BBB Accredited Business since

Fitness Superstore, Inc.

Phone: (855) 348-4663 Fax: (800) 346-2960 View Additional Phone Numbers 2551 Stanwell Dr STE C, Concord, CA 94520 http://www.fitnesssuperstore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of used and new sales equipment online and store front.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fitness Superstore, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fitness Superstore, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fitness Superstore, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2011 Business started: 09/28/2010 Business started locally: 09/28/2010 Business incorporated 04/09/2013 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy French, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy French, Owner
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Health Clubs

Service Area
Area Business Services: San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fitness Superstore, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2551 Stanwell Dr STE C

    Concord, CA 94520 (855) 348-4663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Life fitness 97ti treadmill purchased in 2014, still under warranty, is malfunctioning. Would like a technician to evaluate it and fix the problem. Purchased date 6/10/2014 Order number 4372 Life Fitness 97ti Treadmill Payment $3,347 (Visa card) Problem date: 6/1/15 The treadmill belt is slipping when I run causing me to lose pace. The treadmill is also unable to keep a constant pace once I start running at 6.0mph or above. Its speed fluctuates on its own from 6.0 to 5.7 then to 6.1 and so on. While doing this the belt jerks, causing me to loose pace and balance while running. I have emailed fitness superstore regarding this problem twice and called twice all within a 2 week period of time with no response. My treadmill is still under warrenty and I would like to have this matter fixed before it leads to a bigger problem with the treadmill rendering it non-functional. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Attempted to call and email x2. No response

Desired Settlement: I would like Fitness Superstore to send out a technician to my home to evaluate the treadmill and fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ On Monday, 6/29/15, we sent a technician to the customers house, and his unit has been repaired. The tech told us "the unit was repaired, It required a wax kit. BDT was very high until belt was cleaned and wax system was cleared of clogs." Please have the customer contact us if any further issues occur. Thanks!

6/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Fitness Superstore has not provided adequate equipment repair support in accordance with their company warranty. On 22 November 2013 a remanufactured "Star Trac EE4600 Natural Runner Elliptical" machine was purchased from the Fitness Superstore at a price of $2,068.00. The order included a 90-day warranty, but on 05 June 2014 $199 was paid for a 2-year extended warranty, which covers the equipment until 06 June 2016. I was very happy with the Fitness Superstore's services and equipment during the purchasing process, which was gladly articulated in a Yelp review. However, on 07 April 2015 I started experiencing a loud knocking sound on the equipment and observed some metal shavings on the railings. An e-mail was sent to the President of the Fitness Superstore (Mr. *** ******) reporting the problem, to include pictures. On 08 April 2015 I was contacted by a repair representative of the ''All Pro Treadmill Service'' to coordinate a time to arrive on site to assess the equipment problem. The visit was set for 12 April 2015, during which the repair representative deemed that both of the railings and rollers needed to be repaired. On 13 April 2015 I contacted the person at the Fitness Superstore that would be ordering the parts (Mr. ****** ****** to find out the status of ordering the parts. He did not have a status and said he would get back to me. Once again on 16 April 2015 I e-mailed Mr. ***** to request a status. That same day he responded saying that he was waiting to hear back from the parts department, and that he should have an answer that day. The next day (17 April 2015) I e-mailed Mr. ***** and advised that I was not in receipt of the status he promised. He responded and apologized for the delay because of being busy with international orders, but that the parts department said they should have them by Thursday (23 April 2015). On 24 April 2015 I e-mailed Mr. ***** to request the status of the parts. He responded that day saying that the parts should be shipping to the repair technician's address in *********, **. I called Mr. ****** ***** on 29 April 2015 and asked for a status. He said he would provide me an update that day. He once again apologized for the delay and said that it was due to one of the managers being out for personal issues. During that conversation I asked if the parts were new or used, mainly because I was trying to figure out what was causing the delay. He assured me that the parts will be new. It wasn't until 29 April that the parts were actually shipped, as confirmed by the FEDEX tracking information (XXXXXXXXXXXX). Coordination then began with the repair technician to determine when he would arrive at my home for the repairs. The death of the repair person's friend, prior business bookings and the person's off-day delayed the ''scheduled'' visit until 07 May 2015. I contacted the repair person that morning to confirm his arrival and he said he would have to delay until the afternoon. The repair person never arrived that day, so a complaint e-mail was sent to the repair person, as well as to the President of the Fitness Superstore to advise of my dissatisfaction. The repair person rescheduled and arrived on 10 May 2015 (Mother's Day), with the unboxed parts in hand. When the boxes were opened both the repair person and I saw that the parts were used, and not new. Also, both of the rails had significant wear, and there was a penetrated dent on one of the railings. The technician expressed his reservations with installing damaged parts and said he made the decision not to install them until he spoke with the Fitness Superstore representatives. On 10 May 2015 I emailed the Fitness Superstore President and provided pictures of the parts, and requested a way ahead. Mr. ****** advised that they repair the equipment with used parts, and that there was a possibility that new parts may no longer be manufactured. I offered to pay more money (i.e., $1,000) to get different equipment that has parts support, but he said they wouldn't be able return nor exchange the product. No resolution as of 18 May 2015.

Desired Settlement: It is apparent to me that the Fitness Superstore is unable to fully comply with their warranty due to the unavailability of parts. I would like to have 'new' parts installed, or to have the equipment changed out to hardware that has parts support. Once again, I am wiling to pay the difference between the cost of the remanufactured equipment. After all, the equipment remains under warranty until June 2015.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/11/13) */ Received business response via email on 11/12/15: **** ******: His machine was fixed several months ago. It unfortunately took longer than usual b/c of a back ordered part *** ****** President / Owner

12/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Precor EFX 546HR Version 2 Elliptical Cross Trainer (code: 546v2) with Warranty: 3 Yr Parts and 1 Yr Labor (Residentail). Bought the above mentioned Crosstrainer on 9/11/2013. The item wasnt shipped until 1st week of November. As soon I received worke don it and noted the Equipment is defective and not doing the strides as it is supposed to be and also 1/3rd less of calories burned (I knew this as I work on same equipment in my gym). I hav enotified about the defectives on 11/7/2013. People respond after 2 or 3 months and send some technician, he looked at it and confirmed the piece ahs defective software. Again after 1 month they send software and techinican came and change dit and mentioned wrong software was sent. I reported and soemone answered my call after 2 months, then technician was sent after a month worked on it and said wrong software sent. This is happening like this sicne 11/7/2013. They dont care about the amount I have paid. The cose is above 2000$ and this money ahs no value. I have reported the problem to the highest level person in the store and still the way they take care of customers is irresistable. I palced the order in Sept and is now over 9 months with the defective piece. When Im asking for return back theya re telling me to bear my own costs to ship back which is ridiculous. I want total justice form BBB, I want my money back, I odnt trust thsi store anymore. When they arent giving attention to the defective machine they sent there is no point in thinking about the warranty of 3 years of the machine. Please have them come over take back the equipment and return my money. I spent so much money, and time on thsi which is of waste. With the 2000$ I would have opted for a good gym memberhip and peace of mind. People buy gym equipment for working out,r elax and peace but from purchasing from fitnessstore I bought frustration, lost peace and money. *** ****** the supervisor offered me a 50$ rebate, I odnt understand how he is a supeervisor to a store when he didnt understand how a customer feels if a 50$ rebate is offered for a 2100$ equipment. I hope BBB will look inot this issue. I have all the email conversations that was made to Fitnessstore which shows how many months togetehr they dleay in answering our calls and how least bothered they are in fixing the defective equipment they sent.

Desired Settlement: I'm done with calling them, getting the help, now I just need my refund. I want them to make arrangemnts to take back the equipment and get my refund. I no longer trust them. Order Details: Code Item Qty Price Grand Total 546v2 Precor EFX 546HR Version 2 Elliptical Cross-Trainer (Refurbished) Warranty:3 Yr Parts & 1 Yr Labor (Residential) 1 $2,098.00 $2,098.00 DSC-24 Save $1XX XXXv2 1 -$100.00 -$100.00 Subtotal: ********* Tax: $0.00 Shipping Cost: ******* Grand Total: *********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/08/04) */ Hi, sorry for the issues with the elliptical. Just for a background, everything is both both cosmetically and mechanically sound with the elliptical. The only issue is the calorie count is not counting calories correctly. It is counting calories at about half of what it normally does. This is a mysterious issue which both us and Precor tech support have never encountered before. We've sent out a service tech, and have sent out all parts that he requested, including the console. We talked to Precor again and they said if we sent out all new electronics (Including the Console, lower board, and data cable), then the machine would definitely count calories correctly. If the customer wants to do this, we will take care of it. We apologize for the time it has taken to fix the issue, and we guarantee that the product will be in 'like new' condition, as advertised. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2014/08/23) */ I see the case closed on 8/20/2014. What is the reason, I have not heard anything form the company. I don't see any resolution and I'm wondering why is the case closed? Consumer Response /* (-5, 28, 2014/10/26) */ Hello, I see tht case is closed on 10/18/2014. I have not recieved a any resolution from the Fitness center. I don't know why BBB closed the case. Please reopen it. And please take it serious. This is not a joke that I have been waiting on this case for over 3 months. If you need anything from me to take it upper level please let me know. Some one form BBB called me and told that I will have my machine fixed in 15 days. And I haven't heard from anything on that so far. The Fitness people are lying to you. Please consider my case serious. I had undergone for fraud and I'm seeking justice for this. I'm totally upset about the seriousness this case is considered. Please please take it higher levels. It is not a small dollar amount that I can forgo. It is near about 2500$ and for a common person its a huge amount and these business people cannot simply do such fraud business. Please take action. Business Response /* (4000, 31, 2014/11/05) */ Received response via email: The customer agreed to let us fix the machine. I told her that we are sending all electronics to a fitness technician, so whatever part is responsible for the faulty calorie count will be replaced once and for all. We are currently awaiting pictures of the machine from the customer, as we want to be 100% sure that we send her the correct parts. Thanks! *** ****** Consumer Response /* (4200, 34, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have had the Business folks contact me and they asked to take some pictures of the equipment which I have done several times earlier too. I posted the pictures as per their request. That's all I have not heard anything after that. No phone, no email or no update. So basically I'm standing at same situation with zero progress.SO PLEASE DO NOT CLOSE THE COMPLAINT. Business Response /* (4000, 35, 2014/11/24) */ The tech visited the customers house on 11/21/14 and successfully fixed the issue with the calorie count on the machine. The customer is now satisfied. The previous issue (and the reason it took so long) is that the serial number did not match the machine. We had the customer take pictures and realized it was a different version than we initially thought. We have internally revised the way that we go about warranty issues for future circumstances due to this experience.

8/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The equipment came 3 months later and it is not in working condition. It has been 7 months since I placed the order and I cannot use the elliptical. I have purchased supposed to be refurbished elliptical for $3900. They promised that the machine will be in my house within 3 weeks.I had to wait 3 month for delivery and one month for someone to take it upstairs. 3 different companies refused to take it, because it was too heavy. FS didn't do anything until I called several times and asked about my equipment. Finally they found someone who took it apart and delivered. The machine came with missing bolts and noise. Took another month to fix the noise and then when I started working out and found out that levels don't work. There is no difference between level 1-15. It is so tight that the machine always goes into pause because it is impossible to keep up on level 1. And I am in a great shape and always work out on level 12-13. i tried this machine before at a gym. It was nothing like this one. It is obviously broken. And now I am trying to return it, but there people at Fitness Superstore do not respond and stretching the time. It has been 7 months now and this junk is still in my house and I cannot use it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the equipment and get refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/07/08) */ **** ordered her elliptical in late December and it shipped in late January, just after the 4 week advertised time. Once it arrived at our delivery company she refused to let them into her house and demanded that we use the company who delivered her piano. This company did not specialize in fitness equipment and would not be able to do the necessary disassembly to get the elliptical into her room of choice. It took us much longer than anticipated to find another company who would be able to disassemble and move a 450 lb elliptical to the second floor. As soon as she got the machine she complained about the console shutting off mid-workout. We sent a technician out to diagnose the problem. He was not able to replicate the problem when he was using the machine. He asked the customer if she could demonstrate and found that she was not pedaling fast enough to generate enough power to keep the console on. He called the manufacturer and they confirmed this was the problem. We sent a power supply to the customer which took care of that issue. However, she still complained that her elliptical was too hard to use and was not the same as the model she used a hotel gym once some years ago. The tech and manufacturer said the machine was in perfect working order, but the customer did not feel that it was This is a remanfactured unit, it has new belts and new bearings, and yes, they are tight when customers first receive them. They are not nicely worn in like an elliptical one would find in say, a hotel gym. We offered to send a Life Fitness factory technician, or a technician of the customers choice, out to the customers house. And offered to have him replace any parts parts which the customer wanted to replace. The customer was not satisfied with this response and wanted to return the machine for a refund. We agreed to this request and setup the return shipment. As of today, 7/7, we have a pickup date scheduled for 7/9. Once the machine is picked up we will be sending the customer a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/07/14) */ The elliptical machine was purchased in December 2013 from Fitness Superstore over the phone. $3048 price + $200 insurance + $599 shipment and delivery = $3847. Fitness Superstore sent several technicians to replace a belt, install missing bolts inside and outside of the the machine, brought power cord, and offered to replace a battery. Only all these indicates that the equipment has old belts, missing parts and old battery. However, on their website they claim that they replace all of these and test the equipment before they sell it. The machine is still not responding to the change of 20 levels. The computer is not in working condition. The machine did not arrive in January. It arrived in March (I have e mails that indicates that) and was delivered on March 29, 2014. The reason I recommended another delivery company is because the original delivery company chosen by FS could not lift an elliptical of 660 pounds. The weight is stated on FS shipment paper. Even though Fitness Superstore in CA agreed to accept the broken elliptical, their return policy assumes me to pay them $1500 (two way shipping $600X2 plus 10% restocking fee). I believe that loosing 50% of the purchase price is not fair, considering the fact that the machine was sold to me already broken. I have offered FS $600 - presumable cost of one way shipment. The owner has accepted the offer (by e mail) and agreed to refund me $3247. The machine was taken from my home on 7/9/2014 and I am awaiting for my partial refund. As of right now I have no elliptical and no money. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/08/25) */

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave them money for a machine. They said it would ship in 1-4 wks. Never received the machine. on 12/28/13, I ordered a **** Fitness 91xi Eliptical Cross-Trainer online from Fitness Superstore. Order ***** for $3141.00. The website stated that it would ship in 1-4 weeks, and that when it shipped I would receive an email with shipping information. On 1/17/14, I called to ask if/when the item would ship as I had not heard anything or rec'd the item. I was told it would ship no later than 1/24/13. I did not receive anything. I called on 1/27/14 and asked for a refund. I was told the item was in the final stages and would definitely ship on 1/29/14. No reason was given for the delay. I still wanted the machine, so I said fine. They said I would receive an email on 1/29 with shipping information. As of 2/3/14, I have not heard from Fitness Superstore via email, phone, fax, mail etc. or received the machine that I ordered. On 2/3/14, I sent an email requested a full refund of $3141.00 via their website.

Desired Settlement: I would like $3141.00 refunded to my credit card as soon as possible.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2014/02/06) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Fitness Superstore, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart