BBB Accredited Business since

RDM Construction

Phone: (510) 750-2515 Fax: (510) 437-1411   http://www.rdmconstruction.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting services including home and business repair, decks, stairs, windows and doors, new additions and concrete flat work services for residential and commercial properties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RDM Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RDM Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on RDM Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Miller, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements Construction & Remodeling Services Doors Construction Estimates

Service Area
This business service area covers: Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Kensington, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, Union City, Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, San Lorenzo, Sunol.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here we are, over a year later and still not completed. After having spent $133,000 with RDM construction. He appears to have abandoned the project. BBB complaint **** D ******, RDM Construction. I met with **** in person and found him pleasant enough. We spoke of his liability insurance, and worker's comp coverage. He spoke of his dedication to quality work and even said he frequently does extra things that may not be on the contract itself. I explained that I had a 4-phase remodel in mind. #1 The roof replacement which also included putting the heater in the attic, #2 the reconfiguration of the two bathrooms along with the laundry room, #3 the driveway repaved and #4 finally the kitchen remodel. I also wanted him to look at the sagging floors throughout the house and determine if that was a foundation concern and what the cost would be to remedy this flaw. The work that I contracted with RDM was actually performed by subcontractors (that I did not approve). The subcontractors were not supervised by RDM and as a result, the workmanship is of poor quality. Additionally, we asked for plans many times and have yet to receive them. A year and a half later, the plumbing will not pass the permit inspection, the shower door is leaking, the driveway is cracking in several places, the kitchen flooring is buckling, and gas line to the new water heater is improperly installed and has not passed inspection. This project began with the attic access for the new heater in the summer of 2012, and roof replacement. The roof repair included the removal of the old layers of roofing, added sheathing and repairs to the rotted wood. The installation of a new composite roof and gutters. I am satisfied that this work is completed. From there we contracted to remodel the area of the house that was the full bath, utility closet, powder room and laundry room. Repeatedly we received assurances that RDM "Did Quality Work". Even when I questioned two specific subs that RDM brought in, RDM expressed confidence in their work. We were promised completion of the Bath and Kitchen by 90 days. With no heat or water during this remodel, we moved out on Dec 2, 2012 to a nearby apartment. As of March the baths were still not done, and the kitchen was still demolished down to studs. We informed RDM that we would be back in the house by 9 April 2013. Get stuff done soon! Third, we wanted our driveway replaced. The driveway now has cracks that showed up within the first few months. These cracks run in both directions the full span of our driveway. **** takes no responsibility for the cracking. The garage door is damaged with concrete 130 days later we came back to: Baths mostly done, and no kitchen. We had use of the living room, bedrooms and baths. Mid May 2013 the kitchen was usable. However, it is still not complete and will not pass inspection. We have had several meetings since then to request completion and repairs. For the last 4 months, **** and I have been unable to come to any agreement to correct the work that was incorrectly performed. He has been unwilling to fix or complete the work for which he has been paid, $133,000 in total. His recent conversations have been rude, bullying, manipulative, filled with accusations, and has refused to take any responsibility for the poor workmanship of his subs. We are at a stalemate. As a result of ****s actions and conversations we have felt the need to ask for assistance, we have hired a project manager to aid us in successful completion of this project. We hired **** ********, of Drafting on the Run to assist. The estimated cost to complete the work and repairs needed is at least additional $25,000. (Detailed list would not fit the complaint form.) We spent over $133,000 with RDM and here is where we sit. Along with AngiesList we are filing our complaint with the CSLB and the BBB today. **** & ***** ****** 12 Jan 2014 ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Angies List and CSLB

Desired Settlement: Settlement Requested: Full Reimbursement for actual costs to properly complete the project. Including alternative housing as required. For the last 4 months, Rick and I have been unable to come to any agreement to correct the work that was incorrectly performed. He has been unwilling to fix or complete the work for which he has been paid, $133,000 in total. His recent conversations have been rude, bullying, manipulative, filled with accusations, and has refused to take any responsibility for the poor workmanship of his subs. We are at a stalemate. As a result the of ***** actions and conversations we have felt the need to ask for assistance, we have hired a project manager to aid us in successful completion of this project. We hired **** ********, of Drafting on the Run to assist. The estimated cost to complete the work and repairs needed is at least additional $25,000. Here are the open items that we consider RDM responsible for: * Toilet in master bath loose / rocking * Shower Pan installed not level, shower door leaks. * Granite countertop edge finish left rough * Drains in master sinks do not hold. * Nail pops in tub bath wall * The plumbing under the house installed with bent pipes and poor quality soldering. Will not pass inspection As well, the drains are questioned. * Dishwasher drain will not pass inspection * Outlet for microwave will not pass inspection * Gas plumbing will not pass inspection, still has gas test meter installed. * Cleanout missing for washer drain * Driveway cracking. * Garage door damaged with concrete on it. * Linoleum in kitchen is buckled, the floor squeaks * Kitchen finishes. Excess grout and caulking , also nails inside cabinets * Transitions from wood to tile / linoleum - not acceptable match. * Tub spout in tub bath, drips when you fill the bath. * Mess, the old piping was not removed under the house. We spent over $133,000 with RDM and here is where we sit.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on RDM Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart