BBB Accredited Business since

Brilliant Earth, Inc.

Phone: (800) 691-0952 26 Ofarrell St Fl 10, San Francisco, CA 94108

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers online retailer of diamonds.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brilliant Earth, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

16 Customer Reviews on Brilliant Earth, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 15
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 16

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2005 Business started locally: 07/01/2005 Business incorporated 12/12/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Beth Gerstein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Gerstein, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brilliant Earth, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 26 Ofarrell St Fl 10

    San Francisco, CA 94108 (800) 691-0952


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company offers resizing of the ring for a 'fee', but their fee is not disclosed as being the entire purchase price of the ring. I'm writing to inform you of the deceptive sales practices of one of your member businesses. On May 23, 2015, my wife and I ordered a custom platinum wedding band from Brilliant Earth, Inc. located in *************, **. We understood at the time we were ordering the ring that we were paying a $500 upcharge for a custom mold that was a millimeter wider than their standard style ring and that according to the company policy (below - emphasis added), there would be a fee for resizing. ///Thank you for choosing Brilliant Earth and supporting ethical origin fine jewelry! We take pride that our jewelry is produced with the highest standards of quality and excellence. However, if for any reason you are not completely satisfied, you can return or exchange any order in its original condition with the following exceptions: custom or modified items; items that have been altered, engraved, resized, repaired or received after an exchange. Items must be returned in original and unworn condition within 30 days from the date of shipment and require a return authorization number. Orders received after this date will not be accepted for a refund, exchange, resize or repair. Within 30 days of shipment within the US we also offer one free resizing for standard style rings. Please note that custom, modified, and engraved rings are subject to resize fees and do not qualify for our complimentary resizing. Please contact XXX-XXX-XXXX with any questions or a return authorization number./// Upon receipt of the ring it was determined that we needed a larger size and we began the process of having the ring resized. We were anticipating the expense of a new mold ($500) and maybe a nominal labor charge (even that was questionable since the ring would have qualified for a complimentary resizing if we had just left it the original width). Much to our surprise and disappointment, the 'resizing fee' was equal to the purchase price of another ring less 'a few hundred dollars' for the materials from the existing ring. We attempted to work this out with the company (correspondence attached), but they were unyielding in their stance. While they claim that they don't build resizing into their pricing model, this assertion defies logic as the customization we made was to have the ring be wider, which did not affect the complexity of mounting the diamonds. Were it not for the additional millimeter in width, this ring would have been resized for free and that would have been included in their economics. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Department of Consumer Affairs

Desired Settlement: While I would very much like to have the ring resized for a reasonable fee, I have no expectation that you will be successful in securing that outcome for me. I simply wanted to go on the record so future customers could be aware of the questionable policies and poor customer service they could expect should they have any problems with an order from Brilliant Earth.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2015/07/24) */ The company contacted me after submitting the complaint and ultimately resolved the matter to my satisfaction. Thank you for your help! ***

5/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opted out of ad service but I am still receiving ad bar I when I log into my email. I enabled cookies but company would not remove ad bar On April 26,2015 I used the opt out option in the ad bar of my email inbox but I am still receiving their ads. I should not have to go through a process of opting out when I did not opt in -in the first place. Please have your ad removed form my inbox

Desired Settlement: I want the ad removed from my inbox bar

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ 5-5-15 Sent via email: Hi ******, I received a letter today in reference to Case # XXXXXXXX. The complaint is about our online ads. Even though the customer unsubscribed from our contact list, if he does not delete his browser cookies, our online ads will continue to appear on his browser (as is always the case). In addition, if he ever visits our site again, the ads will reappear because he will be cookied again. I would be happy to instruct him on this myself but I do not believe we have his contact information. Let me know what I can do to resolve this. Thanks, ****** *********** Director of Customer Operations

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

16 Customer Reviews on Brilliant Earth, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart