BBB Accredited Business since

Del Monte Foods

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 543-3090 Fax: (412) 222-4123 View Additional Phone Numbers 3003 Oak Road, Walnut Creek, CA 94597 http://www.delmontefoods.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers food products for the U.S. retail market; produces and distributes private label food products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Del Monte Foods meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Del Monte Foods include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Del Monte Foods
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1931 Business started: 04/01/1931 Business started locally: 04/01/1931 Business incorporated 12/18/2013 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Sawyers, VP General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer Ms. Robin Connell, Sr. Manager, Corporate Responsibility
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Sawyers, VP General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer
Number of Employees

7,800

Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Service Area
This business service area covers: Worldwide.
Alternate Business Names
Del Monte Foods, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3003 Oak Road

    Walnut Creek, CA 94597

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    375 N Shore Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 80

    Pittsburgh, PA 15230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1062 Progress St

    Pittsburgh , PA 15212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1075 Progress Street

    Pittsburgh, PA 15212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    225 North Shore Drive, Suite 400

    Pittsburgh , PA 15212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    375 North Shore Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 510

    Pittsburgh, PA 15230

  • 1200 Market St NE

    Decatur, AL 35601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22977 9 Ave SW

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22977 9 Ave SW

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hwy 14 W

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Hwy 14 W

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 407

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 407

    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 7
    1101 Marion Street

    Kingsburg, CA 93631

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1308 Hart St.

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    94-1000 Kunia Road

    Kunia, HI 96759

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 200

    Kunia, HI 96759

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. BOX 437

    Othello, WA 99344

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the fall of 2015 I purchased a 8.25oz can of Del Monte Peach Chunks (no sugar added) from WalMart Food Store in *************** XXXXX. On November 30, 2015, I opened this can, and completely consumed it (not emptying it into a dish) and this can never left my hand. I looked inside and saw a HUGE dead roach at the very bottom of the can. I immediately placed it in the sink and set the lid back on top of the dead roach. The can is marked as follows: BEST BY XX XX XX CLC XXXXXX K 09:15:13 (OR 14)...I still have the empty can (with the roach inside) in my freezer. A friend came over and took pictures of this can also, if you need to see it. I called the complaint number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on December 1st and spoke to "*****" at that number who told us that these cans go through the processing line twice. She also said that she would send coupons to me.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) As the result of this terrible experience, I have eaten very little, just thinking about that HUGE roach in the can. I feel that some monetary compensation should be given because of this experience. I have always enjoyed Del Monte products and had great trust in the name. This has certainly changed my views of this company. Although this is a very easy way of eating this fruit (from the can), I **** NEVER do this again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** CA ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************@delmonte.com Good Morning, I called and spoke with Ms. **** this morning at approximately 11:30 AM Est. She explained the situation again to me and how it made her feel. She also told me she felt our rep didn't take the contact seriously and she hadn't received the coupons that were promised to her. I assured her that we do in fact take this seriously, I again apologized and I'm having mailing material sent to her home to retrieve the insect so that it can be forwarded to our quality assurance department. I'm also sending her a 50 dollar goodwill gesture so she can take her friend out for dinner on us. This complaint appears to have been resolved. If you or Ms. **** needs any additional information please don't hesitate to contact me, Thanks ***** ******** Del Monte Foods Consumer Affairs Coordinator.

12/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discovered a "large" pit in a Del Monte fruit can. I usually don't complain about products from Del Monte, but this time I need to make a statement about the contents of the can. While eating from a Del Monte No Sugar Added Very Cherry fruit can, I unfortunately bit down on something rather hard only to discover that it was a very large pit. It measured 2.3 cm long and 3.3 cm around. I was fortunate not to damage any of my teeth. As a consumer, I shouldn't have to look for items that are not suppose to be in the can. I want the company to make sure all their products are safe for consumers.

Desired Settlement: Just a replacement of the product. Hopefully one that doesn't have a "large" pit in the can.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/12/16) */ Received business response via email on 12/16/15: I've reached out to Mr. ***** by phone at approximately 1 pm Eastern and we are sending the following email to apologize and request additional information. I'm also sending him a 15 dollar refund. We **** follow up again by phone on Friday if he doesn't respond before then. . Thanks ***** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ***** ******** called me on Wednesday, December 16, 2015. I returned his phone call, and he apologized for the time it took to get back to me. I explained the situation over the phone, gave him the information he needed, and I sent a picture of the label and peach pit to him. I received a response back from him that he had received my email and attachment. I believe this has been resolved and hopefully I never find another peach pit or any foreign item in a can. Thanks for your help in resolving this situation.

5/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stem found in Italian Style Green Beans. I bought a can of Italian style green beans from Price Chopper in ******* Pa. Upon consuming this product I found a LARGE piece of stem in it. If this would have been served to a child, choking problems could have occurred. Please have quality control check this more thoroughly. I have no problem buying this product again.

Desired Settlement: Would just like a coupon to buy another can.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/11) */ Good Afternoon, The consumer did not leave a phone number so we've sent the following response to her email address. In an effort to restore her confidence in our products We've also sent her several complimentary coupons. If you need any addtional information please let me know. Dear *****, Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your recent experience with Del Monte Italian Green Beans. Product quality and safety are extremely important to us and we are glad you took the time to contact them. We share your concern about your experience because we take great care during the entire preparation and processing of our products. All incoming ingredients are inspected carefully, and Quality Control Inspectors continuously monitor the entire process to prevent extraneous material from entering the product and ensure that the finished product **** meet our high standards. Prior to packing, raw products go through repeated manual inspections and washings. However, despite our best efforts, because of the agricultural nature of our products, there still remains the remote possibility that plant material, such as the stem you found, can travel with the raw ingredients into the finished product. If you still have the product available it would be helpful if you can provide the production code information, usually printed or stamped after the "Best By" date. This code identifies the plant location and other batch information, and allows our Quality Assurance Management to investigate your experience. If the code is available, we would appreciate it if you could email the information to us using the link below. If you prefer to call, our toll-free number is XXX-XXX-XXXX and our hours are Monday - Friday, 9 - 5 Eastern Time. Please provide this Reference Number XXXXXXXXXA to our Representative. We hope our products **** be completely satisfactory in the future, and I'm sending you complimentary coupons in the mail in appreciation of your business. *****, Del Monte Foods Consumer Affairs

10/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plastic strips embedded in 9 Lives chicken dinner canned cat food. Cat is violently ill. I just sent this email to 9 Lives: Lot# **************** There is PLASTIC in this lot of cat food! Clearly visible strips of plastic!! I purchased a 4-pack of 9 Lives chicken dinner and my cat is violently sick. I couldn't figure out why because she is very active and healthy. Upon inspecting her food, I noticed strips of plastic embedded in the food in two of the opened cans, one of which I have saved for evidence. I have one unopened can left which more than likely has strips of plastic in it as well which I am also saving for evidence. The entire lot manufactured probably has strips of plastic in them. Chicken dinner is her favorite and I never had a problem before this. It is always served in a metal dish, not a plastic dish. The plastic strips are embedded in the food from your manufacturing plant. I am contacting a lawyer right now. Please get back to me via email to resolve this matter immediately. I will take legal action if need be. P.S. I just took pictures and video of the tainted food and my sick cat. Purchased 10/11/2014. Problem since 10/11/2014.

Desired Settlement: Cash settlement to be determined by lawyer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Good Morning, Please note, Del Monte Foods Inc. does not produce pet foods. Del Monte Pacific Limited (DMPL) completed the purchase of the consumer food business from Del Monte Corporation in February 2014. The U.S. consumer food business was then renamed Del Monte Foods, Inc. THe Pet FOod business was remanmed Big Heart Pet BRands Please refer this complaint to Big Heart Pet Brands (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) and kindly remove this from Del Monte Foods Inc's record. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Big Heart Pet Brands has contacted me. I am expecting a FedEx mailer from them to send the tainted cat food to a third party independent lab for examination.

11/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attachment.

Desired Settlement: Please see attachment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/27) */ Ms. ****** daughter-in-law, ***** ******, contacted us by email on 9/24/13. Ms. ****** returned our call on 9/25 and provided details of the complaint. Informational forms were sent to Ms. ******' attention to gather additional information. On 10/10 I received the completed form, a sample of the food being fed and a sample of the alleged orange plastic. The food sample contains at least two different food products. The orange material appears to be styrofoam. In order to better ascertain the nature of the orange material it was sent to an idependent lab for further evaluation. The attached letter was sent to Ms. **** on 10/14. Once the lab evaluation is received, it will be reviewed with our Quality Assurance Team. I will then follow up with Ms. **** in writing to advise her of our findings.

10/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Del Monte Foods
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)