BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2007

SquareTrade, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(877) 927-7268360 3rd Street #6, San FranciscoCA 94107-1213

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers online shopping services including merchant verification and post purchase protection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2007

BBB has determined that SquareTrade, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SquareTrade, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 862 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

862 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 405 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues32
Billing / Collection Issues21
Delivery Issues17
Guarantee / Warranty Issues409
Problems with Product / Service383
Total Closed Complaints 862

Additional Complaint Information

Filing a complaint? Looking for a faster resolution?
Call SquareTrade's complaint line directly - 866.840.2196 Monday through Thursday 8 am to 6:30 pm Pacific Time and a Resolution Specialist will work with you to resolve your issue.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

45 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SquareTrade, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 19
Total Customer Reviews 45 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (862)
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My computer bought with a 2 years SquareTrade protection contract broke down on January 6th, 2016. SquareTrade do not want to honor the contract.

On November XX XXXX, I bought a new desktop computer from Staples for $699.99. I also bought a 2 years protection plan from SquareTrade at $199.00.
The computer is an ASUS M32AD-R14 DES.

On January 6th, 2016, my new computer crashed. I contacted SquareTrade (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and talked to Daisy. She told me the coverage contract was for a laptop and not for a desktop.

on January 7th, I went back to Staples and ************** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) confirm that the contract was for a desktop.

on January 8th, the claim was denied by SquareTrade according to Kevin.

On January 10th, ************** from Staples calls SquareTrade.

On January 11th, I received an E-Mail from SquareTrade telling me that they contacted a technician to repair my computer: ********* in Louisiana XXX-XXX-XXXX.

On January 12th, I called ********* at XXX-XXX-XXXX and talked to ******* and ******. They gave me a ticket number XXXXXXX. ******* told me, he would order a new mother board, but it would take a while, first he said 1 to 3 days, then 3 to 5 days.

I waited until January 18th, to give them enough time, and called ********* back (XXX-XXX-XXXX). ****** told me the claim was denied by SquareTrad on Jamuary 13th.

Called SquareTrade later on the same day, and talked to ******. She said a new ticket was issued.

I waited until January 21st, then I called ********* again and talked to **** (XX:XX), He said the claim was denied because the mother board is more expensive than the whole computer.

I went back to Staples, talked to *******. She put me in contact with **** in Staples Corporate. **** called SquareTrade, talked to *****. SquareTrade called *********, and ********* said they would take care of the repair.

I waited again until Jamuary 26th. I contacted again ********* on that day, and again, they said (******) that the claim was denied. Again, I called SquareTrade and talked to *******. He gave me the run around, but finally I ask to talk to the manager, and was connected to Duff. He contacted ********* (so, he said). Finally he told me they could not find anybody to repair my desktop computer locally, so they were sending me a full refund ($699.99). I should received it by February 4th, February 7th at the latest. He also said they did not want me to send back the defective computer.
But, on this same day, January 26th, about an hour later, I receive an E-Mail from SquareTrade telling me that a technician would contact me.

So, on January 27th, I called SquareTrade. I talked to *****, and he told me that there was no record of the conversation with Duff, the previous day, so now the computer repair was back, and I had to wait again for a technician to call me. This is at least the fourth time that I was told a technician would come to my house to repair my desktop computer, but then I wait several days and when I called back they give me a different reason why the claim is denied.

So, now the problem with the computer has to do with hardware. Every time it's turned on, you can hear some noise (I assume from the hard drive) for about 2 seconds, and maybe 30 seconds later, it tries again with the same result.

In conclusion, I bought a service contract for my computer in case of a problem. Now I have a problem, so I expect it to be fixed without charge in a timely manner. Obviously, the last part of this statement is not happening, this started 3 weeks ago.

I received full support from Staples, with the help of ************** (XXX-XXX-XXXX), now I expect the same support from SquareTrade, but every time I call, it's a different person with a different answer, or a complete lie.

All I want is my computer repair, I have a lot of personal data on this computer and I would like it back.

Desired Settlement
In accord with ****, on January 26th: "**** said they could not find anybody to repair my desktop computer locally, so they were sending me a full refund ($699.99). I should received it by February 4th, February 7th at the latest. He also said they did not want me to send back the defective computer."

So, I expect a full refund, and also I want to keep at least the current hard drive.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced with their device. Our records indicate the consumer's device has been salvaged & a payout is being processed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I just received a check in the mail for a full refund for my computer.

I'm fully satisfied.

Thank You,
**** *********

02/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Square Trade are not honoring their guarantee agreement.
I purchased the laptop on December 2013, and payed for two years. I have had difficulty accessing my warranty. I had asked for a cash claim instead of shipping my laptop to them, but they refused unless providing pictures of the condition my laptop was in. I provided many pictures showing the poor condition my laptop was in. The laptop was in bad condition for shipping. I asked for the cash claim since I had proof of the laptop but they refused.
I had one more month of the active warranty so I decided to ship my laptop to Square Trad since they couldn't get me a cash claim. I've been asking for the shipping boxes since 2014. By then, the laptop was already in poor condition. I called the company to deliver the shipping box to another address. They did not even attempt to try to deliver the shipping box to the changed address. I never received the box. Now the warranty is up and I am still left with a crippling laptop. Square trade was stringed me through the whole two years and did not honor their guarantee agreement that I pay for.

Desired Settlement
I want Trade Square to honor their agreement. I want a cash refund of the laptop's original price. Or a new replacement laptop.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced with their device.
The consumer has been contacted by phone and via email to resolve the complaint.
We are currently awaiting a response to move forward.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A representative had call me late December after seeing my complaint asking to call back to resolve the issue. I have called them more than 10 times, leaving voice messages and my mumber to call me back so the issue can be resolve but they have not call back or respond to my voice messages.

Final Business Response
Per the Terms & Conditions," Depending on the item and failure circumstances, We will either: Repair the Product, or; Provide a cash settlement or a Gift Card reflecting the replacement cost of a new item of equal features and functionality up to the Coverage Amount, or; Provide a new or refurbished product of equal features and functionality."
The consumer has filed three claims on 2/4/2015, 9/2/2015 & 11/1/2015 each time we have mailed a box & the consumer failed to send the device in to be repaired. Though the warranty is expired we will still honor the claim for payout. The consumer will be sent a shipping label via email in order to send the device to us. Once we receive the device the consumer will be mailed a check within 7-10 business days.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After reviewing my account and information, me and a representative agree that to ship the laptop and will reimburse me with a check for the same amount of money used to purchase the laptop.

02/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sent me back the wrong drone refusing to fix it or refund it
I sent my drone to be repaired the company sqauretrade sent back a completely different drone that is not even mine with a different serial number on it and are refusing to fix it or refund it

Desired Settlement
I would like the full 1300.00 refund on this product they ripped me off by sending back the wrong unit I sent them one I have all the paperwork from the first time they fixed it I called and told them they sent me back the wrong one finally got a call back after two months and they are still refusing to fix the problem. This is on them they returned to me a drone that was not mine

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced. This is a duplicate complaint filed by the consumer. As stated in the fist complaint, " Our records indicate the consumer sent their device in twice to be repaired. On the second repair the device failed the audit due to a complete different serial number on the device. The consumer's claim was denied due to misrepresentation and the device was shipped back to the consumer. We have cancelled the warranty and refunded the consumer for the full amount."

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


02/03/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Despite claiming to call to resolve a warranty issue, Square Trade has not followed through with service of any kind.
I wanted to advise you of the unethical, non-responsive service of squaretrade.com. I have used Square Trade for nearly a decade and had nearly flawless service until about a year ago. I will skip the issue prior to this and focus on the most recent incident.

I called to advise that the self-cleaning function on my stove was not working under Care Plan ID:
XXXXXXXXXXXX. I was transferred a couple times and required to repeat myself to more than one staffer before being called back by a trouble shooter. This person determined exactly what I already knew, the unit needed service and they scheduled repair. When the tech arrived, he advised again that the unit needed repair, but that he was not qualified to work on hard wired drop in the units, despite the fact I had given all this detail to the multiple staffers at Square Trade knowing that my unit was the least common sold oven in the U.S. He said he would let Square Trade know he couldn't fix it and that I needed a different tech. I asked what to do next and he advised, "Nothing, Square Trade would contact me". After a week, with no contact, I called Square Trade and they put me through the same call transfer/ questionnaire with the promise of a call back. I told the last agent that my confidence in their ability to provide service was now slim and I didn't want a call back, I wanted him to stay on the line while I was transferred. He advised that a call back was required and I agreed, but the call back never came. This was September. Due to illness and the holidays, this is my 1st opportunity to follow up, the unit is still broken and an additional issue has been found.

Desired Settlement
I want to hire my own tech and have Square Trade reimburse me for all cost includfing emergency service as it's been nearly 6 months since the unit worked properly.In addition, I want my warranty extended 6 months to compensate me for nearly 6 months of zero service on this contract despite efforts to have my unit repaired.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced with their unit. Unfortunately the technician did not inform us that the repair was unsuccessful or we would have set a new appointment. The consumer can move forward with another repair through SquareTrade or use a local technician and we will reimburse them for the repair. The consumer has been contacted by a Resolution team member to resolve their complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have not been successfully contacted by Square Trade prior to this and as mentioned, I contacted Square Trade to advise the repair was unsuccessful and my call was routed multiple times before I was advised of a call back that never came. I will schedule a repair through an authorized GE source and once repair is complete, and payment has been reimbursed, I will consider this matter closed.

02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am complaining about the fact I was promised my sales taxes in my refund check of my laptop coverage but was not included in the check.
On 10/31/2015 I called square trade to file a claim thru my warranty since my hp envy dv7 was having an issue with the speaker cover lifting which restricted the screen to open fully. I talk to ***** during the call and he help me by telling me the process it take a week for repair and that he be sending me a box to sent my laptop in with instructions I did that and I sent the laptop to square trade depot on nov 6 since I receive the box on the 3rd of nov I was notified by email it was received by the nov 10 and I was told that after 7 days I receive it back or a least be notified of how far their were along but I was not notified I called on nov 17th on my birthday to see the status of my laptop I spoke to rep then and was notified that they haven't receive the part needed yet but it be in by nov 20th and I be notified of the final audit to be shipped back by nov 24 no later than nov 26th. So I waited and said I was disappointed at the fact I was promised a week to be done and not notified of the delayed at the time I was offered my refund back of my warranty as courtesy for taking so long to repair my item without being notified which I didn't receive until dec 4th. at the time I didn't trust them to get back with me so I called again on nov 20th make sure the part was in at the time I spoke to ***** and he called the depot and found out for me that part was backorder by hp and would not be received until nov 24th offer to issue me a refund for my warranty cost but I let him know it should be issued already which confirmed on my account at that time he offer his extension at 1874 to call him directly on the nov 24th to make sure they got the part which I did call but didn't reach ***** so I called again got another rep that said they got it and it be worked and sent out by nov 26th I told him do you know the 26th is holiday so I doubt it be shipped out then. He corrected himself and let me know no later than 27th so when the 27th no email notification so I tried to called ***** extension again and I finally got him he looked up my claim and called depot and I found out the depot now claim the part they received wasn't the right one and waiting on another part of course I was pass ***** and I escalated to manager which at that time I spoke to roy which he told me that he apologize explain their process and let me know to give them until dec 10 at the latest if they don't fix it by then they issue me a refund for my laptop which was 779.00 I said only 779.00 he told not just 779.00 the sales tax will be included as well at this time I receive the warranty refund back of 199.95 plus tax which made it 218.46 check issue to me I called back to make sure it was correct and also for the fact I receive mobile app update from square trade on dec 4th about my laptop would be fixed by local technician so I called the customer service again and got rep named **** at 1230pm cst he let me know the 218.46 was correct because it included the sales tax so I ask him about the notification I got via the mobile app saying my laptop would be fixed via local technican I was told that wasn't correct he see on my account I be issued a refund check for the value of my laptop which would be the 779.00 plus the 74.83 in sales taxes. So I was expecting a check for 853.83 but on dec 17th I receive a check for only 779.00 I immediately called square trade and spoke with greg at 4:56pm he let me know the check was correct because square trade wasn't responsible for sales tax I let him know then, why your rep bell as well roy a manager let me know it would include sales tax and when you reimburse me my warranty cost you all included the sales tax. He told me he put in a case for an department but which I was suppose get a call from in 24 to 48 hours it never happen. Last contact with square trade was what i initiated and that's the problem I had always called to figure whats wrong and in turn I didn't even receive the amount promise to me.

Desired Settlement
I only seeking what I was promised since nov 27th and again on dec. 4th which is the sales tax of 74.83 I believe its only fair with the time I waited and all the time I had to called to see whats going on with my claim and since there was no way to get a new laptop that is the equilvent of mines at only 779.00 with warranty

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced. This complaint has already been escalated to a Resolution Specialist and the consumer's reimbursement for the sales tax is being processed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have spoke with a manager of square trade and they honored their promise I just received the refund check for my sales tax and its resolved for my end.

Page 1 of 75
02/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Squaretrade posting extended warranties for purchase on ebay listings for items they will not cover.
Seller listings on eBay are having extended warranty purchase options on items that are not covered by Squaretrade. Fot instance, A dryer motor. Optional 3 year warranty offered for $10.99. Check the box pay the $10.99 for the extended warranty, Have a claim within this 3 years and find out squadetrade does not cover the item as it is a replacement part not a complete appliance. This has happened to me . I have paid the 10.99 for this warranty for something they put on an eBay listing. I received my money back, but how many millions of dollars are they collecting form unsuspecting consumers who may never file a claim. Pure profit for them by defrauding the consumer for profit.I had purchased a dryer motor, Bought the 3 year warranty from squaretrade, The motor failed, I filed a claim and called them . They told me that it is not an appliance just a repair part, and will not cover the claim, as listed in the listing from which I had purchased this motor. They are defrauding comsumers into buying this warranty. I have spoken with eBay regarding this, They can do nothing for me, they allow squaetrade to add the extended warranty to sellers listings.Some one needs to step in and stop this fraud from happening. We work hard for our money, only to have it taken away in this manner. I was tricked into this warranty beleiving I was covered only to find out I was not and ripped off. How many other people have paid for this warranty to have the same thing happen to them? I want this to stop. I have been given the run around from squaretrade and eBay regarding a dryer motor. Really? Step on the consumer for profit. All I wanted was the motor to be warrantied by the extended warranty I had purchased when I bought this item. eBay allowed squaretrade to offer this on sellers listings, now neither will stand behind the warranty. Squaretrade cancelled my warranty and said they would refund my money. Not what I wanted. I want a new dryer motor to replace the one that failed. What's the point of the warranty offered if you are not going to stand behind it? Fraud on both ends to me for corporate profit at the consumers expense. Deception, to get people to buy it, then not stand behind it. If an item is not covered by this warranty, don't put it on the sellers listings for them to buy. Purchased date January 5, 2015, item #XXXXXXXXXXXX for item #XXXXXXXXXXXX dryer motor#XXXXXX for the purchase price 71.95.payment with PayPal and Visa. I , today looked up another dryer motor on ebay, item#XXXXXXXXXXXX. The listing offers the squaretrade warranty. It's not covered, Why is this option there for a part? It's not an appliance. Deception and fraud I believe. Sound as though a class action lawsuit against squretrade and eBay should be in order to give back to the comsumers deceived into purchasing this warranty. I got the shaft. How many more is this going to happen to?

Desired Settlement
Stop falsely advertising on eBay sellers listings. Uphold the warranties you sold to buyers for items they claim they do not cover, as the buyers were falsely encouraged into buying this warranty believing this item is covered, which in fact is NOT!, Refund the buyers purchases for all items that are not covered, that were listed as covered during the purchase process.

Business Response
We apologize the consumer experienced issues with their device. Per the receipt provided by the consumer a Squaretrade warranty was purchased for a major appliance. The device in question is not a major appliance but a replacement part for a major appliance(dryer). The consumer misrepresented the item and this voids the warranty. The consumer has been refunded in full for the warranty price.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Squaretrade is still offering extended warranties on eBay listings for appliance parts new and used. eBay claims that eBay is not responsible for this and Squaretrade is doing this. I have found these squaretrade warranties offered for new as well as used parts for sale by the sellers of ebay. I understand the seller is not aware of square trade offer warranties on their listing as per what eBay has told me. sounds like a scam to me is order to make money of from people that may not ever have to file a claim. If they do, square trade refunds their money for the warranty purchased, and sends an email to the purchaser thanking them to request of canceling the warranty that square trade did on their own. I received my money back, but did not ask square trade to cancel the warranty, They did this to me. sounds like a rip ripoff. look at all the money square trade is making by defrauding unsuspecting customers. We did nothing wrong. Square trade is offering the warranty for purchase, stand behind it, or figuire out what the problem is and why it is being added to listings for items not covered. It is not our fault. The listing was correct in which I purchased the dryer motor. It was under appliance parts. Then why is a warranty being offered from square trade for a part which is in a parts catagory? They need to figuire that one out, it's their problem. The warranty was available for purchase on a repair part catagory

Final Business Response
We have informed the appropriate parties within SquareTrade business development department and they will work with are retailers to ensure correct messaging is available to our consumers.

02/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased accident protection plan for Chromebook on September 21,2015
Now Square Trade not honor the warranty because it's a certified refurbish.
I purchased a certified refurbished chromebook for my daughter for school on september 21, 2015 on Amazon.com. Square Trade offered a 2 years accident protection plan and I purchased. She cracked the display before christmas.
I contacted Square Trade provided invoice and serial number. They said everything is verified and will issue a refund of the amount that I paid for after they received the chromebook. They asked how do I want the refund back? I said Amazon credit is fine cause I need to get another chromebook for my daughter. After I hangup, I don't think she'll have another chromebook before going back to school on January 4th, 2016 after her winter break. I went a head and purchased another same exact chromebook(certified refurbished) and purchased the Square Trade warranty accident protection plan again but this time the price higher. On January 5th, 2016, I received an email from Faraz (Square Trade Care Specialist) informed me that they will be shipping my chromebook back to me as I bought the unit under a refurbished condition and they never offer warranties on refurbished units from Amazon. I called them on January 6th, 2016 and explained that no where in their description that it mentioned not cover refurbished units on Amazon. The option is there for buyer to add the warranty protection to the cart with the chromebook. I told them that if they don't warranty the refurbished items, the warranty option should not be there for buyer to buy. In addition, if it's there, it should declined the customer's acceptance of the purchase. If all failed, Square Trade should had refunded my warranty purchased right away and let me know because of the refurbished item. Not waiting until I filed a claim and said approved and then said not warranty and will refunded the money that I paid for the warranty 3 months ago. They said that it was a miscommunication. Also, if they would have told me this in the beginning, I would have purchased a brand new chromebook on December 26th. instead of purchased another refurbished chromebook. I told them this is a scam that they're trying to pull. Taking a gamble
that I don't file a claim within 2 years and kept the money. If I file a claim, then they'll said sorry not cover because the chromebook is refurbished. It's a win, win for Square Trade.

Below is the email I received from Square Trade.
Congrats! Your claim is approved, and you're eligible to receive a payment of $199.99. Here's what you need to do before we can release your payment:

Your item will not be returned to you. Any data not backed up will be lost.

Use a sturdy box and bubble wrap to pack your item. Pack only your item, its battery, and its charger/AC adapter.

