This business is not BBB accredited.

American Draperies & Blinds, Inc.

Phone: (800) 232-9600 Fax: (510) 489-4717 View Additional Phone Numbers 30776 Huntwood Avenue, Hayward, CA 94544 http://www.americandrapery.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers window coverings.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for American Draperies & Blinds, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for American Draperies & Blinds, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on American Draperies & Blinds, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 02/04/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Bridgette Bodine, VP Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bridgette Bodine, VP Operations
Number of Employees

47

Business Category

Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Draperies & Blinds, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30776 Huntwood Avenue

    Hayward, CA 94544

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 2 blinds 8/31. On 10/21 received 1 correct blind and 1 the wrong size. Calls not returned. 12/14/15 Still don't have correct blinds. On 8/31/15 I ordered 2 blinds, and was charged $366.87 on my Citicard. They said the blinds would be here by 10/12. They arrived 10 days later on 10/21. One of the blinds was not the right size. We called 11/9 and talked to******* who said she had to talk to the manager and will call back. She never called back. We have NEVER gotten a call back from this company. 11/11 we called and they said they would express mail the replacement blinds to arrive on 11/27. On 12/3, no blinds had arrived. Talked to ******* who said she would call us back. As of today, 12/14/15, we have one blind installed, one that is the wrong size and the correct size has not arrived despite repeated calls. Meanwhile, they have my $366.87 that I paid on 8/31/15, almost 3 1/2 months ago.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to send the replacement blinds in the correct size to my door before 2016, and pick up the blinds that are the incorrect size at no charge to me. If they cannot fulfill that request, I want immediate credit to my account for the product that I never received.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/12/22) */ Monday December 21st, 2015 the blinds were delivered to the front porch by American Draperies and Blinds. They were the correct size. We feel that our demands have been satisfied. Thank you.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issues almost from beginning to now with this company. Initial ordering process went okay, but from then on it got worse. Initial Order Date was February 17th, 2015. Order number was XXXXXXX. We used my husband's credit card and were charged $250.20. We received the product March 18th, 2015. We contacted the company that same day because the curtains did not fit our windows at all. My husband measured the windows while on the phone with ***** ***** (****), came up with the same measurements, but was told he needed more material then they originally sent and that he'd have to place the order online because they don't do phone orders, but he'd only be charged shipping and handling. However over two months later on May 23rd (I believe) we received the second order (#XXXXXXX) and were charged an additional $273.43 and the curtains still didn't fit and we had odd amounts and sizes of panels that we were supposed to piece together and hang. My husband boxed up the curtains and contacted the company immediately. On June 17th I emailed **** after getting no response since May 23rd. **** emailed back on June 18th asking for order numbers. I emailed them to her that day and that evening she called saying I had not responded and that she wanted to get this taken care of. I told her to check her email, where she found the info waiting for her. She said she didn't understand why my husband placed a second order using his credit card. I said he had placed the order within minutes of speaking to her and if he had done it wrong, why didn't she let him know? First she said that she has hundreds of customers per day and there's no way she can remember each one and then she said that he didn't do it wrong, that you can't place orders on the website without putting in a credit card and the website is the only place you can place orders. Then she asked what I wanted done. I said at this point I wanted to return the curtains because I didn't want to hang a multitude of different sized panels on my windows, I wanted a refund and I'd be willing to get a price on the correct amount of right sized curtains. She said we should have only received three extra panels. I said we received more than that, but if we were supposed to be receiving only three more panels and even if we were supposed to pay the full amount, not just s&h like my husband was told, then why were we charged more than the original order? She didn't answer, she just said she'd have to talk to her supervisor who unfortunately was on vacation for the next week or so. Eleven days later on June 29th, I emailed her asking if the supervisor was back and if they had had a chance to talk. On June 30th she sent me an email saying she would forward "this" to "her". I'm assuming she meant she'd forward my email to the supervisor. On July 9th after no response I emailed **** again, asking for her supervisor's info, explaining that I hadn't heard from her and wanted to give the company every chance to handle this before I went in a different direction. Thirty-eight minutes later I received an email from **** in all caps saying: THEY SAID WE CAN REPAIR THEM FOR YOU. That was it, no info on how they were willing to get that done, who "they" were or what they even meant by "repair"...were they just planning on sewing all the panels together??...so I emailed her back that afternoon saying we no longer wanted anything other than our money back. I once again asked for her supervisor's info or for her supervisor to contact me so we could get this handled. Today is July 15th and neither my husband or I have heard from anyone in that company in the last six days.

Desired Settlement: This process started two days short of five months ago and at this point, we'd like to return the curtains at no cost to us for a full refund.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor their advertised discount and option to avoid shipping charges. This company also does business as Factory Direct Drapes. I had done business here in the past, so recently ordered a set of drapes for my bedroom. The order page showed a 20% discount applicable to draperies and sheers, but when I put in the code, it apparently was not applied because the confirmation showed the full price, no discount. Also, they said in writing that if a customer wanted to pick up the drapes rather than pay $151 to have them UPS'd that they should request it. There was no place to check on the form for this so I added it in the comments section. That also was not noted on the Order confirmation. The shipping charge was there. I tried to deal with them on the phone, but the woman who answers the phone has no power. Bottom line, she called eventually to say her supervisor approved the pickup (!) but had no answer on the discount, as her kids had been sick and she did not have time to deal with it. I said I understood and would wait. I sent an email saying I was afraid to pick up the drapes until the discount issue was resolved, and never heard back. I then got a form message confirming that the drapes had been shipped! We are talking a difference of almost $300 here. This was botched from the start, and I will never deal with them again.

Desired Settlement: Refund the 20% discount and the shipping charges of $151.00.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned drapes American Draperies made. They promised a full refund upon receipt. I confirmed they received them and several months later no refund I ordered drapes for my daughter\'s school, Friends Western School. We returned them as agreed, but American Draperies has not issued a refund and it has been 4 months. Below is part of an email thread that details the problems with the order, the request for the refund, and the confirmation that a refund will be issued. This all took place in the Fall of 2013. We have yet to receive a refund and American Draperies has stopped responding to my emails. I placed the order with **** at American Draperies. Since then, I have emailed extensively with **** and *********. Their emails are *************@hotmail.com and **@americandrapery.com. I sent the drapes back, with insurance and a tracking number. Below are the emails with the pertinent information. from: ***** ********:"Hi ***** We had a school break and finally had a chance to hang the drapes. They will not work. They had finger prints on them by the time they were hung and have labels stating dry clean only. The school would like to return them. We do not want to replace them, so please refund the credit card. Below I have written a summary of our interactions which outline why we need to return these rather than replace them. First I was told the drapes we originally ordered were fire retardant. I even called to verify as they did not appear to state that on the website. You assured me they were on the phone and via email and sent a certificate stating they were fire retardant. Then a couple of weeks later, I received an email saying that the drapes were actually not fire retardant and we would have to order different ones. None of our choices were available and you suggested the crash linen white. I checked with our teacher whose room they were to hang in and she said no. You sent me an email in return stating that we would have to change it immediately as they were about to be made. By the time I received the email, I had also received an email from American Draperies stating that the curtains had been shipped. The shipped email arrived only one hour after your email arrived stating that we could still change them. Your email also stated that we could wash these drapes and that the colors were so similar we would not be able to tell the difference. I have posted that email you sent to me here: "I cant promise three weeks we have a huge volume to place. I will have to stop production on the tables if you don\'t want this. Please let me know the white is very blighting and nice. The colors are so close it wouldn\'t matter how close the dirt would show up the same. You can always wash delicate insole and hang to dry ." You wrote the above email at 12 pm and then I received the shipped notification at 1 pm. I do not believe the other colors would show dirt the same as the incredibly bright white. As well, I was told they could be washed, but each drape has a large label stating they are dry clean only. At this point, I would like assurance that we will receive a full refund as soon as possible. As soon as I receive a written affirmative, I will mail the drapes to the address on the shipping label. As you stated in your previous email, we will have to pay the shipping cost to to return them, and we will do this. I look forward to hearing from you in a timely fashion. ***** ******** FWS Site Committee Original Message From: ******* ******* <*************@hotmail.com> Sent: 11/5/XXXX X:XX PM To: "***** ********" <*********@gmail.com> Subject: RE: Fire retardant drapesXXXXXX "***** please send back drapes as you received them for these are a much more expensive fabric then your original order . when we get these back we will let you know so you can give us your credit card to credit. please make sure that these drapes are put neatly in a box. also put a copy of invoice in box and put attention *********/**** \'on the box" Order # XXXXXX, Total: $391.88, Return tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX via USPS.

Desired Settlement: We would like the amount owed to us, $391.88. Below is the email we received from ********* the supervisor, approving the refund. American Draperies and Blinds, Inc. **@americandrapery.com 11/5/13 to me Your order has been shipped. Tracking information: Customer to return drapes in good condition for a refund - Note: execption to return policy approved I have many emails following up with our refund, yet still we have not received it. I am happy to supply these emails if needed; I ran out of room in the description portion. I returned the drapes in unused, new condition, provided the tracking number, received confirmation they were received by American Draperies and Blinds, all in November 2013. Our refund has not been issued. I have supplied both **** and ********* with our mailing address and information for the refund. The check is to made to Friends Western School. The mailing address is Friends Western School, Attn: ***** ********, *** E ****** ***** ****** Pasadena, CA XXXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on American Draperies & Blinds, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart