a call from SUBURBAN threatening me to charge me for three years of tank rent and that i had signed a contract and it was when i called KEMGAS and asked if i had signed a contract with them because the guy who transferred the gas gave me something and said it was just permission to change the tank and fill it. KEMGAS REP said nothing about me having been a customer before and i am 74 i can't remember who i had before SUBURBAN Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/03/21) */ BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX I was called this am at 9 and told i was being charged again and as far as was told to me by kemgas they were going to respect the original promise and i would only have to pay the cost of gas which i believe i sent a payment which they say they did not recieve but now they are billing me for more than the gas and i have received a bill for 244.29 plus a charge of 3.65 i should have sent it registered but i thought they had learned their lesson Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/04/04) */ After speaking with *****, on the phone, we have come to an agreement that things are the way they should be. She has been put on the introduction rate and has been extended all of the other amenities of our new customer special. If she has any other questions or complaints I am quite confident that she will address them directly with our office staff, or myself. Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (-5, 18, 2014/04/07) */ when kemgas came to deliver the tank they would not take back the SUBURBAN EMPTY TANK BECAUSE THEY SAID THAT SUBURBAN HAD CALLED THE LOCAL POLICE AND TRYED TO HAVE THEM ARRESTED FOR TRESPASSING SO THEY LEFT THE TANK IN MY FROM YARD. WHEN I CONTACTED SUBURBAN TO PICK UP THE EMPTY THEY SAID I OWED THEM 300.00 FOR CANCELLING THE CONTRACT. I WAS NOT AWARE OF ANY CONTRACT AND BESIDES I HAD STARTED SERVICE WITH THEM AT LEAST 2 YEARS PRIOR TO THIS TIME. AFTER MANY BILLS I IGNORED THEY FINALLY SENT ONE WITH A ZERO BALANCE BUT I STILL HAVE AN EMPTY TANK IN MY FRONT YARD AND LAST WEEK THEY SENT ME A BILL FOR TANK RENTAL I THINK IT WAS 80.00. SORRY I FORGOT WHERE I PUT IT BUT WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE BUSINESSES? I HAD A PROBLEM WITH DISH TV ALSO THEY GOT SO EXPENSIVE I HAD TO CANCELL I GOT A BETTER PRICE FROM COMCAST BUT DISH HOUNDED ME FOR MONTHS AND I FINALLY WAS BULLIED INTO PAYING THEM AN EXTRA 165.00 I MAY HAVE OWED IT I DO NOT KNOW FOR SURE BECAUSE THEY WOULDN'T GIVE ME AND ITEMIZED BILL SO I COULD COMPARE MY CHECKS WITH.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kemgas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)