BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1969

SF Police Credit Union

Find a Location

(415) 564-3800View Additional Phone Numbers2550 Irving St, San FranciscoCA 94122-1515

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers financial services with membership open to: Law enforcement personnel, Firefighters, EMT's and civilian employees of an eligible department located in San Francisco, Marin, Sonoma, Napa, San Mateo, Contra Costa, Solano, Alameda, Santa Clara; and families of members.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1969

BBB has determined that SF Police Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SF Police Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SF Police Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
RE FRAUDULENT CAR LOAN BILLING & COLLECTION:My last car payment due (of a 5 year car loan) was February of 2014, which I paid in full that same month. Thereafter the SFPU should have mailed me the title of my car. Instead SFPCU found a creative ways to charge me for items without my knowledge, and, in my view, illegally and accepted an additional car payment I made for the month of March of 2014 ($392). Hence, I overpaid my car loan by at least 1 car payment.After having left two previous messages with ***** ******* (which is how she spelled her name)over the last couple of weeks, she finally returned my call today and left a voice mail. I returned the call at (XXX)XXX-XXXX and was surprised to learn that she charged me $568 for car insurance. She stated that I was without car insurance from 08/06/13 to 09/25/13. This is ridiculous. I called my insurance provider later this day, and learned that was NEVER the case (see attached Insurance document contradicting this claim). I once did receive a letter from SFPCU in the mail, asking me to fax them proof of insurance, which I did. I followed this up with a phone call and was told by a lady over the phone handling this case that everything was in order. But to make things worse, Ms. ***** ******* claims that I still have a $430 balance due, but she is unable to explain what the charges are. She states it is not for late fees or any other fees, but still can't explain what the charges are for. I requested her to mail me the billing statements, but she tells me that it would cost me $2 per statement. I have never received any billing statements from SFPCU. I understand now why SFPCU's employee, Ms. ******** was so slow to return my calls she was hoping me to make an April car payment.In summary, I have overpaid my loan by at least 1 car payment and was billed for $568 for insurance (though she says she's credited $250 back to my account), AND I still owe a balance of $430.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for all overpayments that I made beyond my 60 month car loan of $392. Plus whatever charges and fees that I was billed for, including the insurance billing of $318 ($568-$250)or any other such charges. Furthermore, I request all billing statements reflecting all billing activities.My car title.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Risk Mgmt
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@sfpcu.org
The Credit Union staff have reviewed this member's account history in full detail, and determined that the current balance owed is accurate. There are a considerable number of unpaid late fees, which increase the amount due to pay off the loan, as well as, a remaining amount of force placed insurance premium. The effect of which extended his "final" payment date. Member has not provided the credit union with any documentation that contradicts the information obtained directly from his own insurance company that he did not have coverage during the disputed period of 08/06/13 - 09/25/13, a full refund cannot be processed without that documentation.

Based on the findings above, the credit union will not be providing the resolution requested by the member. To obtain title to his vehicle the member must do one of the following: Contact the credit union for a payoff amount and pay the loan off in full, as requested. Or, provide documentation that the information received from his insurance company was in err and that he had coverage in place 8/6/13 - 9/25/13, if received and confirmed, the credit union will process a refund for the appropriate amount, however, there will still be a remaining balance consisting of principle, interest and late charges due.

As a courtesy the credit union has provided the member copies of all of his statements during the life of the loan free of charge. The statements and an analysis of his loan history have been mailed directly to the member on April 30, 2014.


Consumer Response
I spoke with Mr. ****** ****** of the SFPCU by phone on 05/05/2014 after receiving his April 30, 2014 letter requesting payment for $114.62. I paid the SFPCU this amount which cleared my bank account on 05/13/2014. I have still not received by car title.


Consumer Response
Please reopen the case until my car title has been received.


Consumer Response
Today, April 28, 2014, I faxed the San Francisco Police Credit Union 12 pages from the car insurance company, Ameriprise, aka IDS Property Casualty Insurance Company, demonstrating that I at no time was without car insurance. The policy was amended, but never lapsed. (I had attached a one-page document with this original complaint.)

Furthermore, I would like to add that my car loan with the San Francisco Police Credit Union (SFPC)was discharged on 08/23/2013 in the US Bankruptcy Court, case # XX-XXXXX, and the loan was never reaffirmed thereafter. Consequently, I have no contractual obligation with the SFPC. Nevertheless, I have paid my car loan in full and request the title and refund for the amount of money I have overpaid.


Business Response
The credit union believes this issue to be closed. We provided Mr. ******** with the documentation that he requested. We had received his insurance information and applied the appropriate refund. He has since paid off his vehicle in full, and are in the process of releasing his title. He should receive it within the next two weeks, if not sooner.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Banking Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
2300 Clayton Rd Ste 1350
Concord, CA94520-2141
(800) 755-1030
http://www.ncua.gov

BBB records show a license number of 60968 for this company, issued by National Credit Union Administration. Their web address is http://www.ncua.gov.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1958, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eddie Young (CFO)
Number of Employees

106

Business Category

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Real Estate Loans, Loans, Banking Services

Alternate Business Names
Sanfrancisco Police Credit Un

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SF Police Credit Union

2550 Irving St

San Francisco, CA 94122-1515

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2550 Irving St 

    San Francisco, CA 94122-1515

  • PO Box 22219 

    San Francisco, CA 94122-0219

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SF Police Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 222-1391
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.