BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mister Sparky meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mister Sparky include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Mister Sparky
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2004 Business started: 07/01/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2002 Business incorporated 05/29/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 838775.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Paul Parker, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Parker, General Manager
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Electricians Fuses - Electric Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Electric Companies Electrical Power Systems Maintenance Electrical Power Systems (Residential & Commercial) - Backup Systems Electric Switchboards Wire & Cable - Electric Electricians – Residential

Hours of Operation
24 Hours
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year parts and labor on small repairs.
For panel and wiring upgrades we carry 3, 7, and 10 year options including service and maintenance plans.
Service Area
This business service area covers: The San Francisco Bay Area.
Products & Services

We are residential repair, service and upgrade specialists. We replace panels, wiring, and have energy saving devices for homes.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mister Sparky has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1077 Shary Circle

    Concord, CA 94518 (925) 757-4025 (925) 240-9347

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 E San Carlos Street

    San Jose, CA 95112

  • 2100 Central Avenue

    Alameda, CA 94501 (650) 480-5064 (408) 827-3325 (510) 749-9113 (888) 877-2759

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to charge for replacement of entire electrical panel when problem was limited to one faulty circuit breaker. David, a technician that works for this company came to our house on a same day call because our dishwasher and adjacent outlet were not working, and no breaker had been tripped. After looking at our electrical panel, he informed my wife that he would need to replace the entire electrical panel, at a cost of $8,440.75, which would require financing. So since we were incredibly flabbergasted at this price, not to mention the fact that all the other electric in the house was fine, we opted to contact another electrician. The new electrician, ***** ******* (XXX-XXX-XXXX), took one look and identified a bad breaker in our electrical panel. He replaced the faulty breaker, and rerouted a few other leads so that the phase was set up correctly. All this plus troubleshooting a faulty light switch at a cost of $200. Needless to say, Mister Sparky are obviously not concerned about recommending their customers spend an astronomical amount for a very small issue. They are scum and should be avoided at all costs!

Desired Settlement: I want the $39 service call fee refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/07) */ Ms ****** had called us yesterday am (10/6/15) concerned that her dishwasher and AC were not working and her "panel was buzzing" ***** went out to their home within 45 minutes of their call, usually when a panel is "buzzing" it is a hazard, and could mean several different dangerous issues. ***** found that the buss bar was burnt and sparking, he showed Ms. ****** that this was occuring she saw the sparking in the panel. In his knowledge this 99% of the time requires a replacement of the panel for safety sake. It sound s like this electrician *****, just did a temporary fix which we could of done, but it will not fix the bigger problem, which is a dangerous condition, this sparking could cause serious damage to electrical system and puts the system and the home at risk. We do not just band-aid a damaged panel, that was burnt and sparking , not only because we care about our customers, we care about our company and the liability this leaves us exposed to. The $39.00 dispatch was made aware before we went out and we treated this as an Emergency and responded instantly. I feel that Mr. ****** is being very inappropriate based on this situation , we were looking out for the total health and welfare of his home and family, and feel that he is being very unfair. ***** could of went out and did what ***** did but we will not put our name on a band-aid. And I stand by his recommendation and his assessment of the customers needs 100% Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The incompetence of this electrician is impressive. The only damage was a single breaker that was identifiable by sight. Once that was replaced, *****, the competent electrician, worked to identity the root cause of the buzzing and eliminated it. Mister ****** would obviously rather extract maximum profit from the urgent request we had for service. They are despicable. Give contractors a bad name.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Mister Sparky
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart