BBB Accredited Business since

R & S Erection Of Santa Rosa, Inc.

Phone: (707) 585-0892 View Additional Phone Numbers 3531 Santa Rosa Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95407 http://www.doorinstallationandrepair.com/rs_santa_rosa.html View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company installs and repairs commercial doors as well as residential garage doors, gates and related equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R & S Erection Of Santa Rosa, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R & S Erection Of Santa Rosa, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R & S Erection Of Santa Rosa, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 09/13/1973 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eugene Radin, President Mr. Eugene Radin Jr., Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene Radin, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers


Additional Locations

  • 3531 Santa Rosa Ave

    Santa Rosa, CA 95407

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called this company and asked for an ESTIMATE for a repair to one of my doors I was not told there would be a charge for the estimate. I called R&S and asked for an ESTIMATE to repair one of my roll up doors. The woman on the phone told me she would send some one by to have a look that same day. ***** showed up about 15 min. later and had a look at the door. He wrote on his paperwork that he arrived at 9:45 and left at 10:00 am. Today I received a bill for $200.00 for his estimate. I called and spoke to a manager about how I was never told that there would be a charge for the estimate, and his response was "you never asked" I told him that in most business' an estimate is free and that if it is the policy of R&S then they should tell people on the phone. The manager gave me a line about when he rents a forklift, he is never told the charges until after he returns the forklift. I explained that I was not renting his man, but simply trying to get a cost estimate for the repair. He then told me Sears charged him $250.00 to come to his home to look at his refrigerator, and when I asked him if he had not asked how much it cost before the guy came out he told me no. So I asked him again why, if he was upset with the way Sears handled him, would he do the same thing and simply not tell people that there is a $200.00 charge for 15 mins. of work? He went back to his "you didn't ask" line and told me he would remove the $200.00 charge only if I used him to repair the door for $1700.00. When he first called with the estimate, he was charging $1500.00 and did not mention to me that was the price AFTER the $200.00 credit. I feel the business is deceiving people when they don't let the customer know in advance that there is a charge for an estimate. Lastly, the manager was contradictory when he first told me that they do let people know there is a charge (this did not happen or I would not have used them) and when he said "well you didn't ask if there was a charge" How can it be both? He was just trying to collect a fee that was not disclosed at the time of the request. I think an informed customer is going to weigh the cost of having someone come out for an estimate if they know in advance of the charge. By not saying anything about the charge, this company is collecting money without the customers knowledge.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the service charge since I was not informed about it in the first place. If not a full refund, a partial refund would be good.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Customer called on September 25, 2013 and said he had a roll up door that would not close and needed someone to come out. We sent a repairman out right away. He did not ask for an estimate or our hhourly rate. We quote our rates if the customer rrequests them. If he had asked for an estimate we would not have sent a repairman. We would have ssent our estimator which there is not charge, but since we sent our repairman there was a charge for the service. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is not true. I asked for an estimate. The door was closed and did work, just not correctly. I asked for an estimate to have it repaired. I feel that they sent a repairman so quickly because one was already in the area, and therefore it was the decision of the company to send a repairman and not an estimator. I never asked about rates because I was only asking for an estimate at the time since the door was not totally broken. I feel like the company should do the right thing and give a refund of the total billed amount.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on R & S Erection Of Santa Rosa, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)