BBB Accredited Business since

Credit.com, Inc.

Phone: (415) 901-1550 Fax: (415) 901-1568 View Additional Phone Numbers 160 Spear St STE 1020, San Francisco, CA 94105 http://www.credit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers credit information as a credit advocate, resource, and guide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Credit.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Credit.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 03, 2003 Business started: 05/10/1996 Business started locally: 05/10/1996 Business incorporated 01/25/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ian Cohen, Chairman Ms. Branca Koon, Controller Mr. Michael Schreiber, Editor-in-Chief Customer Support, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Cohen, Chairman
Customer Contact: Customer Support, Manager
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Financial Services Credit Services

Refund and Exchange Policy
Credit.com offers a free service and does not charge for its services. You may terminate your use of the Service by closing your Credit.com account and/or ceasing to access the Service.
Service Area
This business service area covers the US.
Additional Information

It has come to BBB's attention that Credit.com's name is being used in a false manner. It appears consumer's applying for loans online are contacted by a company claiming to be Credit.com

According to Credit.com's web site, the company offers information and resources to help educate consumers with their credit finances. Although they provide loan information on their site, they are not a direct loan lender.

If you've fallen victim, you can file a complaint with IC3 (Internet Crime Complaint Center by going to www.ic3.gov.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Credit.com, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 160 Spear St STE 1020

    San Francisco, CA 94105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Credit.com kept charging my credit card for a service I cancelled months ago. I registered for Credit Detect from Credit.com and called them to cancel the account on June 22nd. The lady I spoke to over the phone told me that the account has been cancelled. 2 months later, I checked my credit card account and noticed that they continue charging my account $9.99 every month even though it's cancelled, so I contacted the credit card company to file a claim about that. They told me that they are investigating the issue and will contact them. Tonight, I noticed that Credit.com still continue charging my credit card, so I call them again and spoke to a rude rep named ***. After asking me a bunch of sensible questions, she said that there's no record that the account was cancelled, and no record that I spoke to anybody at the company. (I saw many related problem on the web related to Credit.com.) Tonight I asked to cancel the account again and I received an email confirmation that it's been cancelled.

Desired Settlement: Give customers the option to cancel their own account from the website instead of allowing Credit.com employees to access customers' sensible information over the phone. I'm not sure what kind of security clearance Credit.com representatives have, but I don't think they should have access to consumers credit report just to cancel Credit.com services. The information Kim asked me are all related to when someone is pulling his/her own credit report over the internet. Even an old address that I have on my credit report that I didn't use on Credit.com billing information, they have that information. I told her my current address, the one I used when I subscribe to their service, but she told me it's not what they have. After I asked her if she saw that old address, she said that's the one. I have everything recorded and I'll talk to a lawyer about that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/09) */ After a deep and thorough search throughout our ******** ******* tracking system we were unable to find any record of this consumer contacting Credit Detect *******. We have since refunded any and all charges that occurred during the month of or after the consumer's initial request to have the account closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It does show that Credit.com refunded my account for the 3 months. Like I already mentioned, add functionality on your website to let consumers to securely cancel their service from your website instead of having them to call your office for that for 2 main reasons. 1) If the consumer cancel their service by themselves without having to call your office, the service should be cancel effectively and a record will be available. For example, the first employee I spoke to probably was lazy, feel pressured, or just having fun on the job by just telling the consumer what he wants to hear. "The account has been cancelled", but never really did anything. 2) Security and privacy. This part is the most important the first. I believe it's a violation of privacy when your employees have access to consumers credit report. The authentication should be what the consumers entered on credit.com website when joining, not information related to your credit report. The information could be the consumer's name, address, email address, phone number, security question(s) the consumer TYPED when joining the program. Credit.com should be asking any questions that are not related to that. For example, when *** asked me question about my address, I gave her my correct address, which is the one I used when joining the program, but she said it's not the correct one that she has, because my old address was still on my credit report. She shouldn't have access to that information at all. Information related to where my nearest siblings live (except if I use it as security question), the approximation of a loan I'm paying, social security number, or any other information that are from my credit report.

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Email address compromised I use a unique email address for every website that asks for one. The one I gave to credit.com now gets a load of spam. They sold my email address to spammers! When I informed them, they asked for a copy of some of the spam, which I provided. They have not responded since.

Desired Settlement: Remove my email from spam lists

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my account has been closed , but still charging me monthly fee. i start taking their services ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: american exp

Desired Settlement: i opened the account with credit.com based on 14.99 monthly service charge. on august 20th 2015, i ask the account to be close. the telephone rep. told me, account has been closed.and it is diactive. on sept,20th 2015, though account for the credit.com has been closed, still they charged my card for monthly charges.14.99. requesting refund of the fund .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/01) */ On September 25th, 2015 we were contacted by the consumer requesting that their paid account be closed and not be charged. The charge in question occurred on September 20th. The consumer has since been refunded that charge. With the exception of communicating with potential fraud victims, Credit.com does not operate telephone based ******** service for account closure, and we have no record of this consumer speaking with any Credit.com ******** service representative.

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has sold my phone number to partner companies under someone else's name and is uncooperative in resolving issue I have received multiple sales calls asking for *******, I am not ******* not have I given credit.com my phone number. I tracked the source to a credit.com profile. I have been unsuccessful in trying to resolve this thru the credit.com email complaint system, and their phone number is little more than a joke, as there is no one to talk to.

Desired Settlement: GET MY PHONE NUMBER OFF OF THE LIST OF ALL COMPANIES ASSOCIATED WITH CREDIT.COM

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/24) */ This complaint was addressed immediately after it was received on 8/6/2015. The ******** was contacted directly by phone and informed that Credit.com does not take or keep any telephone records on its customers. Furthermore, ****** *********** (******@bbbemail.org) at the BBB was contacted immediately after the phone call and informed us via email that this would be resolved and the complaint would be removed from our BBB profile.

6/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They will not cancel my membership and continue to charge me. I opened the trial $1.00 account to view my credit score. It said if I cancel within a certain time frame that I would not be charged anything else. I was able to find just one phone number for the company (XXX)XXX-XXXX. I called this number but there is no way to speak with a live person or submit a request to cancel. The prerecorded message, however, says stay on the line to speak with somebody, but the message just keeps looping infinitely. I then searched their page to find out how to cancel and it said I needed to submit an "assistance request" to their support team. I did this and selected "cancel recurring payments" and received an email stating "Your FREE Credit.com account associated with *********@me.com remains active for your use. If you would like to cancel this free account with Credit.com, please contact us again by responding to this e-mail." So I contacted them again by responding and I haven't heard anything since, and this was 3 months ago. I have tried this process several times with no luck, yet they keep charging a monthly fee of $24.95. Today I finally decided to call my credit card company and have them send me a new card to stop these payments from going through. It is the only way I can think of to get this company to stop stealing from me. Also, I compared the "FICO" credit score that Credit.com continually CHARGES me to have access to to my actual Experian, Equifax, and Transunion scores that I purchased directly from their sites and found that it did not match any of the 3 major credit bureau's scores. As a matter of fact the closest Credit.com's score came to any of the 3 major bureau's score was still 40 points off. How can a company be allowed to just make up a number, put a $25/month price tag on it, and not let you cancel your membership? Someone should seriously investigate this business in depth and stop them from stealing from hardworking American families.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a complete refund of all the money you have taken from me. 2 charges of $24.95. I will eat the $1.00 trial because that is what I agreed to pay. My card has been canceled so you will need to mail me a check. I am also requesting that as a business that charges a fee after your "Free" trial (which is actually $1.00), you make a phone number available that customers can call and speak with live Credit.com employees to address their issues and cancel his/her membership right then and there if so desired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/28) */ To whom it may concern, We do see that this user had contacted us to cancel his paid membership with the credit monitoring service CreditReport.com, which advertises their product on our site. We received this e-mail on May 20, 2015 at 7:46 a.m. PST. We have not received any correspondence from this user before that date and time. Since the user requested to cancel his paid membership, he was sent an automated e-mail with the proper phone numbers to call based on whomever he purchased a paid membership with, since although we Credit.com advertise paid memberships for credit monitoring services on our site, we do not have access to this user's account with that company. Therefore, he should have been able to either call any of the numbers for paid memberships advertised on our site in order to cancel his membership with them. We see that the user then sent us another e-mail, explaining that he would contact the BBB if we did not help him cancel. Less than three hours later, our support team was able to respond to his e-mail. We notified the user of why we sent him the previous e-mail, and we sent him the phone number for cancelling his paid membership again. If the user would like a refund or would still like to cancel his membership, he will need to contact the company whose phone number we sent him, because Credit.com does not have access to his account with them, nor have we even obtained his credit card billing information. Regarding the difference that this user has seen with his scores from each of the three credit bureaus in contrast to his monitoring service that he purchased with a company which advertises on our site: there are many different scoring models across each of the three major credit bureaus that can be used for different purposes, and take into account different information, for example. Also, scores seen at one point in time based on the consumer's current credit information might be different than scores seen at a different point in time based on the consumer's credit information at that point in time. These are some reasons why a credit score seen from one credit bureau using a particular scoring model at a specific point in time may be different than another score seen elsewhere for the same consumer. Although Credit.com does not have a support phone number at this time, the best way to reach Credit.com is by e-mail, or by filling out a ticket at https://support.credit.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Thank you,

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Credit.com has not refunded the money due to me after 2 seperate phone calls and promises. I called credit.com before the trail persiod ended on April 22, 2015. I was told my memebership was canceld. On May 4th, 2015, $17.99 was taken from my bank account and my memebership was still in effect despite a confirmation email. I called again to cancel and get refunded my 17.99 on May 4, 2015. I was told my account had been canceled and I would recieved a refund in 3-5 days. A week went past and no refund, so I called again and was again told I would be getting a refund in the amount of 17.99 in 3-5 days. It has now been six days since my second call and still no refund. They try to play it off like I might now be with credit.com. I am and it is the website I signed up with. These crroks need to refund my money for a service I canceled way before the trail period eneded!

Desired Settlement: Refund my $17.99 and cancel my memebership, never authorize any other debits from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/26) */ To whom it may concern, We thank you for your patience with this situation, and we are sorry about any inconvenience this may have caused. Your Credit Detect^TM membership has now been cancelled, and your refund is now being processed. You should see your refund in your bank statement by the end of the business day on Monday, June 1, 2015. We are sorry about any inconvenience, as we see proof that you requested to cancel your paid subscription before your account was charged again. Again, we thank you for your patience, and you should not be charged again. Thank you for visiting Credit.com. -The Credit.com Team

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: USELESS SITE AND PROFILE. I WANT MY ACCOUNT, ALONG WITH ALL MY PERSONAL INFORMATION TO BE DELETED FROM THEIR SITE & DATABASES IMMEDIATELY. THE SITE FOOLS YOU INTO THINKING IF YOU PROVIDE ALL YOUR INFORMATION YOU WILL GET A CREDIT SCORE. I NEVER GOT A CREDIT SCORE BUT THEY HAVE ALL MY INFORMATION! THERE IS NO WHERE ON THEIR SITE TO DELETE MY ACCOUNT, SO I EMAILED THEM SEVERAL TIMES & HAVE STILL HEARD NOTHING. I WANT THEM TO DELETE MY ACCOUNT IMMEDIATELY, AS WELL AS ERASING ALL MY PERSONAL INFORMATION

Desired Settlement: MY ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED OR LEGAL ACTION.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ To whom it may concern, This user appears to have experienced an error coming from Experian, the credit bureau from which we were trying to pull this user's information. It appears this user, according to the information provided to Experian, has either not had credit activity within the past 6 months, or does not have credit activity older than 6 months on their Experian credit file. For these reasons, we were unable to provide any information to this user in their free account. If this user finds this to be incorrect, we can help direct the user to the Experian dispute process, where this user can review and dispute any information on their credit file. Also, at any time, a user is able to send us an e-mail or an assistance request to cancel a free Credit.com account. When a user sends us a request to cancel the account, we send the user through the account cancellation procedure. We have not received any e-mails through Credit.com Support from this user's e-mail address, which was used to sign up for the account, nor have we received any e-mails from anyone with this user's full name. Since the user has requested here that we cancel the Credit.com account that the user signed up for, we will gladly do so, as we are here to serve our users' needs. This user's free Credit.com account has now been deactivated. Thank you, -The Credit.com Team

