BBB Accredited Business since

Davis Floors

Phone: (650) 533-7728 Fax: (650) 593-3630 217 Old County Rd Ste 6, San Carlos, CA 94070

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential-commercial hardwood and laminate flooring. This company also offers sanding, refinishing and repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davis Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Davis Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2002 Business started locally: 08/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 811920.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Davis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Davis, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Floor Coatings - Epoxy/Polyurethane Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing Floor Refinishing Hardwood Floor Contractors Hardwood Floor Maintenance Floors - Hardwood Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning Contractors - Flooring

Additional Locations

  • 217 Old County Rd Ste 6

    San Carlos, CA 94070 (650) 533-7728


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: David flooring installed hardwood floor on our family, dinning and living rooms, the color of finish work is very different than our stairs and second floor ( he assured us will be very close to what we already have) the whole floor has waves of darker/ lighter streaks. The base board is at least 1/2 inch higher than up stairs, they were suppose to match, some paint was cheaped from the wall and glued back to the wall.The base board by fireplace on one side different than other side.Interance to the backyard was framed a very poor job as well ss one side higher than the othet. Product_Or_Service: Hardwood flooring Account_Number: Davice flooring

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair Re sand re finish with correct color change the baseboard to the right size, fix the problems around fire place and entrance to the backyard

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/20) */ Job was completed on 11/6/15. I performed a walk through inspection with customer Mr. **** on 11/9/15 at which they stated their dissatisfaction with some minor items (color of floor, height of baseboards taller than they wanted, dislike of a transition piece and possible wall paint work they would have to perform as a result of demo of old and installation of new floor). At that same I informed property owner that our business would address each of item of concern to the extent feasible should they want us to do so. At that same inspection, upon speaking with the other property owner about the new floor coloring being natural and that no stain was being applied (per initial agreed upon scope of work), that the existing wood stairs would not be able to match in exact color due to existing age, wear & discoloration of the stairs. She did not seem willing to listen to this explanation and walked away. The concern with the coloring of the floor should be a non-issue due to the fact that the flooring installed is a natural color of red oak and no stain was applied. During the estimate process I explained there is no way to match the stairs exactly due to the age causing them to turn more yellow and golden from time. I explained this process at the time of estimate preparation, prior to any work being done. At this time, I also prepared an estimate for the stair work, should they have wanted to do so so that their would be an exact match. She seems to recall I said that the flooring would exactly match the flooring of the existing stairs, which I did not and would not have said as it is an impossibility in its technical application as described above. Hence, why I prepared the additional estimate to do work on the stairs. The customer showed me the product they used on stairs during the 11/9/15 walk through and I confirmed that we used the same exact product of polyurethane oil finish on the new red oak baseboards to be installed - which matched our newly finished floors exactly. We used waterborne finish on the new floor as a request from the customer not wanting the fumes and long curing period of the oil finish. The new red Oak floor is more vibrant then the existing stairs and will be until it ages further. This was a insurance floor replacement which we were tasked to replace an old damaged floor, not a case where I was trying to sell a new floor. To receive this complaint, I was taken back to say the least given the history I noted above. Summary: I went to the home three days after the last coat of finish was applied. It was Monday Nov,9th and the finish was applied Friday the 6th in the afternoon. The customer and I discussed all issues. I told him their customer satisfaction was of most importance and that we would work with him to resolve. He told me he was then going to talk with his wife who at that time was not willing to speak directly about her concerns with the color. The Customer stated he would let me know what they would like to do and get back to me. I then received an email from the wife on November 13th stating that she is getting estimates from other companies to fix the issues noted and will follow up with me. To date, I have not received any follow up from this correspondence. I have been extremely cooperative and willing to work the customer on their concerns, while consistently explaining the nature of natural wood product that was installed relative to their other existing conditions. To date, I have not received, nor have I asked , for any payment for the labor performed and won't until everything is resolved. There are no issues with the actual installation of all the oak floors and border work we performed. I have tried to rationally and reasonably work with customers to resolve their concerns - as is a matter of routine business practice - to which it seems, upon receipt of this complaint - they are not willing to do. We hope to be able to continue to work together on resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) These issues are not minor. from the wrong color finish to wrong size baseboard, to unfinished and wrong size framing to the fireplace and the door entrance, as well as moving the vent so they don't have to cut into the baseboard, nothing miner about all those problems. Mr. ***** had excuse for all the problems, therefore my wife walked away from him. We have had at least 10 hardwood floor installer to look at the floors and they all stated that Mr. ***** used a defective sander or unprofessional worker therefore we have waves all over the floors and did a wrong color finish not matching the existing hardwood floors(a major problem). Walking on the wrong color finish will not match the existing floors eventually as Mr. ***** stated. He also decided how the style around the fireplace, entrance door and vent should be, regardless of what we wanted and asked for and his reply was (I thought this looks better, every body do it this way). before hiring him we walked him through downstairs and upstairs showed him all the specifics and colors as well as baseboards and the size of the baseboard matching through out the house, he assured us that the color will match the existing floors and will look the same. If indeed he would have told us it will look very different or can not match the upstairs hardwood floors, we would never hired him. We have done hardwood floors three different dates and years in between and they always matched the colors. Now everything has to be completely re-sanded, re-finish as well as the baseboards and transition strips will have to be replaced, not only its wrong size and color also in order to sand and finish correctly the baseboards has to come out anyway. Mr. ***** told us he could not fined the right size baseboard therefore he used what he could get of course without our knowledge. the vent was moved higher on the wall so they don't have to cut in to the baseboard, instead they decided how they want it to be, therefore now I have holes on my wall. Mr. ***** used the waterborne finish as he calls it because he recommended, as its safer for the environment, and promised it would match the existing stairs and upstairs hardwood floors. My wife and I told him no matter what he uses color has to match the existing hardwood floors an he promised it will. stairs were suppose to get cleaned only, not changed to the color of new hardwood floors, which was too costly and we changed our minds. we have send a proposal to Mr. ***** regarding the cost re sanding, finishing, changing baseboards transitions and framing around the door and fireplace as well as cost of pod for our furniture and portal-potty and also moving out of our house for 4 days, hopefully he will accept the proposal and we do not have to go further and start fixing our house. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2016/01/06) */ This is Not Correct; we reached a satisfactory conclusion with the Contractor ***** Flooring. I replied previously that I reached a satisfactory conclusion to our issue with the Contractor and we are satisfied with the work, please do not state that we are dissatisfied with the work. Not sure how the happened but we are Satisfied. Thanks,

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Davis Floors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)