BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers furniture sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LA-Z Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LA-Z Boy Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LA-Z Boy Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Calif. Bureau Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulations
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
www.dca.ca.gov/bhfti
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Ginger Murner, Owner Mr. Mike Murner, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ginger Murner, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Murner, General Manager
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 2875 Santa Rosa Ave Ste A

    Santa Rosa, CA 95407 (707) 525-0569

  • 555 Skyline Blvd. Suite C

    Santa Rosa, CA 95403

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product delivered with defect. Service Department's efforts to correct made problem worse and also damaged item. Refuse to fix. Purchased sectional sofa in November 2013. Item delivered in May 2014. Within a few weeks of light use, evident that problem with sofa padding in back cushions. On contacting store, was advised this was a simple correction, and the service department could easily "add a little more padding" to correct. Service department failed to respond in timely way, and it was months before couches were taken away for repair. When items returned, the "repair" had created a disaster. Couch now had cushions that were crocked, torn and resown, over-stuffed and unsightly, crocked piping and other defects that never previously existed. Store service department immediately contacted to complain about damage done to furniture. This is a 4,000 couch, that now appears worse than something purchased at a Goodwill store. The Service Manage would not send anyone to evaluate. Finally sent photographs to national corporate office showing damages, who get the store to finally respond. The Service Department sent an repairman to the home who looked at the problems and after 10 minutes of looking things over said, "it meets specs" and refused to confirm any of the other problems. When shown problem after problem, the response was that "we just needed to learn to live with it." Worse of all, even though the original problem was on time of first delivery, by months and months of delayed response to issue, the Service Department is now conveniently saying in response to photos of damage, "Sorry, you are past the 1 year warranty". In short, they refuse to acknowledge that the very minor problem was turned into a series of major problems by their department and now having strategically been non-responsive, that there are any more warranty claims possible. National office of La-Z-Boy was contact prior to expiration of warranty to document problem, but now say that they can do nothing to honor the warranty because this is an independent store and they do not stand behind their products separately from dealer.

Desired Settlement: Correction of damages done by store, and if not possible to reasonable level of satisfaction, replacement of items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/08/04) */ On 1/20/2014 Mr. ****** purchased a 4 piece sectional. It was delivered on 6/14/2014. On 3/31/2015 (9months later) we received a call from Mr. ****** saying his seat backs are sagging and wanted us to add Dacron fill to all of the backs on all 4 pieces of the sectional. On 4/11/2015 we picked up the furniture to make the repairs while they were on vacation. We added the Dacron fill in all of the backs to bring them back to the La-Z-Boy specifications. On 5/13/2015 we returned the furniture. At that time we had Mrs. ****** inspect the furniture and sign the work order accepting the furniture. On 6/24/2015 I received a call from Mr. ****** saying the backs were not done right and wanted us to come back out to inspect the backs. On 6/27 **** our Service Manager went out to inspect the furniture and found the backs needed the routine maintenance applied to move the Dacron to fill any gapes, and straightened the piping too correct the issues. These issues occur over time and use. **** showed Mr. ****** how to do this in the future and advised him the pieces were to the La-Z-Boy specifications. On 7/1/2015 I received a call from Mr. ****** saying **** did nothing when he came to the home. After several threats I told Mr. ****** there was nothing else I would be able to do since the pieces meet the La-Z-Boy specifications. At this point Mr. ****** said he will call the La-Z-Boy Corp. office and hung up the phone. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The store's response is a completely misleading, creative misrepresentation of events, omitting literally dozens of steps taken to try to get the problem identified when the couches were first delivered; the 9 months that elapsed were because the company was non-responsive to phone calls, emails and letters. To say time passed *** the problems were wear-related is just a blatant lie. The original problem was minor and we were told it was a simple fix. When furniture was returned, we signed only for accepting delivery and were told that we could look it over and let them know if we were satisfied with repair. The very next day, the store was called to complain that the "fix" made had resulted in damage to couch and destroyed the quality of appearance. The store remained non-response to this complaint other than to say we should stop calling the store and deal only with the service department. It was not until months later and the one year warranty was about to expire that we called the national office and then they needed to call the store several times before there was a response from the service department. In July, a workman (not the service manager) was at the home for about 5 minutes. He inspected the couch, took photos of the problems (including the distorted piping) that were noted, but did absolutely nothing to repair damage done during re-stuffing process (except to close a partially open zipper), and departed saying something similar to "This is what you requested and the couch is acceptable to our standards" We noted this was not okay and wanted to know when the couch problems would be corrected. We were told that we should call the store; essentially, we were being told the service department was going to do nothing to correct their errors. This BBB complaint response is only a way of trying to do a complete cover-up to avoid liability for sloppy workmanship and complete absence of customer service. This issue remains completely unresolved. Putting words on a website does not repair holes, poor workmanship, and other damage done during the repair process that they refuse to correct. Other customers need to be weary of their "standards" of business practice.

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing the BBB because after much research I have found that multitudes of people have a similar complaint against lazy boy but the only ones that seem to get resolution are those that use BBB. We purchased a couch which within a few weeks had problems. The cushions collapsed. They said they would replace them. Same cushions will have the same problems. We want our money back. However they rest upon a Warranty and won't even discuss the possibility. So many people have had this same problem with their quality and service, along with disregard for their customer that I am amazed that they can keep their doors open. It becomes apparent when reading the reviews on so many sites that a once good company has now placed itself in the sleezy sales and policy category. Product_Or_Service: couch Order_Number: XXXXXXXXspec

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Return the couch with total refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/04) */ Mr. ******** purchased a sofa on 4/26/2015,and had it delivered on 5/6/2015. On 6/25/2015 we received a call from Mr. ******** saying his seat cushions were collapsed. On 7/1/2015 we went out to the customers home to inspect, and determined we needed to replace the 2 seat cores(poly foam). We ordered the 2 seat cores under the La-Z-Boy warranty. Parts, service and labor are covered at no charge for the first year per the La-Z-Boy warranty. The warranty covers the repair of the furniture it does not cover replacement of the furniture. When we receive the parts we will call the customer to schedule a date to replace the 2 seat cores. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All I can say is BUYER BEWARE. Make sure you read the warranty. It covers them.... not you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LA-Z Boy Furniture Galleries
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)