BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers floor and carpet products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Contra Costa Floors/Abbey Carpet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Contra Costa Floors/Abbey Carpet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Contra Costa Floors/Abbey Carpet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 1991 Business started: 08/25/1990 Business started locally: 08/25/1990 Business under new ownership as of: 01/08/2016 Business incorporated 01/08/2016 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Damian Mutulo, Owner
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floors - Laminate Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Linoleum Dealers Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Contractors - Flooring

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek
Alternate Business Names
Contra Costa Tile & Floors, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1170 Burnett Ave Ste E

    Concord, CA 94520

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Abbey carpet installed a carpet that soils easily & looks much older than it is. On 7/30/13 **** ****** at **** ********* ***** ** (I live at *** signed a contract with Abbey Carpet & Floor. Purchase was made of outdoor front covered entry carpeting with installation. Installation was done in August with red stains & footprints on the carpet the same day which was cleaned off. However the carpet soils easily so that after a month of wear, there were brown stain trails. During the next several months, the stains continued to accumulate. On Nove 19, I called the store to complain. **** at the store said to email ***** which I did. I complained that the carpet appears not to have any stain coating so that it looks much older than it is. The carpet is not exposed to sun or rain. I requested in the email for Abbey to replace the carpet. I called back to ***** to confirm receipt of email. I explained that both the owner of condo #5 and myself had paid for the carpets but that I was following up. He said he was forwarding the complaint to the manufacturer. I called back on 12/16 & ***** said he had not heard back from the manufacturer. He also put the complaint in **** ********* name despite me giving him my information. Mr. ****** has not heard back from the manufacturer. I told ***** that we would complain to BBB.

Desired Settlement: Abbey carpet should replace the carpet with a stain coated one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/21) */ Received business response via email on 1/21/14: Just to let you know we have contacted the Manufacturer for the carpet that was purchased by ***** ********. The manufacturer had requested that we take pictures of the carpet and send them to their claims department. We have been waiting for an answer as to what they were willing to do if anything. No answer was forth coming so we called them today. They asked us to resend them which we did. They will determine if the pictures are enough or if they will have to send an independent inspector to determine if the carpet is defective. From the inspection by our sales person, ***** Gonsalves, it seems like the soiling is typical of an out door installation. ***** was able to determine that the carpet has been installed correctly and according to industry standards. We will continue to monitor the progress of this claim and hopefully we will hear within a week or so as to what the mill is willing to do. We are sorry for the delay. Mike ****** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 2/6 this guy named ***** called me from Abbey Carpet to say that the manufacturer had denied our request to replace the carpet. I find it bad business practice that he called me the dame date that the BBB had said it was closing this case. They supplied a carpet that was not protected to footprints or stains. The carpet continued to stain on a daily basis. The first day that it was installed, there were light foot stains on this carpet from the boots of the installer before we walked on it.At my complaint which took several phone calls,(bad business practice), someone came out a week later & cleaned off the boot marks plus a red powder stain that the installer left.However this carpet soils very easily, something that I've never seen before. This carpet is in a outdoor hallway which is shielded from sun and rain. This company and their manufacturer sold an inferior product and refuse to accept responsibility. If they won't replace the carpet at their expense and our selection, this matter will go to Small Claims Court for a full refund plus our time spent.Also, we'll notify the social media such as Yelp etc. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/02/21) */ We have been in contact with ***** ******** and offered to her one (1) cleaning at no charge to her. She has refused and wants a full refund. We have had the carpet inspected by our representative ***** ********* who has determined that there are no installation problems and sent pictures of the carpet to the manufacturer Beaulieu. The manufacturer stated that there is no guarantee against soiling of carpet. The carpet is made from Olefin fibre which is highly resistant to staining (different from soiling - staining is when the staining agent penetrates the fiber causing a stain). Soiling, which is the problem with *****'s carpet, is the result of being outside and from daily use (walking on the carpet). The carpet is not stained and can be professionally cleaned to remove the soiling. The reason they use olefin fiber outside is because of its resistance to fading and damage by the sun. No carpet is totally soil resistant, but many including carpet made by olefin fiber is very stain resistant. Read from Wiipedia: Olefin fiber is a synthetic fiber made from a polyolefin, such as polypropylene or polyethylene. It is used in wallpaper, ropes, and vehicle interiors. Olefin's advantages are its strength, colourfastness and comfort, its resistance to staining, mildew, abrasion, sunlight and its good bulk and cover. (They didn't mention carpet in the above, but most if not all outdoor carpet is made from olefin fiber) Because we have determined that there are no defects in the manufacturing and installation of the carpet at ***** ********'s home we cannot honor her demands. However we, again, will offer one (1) free cleaning by a professional cleaner as an accomidation to her. Sincerely -- **** ****** **** ****** Contra Costa Floors / Abbey Carpet


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Contra Costa Floors/Abbey Carpet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)