This business is not BBB accredited.

Talk of the Town Savings, Inc.

Phone: (800) 867-6416   View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers packages of coupons savings for food, grocery and internet.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Talk of the Town Savings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 2012 Business started: 08/10/2012 Business started locally: 08/10/2012 Business incorporated 08/10/2012 in DE
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Leibowitz, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Coupon Services

Service Area
This business service area covers: National.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Talk of the Town Savings, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    San Ramon, CA 94583


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract and paid in full for advertising services in March 2015. Company has not produced materials or returned phone calls or e-mails. On March 30, 2015, I signed a contract with Talk of the Town through their sales representative Mackenzie ****** (cell #XXX-XXX-XXXX)for 1/2 page magazine advertisement and direct mailer. I paid $800.00 in full by check. The check was deposited by Talk of the Town. The magazine was to be placed in the Publix supermarket at *****************************, and the direct mailer was to go to all residences in the XXXXX ZIP code. I provided necessary logos, etc., for artwork and approved the ad copy. However, the magazine and mailer were never produced. My artwork contains a coupon that expired on July 31, 2015. I called Talk of the Town at their corporate office (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and Ms. ****** several times to determine the status of production and to see if the date on the coupon could be revised to accommodate a later production date. When Ms. ****** finally returned my call in June 2015, she stated that she was no longer associated with Talk of the Town but would e-mail the owner on my behalf. Still, I received no response from Talk of the Town. I have e-mailed Talk of the Town's corporate office and left several messages on their voicemail system, but have received no response whatsoever. The last message I left was on August 18, 2015.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like my money refunded in full. I have no confidence that the advertising materials will ever be produced, and I do not intend to rely any promises from them. I operate a small business, and $800.00 is a significant portion of our advertising budget.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** I am not sure what you mean when you state that the Magazine and mailer were not produced. Of course they were and distributed. You should have received them, however I would be happy to send more. I am concerned that you state you called and did not get a return call. This would be disturbing if true. You will receive my cell phone number with this response. Please use it to call me personally Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On September 8, 2015, I contacted **** ********* at the cell phone number that he provided and left a message. He repsonded by text on September 9, 2015 with the message that he would contact me by telephone that afternoon or the following day. He also requested my e-mail address,which the company already has (ad proofs were provided via my personal e-mail, and I also contacted Talk of the Town via my store's e-mail account). I provided my e-mail to him via text. To date, September 16, 2015, I have not received a telephone call or other response from Mr. ********* or anyone at Talk of the Twon. Mr. *********'s implication that I did not call Talk of the Town to resolve this issue previously is downright misleading. I can provide cell phone records that show how many times I attempted to reach Talk of the Town or its local sales representative, ********* ******. In fact, I always called after 9 a.m. Pacific time to increase my chances of actually reaching someone at Talk of the Town's California office. Mr. *********'s assurances that the magazine was produced are irrelavent. Even if the magazine was produced in California, it was never distributed to my customer base in Dunedin, Florida. The supermarket where the magazine was to be showcased has no knowledge of the magazine, and no one in any of the ZIP codes to which the mailer was to be sent has received the ad. Therefore, I do not accept Talk of the Town's response, and I request an immediate refund of my $800.00. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2015/10/09) */ The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ********* did not contact me a month ago as he promised. In fact, he made no attempt to call me. He sent me two text messages on September 9, 2015 promising to call within 24 hours, but he did not. There was no mention of a staffing issue, although that is not a valid or relevant excuse. His comment that he is "disappointed that we did not connect," is entirely the result of his failure to call and nothing else. No one from his company has EVER returned a call. As for Mr. *********'s claim that he is sorry that we are not happy with the results of our "campaign," there was no campaign. His company never produced and distributed the marketing materials in accordance with our contract. He is in breech of contract...plain and simple. I do not accept his response or offer to print brochures, cards, etc. I do no wish to do business with this irresponsible, dishonest, and unethical company. At this point, if he does not immediately refund the $800.00 which we paid for advertising that was not produced in accordance with our contract, we will sue for fraud. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/10/12) */ We absolutely produced the entire program. After years in business, tens of thousands of happy clients and thousands of programs, why would we randomly decide not to produce yours. You have received copies of everything and I offered to send more. I offered to send you anything you would like to see. Because happy clients are important to me I nicely offered to extend extra marketing at no charge. You received all you paid for and are demanding a refund well after the fact for a program that completed months ago. Now you add additional threats. It is clear you are trying to bully us into giving you something for free. I don't see how else I can help.

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were sold ad space for an ad scheduled to release in January with payment required up front. the ad did not release until April. I tried in February to cancel the ad with no response from the company and no effort to resolve. Then, a copy of the publication is delivered to me in April with our ad in it, edited to reflect different expiration dates than the ones I had provided.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $900 I spent on the ad returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Hello *****, I am disappointed you are not happy. You stated that you reached out and did not get a reply, however I do have record of all of your emails to the rep and customer service and there was a quick reply to each. Moreover I think it was you that I left a message for and we got to speak briefly. If I am correct You stated you would call me back and didn't. Regardless, You say that the ad was to come out in the beginning of January, however first off we don't offer an exact start date on that magazine since we must wait for approval from all advertisers. Sometimes that is quicker then others, however we do want to make absolute sure that we present all of our advertisers as they would choose to be promoted. For example you sent us a press ready ad in late January to use for your marketing. If you would like I can certainly send you the email you sent us asking us to use the new ad for you. If we started on that day the book would not be out in the time frame you stated. You are correct that you did ask to cancel the program on February 27th at 12:22 pm in an email to *********. ********* responded in an email at 2:15 the same day to let you know that she had called and your voice mail was full prior to as well as had left you a message 1 hour earlier that same day. You called ********* back on Saturday the 28 and sent an email saying you called. You then spoke with ********* and she let you know that we were already in print as we were and it was too late to cancel. You of course know that since the magazine came out shortly after. At this juncture we did publish the magazine with your ad, distributed it and delivered everything else we were supposed to, as you recognized. That being the case, I am not sure how you would justify asking for a refund. Please do call me at your convenience. I am happy to discuss with you. I believe you have my cell phone number. It should be included with this reply to you. Also feel free to call the corporate number. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that the ad was releasing in January (hence my new years resolution creative on the ad itself).I did send emails February 24th 27th and 28th when the ad had not released a FULL MONTH after the intended publication. There was absolutely no communication with ******** after that date saying it was too late to pull the ad and no justifiable reason why it would be in print at that point as the ad did not appear until early April with the expiration dates visibly altered without our consent. And I certainly have never received a call or spoken with the owner. I just tried to call the owner at the number listed above and got voicemail. The bottom line is they cashed my check and didn't produce an ad within a reasonable timeframe that was promised by their sales rep or at the very least offer a remedy or even discuss the anticipated delay. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/06) */ I had received a call and a message From Ms. ******* just before the weekend which I received and called her back. I thought we had a good conversation where ***** agreed that we absolutely fulfilled everything that we had agreed upon. I offered some extra advertising to Ms. *******. I guess this means that has been refused. I am sincerely surprised to see this additional follow up. All I can say at this juncture is that as Ms. ******* points out we did deliver everything we agreed upon. There is nothing to justify her opinion that it should have arrived sooner. I sincerely thought after our conversation this was all behind us. Since we did deliver everything exactly as set out in the only agreement between Ms. ******* and myself, I still see no justification for this client to be asking for a refund.

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed an agreement with company in later part 2014 & paid upfront. Was supposed to start Jan 1, 2015. Have heard nothing & services not delivered. As of March 5, 2015, company has still yet to release 'Talk of the Town Savings' book at Coral Landings Publix with our ad in it. Company has still yet to send out our flyer/ad to 1,000 homes. Local rep. has never stepped foot in our office after we paid our money. We demand a full refund of $900, since your company has not been in contact with us as to why our services are not being completed on time nor per our agreement. This company is a ****.

Desired Settlement: We demand a full refund of $900. If we do not receive this, we will press charges with the police department for fraud on a merchant:business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** I understand that the nature of this complaint is that the advertiser feels that the program is delivered late. I am not sure how they arrived at this statement since there is nothing in their agreement stating that. The statement that we were going to begin a campaign on 1-1 a day that everything is closed doesn't make sense and is unfounded. The fact is that when dealing with many small business owners as we do, it takes time to get all of the ads approved. In some cases that takes longer then others. It is both our goal and very important to us to deliver as quickly as possible since we start paying for distribution when we start working on a new campaign and renewals are vital to our survival. Our goal is to make sure we present every advertiser in exactly the way they want to be presented, and equally importantly in a way that brings customers though their door. We have very little control over how long it takes to reach that perfect ad with each advertiser. Sometimes it takes longer then others for sure. Moreover we have multiple renewal advertisers in the same campaign that this client is featured in. In fact a few that have advertised with us for years, so obviously we are achieving that goal. We have at this point already printed this campaign and delivered it to the distribution company. In addition I have reached out to this client several times offering to get on the phone and make sure we arrive at a happy resolution. They have refused every offer to connect. Even though I have shown proof that the magazine was complete, they continue to refuse to connect. Even though I stated I was only interested in a happy resolution. They refuse to connect. This has made it clear that their only interest is to attempt to bully me by using entities like the BBB. Since they refuse to talk and obviously I cannot remove them from the printed magazine, it seems they only want to advertise for free. We are absolutely delivering everything that we are contracted to do. If this client refuses to speak with me to discuss their issues, how they arrived at them or any resolution, I am not sure how to help further passed ***** everything as we agreed to do per our agreement. I have attached a copy of the beautiful magazine they are being promoted in as well as all other items for support. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As in error in my intial post: It is delivery to 10,000 homes not 1,000. I appreciate this gentleman's prompt response, however he leaves out many of the problems we have with his company. He has an employee who tells the customer an exact date the magazine will run, but hides behind a single sentence in the agreement that states nothing said orally is binding. This is clearly deceptive in my opinion, and it happened to numerous other business owners in this same publication who have voiced to me the same frustration. The agreement states nothing about any time frame and does not state that there isn't a time frame either. He has still yet to address this tactic. The agreement is on the back side of the signature page and ideally should be initialed by the business owner to indicate that they agree, but this is only my opinion. A second employee did return a call and left a voice mail that stated it was scheduled to be out in January and that she had a question about changes to our proof. However we approved the proof by replying to their email on November 17, 2014 and never requested changes. He also states that it takes time to receive acceptance of the proofs from the business owners, however his same agreement states that the business owner has 3 days to change any proof. It simply does not add up. As a business owner I understand he has a right to run his business as he sees fit, but I will never recommend or use his services again. He is simply pushing the envelope as I see it. He is quick to defend his practices and paint a pretty picture of his services, but doesn't admit anything in my dealings with him. He did not offer any resolution in any of our conversations, but said many times he would like to reach one. He also refused to negotiate in a manner that could be used to hold him accountable (email) for any resolution (remember his agreement states nothing orally is binding!). I feel that since I was told by his employee that the publication would be out from January to March and that it will actually be out in late March that a 50% refund would be reasonable. My target audience is going back home and the January to March timeframe was ideal and I was very clear with the employee about this fact. March to May is not ideal. I feel that a simple phone call with an expected date would have been reasonable if the January to March timeframe could not have been completed and I could have negotiated some type of refund. It's my opinion that the owner has no intent on resolving this matter, but I'll wait to see and repost here if he does.

11/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $150 for advertising that I never received. Check was cashed and service was not rendered. On December 12, 2012, I entered into an advertising agreement with Talk of the Town to do advertising for my business, ******** ***** I signed a contract for said advertising and handed over a check for $150.00 to a sales rep. who no longer works for the company. Advertising was to take place sometime in January. In February, 2013, I realized I never received any proof ad or advertising. I called the company and spoke with **** ********* I explained the situation and sent a follow-up letter requesting a refund for $150.00 due to the fact that I never received the service. Again, I spoke with Mr. ******** yesterday, October 29, 2013 and he said he would check into the matter. It has now been over 10 months since my inital contact with Talk of the Town Savings and Mr. ******** and I still have no refund check and have never received service. As a side note the check was cashed.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund in the amount of $150.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/09) */ I spoke with this business owner and she told me she had no intention to place a report with the BBB and that this would not show up in any way on my report. Is there a way for me to confirm this in the case. Thank you very much for your attention to this matter. Best, ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Talk of the Town Savings, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart