BBB Accredited Business since

Foam Order.com

Phone: (415) 503-1188 Fax: (415) 503-1131 View Additional Phone Numbers 3455 Collins Ave, Richmond, CA 94806 http://www.foamorder.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foam insulation for mattresses, cushions, mattress toppers and custom cut foam.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Foam Order.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Foam Order.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Foam Order.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2001 Business started: 10/15/1999 Business started locally: 10/15/1999 Business incorporated 12/29/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulations
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 135593.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Customer Service, Manager Mr. Michael Gorham, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Customer Service, Manager
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Foam & Sponge Rubber Furniture - Wholesale Cushions Furniture - Childrens Furniture - Retail Mattresses

Service Area
Bay Area

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Foam Order.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective latex foam sold online, store pick up. Viewed foam, very inferior, not same as showroom as described, didn't take, won't refund w/o 25% #XXXXXX Defective latex mattress. Was on clearance- (Said overstock priced to move, New Condition.) Saw in showroom what I was supposidly buying. Salesman ***** said these were same as clearance, that flaws were described well. Wouldn't let me view pieces before charging on 6/12. Brought pattern in to store to have cut, viewed - Had many unfilled voids,3/16 thickness difference from one side to other,very crumbly. 1 on their clearance site says(2.75" on one side and 2 5/8" on the other x 60" x 80" Natural Sense 100% nat.... Returned in good condition except minor lint and air pockets.) Have pictures of same product at stores that look fine- no air pockets. **** ** refunded 1 w/hole, won't refund other -$218.08, w/o 25% return charge. Your site says (may have natural flaws that include discoloration, small tears, small nicks out of edges, air pockets and surface texture.) Also says (In particular, because these items are offered at greatly reduced prices, a 25% restocking fee will apply to any return of a clearance item.) Never took from store-Faulty product. also says (Warranted not to soften more than 10% or form permanent dents for 15 years. permanent dents before leaving store.)

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $218.08 to my credit card, and to cancel the order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***************@foamorder.com I let ******** know that since one item on the order is as advertised it would have a cancellation fee of 25%. I can issue a refund less the 25% fee. Please advise. I emailed this to her as well but have never received a reply to my emails.

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered cushion covers to be made for the v berth in the front of my boat from Foam Orders online. After sending the appropriate measures and information needed to construct the covers, we were sent cushion covers of the wrong size. We contacted **** ****** who is the product development specialist for Foam Orders and notified him of the problem. ****'s response was pretty much "Too Bad", "Thats what you ordered". His rectification of the problem was for us to order a new set and he would give us a discount. The cushion covers ordered, cost us $500. He neither offered to fix them or refund our money. Speaking to him, he became extremely belligerent and began degrading my wife and i. I would compare this situation to being held up and having our money stolen from us. After asking for a full refund and letting **** know we would return the product to him asap, his response was "quite simply, No!!" My wife and i are currently out $500 and saddled with a useless set of boat cushion covers. Product_Or_*******: boat cushion covers Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund My wife and i would accept a suitable replacement or a full refund. We are very reasonable people who would just like this matter resolved. Thank You,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/27) */ I'm in the business of make products for customers exactly as they are ordered. You expected me to guess that you needed a curve in your cushions. you didn't add any comments specifying there is a curve. Its difficult to communicate with ********'s who only see what they want to see. I offer to produce cushions with a specific shape and dimensions and you guys want cushions of a different shape and dimension. When you are so focused on how this is my fault, its impossible to come to any compromise. In the future I would recommend you attempt to understand the situation and simply ask what can be done about it. You were not interested in this. You only wanted to blame me for have a misleading website. I make yach mattesses all the time in this shape to the exact dimensinos ordered for ******** without any curve in the sides. I make several every month. In fact, the very same day I got off the phone with you, I had a custommer who had curves in his cushions specifically requested in writing that he wanted them exactly as the shape on the website without any curves. What should I tell those ********'s if I start adding random amounts of curves to the sides when they didn't want it nor did I advertise that is what I would make for them?

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After placing an online order, my credit card number was used elsewhere, not for my Foam Order purchase. On December 26, 2013, I ordered two twin natural latex mattresses online from Foam Order for a total of about $1,800. Since the company doesn't use Paypal or another payment service, I had to give my credit card number to place the order. About three days later the bank notified me of a debit to my account in a different amount than I had approved. I called the bank and was told not only was money paid, but more was on hold for further processing. The bank gave me the name of the payee which was Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf. I immediately put a hold on the account and reported the theft to Visa. I then called the Marriott to verify it was my card number which had been used to rent a room for the weekend or longer. Due to their policy, I was not given the name on the register. I then called Foam Order and when customer service answered I explained what had happened and the girl just laughed and spoke to someone else in the office and they both had a laugh. I asked to speak to the owner and explained what had occurred. He assured me it couldn't have been one of his 'trusted' employees and told me the entire place was monitored and video taped and he would check the tape to see who had processed my order. When I didn't hear from him after a day or two, I contacted him again. The story he gave me was the video system was down on that day so there was nothing to be viewed. How convenient, which is what I told him. Next I reported the theft to the local police who then forwarded it to the police department in San Francisco. Since the bank verified my card had been stolen, I was refunded the full amount. However, the actual person who committed the theft has not been apprehended. No one cares as long as the money has been refunded. Visa is covered by insurance so it's no loss to them and it's never reported to the authorities. This is one reason people continue to steal card numbers and identities and something needs to be done about it. I can understand why some people retaliate in their own way.

Desired Settlement: What I want will most likely not happen. The employee, or possibly the owner, who stole my card number and used it for a long holiday weekend at my expense should be punished by law enforcement. Not only that, the customer service employees are poor representatives of the company when they laugh about someone's problem. Of course this is not your concern, but I would like you to include it on their BBB records.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/03/30) */ Thank you for taking the time and writing BBB. This is the first I have heard of this. Thanks for informing us of your experience with our company. I track all users who access cc info as well as limit individuals to just a few who actually have access to cc info. I will look into who viewed your cc data. I will also speak with customer service staff about appropriate responses to customer concerns. You don't by chance have the name of the person you spoke with? Please feel free to email me directly at ***************@foamorder.com Warm regards. **** ****** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ******, I have no desire to email you directly. This is a matter to be resolved by the BBB, not you. You are the person I spoke with and exchanged emails with in reference to my stolen credit card number. You told me all computer work stations were under video surveillance and you would review the videos and contact me with the results. When I didn't receive a response from you after a few days, I contacted you again. You wrote back to me with the explanation that the surveillance system happened not to be working the day this incident occurred. That seemed a bit too coincidental and convenient to use as an excuse to cover up a theft by you or one of your employees. Fortunately, your company isn't the only one selling the same products. My purchase from one of your competitors was the only pleasant part of this experience for me. My only disappointment is the fact you're still in business. **** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/04/15) */ Hi ****, So BBB will automatically forward me every email you send to them. If you don't want to discuss this with me. Do not reply. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If I had chosen to respond to Mr. ****** via his personal email, the correspondence would not be available to the BBB for other consumers to read or for the BBB to add to the record. His telling me not to reply if I don't want to play his game is quite telling if he has nothing to hide. There has been no proposed resolution to the matter as yet.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a custom cut foam mattress and were confirmed a price, then later told price was $100 more after we ordered and would not honor initial price. A few days before March 8 my wife and I purchased a custom cut foam mattress for a window seat from Foamorder.com. After a few days we had not received a confirmation email nor was our debit card charged so my wife called the store. A man answered and found our order and sent a confirmation email stating that the price was $249.99. He also commented at how good of a price it was and mentioned that there must be an issue with their price no online because that should be more expensive. He also noted that the pricing error was their fault bland they would honor the prices this was on March 8, 2015. On March 11 ,y wife received an email from an employe named Javier stating he needed her approval on the pricing of the order at $353.21. She told him of the email and conversation she had and he passed *** to the alleged CFO who preceeded to explain to my wife how they were not going to honor the price she was emailed a confirmation for because it was too cheap. He then asked my wife to request the order be cancelled, likely so it would appear that we had cancelled our order instead of them refusing to honor their pricing. She informed the gentleman she would not be doing that and the conversation ended shortly thereafter.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be sold the product we ordered at the price confirmed to us. We have email proof of all of the aforementioned issues. We can and will furnish these if necessary including 2 confirmation emails with the original pricing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/02) */ Hi ***, Our site allows customers to add comments about items they are trying to order. If you try to use our comments field to request a different size item than the one you have ordered our administrative staff (Javier) will let you know that is not allowed. Your order was for a foam mattress of a certain standard size, but, you added comments to make it a custom size. The custom size item costs more than the standard sized items. So to concluded, yes your order confirmation shows you want a standard size item but your comments request a custom size item. We cannot build custom size items for people at the same price we make a standard size item. Just because you were able to add a comment to request this doesn't mean we need to produce it for you. Hope this makes sense.

