BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

IXL Learning

Phone: (650) 372-4040

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I signed up for the service for one month and IXL continued to charge my credit card monthly. I did not use the service after the month.
It was not clear that I was signing up to pay for more than a month. If it had been made clear, I would not have signed up. I signed up in February 2013 and have been billed monthly until I noticed it on my Visa today. I have not used the service since February.

Business' Initial Response
July 16, 2013

Better Business Bureau, Inc
***********************
*****************

Re: Case #************************

Dear Dispute Resolution Department,

I have received your letter in regards to ***************** complaint stating that IXL continued to charge her credit card on a monthly basis even though she did not use the service after one month of membership.

In response to her complaint, I have included in this letter, the customer's subscription records, IXL's membership order page (found here: **********************************************), IXL's Contact Us page where the customer can call us to cancel her membership (found here: *************************), and IXL's Terms of Service page (found here: ********************************) where it provides the customer with information on billing, membership, and cancellation, and the customer's usage log.

The customer subscribed to our monthly service by signing up through our website at ********************************************** on February 25, 2013. When the customer presses ''Renew'', IXL will charge her credit card for the cost of the membership. By pressing Renew, the customer also acknowledges that she has read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Under #4a, 4b, and 4d of the Terms of Service, it states the customer's membership is ongoing and IXL will continue to charge her credit card until she calls us to cancel the membership or cancel the membership on her account. Based on her usage log, she did not use our service after March 25, 2013. Therefore, IXL can refund $9.95 for March 25, 2013 through June 25, 2013.

We have refunded the customer on July 16, 2013 for March, April, May, and June as shown on the Customer Internal Record. Please kindly close Case #************************.

Should you have any questions or need more information for this transaction, please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

**********
********************
*******************
****************
********************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

E-Learning

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.