This business is not BBB accredited.

Precision Door Service (Previous Ownership)

Phone: (650) 318-6101 Fax: (321) 264-2687 View Additional Phone Numbers 4616 Enterprise Common, Fremont, CA 94538 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers garage door repair, service and installation.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Door Service (Previous Ownership)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2004 Business started: 05/01/1990 Business started locally: 05/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/09/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dwayne White, Owner Ms. Tina Akers, Manager Mr. Michael Fahey, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Fahey, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Dwayne White, Owner
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers

Service Area

Serving the Bay Area including San Jose,
San Francisco & Oakland
Alternate Business Names
Smith and White, Inc.
Business Management

On March 13, 2014, the businesses ownership changed. A separate report under the new management is available http://www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/garage-doors-and-openers/precision-door-service-of-bay-area-in-fremont-ca-527867?language=1


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4616 Enterprise Common

    Fremont, CA 94538

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Used scare tactics to up sell unneeded parts and then marked up parts price several hundred percent over retail On Wednesday, March 5, 2014 I contacted Precision Garage Door to come and repair a torsion spring on our garage door that had broken. The repairman, ******* ****** arrived on time, asked what the problem was, then proceeded to inspect the door. After a short time he states that not only the spring, but the cables, bearings and rollers all need to be replaced, and because those parts were low quality, that caused undo strain on the spring which resulted in it failure, and by not replacing could cause even more problems. I was also told that the door would be much quieter with the new parts because of their quality. After much debate and further discussion with the repairman, I made the discussion to have the repairs done at a cost of ~$800 for parts plus tax and labor. The repairs were fine, though the repairman spent most of the time on his cellphone during the repair, resulting in it taking even longer than really needed. Also, the only reason that door was any quieter was because of the massive amount of silicon used on all the moving parts. If the silicon had been used without the new parts, it would have been just as quiet. My main issue is with the price charged for parts. The assumptions is that quality parts will be used and those parts will have a markup compared to the same parts at other locations. I understand the spring used is suppose to be better and I expect that to cost more. However, the exact same bearings, rollers and cables can all be purchased for less than $80 online. Even if the spring is $200, the total cost of the parts are are marked up over 200%. The original quote for just the spring was $75-150 anyway, so in actuality the markup is more like XXX-XXX%. I feel that the tactics used to sell the parts, then marking them up hundreds of dollars of retail is dishonest, and I personally would never use Precision Garage Door, nor would I recommend it to family for friends.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should be refunded a portion of the parts cost. The spring, parts, labor and tax are at most $400 even with a reasonable markup. I believe that I should be refunded at least $400 because of the tactics used to up sell unneeded parts and marking the price up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ The technician replaced the parts on your door with your approval. We have a signed contract. Price was agreed on at that time. We do not QUOTE over the phone but offer a price range for springs as there are so many different sizes, costs, and ratings. Web prices have nothing to do with our contract. This is the first time I have heard of this issue- you never called to complain or inform us of any issue. No money will be returned. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response was as expected from the company. They are simply dishonest and use high pressure scare tactics to force unneeded parts on customers. There are multiple completes about this practice from this company in the BBB database and on Yelp. The company always responds the same way. Calling only results in reaching a call center no matter which number one selects. Internet prices for parts do matter, that is the standard price and when the technician was ask the price for the parts it was always vague and he simply entered random numbers in the calculator to come up with a total. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/18) */ Mr *****, We service over 6000 customers per year. Our complaints are very low compared to other service businesses. Garage door parts wear out. If your springs break, your rollers, cables, bearings also wear out. Internet pricing is cheap- not "the standard". Our springs are rated at 65,000 cycle minimum while internet springs are 7,500 to 10,000 cycles. Internet does not install, nor do consumers. At the time you agreed because you wanted your door repaired. That is it. YOU SIGNED AND INITIALED I UNDERSTAND PRICE.(see attached) You could have walked away and waited 3 days for someone else to come out. Finally, I am unaware of any attempt where you called us to speak to us directly.

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Precision overhead garage door service over charge their customer compare to the same bussiness in the area. Product_Or_Service: Two high lift cycle springs Order_Number: ****** Account_Number: Contractors license#

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund half what i paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ We gave you a written estimate and you were quoted $168 per spring, plus tax, and a $49.95 service charge.. This is market rate for spring replacement. Additionally, our springs are high cycle, powder coated oil tempered springs. You cannot get powder coated springs without waiting weeks because they need to be ordered. No refund is offered.

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** does not understand what an unincorporated area is. I asked to speak to a manager to clarify. *** blocked my calls, so I could not ask for a mgr *** who answers the phone for every number the company lists, told me the company will not do business in Richmond. Could be a business license or tax issue. I live in an unincorporated part of contra costa county. *** does not understand what unincorporated means, so she hung up the phone. I called back later to ask for a manager, as I'm sure they understand unincorporated areas. *** didn't take my number for the manager to call, and then blocked my phone number. She was really rude, and maybe concerned about that being why I asked for a manger. Weird person for customer interaction, maybe a relative of the owner?

Desired Settlement: Phone call or email from manager owner to get past the Lea blockade on the phone. I'm looking for quality work on a garage. The person that drives business away on their phone lines is their problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/19) */ We are sorry this happened. Did you ever get your garage door serviced? You can call 24/7 to schedule an appointment if you are in our service area. After hours, we have multiple agents scheduling calls. You can call our office directly at************* during business hours to reach an office manager.

12/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to advise of realistic estimate on phone. Web site with reviews but no way for me to submit a review - suspect its rigged. Three years ago I was happy with the price of new springs. Monday the center mounting bracket came lose. That may or may not have been due to the spring replacement. Regardless, on the phone they said service charge was $50. The technician was here less than an hour. My way says it was about 30 minutes. He reinstalled the bracket and reset the spring tension. The charge $299 ON TOP of the $50 service call fee. To top that off, the tension was wrong - the door was heavy and would come crashing down and not open fully. The tech came back today arriving 30 minutes after the end of the 2 hour window we scheduled. It does work now but they won't get any more business from me or anyone I can influence. Given the simplicity of the work, the phone contact could easily have advised me of the likely charge. What is the point of the $50 service call if it doesn't even cover a portion of a 30 minute repair? There are reviews on their website but I cannot figure out how to submit a review. This smells like false advertising to me.

Desired Settlement: I would be very satisfied with a partial refund and a charge that was more in line with the amount of time on site. On the phone the man I spoke with said his tech had to drive a long way. I would assume that is part of the service charge. If I had known I was paying by the hour for them to drive here I would have selected a different company. At the very least, I would like the $50 service charge to be included in the flat fee of $299 charged for the servicing once the technician and determined what needed to be done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/22) */ I am confused as to what the customer is saying. The Service charge fee is for us to come to the home. $50 does NOT cover the time. insurance, travel, gas, and other expenses to come to his home. We fixed his door and he paid a fair price. Time on "site" has nothing to do with anything. He agreed and signed a contract at the time the work was completed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I wanted to warn people to press this company for more price info BEFORE they agree to have the company come to the property and commit even the $50.

11/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The estimate for the work was $109-$169, and the commitment for service was 4-6 p.m. They finally came at 9:30 p.m. and said the work would be over $700. During the 4-9:30 period, they missed every commitment to provide status in a specific timeframe. The installer was changed once (from a **** to a ****). I really don't like businesses that do this, relying on "customers" they feel are over a barrel to get something done. So, I told them to forget it (and they then charged $50 for the visit saying they told me this, which they didn't). I got the work done the next day by another company for less than $125. I will never call this company again, and recommend the same to others.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Get their processes in line with the quality they advertise on their web site.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/06) */ We strive to get to appointments on time. This is the Bay area. Traffic conditions can be awful at times. As far as quote goes, we cannot make estimates over the phone. The people answering are not technicians and can only offer up pricing. I am glad you got repairs done for $125, that is nice. If your garage breaks again, I am sure you will get a prompt response from that company. If not, please call us again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Door Service (Previous Ownership)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)