6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered a duvet, pillowcases along with a bed on 2/22/14. Per the foam order policy the order should have been shipped in 1-14 days after my card had made the payment. I received the bed on 3/7/14 however I did not receive the duvet or pillowcases ordered, and there was no communication of any issues or delays of these items.I called foamorder on 3/7/14 and they stated that they were aware of the delay. They back on 3/10/14 and stated that it was due to raw material issues and will send as soon as possible. On 3/28/14 foamorder contacted me regarding color of the duvet and pillowcases and I reiterated I had ordered the green. These items were unsuccessfully delivered to me as the shipment date was almost 2 months after the initial order and there was no communication of the shipment and I was not in town. I requested a refund for items as I'm frustrated at the lack of communication on foam orders end and the timeliness of processing this order. The owner has been short and unhelpful. I still have not received these items as of 5/1/14.Also the bed I received had manufacturing flaws and quality issues. It was a self assemble flat bed. The wood provided was missing many starter holes and I had to go out and get a drill and drill bit to assemble the bed. Only about 2/3 of the hardware to assemble the bed was provided and I had to go to the hardware store and buy screws and bolts. Also the instructions sent were for a different style of bed. I tried to go to the website for instructions but found them very unhelpful, even indiscernible. Product_Or_Service: Bed/duvet/pillowcas Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would simply like a refund for the duvet and pillowcases of $225.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/06/20) */ Received business response via email on 6/20/14: Our customer in fact communicated with our staff per the below email chain. His statements are simply structured to support his argument and not the truth. We informed him of the delay and color choices which he approved on march 31 only after further reminders requesting he make a choice. His custom order was then produced to his approved specifications and shipped on April 3. This is a custom item for him and not usable for others. It is not refundable/cancellable/returnable. In order to help resolve this I will be happy to pay to ship the item back to him at my expense. Oh, another thing, on Mar 31 when he approved the color per below email chain is when he should have cancelled the order not encourage us to make it for him. Warm regards. Mike ****** Customers Services Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My statements are true and accurate. As for the duvet, the stores policy claims it will be shipped in 1-14 days from being charged, this did not happen and it was not properly communicated. Also the store owner did not address any of the quality issues I had with the partial order I received. Thanks for your time, *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/06/26) */ As I have arleady stated ealier he should have cancelled the order on March 31st instead of choosing a color for us to CUSTOM MAKE A DUVET for him from. His order was custom sewn to his specifications and then shipped on April 3. Just 5 days after he approved the color. He could have cancelled the order anytime before production had begun and he chose to wait. His contract with us doesn't allow for a cancellation after production has begun. He didn't contact me about the issues he has described he had with the bed. At this point, I'm I may be able to re-imburse him for any parts which he purchased for the bed once he presents a copy of his receipt and we have a chance to review it. We buy these beds from an importer who at their discretion will replace / discount/ re-imburse. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since I had ordered a duvet and pillowcases 2/22/14. Per the foam order policy the order should have been shipped in 1-14 days after my card had made the payment. It was almost 2 months until it was ready to ship. This along with the other quality issues and the lack of communication and customer support gives me no confidence in this vendor. I would simply like to be reimbursed $225 for the order that i have not yet recieved. Thanks for your time, ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Foam Order.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart