BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/1992

Mark Scott Construction, Inc.

Find a Location

(925) 944-0502View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 4658, Walnut CreekCA 94596-0658

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial general construction services including insurance restoration, custom residential homes, commercial properties, development, home renovations and REO services. Green builder

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/1992

BBB has determined that Mark Scott Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mark Scott Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I entered into a contract with them on 10/24/2012 to fix my garage. They give a low-ball estimate and now want to charge more after the project ended.
I entered into a contract with them on 10/24/2012 with three set payments and a final payment. After I paid as agreed to on the contract, they now come back and ask for more. None of the changes has been agreed by or made aware to us as the homeowner.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: California State Licensing Board

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******, CFO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************************
We are responding to the aforementioned complaint that was filed by ***** ****, Case# ********. This homeowner sustained a fire at their home and we were contracted to complete the repairs. The homeowner's insurance company covered the loss and was to pay for all the repairs.

We did submit a preliminary incomplete estimate, but that was identified in the estimate itself. These were indicated as open items for things such as permits, code upgrades, unforeseen damage discovered during the course of construction, and specialty items that required subcontractor bids. All these additional charges were approved and paid for by the insurance company. The only incurred cost to the homeowner was their policy deductible. We have a signed long form contract that clearly states the repairs to be completed, how adjustments with the insurance company will be applied and repaired, and applicable open items. We completed all the repairs, the homeowner signed a certificate of satisfaction for the insurance company and we received a portion of the payments.

We thought that everything was proceeding smoothly until we discovered an issue with one of the payments the insurance company submitted. The payment was made out to the homeowner, their mortgage company and our company. The homeowner signed the draft and fraudulently deposited the funds into their account without the mortgage company's or our company's endorsement. We are actually pursuing legal action against the bank for the funds. Subsequently it appears that homeowner spent a portion of the funds and is trying to offer only a partial settlement for the money that is owed. They are now making erroneous allegations of things such as unapproved change orders, items not fixed and lowballing estimates. None of these facts presented by the homeowner are true or correct.

The filing of the complaints with the BBB and State License board are nothing more than stall tactics to try and deviate from the fact that they refuse to pay their final balance which is in excess of $16,000. Not to mention they've committed a criminal act of depositing the funds without proper endorsements of all parties named on the check.

We take great pride in the fact that we work with many insurance companies and complete thousands of insurance related repairs annually. There is no legitimate basis for this complaint filed by the homeowner.

We look forward to discussing this matter further and believe we have been wrongly accused of any misappropriations on our part.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractor - General Green Builder, Contractor - Commercial, Basement - Remodeling, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/10/1992Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 552934 for this company.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1993, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Scott (Owner) Chris Trent (Project Manager)
Number of Employees

90

Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractor - General Green Builder, Contractor - Commercial, Basement - Remodeling, Home Builders

Service Area

This business service area covers California, Oregon, Nevada and Arizona.

Alternate Business Names
M S Construction
Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 469 Lopes Rd Ste A 

    Fairfield, CA 94534-1623

  • 2835 Contra Costa Blvd 

    Pleasant Hill, CA 94523-4219

  • PO Box 4658 

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596-0658

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mark Scott Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 864-8880

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (707) 864-9005
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.