Click here to print your free FedEx shipping label, attach it to the box, and ship your item to us.

Once your item has been verified, we'll release your payment (can take up to 10 business days). If you have questions or want to schedule a call with one of our specialists, just visit squaretrade.com/help.

Sincerely,
The SquareTrade Team

Desired Settlement
I would like the business to honor their warranty.
1. Either refund the amount that I paid for the chromebook as they promised.
2. Repair or replace my chromebook with another one.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced with their device. During the purchase process on Amazon it does state SquareTrade Protection Plans are only valid for new products purchased at Amazon within the last 30 days. Unfortunately the consumer misrepresented her warranty by indicating the device was "new". The consumer's device is being mailed back & a refund has been processed for the warranty.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If you only cover new items only, why didn't square trade refunded my money after I purchased.
I paid for the warranty not knowing that only cover new items. Square trade did not attempted to cancel my warranty purchase or refunded the money. The original purchased date was September 21, 2015. Three months went by without any contact from Square Trade regards to the warranty purchased. Until, December 23, 2015, I called in for a claim on my chrome book. Square Trade returned my broken chrome book and kept the power supply. I still didn't see any refund back yet at this time.

Final Business Response
The consumer indicated they were not aware that the warranty did not cover used items however the purchase page clearly states the protection plan is only valid for new products purchased at Amazon within the last 30 days. SquareTrade was not aware that the consumer misrepresented their warranty for their device. The refund has been processed and will be returned in 7 to 10 business days. We can also reimburse the consumer for the power supply that was not returned.

02/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Squaretrade void my warranty policy after holding my money paid for it for almost 3 years.
I purchased my blu-ray player back in 12/24/2012. During insurance buying process back in 2012 there were no mentioning on a SquareTrade site that you can't purchase police for refurbished item (they add it lately, indeed now you can see such disclaimer while purchasing insurance). I purchased 3 year insurance policy Care Plan ID: XXXXXXXXXXXX. Couple weeks ago I filed a claim with SquareTrade regarding this player, they denied it siting their policy that I could not purchase a policy for refurbished item. I told them that there were no mentioning during purchasing policy that it could not be refurbished back on 2012, in addition they did accept my payment and held it for 3 years that making them in acceptance of my offer for covering for my refurbished blu-ray player (basics of contract law). When I asked if they planed to reimburse me the cost of this policy when it will lapse, they told me NO, they would just keep the money.
Basically what they do they just hold people money in hope that they will never claim their policy but if they will, they just tell you sorry and Might return the cost of the policy (without interest for holding your money for years).
IT IS FRAUD. And should be stopped. They should fulfill their duty under insurance policy or NOT accepting people money.Operation under assumption that consumer knows what its buying is a SCAM.
Their actual policy is irrelevant. There has to be a conspicuous sign regarding such an important issue which was not back in 2012, plus they absolutely should not accept customers money for the policy they not planing to fulfill.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fulfill their duty and reimburse me (or fix) my blu-ray player. Also I want them to guarantee to honor all policies I currently have, as I can't be sure if there is no policies for refurbished items. Vast majority of my current policies was purchase while they had no disclaimer in regards to refurbished items during the check out process.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue the consumer experienced with the device.
As stated on the website all coverage is for devices originally purchased within 30 days. The consumer's device was not originally purchased within this time frame resulting in the claim being denied. As a one time exception we will reimburse the consumer for his device, once it has been received to our facilities.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear all,

Also I do not agree with the reasons provided by supplier I am in peace with the solution offered. Unfortunately I never received an e-mail with information in regards of honoring my waranty claim that I was promiced to receive.
Indeed, lady that gave me a call to resolve an issue was more than nice and I am sure it is some kind of thechnal mistake that an e-mail wasn't sent, but I am still waiting for that e-mail.
Best regards,
******

Final Business Response
The consumer was sent a confirmation email containing the shipping label to send his device. Our records indicate the device is in transit & expected to reach our facilities on 1/21/16. Once the device has been verified the check will be processed and the consumer will receive it in 7-10 business days.

02/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have waited 15 days for a replacement phone, have been lied to repeatedly by Square Trande, and am still without a phone.
My iPhone 6 needs replacement, which is verified and documented by Apple, requested by SquareTrade. They mailed me a PREPAID phone, which I promptly took to Apple and my Sprint carrier-both told me that they cannot set up prepaid phones. I called SquareTrade immediately. They said they would overnight me the right phone, and acknowledged the mistake of sending a prepaid phone. The correct phone never arrived. I called, they said it had been sent by Apple and would be coming to my home the next day. It again did not arrive. I called SquareTrade again and they said they would call me within 24 hours with tracking information for my phone. They never called. I called again and was told the same thing. Again, I was never called and the phone never showed up. 7 days later (15 days from my first call and claim date) my overnighted phone is still missing. I spent 3 hours on the phone with Square Trade again today who told me that the phone they said they overnighted actually does not exist and was never sent, but to take the prepaid phone to Apple. They said they received intell within the last two days that Apple now works on prepaid phones. I went to Apple who said SquareTrade is feeding customers lies and bad information (agreed!). I then called SquareTrade while in the Apple Store and Apple got on the phone with them. They told SquareTrade that they were wrong and prepaid phones cannot be used. I was then told verbally (not in writing-and we now know that SquareTrade lies to its paying customers) that after I send them the prepaid phone they sent me (waiting for their shipping label!!!) I have to track that it arrived. Then I have to call SquareTrade and request a second shipping label to send them my damaged phone and track that. Once that one arrives, I have to file another claim and then they will issue me a check for the retail value of a new iPhone 6 ($549) so I can go buy a new phone. I am beyond frustrated with the amount of hours I have spent dealing with this. I expect the check that has been promised IMMEDIATELY, not after I jump through more hoops and spend another 15 days without a working phone. I expect their promise to me in writing because I have been verbally lied to repeatedly. If you can help, please email me, since as you can see from this BBB letter, I do not have a phone to receive phone calls.

Desired Settlement
A check covering the cost of a new iPhone 6 ($549) mailed to me right away.

Business Response
We apologize the consumer experienced issues with their device. The consumer's claim have been moved to payout. We are also reimbursing the consumer for the sales tax for their replacement device.

02/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My warranty expires on 01/08/15 which is exactly 2 yrs to the date of which I was filing my claim. After speaking with agent he said warranty exp 4hrs
I happened upon my receipt as I was cleaning and saw that I had purchased the warranty for my printer. I immediately went to submit tI spoke with an agent to file my claim and was giving him the information that he requested. He said that the warranty expired at the exact time of the two year period of which the product was purchased. There was nothing in my records that stated this. I feel that the warranty should not expire until after midnight of that date two years after purchase. I called 3.5 hrs the original purchase date and I feel that the warranty should be upheld until the next day.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a new product

Business Response
We apologize that the consumer experienced an issue with their device. The consumer contacted SquareTrade the day the warranty expired. The consumer has been contacted by phone & email to resolve their complaint.

Page 1 of 99

Industry Comparison| Chart

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2001Business started: 08/19/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1999, DE

Business Management
Ms. Priya Shah (Director)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Britney Freeman (Resolution Specialist)
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Internet Shopping

Service Area

This business service area covers: Internationally - UK, Finland, US, Canada

Industry Tips
Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SquareTrade, Inc. has received 4.41 out of 5 stars based on 45 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SquareTrade, Inc.

360 3rd Street #6

San Francisco, CA 94107-1213

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 360 3rd Street #6 

    San Francisco, CA 94107-1213(877) 927-7268

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2173 NW 99th Ave. 

    Miami, FL 33172

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    48 E. Market Street 

    Spencer, IN 47460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SquareTrade, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Filing a complaint? Looking for a faster resolution?
Call SquareTrade's complaint line directly - 866.840.2196 Monday through Thursday 8 am to 6:30 pm Pacific Time and a Resolution Specialist will work with you to resolve your issue.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.