BBB Accredited Business since

Forever Redwood

Additional Locations

Phone: (707) 495-4955 Fax: (619) 374-2462 View Additional Phone Numbers 33710 Annapolis Rd, Annapolis, CA 95412 http://www.foreverredwood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manages and restores forestlands. It uses lumber from its forestlands to build outdoor Redwood furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Forever Redwood meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Forever Redwood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Forever Redwood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 12/04/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulations
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Warren Linney, CFO Mr. Raul Hernandez, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Raul Hernandez, CEO
Principal: Mr. Warren Linney, CFO
Number of Employees

71

Business Category

Furniture - Retail Internet Shopping Furniture Manufacturers Wood Carving

Service Area
This business service area covers Nation wide.
Alternate Business Names
Old Growth Again Restoration Forestry, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 33710 Annapolis Rd

    Annapolis, CA 95412

  • PO Box 19

    Annapolis, CA 95412 (303) 619-4769

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for the XL chaise lounges but received the regular sized chaise lounges. We paid for the XL. We directly Forever Redwood an additional $510.00 per lounge chair for the XL. In addition, we paid for white glove service that we never received, in which he refused a refund but offered a credit of $810.00. Also, we were missing several pieces to build, which resulted in out of pocket expenses and substantial additional time on our end. A multitude of mistakes have been made in excess of $1,800.00. When I contacted the owner **** about this, this was his response: HI ******, Hi *****, "My honest take on all this is that we gave you a screaming deal on the entire order. ***** took many months to make a decision and we gave you many discounts on the order that we do not normally do. Yes, the discounting can go on and on, but honestly, truthfully, I have not given out any more discounts because of this. Your order was discounted MANY thousands of dollars from the start. We do not normally give out discounts like this. If you want another lounger, we will make one for you at no cost. But, I cannot give out any more discounts for white glove that didn't happen (out of our control) or for anything else on this order. Please understand. We gave you the order at wholesale to begin with." **** and his sales people kept contacting my husband offering deals to make the final sale. When we finally decided to move forward, they pretty much "took away product" to account for their discounted sales techniques. I questioned him about why he offered offered us a discounts in order to make a sale if it was done with the intention to build in false charges. As far as the white glove service, this is not a discount, this is something we paid for and expected to get. Forever Redwood took our money and never refunded and kept it to cover the "discounts" they gave us. The order was placed September of 2013 and received in May 2014. There was no order number. Jonathon Mills was our representative, but we spoke with the owner **** ********* frequently. Our grand total amount was $12,139.26. We paid with a check from our personal checking amount. We paid 50% down, and the rest upon delivery. I have copies of e-mails that were sent back and forth between **** about refunding the money we paid for the XL chaise lounges and only received the regular size.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for check to be paid in the amount of $1,000 to at least cover the product that we paid for but did not receive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/05) */ Dear BBB, Thank you for contacting us. We do not normally offer discounts on our orders beyond a 5 or 10% promotion via email a few times per year. For this order, discounts in excess of 16% were granted initially plus free shipping and further discounts and write-offs were added along the way to attempt to keep the customer happy. But, the requests for discounts continued and continue to this day. I made the decision to cut the process off and still do now because they were not reasonable requests when taken in the light of the entire transaction. A gorgeous custom pergola was designed and built and many other items including chairs, side tables and 2 loungers were built. The drawing process was long and slow but resulted in a larger lovely pergola being designed. We did fall behind in production during 2013 and the order did ship out late. But, because of the late order, a further write-off of $459 was also taken off the balance due when the final payment was made. So, yes, the order was late, but the issue was resolved via a further discount that is not mentioned by the customer complaint. No inferior product was substituted. On the contrary, many changes were requested during the drawing process for the Pergola and included at no additional cost. We have all the drawing versions of the pergola to document the many changes that were made and will furnish them if reqeusted to do so. The pergola size increased substantially and we attempted to charge the normal upcharge amount for the additional square footage, but the Tripletts refused to pay anywhere near what should have been paid for the upcharge. To avoid conflict and to move forward, we settled on a much reduced upcharge after a lot of back and forth. In total, over ****** in discounts were granted on this order resulting in a % discount of nearly **** A minor mistake was made when the order shipped and the 2 loungers were made the standard size, 4 inches shorter than the requested size (74 instead of 78 inches). We made a good faith effort to settle the error by offering to build one additional lounger at no cost and for the Tripletts to keep their 2 loungers that were already shipped. The customer did not want the lounger remade but a huge further discount atop all the discounts that had already been made. This order was not made through our normal channels, but by an associate of Forever Redwood that was no longer with the company when the order shipped. I did reach out to the ********'s via many emails to attempt to reach an agreement, but the emphasis on their behalf was for further large retroactive discounts. I informed the ********* that the offer stood for one new lounger set but that we could not offer anymore discounts and the case has sat for 2 years. To file a complaint 2 years later via a public forum like the BBB does not change the facts of the transaction. We were exceedingly generous with the Tripletts and stand by the decision to not grant any further discounts. If this issue was about the loungers not working for them, this complaint would have been filed in 2013 and not in 2015. I made the decision in 2013 to cut off the discount granting and stand by it despite this now being in a public forum. If the BBB wants to see the drawings and all the upcharges that were made to the order for next to no money, they are available. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We received this order in May of 2014. The order was place in the fall of 2013. There was no way of knowing the chaise lounges were going to be incorrect until the merchandise was received in May of 2014. My communication began in October of 2014 once I measured the lounges to purchase cushions for them. This was 6 months after the order was received, not 2 years. I have e-mail communications that serves as evidence. Regardless of the discounts **** OFFERED, we still paid for a product that we did not receive. We are requesting a refund for $1,000. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/24) */ Dear BBB, We are happy to make any product on our website for a cost of up to $1,000 at no charge for the ********'s as a further courtesy. A bench, a planter, a rocker, anything they would like. As I explained in the prior response, we have already applied two discounts to this order and can no longer add to the discounts. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/05/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are not asking for an additional discount. You offered the initial discount and it was something we had asked for. We are asking to be reimbursed for a product we did not receive. In fact, the product that we had purchased from you is not holding up in very good condition so we are hesitant to have a purchase another product with your company, let alone except another product. We are still asking for a $1000 (still only part of what we are owed by your company) for a product we actually paid for. We paid for the XL chaise lounges. You gave us the regular length. This has nothing to do with the discount you offered but about product that we actually paid for.

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It 4 months to get order while they took my $7000. Today order arrived and 1person to unload 1200lbs 17 feet long. I had to hire 3 people to unload Mr allegre the owner has details but no solutions. He admitted he sat on my $7000 and could do nothing about it He could by accepting b1/3 deposit. He said his website can't do that Haha. The delivery was a nightmare as I described above I have been trying to reach him now for hours and no return call or email. I would like the delivery fee refunded as I had to hire people to take products off the truck

Desired Settlement: Refund delivery fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/27) */ Dear BBB, I just wanted to take a moment to respond to this complaint by giving some background information to put this in what we believe is a more appropriate perspective. At Forever Redwood, we receive on an average year about 1,400 new customer orders. Over 99% of these orders are fulfilled without a glitch. We receive hundreds of glowing reviews each year from our customers. Many of them are on our website. We work very hard to make the best outdoor wood furniture and shade structures in the business. From the 1,400 orders we process this past 12 months, about 12 to 15 orders do have some issues. Some go out without the right hardware, some ship late, some have shipping damage. As soon as we realize a mistake is made, we have our Customer Care Manager, ****** ********* or our Shipping Manager, Tania Marchan, or myself follow up to figure out what to do to fix it. In most cases, the issue is resolved quickly and we move on. Once or twice a year, we get complaints that we cannot resolve no matter how hard we work to do so. This is one of those cases. Mr. ******** placed an order with us on November 7th. He placed the order on his own without having contacted us. He paid with his AMEX card and choose the Free Shipping option for his shade structure order. The Free Shipping option allows us 8 to 10 weeks to ship the order. In early January, our Customer Care Manager called me to say that he just got yelled out by a customer and that I needed to talk to this person or he was going to cancel the order. I spoke with Mr. ******** that day. He was aggressive, condesceding and generally unpleasant. He accused us of being thieves for charging his card and not sending his order. I explained that his order was not even late yet and that he had placed the order himself with his credit card and that we had no control over that? We were on schedule to ship about 2 weeks late, so I agreed to move up production of his order so it would be ready to ship in a couple weeks and go out on time and this seemed to calm down. A couple weeks later we sent him photos of his order so he could see it was done. At that time, he told us that he did not want us to ship because the weather was lousy and he was going to Puerto Rico soon on vacation. So, after rushing us to get it done, he had us hold the crate a couple of weeks. We did. When he returned, we shipped it. He wanted the order to arrive only on a Friday. We tried to time the cross country shipment to arrive on Friday, but the crate wound up due to arrive on the following Monday. We spoke to the shippers and scheduled them to hold it and deliver it the following Friday for him. After the crate was dropped off, Mr. ******** again began to call and yell and hang up at our Customer Care manager. He again sent angry emails full of insults and threats and now was also asking for a full refund of his shipping costs because he had been inconvenienced by the truck driver into getting some help to unload his huge crate. He did not contact us prior to this happening where we could have arranged for help, but only after the crate was dropped off. Since he had chosen Free Shipping and did not pay for shipping for his order, I did not respond to this email. The email included a threat to file complaints with the BBB and with other agencies if we did not call him. I honestly could not call and be yelled at anymore. I also did not want to engage in receiving yet more very angry nasty emails (of which I have a half dozen that I could attach, but would rather not). I spoke and emailed Mr. ******** at least 10 times over a 2 month period to attempt to satisfy his complaints. In some emails and calls he was pleasant, but in most his tone was uncivilized and rageful. We really did nothing to this person other than try to satisfy his order. We built a lovely structure for him and we hope he loves it. I am not going to respond to anymore complaints from Mr. ******** other than this one time. We did all we could for him and we have no control over the truck drivers decisions when they arrive at a customer's home. If the driver did not want to lower the crate without help and Mr. ******** did not want to offer the help, he could have contacted us and we would have reset the delivery for the following Friday and with additional help. We have photos of his job and the drawings of his lovely structure and we truly hope he loves what we built for him. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I stand by my complaint. Forever redwood shipped 10 boxes weighing 1242 lbs and were 17 feet long. They expected me to unload that or take another day off from work for another delivery day. I'm just a consumer caught between forever redwood and THEIR shipper. All I want back is the cost to unload the truck

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product has not been delivered My husband and I ordered a Shoe Cubby 48" long with 3 rows of cubbies of Mature Redwood on May 23rd of this year. They promised to deliver it within the time frame of 12 to 14 weeks. We still haven't received the product. I have been calling for the past 2 weeks. They never ever pick up the phone. We have been leaving messages with answering service. But so far they have not returned our messages. The full payment was made at the time we placed an order on line. The order number is # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Would like to receive the Shoe Cubby within a week (by Monday,the 22nd of September, 2014) or refund the full payment

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Dear BBB, Good afternoon. Our Customer Service manager, ****** ******* spoke with the customer Monday morning the 15th. We confirmed the delivery appointment for next Tuesday the 23rd. Surprised she filed the complaint with BBB after setting the appointment? Maybe it was done before hand. Anyhow, will be delivered early next week. The order is a couple weeks late. Thank you, **** ********* for Forever Redwood Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The guy did call back on Monday afternoon the 15th but promised to call back to confirm the exact date and time after checking with the delivery truck. But did not call back to confirm. I waited for a few hours and left another message. He called the next day Tuesday morning the 16th and promised to bring the item on Monday the 22nd of Sept, 2014 around 5 in the evening. We are waiting for the delivery. Let's see. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/18) */ Forever Redwood delivers and assembles many of our orders in ********** in our own truck. Often, this is done at no additional cost as a courtesy, as in this case. But, doing so, requires a bit of waiting since we have only 2 trucks to cover the entire state. The customer has been notified that her order will be delivered Monday the 22nd between 5 and 6 pm.

5/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chaise Lounge delivered with missing wood plug Order #XXXXXX. On 4/01/14 emailed customer service at Forever Redwood advising that two chaise lounges were delivered with only enough hardware for one chaise lounge. Also missing redwood plug on one chaise lounge so screw was exposed. No response so called on 4/02/14 and spoke with ********* Escalante. Resent original email (with photos) to ********* per her request. No email/call back response by 4/04/14 so called again. ********* advised that hardware and plugs would be delivered the following week. When I arrived home on the evening of 4/04/14 there was a box of hardware on my front porch. Only 10 of the 14 bolts, washers, and nuts were delivered and they did not deliver the redwood plug. On 4/05/14 emailed ********* again requesting for update on missing hardware and redwood plug. No response so emailed again on 4/08/14. She responded on 4/08/14 and advised that missing hardware and plug would be delivered that afternoon. Parts were not delivered so emailed her again on 4/09/14. When I arrived home on the evening of 4/09/14 the 4 missing bolts, washers, and nuts were in a bag on my front porch. The redwood plug was not in the bag. Emailed her back on 4/09/14 advising that still missing the redwood plug. No response so emailed her again on 4/11/14 and threatened to file a complaint with the BBB. She responded back that her driver was very busy but she hoped he would be delivering the missing plug that day. That was a week ago and I have not received any additional email updates or phone calls regarding the missing redwood plug.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to send me a couple of redwood plugs so I can cover up the screw head. Not sure why they have to be delivered. It seems to me they could simply throw a couple of redwood plugs in an envelope and mail them to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ Dear BBB, Yes, there was an error in the original shipment of this order where some hardware was left out of the shipment. A second shipment was made and an apology for the error was emailed also. Then the customer noted that a couple of dowels on a lounger were missing (5/16" of an inch diameter plugs). Dowels are added to cover up screw heads and someone in our sanding department must have either forgotten to add them or they fell out during transit. These dowels were shipped out last week and the customer should already have received them. Do not understand why a tiny matter like this requires a BBB complaint to be made. A simple call to us would have taken care of it faster. Anyhow, if the customer needs anything else, she can respond to the BBB complaint or call us anytime at XXX XXX XXXX. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of this evening, Tuesday, April 29th I have still not received the redwood plugs. Vendor claims they were shipped last week but vendor did not provide an exact ship date, delivery method, or expected delivery date. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/05/01) */ Redwood plugs were delivered today by UPS. Issue with vendor is now resolved. Thank you for your help.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Forever Redwood
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)