BBB Accredited Business since

Optoma Technology, Inc.

Phone: (510) 897-8600 Fax: (510) 897-8602 3178 Laurelview Ct, Fremont, CA 94538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.optomausa.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers: Electronic equipment retail, electric equipment and supplies retail, projection apparatus specializing in selling and manufacturing digital projectors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Optoma Technology, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Optoma Technology, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Optoma Technology, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2010 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated 05/23/1995 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Warren Pierce, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Warren Pierce, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

130

Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Projection Apparatus Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Service Area
This business service area covers: US and abroad.

Additional Locations

  • 3178 Laurelview Ct

    Fremont, CA 94538 (510) 897-8600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my projector for repairs in May. The projector has been returned to me twice without being fixed. Optoma has refused to refund or replace it. In May I sent my out of warranty projector H180X to Optoma. I was issued a repair #USA RMA # OPT-XX-XXXXXXX. I paid $447.49 to fix it. I described, explained and provided evidence of the problem. Optoma has since returned it twice unrepaired. Their rep. ******** ****** fianlly said their engineers and supervisor said there is nothing wrong with my projector and that the problem is the surface I place it on. Initially, they claimed they diagnosed the problem and replaced a part, until ******** said there is nothing wrong with the projector. I have been deprived usage of my projector since May. Its appalling that a company with great products like Optoma lack good customer service and its shameful that they could not see or fix the obvious fault with my unit. I demanded a refund since they could not repair it I was offered a refurbished unit which I declined. If they could not fix the obvious fault on my present unit, I wasn't prepared to risk a refurbished unit from them. On july 22, I informed them I would report this incident to the BBB and the next day a supervisor named **** called while I was driving. He explained that they had a newer version of my unit, the H181X but it would not sit right on my projector stand and that I would need different screws, but he also said their refurbished units undergo much rigorous testing than actual new ones and that I could go with that. I agreed to a refurbished unit but when I got home after 30mins I contated ******** and told her to inform **** that I would rather have the new unit than a refurbished one. She replied the same day that she had passed ** the information to **** and since then I have not heard from Optoma.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my $447.49. I was willing to compromise and get a different unit but since they are not willing to offer me good customer service, I want a full refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/12) */ Hello, we shipped a new projector to the customer. The Fedex tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXXX. It was delivered on 8/12/15. Thank you.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Transaction could not be completed" error on website but they sent item anyway. Refused to issue credit after I returned item. HD20 projector quit working after 4 years due to "lamp error." Tried to order new lamp from Optoma for $284.16 on 5/22 but received the message "Your transaction could not be completed at this time. Please call customer service at XXX-XXX-XXXX" which I did not do. We decided to order a new Optoma HD26, instead. On 5/28, we received a new lamp. On 6/2 we called Optoma and asked to return the lamp and ******** ****** told us to fill out a request to return and fax it in. On 6/3 I faxed the form to the fax number listed on her email. I emailed ******** 6/6 to ask for the RMA# to return the lamp, and she said she had not received the fax. On the same day, she let me know she found the fax. On 6/8, I received an email from ******** ******** with the RMA form to return the lamp. She said they would swap it out for a new lamp. I told her I didn't want another lamp as we had ordered a new Optoma projector. She refused to issue credit and told me lamps are not returnable for credit. This information is nowhere on the lamp description page and nowhere during the order process. She told me that "Personally, when I purchase anything online I verify the warranty and return policy of the item. Since we don’t have many customers that want to return a lamp, I assume other people do the same." I find this very insulting as well as unnecessary as I've ordered in $10,000+ online, rarely need a return and have never been refused credit for one. I told her that the website wouldn't even complete my order and sent a copy of the error message I received that showed my order had not been completed. Since the order wasn't completed, we ordered another projector and did not plan to receive the lamp. I asked for her supervisor's contact information in order to resolve the issue. I've spent well over $3000 with Optoma, owning 3 projectors and this lack of customer service is a huge disappointment. As of today (6/12) I have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a refund for the full amount of the charges $301.74 (Lamp charges - $284.16, return postage - $16.08, fax charges - $1.50).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/22) */ Hello, We issued an RMA so the customer can return the lamp for credit. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/07/14) */ 6/18-I received message from Optoma that they shipped a replacement lamp rather than issue credit. This was done in spite of my request for credit or for supervisor contact information. 6/19-I contacted FedEx and refused delivery and they began return process to Optoma before lamp reached me. 6/22-Received email from ************* with another RMA# for 2nd lamp, which I never received. 6/25-Lamp was received by Optoma. Though I was promised credit numerous times, I never received credit from Optoma. After almost 7 weeks and no resolution with Optoma I disputed the charge with DiscoverCard on 7/8 and they credited my account on 7/13. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/07/22) */ Hello, We issued the refund on 7/21.

7/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I am emailing you to file a complaint against Optoma USA Head Quarters! I have stated to them in email hat this PROJECTOR will not stay on the Lamp HAS Gone out the Projector didn't have a new smell and the HDMI keeps scanning it will find it once in a while after several repeats. The projector NONE of the VGA ports works except one that the projector might find also once in a while after several attempts! The Internet Ethernet port on Projector will not work either I have tried and retried to contact Optoma I paid : $608.77 dollars and cents and that is a lot of MONEY I don't have to throw away like that or let someone take it for merchandise that don't work! I explained to Optoma in an email ... I have a Granddaughter whom has down syndrome she is 9 years old and will nto pay attention to my 52 inch RCA TV she loves the projector and she can't talk and my eyes are bad so That projector is needed very BAD here! I paid for it and I should get a NEW Projector and one that works the Lamp is gone out the whole projector don't work it is BAD !!!!! NOTHING works on it I have it boxed up ready to be sent back to them I want a BRAND NEW PROJECTOR ! This PROJECTOR is NO GOOD, I want a NEW ONE that is WHAT I PAID for Brand NEW !!! this Projector was and is not new !!!! ******@outlook.com *********@gmail.com ****** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX *** ****** Road *** ******** ******* XXXXX ****** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX *** ****** Road *** ******** ******* XXXXX Ok once more I am trying to contact OPTOMA. OPTOMA DLP projector TX631 - 3D 3D Compatible(XXX-XXXX) ORDERED from www.TigerDirect.com ORDER # JXXXXXXX Order Shipped : 04/08/2015 Price I paid for the Projector was : $608.77 I have emailed Optoma more than once or Twice hey gave me a case number # XXXXXXXX they said they would reply to my email within two days excluding the weekends! They never replied I never heard from them I have been trying to contact them through phone since ... Sunday 05/31/2015 UNSUCCESSFULLY ! They will not answer the phone and they only replied to the first email! On Sunday May 31 eight days ago or so you said one of your REPS. would contact me in TWO days and the email NEVER Came I have Called several times and could not successfully get through! I am done with contacting you through telephone and email now I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint through ONLINE avenue! AND I will seek other Alternatives! Sincerely Yours, ****** ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Unspecified

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/19) */ Hello, We contacted the customer and arranged to swap the projector. Thank you.

10/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product claims of 20,000 hours of operation. Product failed after 1778 of use. Customer support contacted and stated they do not back the 20,000 claim Product is a optoma ML500 projector with a advertised 20,000 hour bulb life. Product was purchased online in April 2013. On September 30 the bulb has failed after only 1778 hours of use. Customer support was contacted and I communicated with a *** ** The optoma representative stated that they do not bck up this claim and will fix the projector if I pay them. Item has only worked for 9% of its advertised time.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a working optoma ML500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Hello, Please provide contact information so we can contact the customer to setup a repair. Thank you.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a product May 11 for $70.54 that was not delivered. Optoma refunded $52.58 not full amount. Remote control item BR-3059N for projector. They were supposed to deliver it in 2 business days and I never received the item.

Desired Settlement: I want Optoma to refund the $17.86 they shorted me for not delivering a product I paid for in good faith.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ Hello, We will issue the refund for $17.86 as requested. Thank you.

6/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: new product does not work This product was purchased brand new as a gift and was not opened immediately. Upon opening, it was found to not work as advertised. It is supposed to play 4 video file types, but it is only partially working for one of those types. It is also advertised to have greater purpose than is capable.

Desired Settlement: A replacement that works. Does not have to be exact model.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/06/09) */ complaint is resolved, thank you!

4/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The unit purchased requires repairs that should not be normal wear and tear for a 2 year old unit. On October 29th 2011 I purchased the Optoma GT750E from J&R Electronics for $769. In the month of December 2013 the unit stopped powering on. I called Optoma to see how I could get the unit repaired. I was given the information on where to send the unit to, and because it was outside of the 1 year warranty period, I would need to pay $135 to have the unit diagnosed and fixed. I mailed the unit to the address given on 3/1/2014. On 3/10/2014 I received an email for a repair estimate totaling $513. Not only does the estimate include repairing the power supply, but it also has a repair to replace the main board of the projector stating there is not HDMI signal. This was a problem I never had with the projector. I called on 3/10/2014 and explained to the representative that the only problem I had was that the unit would not power on. I never had an issue of not receiving an HDMI signal. I also explained to her that when I made the initial call about the projector, I was told that the unit would be repaired for $135. She stated she would speak with the technician and call me back. I waited until 3/14/2014 to call back as I hadn't received any correspondence. I called and spoke with another representative and went over the story again. She was very rude, stating there was nothing she could do but have a technician/manager call me and disconnected the call mid-sentence before I could give her my contact info. As of this complaint, I have yet to hear from a technician nor manager.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a full replacement of the unit for a brand new, unopened unit. The initial unit has been hung from the ceiling since purchase, projecting to a 135" screen. There was never any misuse of the unit. The type of repairs requested for this unit are not things that should happen after 2 years, which leads me to believe this unit is defective. In addition, the customer service received has been terrible to say the least. Home projectors are an investment that someone purchases to add to their home entertainment experience. I really do reliable products and superb customer service from a company that claims to be the leader in projection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/24) */ Hello, We spoke with the customer and offered a discount on the repair price, which he agreed to. If you have any questions, please let us know. Thank you very much.

2/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased Optoma HD65 projector on 10/13/09; on 7/2/12 paid $275 for repairs; Dec 2013 same problems reoccurred along with new ones, costing 493.05, I purchased Optoma HD65 on 10/13/2009 for $669 from J&R Music and Computer World via Amazon.com, paying with a Visa card. On 7/2/12 the ASSY main board module was replaced (RMA #OPT-XX-XXXXXXX, Serial No: ******************* costing $275.12. I experienced the same problem which occurred in 2012 in December 2013. I sent the unit back in for repair. On 1/2/14 I received an estimate for repairs (RMA#:OPT-XX-XXXXXXX), the following required replacement: ASSY main board module, SUNON6020 FAN WITH UL3265 LEAD WIRE, SUNON 45x20 BLOWER WITH RUBBER, LAMP MODULE FOR PROJECTOR HD65, totaling $493.05. I feel this unit is defective and that these problems are due to faulty parts. While it is out of warranty, I do not feel that a four year old projector should require all these repairs which total more than the initial projector's cost. I have spoken with Technical Service Corporation, Catina Watson (service rep), about waiving these charges which they refuse to do.

Desired Settlement: I suspect that the HD65 unit I purchased is defective, which constantly requires repairs. The cost of the repairs from 2012 in addition to the cost of current repairs equals more than the unit costs new. When I purchased this projector, I also purchased a back up bulb thinking the projector would last long enough to need it; unfortunately this is not the case. Optoma HD65 units have a good reputation for being quality equipment, but this particular unit does not follow suit. I paid a lot of money for this unit and I expected it to last more than four years. It no longer makes sense for me to continue paying for repairs, therefore I feel Optoma should offer me a new unit to replace this one, either entirely free or at a significant discount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Hello, We spoke with the customer and offered to swap the projector as he requested. Please let us know if you have any questions. Thank you very much.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Optoma Technology, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)