5/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company refuses to cancel my account and is charging me for an account that I have tried to cancel multiple times. A couple months ago I created a credit.com account to check my credit using a free trial. The very next day I called to cancel my account. On March 30, 2015, I spoke with a representative at X XXX XXX XXXX and was told my request to cancel my account was being submitted. Fast forward to April 29th when I logged into my bank account to see that I was charged 9.99 from credit.com. I immediately called and was on hold for over 45 minutes before being told that the representative I was speaking with could see where I called and spoke with Alden on the 30th and it was possible the request was "overlooked." She said she was going to submit the request again and request a refund for me. I questioned how I can confirm this is completed and she suggested I possibly call creditreport.com because it's possible that it was one of their partner companies who charged me. I have received no emails from anyone but credit.com and the charge was from credit.com so I don't think it was a partner company. Anyway, I took her word for it and hung up. Two days later (5/1/15), I decide to call creditreport.com per the phone number online, X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was told that there is no record of my card being charged and my account with them is inactive. After that call, I called back the original phone number and told her of my problem. This representative put me on hold and then passed ** off to Identity Guard, the only other partner that was mentioned. After she hung up and left me on the line with the Identity Guard rep, the Identity Guard rep asks for my information and says there was never any charge from them and that she can't transfer me back to the other lady because she doesn't know her name. So now, I call the original number back yet again and I tell the new rep my situation. She tells me my account is still active despite my call two days before. She tells me I need to go online to support.credit.com and use the solutions there to cancel my account. I tell her I have already done this and all I get is an automated email telling the numbers of Credit Detect, Identity Guard, and creditreport.com...all of whom I have talked to and all of whom deny I have an account and am being charged. She says she is putting in a request for someone to contact me but I'm not holding my breath as I have been told this two days ago and also have put in a request for support online and have also been told that I would be contacted and I have not. How can this company email numbers to you to call when you want to cancel a membership and no one be able to cancel it?

Desired Settlement: I want my account cancelled from credit.com and any partner brands and I want my money refunded. If this is not done I will see further damages as I have already spent multiple hours trying to resolve something that shouldn't have been an issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/12) */ To whom it may concern, We believe this user's recollection of e-mail and form submissions to our website at Credit.com match closely to our records. Also, it is our understanding that the user's paid membership cancellation was somehow not completed at the original date of the first request. Because this user has proof that she tried to cancel her paid membership before being charged again, we have refunded her the extra payment. Both of her memberships (with Credit Detect and Credit.com) have now been canceled, and she should receive no further charges. She may already be able to see her refund in her bank statement, as our refund process takes approximately 72 hours. We are working to find out more about why this error occurred, and what can be done to prevent this case in the future. We assure our users and all consumers that this is a rare case, as we take pride in giving our users a great experience. Thank you, -The Credit.com Team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/05/12) */ ******* 5-12-15 Sent via email: My issues have been resolved due to my continued persistence. I still think the company's practices are shady and questionable. They did nothing to follow up or help resolve my complaint, nor have I received a reply from them yet in regards to my concerns. Thanks, ****** ******

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not able to cancel the monthly charge on my card. There is no number or way to contact this business. I signed up with your service in March of 2015 and was charged a $1 for my "free credit report" and I had selected to pay the $14.99 a month for this service to get updated information on my credit. When I tried to log into my account the next time I was unable to get into my account - I was either kicked righ back out to the log in screen or I was able to log in but it would only let me look at credit card options to help my credit score. I e-mailed the department to ask for tech. support to fix the issue or I wanted to cancel. I received a automated e-mail back giving me three differnt options on how to cancel my account depending on what site I used. I selected the appropriate site and it was a link to another site and I entered my log-in and password *** it said I had entered the wrong username and/or password *** my account will be locked. Of course there is no number in site to be called and the one number I was able to find for your site, who I have my account through, is automated and I am not able to talk to a real person. I was 100% okay with paying for this service because I heard it was a good site and I want a service to watch my credit. However, I am not okay with paying for a account that I am not able to log-in to or look at or even be able to talk to a living person. After reading all the complaint's it seems I am not the only one with this problem

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded, I paid for a service I was only able to look at once and never able to see again. I want my account canceled and I want my information taken out of your system (my SSN, DOB, address etc.) I want verification of the cancelation and my information being deleted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ To whom it may concern, We are sorry about any inconvenience you may have experienced, and would like to respond to your inquiry about your experience with Credit.com. First, we do not provide phone support at Credit.com, however we do provide a way for users to contact us shown on this page: http://www.credit.com/contact/ The quickest way to fill out a support ticket is to click on "Support" on the left-hand side of the page, and fill out the subsequent form that appears. Once we receive a user's support ticket, we are able to respond directly to them via e-mail to meet the user's needs. In response to the user's initial support ticket, this user selected the option to cancel a paid membership when filing a ticket. We then sent an automated message to this user with information about paid memberships, that can be purchased through Credit.com's website and with our partners, and the user seems to have tried to cancel the account with them by signing in. We will need to contact this user via e-mail to help guide them to the appropriate company that they want to cancel with, and make sure the user is able to get into their paid account with whomever they purchased with before they cancel. Although we are Credit.com and we only have access to this user's free account with us, and we therefore do not have access to a user's paid membership account that can be purchased through an advertisement on our site, we will be glad to assist this user how we can. Next, the reason this user was unable to log in to the free account created with Credit.com is because Experian tells us they have either: not received credit information for this user from the past 6 months; or that Experian has not received notice that this user has a credit line that is older than 6 months. This message was displayed to the user after they tried to log in to their free account with us. On the page that they were sent to, users can click on the same "Support" link as the one from the Contact page that is on the left-hand side of the screen. To deal with this issue, the user may need to contact Experian, and we will gladly assist them with this via e-mail as we regularly do. However, we at Credit.com are not able to add, change, or remove anything from this user's Experian credit file. In response to this user's stated desired resolution, we will be reaching out to this user to make sure that they are able to speak with the company which they may have purchased a paid membership with, and that they are able to take the appropriate steps to cancel their account and receive confirmation of such.

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to cancle my account! I have two complaints with this company. First, they will not let you cancel an account. Secondly, they sell services from other companies on their website and act like they have nothing to do with it. I signed up to get a free credit score. I now want to cancel my account and I am unable to. There is nowhere online to cancel and no phone number to call. I sent three emails asking them to cancel my account and they refuse to. They just keep saying that the service is free, and if I bought something off their site from another company I will have to contact them to cancel. Not only will they not cancel my free account, but they won’t even tell me if I accidently bought something from someone else on their website. They have like 3 or 4 other companies selling stuff on their website. They do no inform you of this and so when you try to cancel at the same place you bought it from they say they can’t do it. This site should be shut down!!! They say you can cancel at any time and then make it impossible to cancel. My wife also signed up and has been trying to cancel and cannot either. I am beyond irritated. Is summary 1) Me and my wife cannot cancel our free accounts and would like to. 2) Me and my wife do not know if we signed up for anything that cost money, because they won’t tell us if we did, but if we did we would like to cancel. 3) You should be able to cancel a service at the same place you bought it from! If they can’t cancel the service, they shouldn’t be allowed to sell it on their website. 4) They try to give you the run around so they can keep charging you for a service you do not want.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account, cancel my wife’s account and delete all of our information. I do not care if it is a free or paid service, I want me and my wife’s accounts to be canceled immediately!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ To whom it may concern, We would like to address the two main issues from this complaint: first, that we will not let a user cancel an account; and second, that we act like we have nothing to do with companies which advertise their services on our site. In response to his first complaint: On Tuesday March 17, 2015, at 6:17 p.m. PST (after our Support office hours), this user sent us a request through which he selected to cancel his recurring payments. An automated message was sent back to him from us which provided him with contact information for cancelling his paid membership with our partners which advertise their products on our site. He then sent back another message within the same hour asking to cancel his free account, since he stated that he only signed up for a Credit.com free account and has not entered his billing information anywhere on or through our website. Once more, on this day at 7:08 p.m. PST, this user requested to cancel his account with us, and stated that he did not care if it was paid or free. The next day, on Wednesday March 18, 2015 at 11:36 a.m. PST (during the beginning of our Support office hours), we sent this user information for cancelling his free account with us. This includes a hyperlink to a survey which must be completed, and when we are notified of a user's completion of the survey, we then deactivate the user's account. Later that evening, at 10:12 p.m PST, this user sent us another separate request to cancel his account. Then, this user completed our cancellation survey, which we sent him earlier that morning, for his free account. He completed this survey twice for the same user account: once at 10:34 p.m. PST and once at 10:39 p.m. PST. Then, on Thursday March 19, 2015, before we checked our cancellation database, we sent him another e-mail response to his latest e-mail from the night prior, this time reiterating the full cancellation details of both his free account and potential paid accounts. Then, after checking our cancellation database, his free account with us at Credit.com was manually deactivated at 5:51 p.m. PST. In response to his second complaint: Credit.com has partnerships with particular companies which advertise paid memberships through our site. Since Credit.com Support does not have access to user's accounts with these partner companies, we refer a user who wants to cancel a paid membership to the appropriate support team for whichever company may have charged the user for their services. We provide detailed instructions for a user to cancel their potential paid membership with one of our partner companies. Through these means, any user is able to cancel any service that was created directly or through advertisements on our website. This user was provided with all of the appropriate information for cancelling either a free or paid membership, or both. His account was cancelled less than 24 hours after his two cancellation request surveys were submitted. We do not have record that he signed up for a paid membership through an advertisement on our website, but have provided him with all of the appropriate information to do so. If his wife has a separate account with Credit.com, or any paid memberships, she can submit a cancellation request at any time and will receive the appropriate cancellation information as it pertains to her. Once she completes the appropriate account deactivation information for her free user account at Credit.com, we will deactivate her account. We are sorry about any inconvenience or confusion this may have caused, and assure our users that we provide the appropriate cancellation information to whomever of our users wishes to close their paid or free accounts with either Credit.com or any of our partner services. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I want the link to cancel to be posted publicly and I want them to stop signing you up for trials that they cannot cancel. They eventually canceled my account. However, I have a big problem with how they do business and this is why I was so adamant in canceling my account in the first place, even though it was free. Why is there no phone number to call to cancel? Why is there nowhere to cancel on the web site? Why do they have the email to get a hold of anyone buried in their website under 5 links? They make it so inconvenient for your to cancel they are hoping you will just give up. Next, things didn't happen as they say it did. I sent them an email telling them that I wanted to cancel all of my accounts paid or free. They sent me an email back saying, don't worry about it it is free, but if it is not free, we don't have anything to do with it. I tried to respond to the email but it wouldn't let me. So I had to go searching through their website again, through a maze of links, to email again. They responded to my second email, it is free don't worry about it, but if it is paid we can't cancel it. I emailed them a third time, after navigating their maze of links, threatening to contact the BBB, and that is when they sent me a link to cancel my account. They try to trap you and hope you will just give up. The link to cancel needs to be posted publicly so that anyone that wants to cancel can do so. Finally, it is ridiculous that they get away with signing you up for a free 7 day trial period, saying you can cancel at any time, and then when you try to cancel, at the place you signed up for it at, they say they can't do it because it is a different company. If they can't cancel your free trail then they shouldn't be allowed to sign you up for one. It is complete ***. It is another web of inconvenience trying to get you to give up and hand over your money.

2/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to cancel my membership at Credit.com. I cannot contact them to cancel. Only a recording answers phone. inaccurate email address. Credit.com's website says I only have 9 days to cancel my membership. I have tried 6 times today to cancel. Their phone is answered by a recording, I cannot get through to a real person. I tried emailing them with the address supplied on the phone recording. It is not an accurate email address. Seems like they are trying to prevent me from canceling, so they can charge me $30 per month. Please help me cancel my membership.

Desired Settlement: cancel my membership at Credit.com.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/10) */ Hello *****, Thank you for contacting Credit.com customer support. You have obtained your Credit Report Card from Credit.com. This is a completely free service and you will not be charged for utilizing it. Approximately every 30 days you will receive an email informing you that you have an updated Credit Report Card ready to be viewed. This is a great way keep an eye on your credit file - for free. I have canceled your membership as you requested, but you are welcome to sign up again at any time. Credit.com has several partnerships with other credit reporting and monitoring companies, that are available for purchase through our site. If you sign up for one of these, that company may charge you for their services. At present, our records do not indicate that you have purchased anything from them. Because we are a free service, Credit.com does not provide telephone support, though you are always welcome to contact our Customer Support Center online at http://support.credit.com or by email at *******@credit.com. We provide a free public service of education and information, both through our individualized Credit Report Card and through our blog, where our experts write articles daily about the world of credit and finance. I hope you continue to find this free service useful and valuable. Thank you for using Credit.com and please let us know how we can improve to continue serving your credit needs, or if you have any other questions as we would be glad to assist you however we can! Sincerely, ~The Credit.com Team

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact info I signed up with this company to check my credit scores. Now that I don't need them anymore I'm trying to get rid of my account so that they can stop charging me for the service. The problem is, their website won't allow me to do so, and the number they provided isn't helping at all.

Desired Settlement: I just want my account to be deleted so that they can stop charging me for their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Hello ******, Thank you for contacting Credit.com customer support. We understand that you wish to cancel a paid membership with one of our partners, CreditReport.com. Please understand that Credit.com is a different company and does not have access to your account at our partner companies. You will need to contact them directly to cancel. To cancel CreditReport.com, please call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Please understand that Credit.com does not charge you for its services, and has not charged you. Nevertheless, your free Credit.com account for the email address *********@gmail.com has been closed as requested. If at any time you want to sign up again, simply go to the Credit.com homepage to begin. Thank you, ~ The Credit.com Team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wanted to delete account and all of my information I have provided (social, name, bday,) but cannot find a way to delete account. I have emailed customer service twice asking to delete my account and all my information stored but they have failed to help me or do what I asked. There is no other way to contact someone.

Desired Settlement: I want all my information deleted such as social, name, bday, etc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ Hello **********, I want first to assure you that your account has been closed as you requested. We strive to be as responsive as possible, but please understand that our customer support team operates only during Pacific time business hours, as we wrote in our automated response to your first email at 2:17 AM yesterday. By 9 AM, we had received two additional requests, and we do apologize if you were unsatisfied with our replies to those, asking you to review the instructions we emailed you in response to your first request. You can always reach out to our customer support team at *******@credit.com. You also may want to refer to our customer support website at credit.zendesk.com, where you can get answers to our most frequently asked questions. Hope that helps. Sincerely, ~The Credit.com team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Would really like to know for sure that they have closed my account. Really would appreciated a confirmation or an email stating my account is closed. Will they be able to contact me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/12) */ Hello **********, Your account is closed, as you requested. Your account was closed on December 10. We informed you that day that the account was closed, by email. We also informed you that day that it was closed, in our response to your complaint at the Better Business Bureau. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at our customer support site at https://credit.zendesk.com. You are welcome to review our terms and conditions and privacy policy, which are published on our website at credit.com/terms and credit.com/privacy. Sincerely, ~The Credit.com team

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company offers a $1.00 credit report and allows you to cancel at any time to avoid charges. As below, I received my credit score for $1.00 on 11/12/2014. To avoid any more billing, I tried to go to the site to cancel. The site does not allow anyone to cancel. There is no phone number that allows one to cancel. The phone number noted fro Credit.com by BBB is a recorded line which does not allow one to cancel. This company is likely in violation of numerous commercial codes. It should be shut down until it can demonstrate conformance with U.S. and State commercial laws and codes. **************@credit.com 11/12/14 Hi ****, This email is confirmation that you created a FREE account with Credit.com. We're glad you registered to get your free credit score and free action plan to optimize your score. Unless you requested to receive updates to your credit score and notifications from us, you will not receive marketing emails from Credit.com. Thank you, ~ The Credit.com Team

Desired Settlement: Refund my $1.00 and Refund $500 to me in the same account of payment in punitive damages to put the company on notice that the inconvenience it creates for citizens and the the BBB should be punished.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/04) */ Thank you for contacting Credit.com customer support. Please understand that Credit.com did not collect your payment information, we have not charged you for any services, indeed we do not even have a merchant account for charging for services. PLEASE READ THIS RESPONSE IN ITS ENTIRETY * We understand that you wish to cancel a paid membership with one of our partners such as CreditReport.com or IdentityGuard. Please understand that Credit.com is a different company and does not have access to your account at our partner companies. You will need to contact them directly to cancel. This information is also available on our Customer Support site at https://zendesk.credit.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXXXXX-Stop-charging-my-card- * For CreditReport.com, please call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX * For Identity Guard, please call XXX-XXX-XXXX If you can't remember which of our partners provided you with your credit report service, we recommend checking your email account to find your confirmation from the partner company. * Credit.com is the only FREE product of its kind designed by leading credit experts committed to helping you understand and master the confusing world of credit. It includes a truly free, no-strings credit score, credit report card, personalized step-by-step action plan and actionable expert advice. Your FREE Credit.com account remains active for your use. Thank you for using Credit.com and please let us know how we can improve to continue serving your credit needs! Sincerely, ~ The Credit.com Team Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company charges a dollar for a credit report and allows you to cancel at any time. This is not really true. #1: "The Company" cannot be contacted by phone, and in fact may not be the actual vendor of this service #2) As I inserted above, the Company refers you to one of its "Partner Companies" if you wish to cancel: PLEASE READ THIS RESPONSE IN ITS ENTIRETY * We understand that you wish to cancel a paid membership with one of our partners such as CreditReport.com or IdentityGuard. Please understand that Credit.com is a different company and does not have access to your account at our partner companies. You will need to contact them directly to cancel. This information is also available on our Customer Support site at https://zendesk.credit.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXXXXX-Stop-charging-my-card- * For CreditReport.com, please call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX * For Identity Guard, please call XXX-XXX-XXXX #3) These partner companies could not find me in their system for payment purposes. #4) I am afraid that the company may keep billing me. I will see what happens. This is not a good way to run a business. This company seems to be running a sales page Front and claims to pass on billing to "partner companies." The partner companies then have no knowledge of my billing or identity. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/12/15) */ Hi ****, I'm eager to help you resolve your complaint. I've read your complaint thoroughly several times, and here is what I understand from it. You do not want to be charged for your free credit score at Credit.com. We do not charge for providing your free credit score, nor for any other service. You have no record of being charged by us, nor any other company. We also have no record of you being charged by us, nor by any other company. You are concerned that someone might bill you in the future. We do not charge you for our services. We do not have your billing information. Finally, though it is not explicit in your request, your request implies that you want to cancel your FREE Credit.com account. I have canceled your FREE account, but you may return to open a new account any time, free of charge. I hope this answers your questions. Please feel free to reach out for support to *******@credit.com, or through our Customer Support website at https://credit.zendesk.com. Thank you for using Credit.com. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I hope you are right in your assertions that I will not be billed. But, your correspondence makes sense and is to the point. Thank you

11/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized New Account I received an e-mail from Credit.com on September 7, 2014 confirming that I created an account with Credit.com. I also received a Welcome e-mail from Credit.com on September 7 containing a link to choose a password. Please note that I did not, at any time, sign up for Credit.com's services and I do not authorize Credit.com to have, share, distribute, report, or store any of my personal information on their server. I have called Credit.com's office number and sent an e-mail to *******@credit.com but I have not received a response to my request. I am requesting that any and all of my information be removed from their servers and website immediately. Again, I did not sign up for Credit.com.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that any and all of my information be removed from their servers and website immediately. I did not sign up for Credit.com.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Our records indicate that on 9/6/14 an account under the email address of ***************@gmail.com was created. The first notification of this consumer wanting to cancel is this BBB complaint. on 9/11/14 the account has been closed and no further credit inquiries will be performed. An email informing the consumer that his account is not longer at Credit.com has been sent as well as our privacy security policies. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am still receiving emails from Credit.com. I received an email regarding my account on 9/13/14 and another email on 9/14/14. If my account has been closed, why am I still receiving emails?

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Credit Com.com collected information but did not furnish information. Sensitive information given. On X-XX-XXXX Credit Com.com was given sensitive information but did not respond and no way to retrieve information. Information including SS# and address would allow them to pull credit report and use for criminal acts of fraud, theft, etc. No response or phone number to reach them.

Desired Settlement: Full acknowledgement that information has been completely eliminated and hopefully shut this site down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ On 9/10/14 Mr ****** created an account under the email address ************@aol.com in order to obtain his free Experian Credit Report Card. Upon requesting the information from Experian, which we were unable to furnish. Experian has reported to us that the information you provided may be associated with fraud. Due to safety and security of the consumer, we are not permitted to disclose what information was inaccurate. An email was sent to the consumer informing him of the situation and suggesting he contact the bureau directly, while providing both email and phone contact information. A short time later ****** wrote in again stating: "this site seems to be a scam. I am submitting it to the FBI Cyber Crimes Unit for investigation." At that time his account was closed and another email informing him of this was also sent. Mr ****** no longer has an account at Credit.com.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a previous case open in regards to Credit.Com with the BBB. My complaint was assigned ID XXXXXXXX. Refund has not been given to me as stated. I had a previous case open with BBB on 7/9/14 See Case ID #ID XXXXXXXX. I was overcharged for services I did not sign up for. In my case Credit. com stated they would give me a refund for all charges. I have only received $24.95 refund. I am still owed $49.90 of which should have been credited by the end of July 2014. ON 7/9/14 -HERE IS A LETTER I RECEIVED FROM BBB AND CREDIT.COM Customer satisfaction is our priority, as a courtesy we have issued an additional refund of $49.90, making your total $74.85 for the monthly fees charged. Please allow 7-10 business days for these funds to process to your credit card account. It is also important to note that this refund may not be reflected on your credit card statement for 1-2 billing cycles. FROM CREDIT.COM

Desired Settlement: $49.90

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/09/08) */ On April 25, 2014 an account under the email address ****************@gmail.com was opened at Credit.com. On April 27, 2014, Ms.****** wrote in requesting her "free" account be closed. "I wish to close my free Credit.com account today 4/27/2014. Thank you for your services, I would recommend your services to a friend. Sincerely, ***** ******" On April 28, 2014, her account was closed as requested and an email informing her of such went out as well as a phone number to our partners paid products memberships. The email also informs consumers that we do not have the ability to close or refund consumers on their memberships with any of our partners. It appears she has had contact with them at some point as she states she was refunded a partial payment amount. She will need to contact them again for the remaining balance. Thank You.

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a $29.95 fee though I cancelled before I was to be charged this fee. I was supposed to only be charged $1 if I cancelled this "free" credit check within 8 days...I cancelled in 4 but was charged the full $29.95 You cannot talk to anyone directly as there is NO phone number to call...only an email address..they sent an email saying: At times, Credit.com users request to cancel or have questions regarding a separate paid membership with our partners like CreditReports.com or IdentityGuard. Please know that Credit.com does not have access to your account at our partner companies. You will need to contact them directly to cancel. For Creditreport.com, call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX For Identity Guard, call XXX-XXX-XXXX If you can't remember which of our partners provided you with your credit report service, we recommend checking your email account to find your confirmation from the partner company. I only have email's from credit.com and the $1 billing they debited from my account has the same billing info as the $29.95 which is: PURCHASE DIRECT CRDT SCORES SAN DIEGO CA CRD-4810. It is obvious to me that they made both charges but they have quit corresponding with me...Please help..this is an obvious scam.

Desired Settlement: I want my $29.95 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ On May 9, 2014 an account under the email address *******@gmail.com was opened at Credit.com. There has been no activity on the account since then. Our records do not show any paid product being purchased from our site from any of our partners. On 8/14/14, Ms. **** wrote in requesting her account not be charged. Although Credit.com does not have any of their own paid products, a response was sent out on 8/15/14 informing her that we do not have any access to our partners records and that she would need to call them directly to cancel if she felt she was being charged. All phone numbers were provided in that response. At this time if Ms. **** feels she is wrongly being charged for a paid product, she will need to contact the provider directly. Again, I reiterate, that our records do not show her purchasing a paid product. Thank You. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested that my account be cancelled and my personal information be purged and or deleted from their database. Any attempt to search for an answer leads to a new page to sign up for expert advise and other services. It is very frustrating. Cancelling service should be just as easy as signing up especially.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be assured that the account is cancelled and personal information is properly removed from their system/database.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ This BBB letter of complaint is the first request received by ***** *****. After searching our database, there does not appear to be any sort of written request of cancellation. At this time his account has been closed, he has been notified by email at ******@netzero.com. Thank You, ******* ******

8/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive Price Practices/No Way to Cancel Service I had emailed the company to cancel my account with credit.com and had not received an email back; two days later I received a monthly charge. Company does not have a direct phone number and will not respond to paper mail or email. Company is deceptive in pricing and makes cancellation impossible.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to confirm cancellation and a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ On 5/13/2014 Mr ******** opened an account at Credit.com under the email address *********************@gmail.com. Credit.com offers consumers a free Credit Report Card based on their Experian credit file. We also have partners on our site that offer consumers paid products for things such as credit reports, credit scores, and credit monitoring. Our records also indicate that on 5/13/14 he requested a paid membership as well. What I am not finding in our system is any record of a ticket requesting cancellation. At this time I have gone and cancelled his Credit.com account, however in order to cancel the paid membership with one of our partners he will need to contact them directly as we do not have access to their records nor the ability to stop a membership. I emailed Mr. ******** and I have supplied him with contact numbers for his convenience. I have also created a ticket in our system requesting cancellation and he will be receiving an addition email confirmation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As per our email conversation between Credit.com company representative ******* ******: ******* ****** <*******@credit.com> Jun 6 (5 days ago) to me Mr. ********, I received a BBB complaint in my email today regarding your Credit.com account. Our records indicate that on 5/13/2014 you opened an account under the email address *********************@gmail.com. Credit.com offers consumers a free Credit Report Card based on your Experian credit file. We also have partners on our site that offer consumers paid products for things such as credit reports, credit scores, and credit monitoring. Our records also indicate that on 5/13/14 you requested a paid membership as well. What I am not finding on our system is any record of a ticket requesting cancellation. At this time I have gone and cancelled your Credit.com account, however in order to cancel your paid membership with one of our partners you will need to contact them directly as we do not have access to their records nor the ability to stop a membership. I apologize for the confusion and I have included contact numbers for your convenience. For Creditreport.com, call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX For Identity Guard, call XXX-XXX-XXXX I have created a ticket in our system requesting cancellation and you will be receiving an addition email confirmation. If you have any other concerns, please feel free to email me back. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. ****** ******** <*********************@gmail.com> Jun 7 (4 days ago) to ******* I have already cancelled them; what was sent from your website on 5/17/14 was a request to cancel services and/or instructions how to do so. I had never received a reply. Two weeks (and paying a charge I had attempted to opt out of) seemed to be sufficient enough time. After the attempt had not been replied to I had contacted the BBB so future consumers would hopefully not fall privy to your lackluster customer service and attempt to recover losses incurred due to your company. I do hope that your company addresses said grievances that have not been addressed to date. ******* ****** Jun 9 (2 days ago) to me Hello, As long as you have contacted and cancelled the paid memberships with our partners you should not be charged in the future. If you do see a charge, you would need to contact them in regards to a refund. Thank you for your response, ******* ****** Credit.com ****** ******** <*********************@gmail.com> 5:02 PM (2 minutes ago) to ******* Please address the contents of the email sent; what was said that has not yet been addressed is that "I have already cancelled them; what was sent from your website on 5/17/14 was a request to cancel services and/or instructions how to do so. I had never received a reply. Two weeks (and paying a charge I had attempted to opt out of) seemed to be sufficient enough time." Failure to address said issue will result in continuation in the BBB review process.

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to canal and acct. I WOULD LIKE TO CANAL AND ACCT I FILLED OUT APPLITION THAT WAS NOT COMPLED BUT THEY HAVE MY BRITHDAY,AGE SS NUMBER WHICH I WOULD LIKE TO DELETED

Desired Settlement: I WANT A CANAL THE ACCT.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Upon review of our records, we never received a request from Mr. ***** to cancel his Credit.com account. Upon receipt of this complaint today, his account was closed and he was sent a confirmation email notifying him that the account has been closed. We do not store any personal information on our system. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I HAVE NOT GOTEN A RESPONSE FROM CREDIT.COM AS OF 05/1/2014 AT 8.30AM Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/02) */ I have attached a copy of the cancellation confirmation email that was sent to Mr. ***** on 4/30/14. His account is closed. I have forwarded it to him again.

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was using credit.com to watch my credit for many months until Nov 3rd when it stopped working. Now i cannot view my credit report card. I have been using Credit.com since August I believe without a problem until the site would not update and was not accurate. The Credit.com Support agent was reset and I can not gain access to the site or see any part of my credit report card. I have asked for help but since the first time I was helped I have not yet heard back from the Agent nor the company.

Desired Settlement: Free credit reports til I am able to see my credit report. With all the fraud going on i would like to keep a eye on my score and also make sure no one looked at my credit without my knowledge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/07) */ On 8/26/13, Mr. ******* established an account with Credit.com to receive free monthly Credit Report Cards(CRC's)from Experian. When trying to obtain his January 2014 updated CRC, he received an error from Experian which will not allow our system to generate a CRC. This led Mr. ***** to place a ticket request to Credit.com. Upon receiving this request I followed procedure to reset his account. Once reset Mr. ***** was still not able to get an updated CRC, thus his complaint. This situation was sent to our technical team to investigate. What was found is that the error code received from Experian was address related. Since CRC's are automatically updated approximately every 30 days, and his last report generated, whether received or not, was on 1/16/14 (the date in which the error occurred) the system will not allow another report to be updated until approximately 2/16/14. Mr. ***** should have better success, provided he provides the accurate address information to Experian when he requests his next CRC after the date of 2/16/14. The CRC is a free product to consumers and Mr. ***** has not been charged at any point. He may continue to receive this free product for as long as he likes. An additional response will be sent to MR. ***** letting him know of the findings from our technical team. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My address is correct. And on the free report it had the same address as i was putting in. How many tries are you given before will not allow uou to recive it? And the error code needs to be more direct and say what is wrong. I should had been able to recive the free report.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Credit.com will not allow me to close my account and delete my information. I want to close my account on credit.com. I contacted them on November 7, 2013. And they never responded and deleted my message on their server. My request number was *****. Then I tried again on February and no one has answered. There is nowhere on the website a way to close your account and cancel them access to using your social security. It worries me that they still have my information and social security. I no longer give them access to my information and hope that they close emu account. My email/username is *******************

Desired Settlement: I just want my account to be closed and for credit.com to delete my information and not longer have access to using my social security.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ After reviewing our records, we can see that Mr. ******* requested to delete an account at Credit.com by submitting a ticket request on Nov. 7, 2013. In Jan. 2014 it was discovered that our system was automatically deleting tickets within 72 hours, hence how Mr. *******'s ticket was closed & deleted without receiving a response. Since this discovery our system has been updated to hold all tickets for an 8 day period. The next ticket request received from Mr. ******* was received on Feb. 23, 2014 to close out the same account. This ticket was fulfilled and an email automatically sent out to Mr. ******* on Feb. 24, 2014. In that email Mr. ******* was informed that his Credit.com account was closed and was given a list of contact phone numbers to partners on our site who provide additional products. Also in that email he was given instructions to call them directly to cancel any possible memberships they might have with those companies due to the fact that Credit.com does not have access to their records/accounts. At this point and time, his account with Credit.com has been closed, he no longer has access and we no longer hold any of his personal information.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: stated they couldn't give me report that I was a potential fraud victim. Number they gave on web site incomplete an was for Experian this website is credit .com supposed to e free - I logged on GAVE my private info and then was told you are a potential fraud victim but they don't give their number they said call Experian & it was missing the last number for the phone number on the website. Now I am worried about being the victim of fraud

Desired Settlement: want to know why & be assured this company is not going to use my info

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ On October 7, 2013, Mr **** requested to obtain a free Credit Report Card from Credit.com. Upon submission of the needed information required by Experian to process the request, Experian returned to us certain Fraud Indicators on his file that would not allow the report to be generated out to Mr ****, for security purposes. Mr. **** received a message stating that Experian has reported to us that the information he provided "may" be associated with fraud. He was given instruction to contact Experian directly, as we are not the credit bureau. On 10/7/13 at 7:19, Mr **** submitted a ticket to Credit.com Customer Support inquiring about this situation. At 11:59 on 10/7/13 the following response was sent to Mr ****: "Experian has reported to us that the information you provided may be associated with fraud. We encourage you to contact Experian Fraud Services to discuss the "Fraud Indicators" that were returned to us when requesting your credit information. You can get more information at https://********************************** or by calling ************ We apologize for any inconvenience, however, when this occurs, Experian will not provide any credit information to us." At 12:01, Mr. **** then replied that he spoke with Experian and they did not see any alerts on his file. To which one last response was sent to Mr. ****: "The information provided to you was not that you had an alert on your file. You don't. It stated that Experian would not return any information to us due to Fraud Indicators. I supplied you with 2 ways to find out more information about it, however if you call them and state you are inquiring about an alert, they will not see any since you do not have any. We encourage you to contact the Fraud Services Dept. in regards to your fraud indicators. Here is the contact information once again. https://********************************** or by calling ************." Again, we are not the credit bureau and can only pass along the information we are given. When this particular situation occurs, we have no way of giving them their Credit Report Card, all we can do is direct the consumer to the credit bureau for more information. This is for their own security protection. Mr. **** can rest assured that even though he did not receive his Credit Report Card, his personal information does not go any further. We are a secure site and he should not worry that his information could be compromised. It will not. Mr. **** also pointed out to us that in the initial message he received there was a digit missing form the contact number to Experian. We thank him for pointing that out and that has since been rectified.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advertised a credit report for free, and then asked you for $1.00 to then charge you a non-refundable $32.99 charge that once billed it's paid. I went online to get a FREE credit report and Credit.com advertised a free credit report that required no Credit Card. They then ask for a $1 donation to pull your free credit report only to then charge you an additional non-refundable $32.99 which is not listed anywhere in the advertisement. They are ripping off people by hiding charges.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund for $32.99 because I never authorized that charge and that amount is not listed anywhere on your website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/20) */ On 9/20/13 I, ******* ******, of Credit.com Customer Support, contacted ******** ****** in hopes of getting a better understanding of what had transpired. Mr ****** told me he had done a google search for a credit report and ended up ordering a credit report and score for $1 which would be donated to charity. He told me that when he checked his online banking the next day, he noticed a charge for $32.99 for a monthly membership. Rightfully so he called the 800 number to find out what was going on (************.) He stated that he requested an full refund and the representative told him they could not refund anything. Mr ****** stated he did however cancel the membership. I offered to assist him in making a three way call to see if we can get his money back. Upon calling ************ I spoke with a representative named *****. She verified CMr ******'s information and he gave permission for me to speak on his behalf. During our phone conversation ***** verified he had purchased his membership from creditreport.com (not Credit.com.) She verified he had been charged $32.99 and stated he could not be refunded. I spoke with ***** and told her she had a very unsatisfied customer on her hands and it would just be good customer service to refund him his money as he had already cancelled his membership and no longer has access to the online account. She spoke with a manager and got approval for Mr ****** to be refunded $16.98, half of the amount he was charged and that it could take up to 10 days to reflect in his bank account. Mr ****** was satisfied with the outcome. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Credit.com, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart