BBB Accredited Business since

Kelleher International

Find a Location

Phone: (415) 332-4111 Fax: (415) 332-4140 View Additional Phone Numbers 268 Bush Street  Ste. 2930, San Francisco, CA 94104 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers introduction/marriage consulting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kelleher International meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kelleher International
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 03/23/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Galloway, Chief Operating Officer Ms. Jill Ann Kelleher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Galloway, Chief Operating Officer
Number of Employees


Business Category

Dating Service

Alternate Business Names
Kelleher & Associates

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service provided was inferior and not according to the contract signed. 1. Virtual people were deemed as "presented matches" (3 in total). 2. Three of the dates where not according to my requests: i.Appearance (one of them was overweight - in fact, my matchmaker agreed that she knew it will not work although she later called a match that the company presented to me & the second one was short in height); 2. Age (one match was older that my requested age); 3. 3. 3.

Desired Settlement: 1. They dubbed "matches who were presented" by the company virtual people who I never met (3 in total). I was called about these three persons, I agreed to meet them but shortly after, I was told that they changed plans (informed via email). First, they may have not existed and thus virtual (I wasn't told I will be matched with virtual people)! Second, if the matchmaker would have made an accurate assessment (i.e. matchmaking), these situations would not have happened, or at least not at such a high rate. Third, I was informed about the situation via email; they didn't bother to call me to share their assessment as a respectful matchmaking company would have done. 2. They did not provide matches according to my request: i. Appearance; 2. Availability; and 3. Age. One of the person who was introduced was overweight. My matchmaker agreed that she knew it will not work although later she called him a "match" who was presented. Another match was very short in height, not accurate from the description I was provided; he also was older than my age limit stated in the contract. A third one was not available to start a relationship; he was fishing for dates but not for more, and thus a date not a match. 3. They misled me in what to expect from participating members. I was not correctly informed that I will have to travel for all matches and I will have to pay all expenses incurred in the process.I was told about their large database and their current success rate of 85 percentage. I was told about their clients but I was not told about how it works with the participating members. I was not told that their participating members are not interviewed in person, and I was not told that the PMs have no commitment in the process other than agreeing for dating the clients of the company. I was not told that they offer dating services, with some screening but not matchmaking. 4. Although I tried to work with them around these constraints, they have not responded with potential matches for my travels. For my last trip in NYC and Washington DC, my matchmaker could not put things together although I gave her a few weeks advanced notice about the trip. She said she couldn't find "dates" for me. I didn't pay for dating services but for matchmaking services. 5. I tried to exit the contract before we started going this route and they insisted that things will move in the right direction. It has been more than five months but they have introduced only one person that could qualify within what it would be called a match although they counted 8 that included virtual people and those who were not accurately screened according to my initial (rather basic) requests. 6. I was continuously told that they have been working behind the scene, with these potential clients in GA or this potential PM in SF, or this or that. Now either they didn't know how to present my case to these "really great potential matches" or they just didn't really have much and just had to keep telling me that they are working so I feel that I am so awful that no one would like to meet me!!!! I will note in this email that I have all the electronic conversations with members of the company and they are proof of most of complains above. Please let me know whether this material will be deemed useful in the process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/03) */ Good Afternoon Thank you for opportunity to respond to this complaint. I have attached copies of recent emails (Exhibit One) where we have tried to appease our client directly without success. Our Clients contract which is attached was signed on September 7 2013 and very clearly states the expectations, terms and that the contract is nonrefundable. We are fulfilling our contract obligations and continue to do so. Our client has changed her parameters and her very unique likes which challenges a successful search. I will email further supported BBB confidential documentation, including the 5 matches she accepted to date. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, the contract I signed was absolutely a big mistake and I agree that it states that the fee is non-refundable. But I am asking to exit a contract that Kellher did not respect for the reasons I stated. Here some additional facts. Kelleher delivered hardly a month and a half of service within about 6 months although the fee I paid was for one year. Here some dates and facts: Month 1: September - I hardly heard from the team during this first month. See email in September 4th when I was promised that there will be searches for my trip to DC. This never happened although I did sign the contract on September 7th and the trip was September 19-20th. This was simply one of the many promised that company never pursued with. Thus no service for this month. Month 2: October - There was one very quick communication over phone that lead me believe that there was not much going on their side in terms of getting started on delivering the service. I had to send an email to inquire about the progress See email #2. The response was a very quick email #3 but not more. That made me ask to exit the contract. The team promised things will move in the right direction admitting that they did not do so up to that point and as a consequence they changed the matchmaker. Please see email #4 when I requested to exit the contract. The details in the emails #2 & #4 point out to the inappropriateness of the service provided by the company. We did finally came to some plan the last week of the month. Thus service for only one week. Month 3: November - they sent me out with someone who was older than the stated age in the contract and thus not valid. Thus no service. Month 4: December there was more communication during this time, and although they did not provide the expected service (please see my other submitted complaint) at least I did have something going on. Month 5: There was a promise that they will do something for my case but that was left only to the promise. Nothing really happened. Thus no service. Month 6: I submitted a complaint through BBB. Although I am still their client, the only thing I heard from them is an email stating that it is unfortunate that we have to go through BBB to resolve my concerns. Thus no service. If they indeed would like to go by the contract, one person I met through Kelleher was older than my stated age in the contract. Thus out of 5 people they sent me out, there are only 4 left. Out of these four, one was overweight which the matchmaker admitted was a mistake on her part and that she knew it would not work but didn't want to cancel. If she is not admitting to this, how will she continue working with me when we both know she is lying? It was during our discussion when I visited the office in San Francisco; we were not the only ones in the room. If she wants to get a way with this, shame of her. Given this, there are only 3 people they sent me out in almost six months. According to my match maker, 8 matches is just about right in 5 months (see email #5). But there were actually 3 not 8. Thus we are far from being just right. Please see attached email with highlights. Here it is where we are: The company never made an effort to know about my world, about who I am. No one from the company have asked about the things I wrote about, books and articles, and other things. They in fact misrepresented me, one person I met through Kelleher was completely puzzled about my job because he got really a very different description. If the Kelleher representative does not admit she misinformed about how their service works, how will she talk to me ever? If my matchmaker will not admit that she sent me out with people that she knew will not work, how will she still do matchmaking? If you are not true to yourself in our relationship, how do you want to continue working with me? How could you ever look into my eyes? Is the company in such a bad business situation that you have to lie and ask me to continue like you didn't? It is beyond money now. It is about you as people. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/19) */ We have place her membership on a courtesy hold and ceased direct communication pending the completion of your review We will now respectfully attach edited docs further demonstrating our efforts Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is quite revealing that the KI response to my submitted complains has started with bringing the blame for their lack of attention to my case on my looks and attitude. The response is quite inappropriate, breaching confidentiality of the participant members and mine. The response is also inaccurate (e.g. the statement "she has tattoos on her arms" can readily be proven inaccurate). Many of the comments are unnecessary and are not factual based. I hope BBB will assess this inappropriateness and their lack of professionalism as a sign for disrespecting the pursuit of better business. In this second rebuttal, I will respond to only the pertinent comments. I. I am a foster parent, which means that I am caring for children until things get clarified with their family and situation. If needed in the process, I will be open to adoption. I didn't ask anyone to lie. My matchmaker simply asked me whether she should leave it to me to share this with the persons I will meet. We both agreed that it will be better coming from me because foster care is not something most people are familiar with. If not explained clearly, it can come out differently than intended. II. The matchmaker's and KI's statement on the pace of introductions in this response is contradictory to the statement the matchmaker made in a email on February 7th: 1. In the email on February 7th she said that she presented eight introductions where in her response now she said there are only 5. 2. In her statement on February 7th she said that "you are right on track with being presented 8 matches" where now she states that the pace is 4-6 weeks. 3. In her response, she does mention that one of the 5 introductions was a gentleman of age 50, which is out of my age range (XX-XX) as stated in the contract, which she attached as a supporting document. Thus, the number of valid introductions will go down to 4. 4. I do not have the proof, but during the San Francisco meeting, she stated that the gentleman I met the night before was someone that herself realized that will not work but she didn't want to cancel it in the last minute. This discussion was in front of the KI representative and thus she has to understand that if this case will go to court, they will have to take the oath. Given this additional mismatched introduction, we are down to 3 valid introductions. III. It is incorrect in that I didn't agree to travel. My last attempt to travel was the last week of January in Washington, DC and NYC (without success on KI's end to identify matches) whereas my BBB complaint was sent February 7th. What I instead highlighted in my correspondence with the KI team and my BBB complaint is that important information about participant members and travel was hindered before I signed the contract. Moreover, I was told that there will be travel both ways, not only coming from me. After the first few months working with KI, I realized that this will not be the case. I will note that it is my first experience with matchmaking and thus it is not always clear how it works. I signed the contract in good faith that I can trust this matchmaking company and that they are respectful enough that if things would get to a halt, they would take the appropriate actions promoted by better business. IV. One of my previous complaints not addressed in the KI response to this BBB complaint is that their PM system is not working or at least my matchmaker didn't make it work for my case. Here there is some reasoning on this aspect. Two of the gentlemen I met (introductions #1 and #2) have shown interest in seeing me again (one actually being a bit too persistent) while their assessment sent to KI does not reflect that. I have saved all the MMS conversation with the two gentlemen and I can share if this case will move further in the process. To provide a bit more details from these saved messages, right after I left the meeting place with #1, he sent the following message: "Had a great time - now sleep! Ill ping you tomorrow. Xo". Before I left NYC, another message from #1 said: "Keep me updated! If you venture back to NYC - we should try to meet again." This is quite different from the KI assessment "Found that he really did not have that much in common with her." As for #2, he has been quite persistent to meet me again. I have plenty of evidence on his persistence, repeated calls and MMS's. This is again not aligned with his statement: "He felt uncomfortable with her and was not a fit for him." My point to this is that PMs (or at least those that I met) are not honest to the system, they are not assessed thoroughly and they are in for dating rather than matchmaking. V. The fact that the matchmaker made some efforts to reach out to potential gentlemen to meet me doesn't prove much. It is the right people that they need to reach out (called matches) and it is the presentation that they need to provide based on thorough assessment in terms of what I bring to the table in a relationship. It is very clear from their introduction to their response to this BBB complaint that they have not done so. Supporting material can be provided including my education (I received a doctoral degree from one of the best universities in the world), achievements (I am leading a large research team, I am significantly contributing to the public health making at the state and national level, I wrote numerous research articles and a research book), I have well-rounded interests (I am a professional tango dancer), I am in a good shape and very fit (I exercise regularly), and not least important, I am a caring person (I am a foster parent). Here it is the puzzle in all this. I did agree to sign the contract which indeed states that I am agreeing that the fee is non-refundable. But this is because I trusted KI and its credentials, which they readily shared with me. However, throughout these exchange, it is clear that they breached the contract in many ways, they breached the trust, they and they breached the confidentiality and privacy of its clients and PMs. It is also clear that they developed a quite negative attitude towards me after the meeting in San Francisco. While all these are being said, they do not want to refund the fee but they intend to continue working with me. How will that relationship unfold under this quite strained situation? How will they call me for matches where I know that KI was not true and accurate to our relationship? How will I trust that they will want the best in my matchmaking? Do they simply want to take the very high fee I paid without doing anything for it just because I signed a contract in good faith and trust? Is this truly the pursuit of a better business? Notes to BBB: Please take note that in their first response to my complaint they did not address the submitted complaints. The KI only reply was that they tried to appease ms by providing an email as supporting material. The statement in this email is not hinting to an appeasing. It simply states: "It is regrettable that you have elected to take this action, as we now have no alternative but to respond thru their services." In the KI response to my rebuttal they only addressed the initial complaints but not my rebuttal.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kelleher International
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)