BBB Accredited Business since

Sonoma Plant Works Inc. dba Monster Gardens

Phone: (707) 588-8002 Fax: (707) 588-8815 View Additional Phone Numbers 235 Classic Ct, Rohnert Park, CA 94928 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Sonoma Plant Works Inc. dba Monster Gardens is an online and retail store provider of hydroponic garden supplies and equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sonoma Plant Works Inc. dba Monster Gardens meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sonoma Plant Works Inc. dba Monster Gardens
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2011 Business started: 10/01/2008 Business started locally: 10/01/2008
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ryan Bonelli, Owner Mr. Jim Guttierrez, Owner Ms. Heather Lott, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Bonelli, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Garden Centers Lighting Plants Hydroponics - Equipment & Supplies

Service Area
This business service area covers: Nationwide
Alternate Business Names
Monster Gardens

Additional Locations

  • 235 Classic Ct

    Rohnert Park, CA 94928


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monster Gardens tells people with accounts that shipping is free when it is not. Also when you try to resolve issues with them their CS is horrible. On November 05, 2015, I placed Order # XXXXX with Monster Gardens (a DBA of Sonoma Plant Works) through their online store. When you have an account with them they say shipping is free. However shipping charges showed up on this order. When I first called they said to just let it go through and I would be credited. The order was paid for but no credit. The second call the customer service person said they had never heard of doing that and that shipping was only free on certain items. I called and asked to speak to an owner. The CS person said they would not put me through. I asked why and they said "I am here to prevent people like you from talking to the owner." This is beyond-the-pale rude and disrespectful. In addition to these problems with shipping, Monster Gardens via their contractor UPS shipped my order to the wrong address (despite the correct address being on the order.) Monster Gardens refused to do anything about the missing order even when contacted by UPS. The order contains critical tools for my business and a further delay of two weeks or more was not acceptable. The CS at MG told me "that was too bad" that they would not be sending a replacement order. Lastly, Monster Gardens engages in deceptive sales practices by not listing the manufacturer's part numbers of the products it resells on its website. This makes verifying that the products are the correct ones, in the right quantity and description, impossible. You don't know if you have got the right thing ordered until after it arrives. And then having to attempt to deal with CS people like the one mentioned above whose job they say is to prevent communication makes the whole process impossible.

Desired Settlement: We wish Monster Gardens to: --stop fraudulently claiming shipping is free when it is not; --correctly list products with proper manufacturer's information so that consumers can know what they are buying; and --train its customer service personnel in proper handling of customer problems instead of engaging in rude, insulting and unproductive behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/24) */ We offer free shipping on some products and also offer free shipping on other products when the order reaches a certain dollar amount. The product in question purchased by the customer was a product that ships free when the order reaches $149. The products ordered totaled $95.87 which did not qualify this product for free shipping. There was absolutely no false claim made on free shipping. The customer did not reach the order threshold for free shipping and therefore did not get free shipping on that product. In regards to not being able to speak with an owner, we are a large company and have managers in place to speak with customers. This is not unusual for a large company. We do not condone rude behavior to customers and if this were the case, the manager was spoken to. We have been informed by associates in our industry of this customer and the fact that the customer is very difficult to work with. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First things first. 1. Monster Garden's response is not well received as it is not factually correct. Also in their response they have managed to turn a simple customer service complaint into an actionable cause for a libel suit. Why are they doing this? It feels like we've caught them doing something illegal and they are trying to deflect the consequences of their actions by making up stories about a customer they don't know from ****. In their response they write: "We have been informed by associates in our industry of this customer and the fact that the customer is very difficult to work with." This is untrue and ridiculous! Monster Gardens needs to immediately either (a) withdraw this statement completely or (b) provide verifiable evidence. In short, back it up or move it out. Character assaults will not be tolerated and make Monster Gardens simply look like a monster. 2. After filing our complaint we received several calls from XXX-XXX-XXXX with from a gentleman who stated he was the owner of Manna Nutrients, the company who made the product in question. He stated to us that (a) Monster Gardens was not authorized to sell their products on Amazon, that the product only came in one size and that Monster Gardens should not be selling something that does not exist, and that (c) he was personally appalled at the conduct of Monster Gardens' employee in regards to our order and subsequent phone conversations. He promised to fix it all. So what is going on here? The manufacturer is telling us Monster Gardens is in error. 3. Monster Gardens provided a "document" with their response that appears to be a shot of a web page. It is irrelevant. 4. Monster Gardens says that their rude employee has been disciplined, if there employee was in fact rude. They could not be more evasive. Their employee was extremely rude & it would be good in such a "large company" if they could simply apologize for bad behavior and move on instead of sending such a squishy response about what they may or may not have done. 5. Monster Gardens claims customer satisfaction is a priority et ceterae ad nauseam but they apparently do not accept returns unless they can sell it to someone else or if it is "warrantable," a term they use without providing any explanation of what that means to them. While they are claiming their website is clear about things it is not they might want to make this clear as right now they are looking at chargebacks if they don't get it together. 6. The product in question differed from the last one sent under the same label and does not work. 7. We are waiting on a refund of part of this order that Monster Gardens claimed they shipped and was lost by UPS. So far no word from Monster Gardens despite having been contacted by UPS about this over a week ago. This is basically a simple customer service issue and a refund issue but if Monster Gardens stupidly insists on making a lawsuit out of it all we will proceed accordingly. Original Complaint is amended to include: Demand for full refund of allegedly shipped and lost order. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2015/12/23) */ ***Document Attached*** Greetings, Since we have not heard from Monster Gardens. We demand ALL of our money spent at monster Gardens. We have found that Monster Gardens is adding a 35% up-charge on top the normal retail markup. This is criminal and you ALL KNOW IT. MY COMPANIES OFFICERS DEMAND ALL THE MONEY we SPENT AT MONSTER GARDENS IN 72 HOURS IN THE FORM OF A CASHIERS CHECK SENT TO THE CADY LN ADDRESS. YOU RIPPED US OFF AND YOU CONTINUE TO BAD MOUTH ME. If this is not completed buy the time specified we will file suit a civil suit in CA for the max of $4500.00. In closing, All this information will become public. You better watch your mouth. I am not one to be toiled with especially when I am getting screwed and in defamation of character by your employees. Regards, /s/********* ******

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The item was priced at $ I was charged $399.instore. The product had defect,new item had same defect.No cash refund or difference offered. On XX-XX-XXXX I was looking for an ht_tm_XXX XX"Twisted Trimmer\Clear Top Bowl-order #SXXXXX, which I found online for $323.95.for $20. less. As I processed the order I discovered that the store was local at the Sonoma Plant Works Inc. 235 Classic Court, Rohnert Park, CA,I then called to make sure it was in stock they quoted me 359.95,the net price had dropped to $295, during the order process(the add did not say it was internet only. As all Hydro stores do not price any merch, I didn't know until it was rang up that the full price of $359.+ Tax or $391.45, Due to personal time constraints and a desire to not argue, I paid the price. When I assembled it I noticed the dome was out of shape and did not make proper alignment with the rubber seal and the gear drive shaft. I then called them to see if I could swap it out and the associate (*****) asked me if I had used it, which I had, to that he said "we cant take it back, if it is dirty". I replied 'it will be cleaner than when it left the store'. Only problem was they were closing in one hour; so I said, 'I'd bring it in Monday'. When I brought it in the Manager said they would swap it out. The new item was even worse. I opted to keep the original due to time constraints but wasn't offered the difference in price. Nor did they give me the manufacturers contact info when I asked. I then gave them my contact info so the manufacturer could call me. The manager would call me when a replacement part was available.?. This left me with one choice, find another trimmer, which I did from a competitor . It works excellent! In my opinion they don't care about quality or the customer. the Manager was curt not courteous and the sales assistant (Steve)did not demo the item, he just quickly put it together then spun it a couple of times then re packaged item. When I returned it the manager said, "well it was made in China, you get what you paid for." If that is his attitude why buy it from that distributer in the first place,and why don't they check each item (Bowl trimmers)for quality of craftsmanship, before they sell them? The boys in the store tried to help but were left with new equipment that was in the same condition if not worse.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the item replaced with one which works at the internet price of $294. as advertised! Then return the difference and pay for shipping. The shaft is now slightly bent, because of the miss alignment with the handle. It will only get worse and at the price of $391.?!? I am very unhappy. One last thing; I will return the messed up trimmer if they provide for shipping and handling, and it will be clean!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/21) */ We offered to replace the product when the customer first came into the store. But the customer wanted to wait for newer units to be in stock fro the replacement. We have worked out replacing the top as the newer units come into stock. FYI, these products are stated within our policy that all sales are final, but we are still trying to work a fix for the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The item which was present for an exchange was almost as bad as the one I had purchased. When the return is complete I will resend the complaint. They have responded, I have been asked to send them photos, which Iam doing at the present time 11\22.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sonoma Plant Works Inc. dba Monster Gardens
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)