BBB Accredited Business since

A&J Fencing

Phone: (925) 939-2105 Fax: (925) 939-2108 2336 Bates Ave, Concord, CA 94520 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aandjfencing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial fencing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A&J Fencing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A&J Fencing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on A&J Fencing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2000 Business started locally: 03/01/2000 Business incorporated 01/17/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Lena, Owner Ms. Kasi Lena, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Brie Bales, Office Manager
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Wood Contractors - Retaining Wall Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Ornamental Metal Work


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A&J Fencing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2336 Bates Ave

    Concord, CA 94520 (925) 939-2105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Six months after they replaced my fence, there are still sections of old materials left in my back yard. I have called them over 10 times to no avail. The fence replacement was done last August, while I was on vacation. When I noticed the old materials were left in my back yard, I asked them to pick them up. A&J came back twice to finish the job, but never pick up the old materials. I kept calling them about it. They always told me that they would pick up the old materials. But, they are sill in my back yard six months later.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to pick up the old materials.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, Office M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@aandjfencing.com Good Morning, I will have someone out either today or tomorrow in order to get those items picked up someone from our office will be contacting you shortly in order to let you know when we will be by. I apologize for the delay and we will get this completed as soon as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did come last week, but only picked up some of the materials. There are still two to three sections left in my back yard. I waited for another week before rejecting the response. I need all of the old materials removed. Thanks. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/01) */ Good Morning I was under the impression that everything was picked up from my foreman. I will have someone out before the end of the week to get the 3 remaining panels Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They came and picked up the remaining panels yesterday. Thank you very much for your assistance in resolving this issue.

12/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A&J Fencing installed 150ft of fence in my backyard. They uprooted a 40 year old tree without permission and left it lying down in the backyard. On Monday, Dec. 8, 2014 A&J Fencing installed 150ft of linear fencing in our backyard. I paid them with a check for $2310.00 drawn on my Keypoint Credit Union bank. The fence itself looks great. However, they uprooted a 40 year old 30-ft tree and left it lying in my backyard. I do not know whether it was intentional or accidental. A&J Fencing did not bother to inform me that they were going to uproot the tree, nor did they inform me that it was lying down in the backyard. I found it out the next morning since I arrived home late at night on Monday. I called A&J Fencing at (XXX) XXX-XXXX on Tuseday, Dec. 9th morning at 9am and explained the problem and sent them pictures of the uprooted tree. A&J Fencing mentioned that the foreman will call me. I have not heard from anyone. I have already sent the pictures of the uprooted tree to A&J Fencing. The foundation of the tree and the area around it clearly show the marks of the post-hole digger.

Desired Settlement: A&J Fencing needs to come and install the uprooted tree back or I can get specialized tree services to reinstall the uprooted tree if A&J Fencing pays them or reimburses me the amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, Office M Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@aandjfencing.com Our company has been working directly with the client to resolve this problem. The client provided us with one bid to have the work done at which point we requested he gett additional quotes because from prior experience with tree companies the cost he provided seemed extremely over priced for the work to be done. We then provideo him with information for a tree service we have worked with in the past. The customer admitted to one of out representatives that he was well aware that the company he called was expensive. As I stated we are more than willing to work with the client but we are not willing to approve the cost until we have multiple quotes to compare pricing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/11) */ 12-11-14 Sent via email: Hi ******, Yes, you can close the case. Thanks, ******.

9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are extremely unhappy with the work that was done on a new fence and gate that was installed at our home. We recently had our fence installed by your company and are extremely dissatisfied with the job that was done. We attempted to follow-up with you via phone and email and unfortunately, no one responded to us. In an attempt to have our concerns acknowledged by your company we are sending this letter and will also be submitting a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. We will be listing all the concerns that we had with what, if any, attempt to correct the problem, was done. 1. The fence is not level. We were told that it was up to the discretion of the crew to do what they thought was best with the fence. We were referred to our contract in which all three boxes for ''Fence Top To'' were checked (run level, contour, step with slope of the ground) which is impossible to have all three happens simultaneously, but since they were all checked to cover your company in the event that the fence isn't level, we were told there was nothing you would do about it. We mentioned it to the crew he was reassured it would level out over time. This is obviously not the case. 2. The concrete that was poured around the posts is not level with the original concrete and looks terrible. 3. The original gate that was installed was the wrong size. The crew had to come back and redo it a month later. When they returned to do the job, they cracked our concrete, which the supervisor specifically said they would not do because they would be using a diamond saw, not a jackhammer. My husband also told them not to use the jackhammer because he knew it would crack the concrete. Well, they used a jackhammer and cracked the concrete. We sent an email with a picture of the crack and were told the Vice President of the company would be calling. He never called. Our concrete is still cracked. 4. Two days after the new gate was installed, your stain person showed up at our door to stain the gate that the crew had already stained when they installed it. He had no idea what was going on and had to call your office. After talking to your front desk person, instead of offering to compensate us for the horrendous job you did, he offered to stain the back of our fence for $200. This was a total and complete insult. 5. When the staining was done, he left stain all over the rocks in our front yard. A full foot out from the fence, our white rocks are still covered with brown stain. My husband's car was also parked in the driveway and it has stain on it as well. He was never asked to move his car. 6. Nails and debris were left all over the backyard. We had to act as your cleaning crew. 7. Without asking, you filled our organic bin with wood left over from the job. We paid a significant amount of money to have our fence done and all we were asking for was some follow-up from your company and an acknowledgement that mistakes were made. Perhaps some compensation for the horrific job that was done would have been nice too. Instead, we got nothing. No phone call, no email, nothing. Customer service is something that is valued by us and expected from a company that assured us we would be happy and satisfied with the job that was done. We would appreciate any communication from your company.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a partial refund or we would like them to come out and replace all the unlevel fence and concrete. We would also like them to come out and clean all the fence spray off of our landscaping rocks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title: *******, Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@aandjfencing.com Good Morning ********, We have been communicating with your husband directly since he emailed us of the issues on Friday August 22nd. We have set up an appointment for our Vice President to meet with him at your property to discuss the issues at hand and come up with a resolution for this Friday. As I explained to your husband in my emails and our voice mail once the meeting is complete we will send out one of our crews to complete the necessary repairs for you. As I explained in my previous emails we apologize for any inconveniences these issues may have caused for you and we will remedy the issues as soon as possible. If there are any other items you care to discuss please contact me directly your husband already has my contact info and I have listed it below as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on A&J Fencing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart