BBB Accredited Business since

C & A Flooring, Inc.

Phone: (925) 435-5836 Fax: (925) 420-5175 325 Town Centre Terrace, Suite I, Brentwood, CA 94513 http://www.bureaumembers.com/candaflooring



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation of flooring and floor coverings, and installs carpet, tile, wood floors and flooring including finishing and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C & A Flooring, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for C & A Flooring, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C & A Flooring, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2011 Business started: 10/22/2002 Business started locally: 10/22/2002 Business incorporated 05/28/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Swain, President Ms. Cindy Swain, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Swain, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Waterproofing Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Hardwood Floor Contractors Floors - Hardwood Contractor - Commercial

Service Area
This business service area covers: San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek.
Products & Services

All flooring products & services.


Additional Locations

  • 325 Town Centre Terrace, Suite I

    Brentwood, CA 94513 (925) 435-5836

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Delivery Issues
6/23/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered carpet from them and paid in full for 3 bedrooms of my house. They only installed 2 rooms and ran out of carpet for 3rd bedroom. It's been almost 2 weeks and now they are not answering their phones when I try to call to figure out when they will install 3rd bedroom. They already have all the money for them to get the carpet as well as put the carpet in. I don't know what to do now that I have one bedroom unfinished and no way to get a hold of them.

Desired Settlement: I just want the 3rd bedroom done with the same carpet as the other two room's.

Business Response:

Hi **** ..I did complete the project for ******  ,the delivery truck had a delay at Shaw  industry 
Out of my control also the materials she was asking for I paid for them out of my pocket .when I delivered the carpet ****** reimbursed me then i installed it ..I can only do so much but everything is fine on my end .. dealing  with distribution is out of my control ..I can only go by what they tell me thank you

Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

8/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stated our sub floor needed to be replace. Charge 7200 to replace boards. They only replaced a few boards, not all of them. Quoted XXXXX. Once started project, he stated sub floors needed to be replaced. He had already started project, ripped up all floors 2000 sq ft then stated all sub floors needed to be replaced. He stated he could not guarantee his work unless we replaced the subflooring. Charge 7200. Only few boards were replaced. Promised project would be completed 7/3/15. They are still not done 7/21/15. I did unfortunetely pay him the total and he has not returned ANY phone calls or text messages in over a week. His crew layer there 4x3 table on the grass on a hot day and burnt and ruined my front yard grass. One of his worker broke and threw away a chest drawer(I found it in the garbage). He said sorry and tried to fix it but it is damaged beyond repair. I still have 8 stairs and a kitchen to have the flooring out in but since he's paid, he won't communicate with me.

Desired Settlement: I want him to finish ALL the jobs he promised, reimburse me for the drawers/lawn and apologize.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/23) */ There was unforeseen additional work that needed to be done to the subfloor that customer was fully aware of. We had made customer aware of a possibility of unforeseen additional work before demolition had been done. New 1/2" plywood has been installed over existing 3/4" partical board to strengthen the subfloor in areas that hardwood was installed. This has been done throughout all areas that hardwood has been installed. This is something that cannot be seen before demolition of customers existing tile and she was made fully aware of this. Once existing tile was taken out we immediately made the customer aware of the subfloor problem and informed her of additional cost. This is additional work which does require additional payment. We did make customer aware that this is very critical and needs to be done for her to have an installation warranty through our company. When the customer refers to "a few boards being replaced" we did also replace seven sheets of 3/4" partical board that was extremely damaged with new 3/4" plywood with an additional 1/2" of plywood over it as it had been done throughout all areas of hardwood that was installed. The floor is now properly strengthened. We did not only replace a few boards, the entire hardwood area has been strengthened with 1/2" plywood on top of existing partical board and also on areas that we had to replace damaged partical board with new plywood. We have contacted customer multiple times regarding her project. We have let customer and her husband know that we are awaiting her material to come in from our distributor and will notify her once we have received it. Customer still continually calls to ask us the same question and we respond the same way that we cannot continue project without material. The customer is not understanding that we are not able to complete her six steps until material has arrived. I have personally explained this to customer and have had other employees also contact her. She has multiple contact numbers to reach us. The entire project is completed except for the six steps and kitchen. Regarding the completion of her kitchen the customer specifically asked for us not to install her kitchen or take out existing flooring until September. I do have an installer that was with me when customer stated this. Per customers request no the kitchen has not been done yet. We have her scheduled to begin in September as requested. Regarding the lawn, yes there is an area that has turned brown. There is no way to prevent this due to us also being in a drought in California. I do not believe we are entitled to compensate the customer for her lawn when this a part of nature and just needs to be watered. The chest drawer was discovered by our installers broken in the closet of one of the customers bedrooms while they were installing baseboard. As described by my three installers that were there, it looked like pieced up wood left in the closet. There was no other furniture in the home at all customer had not moved in home yet. As a courtesy and it being in the way of baseboard installation, my installers had placed the broken wood in her driveway. It was placed exactly how it already had been found which was damaged and broken. There was other debris that were next to it, but they did not throw her chest drawers in a can or dumpster as she is making it seem. They did not cause any damage or further the damage already done when found to this chest drawers. Customer had come to the project site brought the chest of drawers inside and angrily asked my installers who broke it. They informed customer that they had found it broken in a closet upstairs and that they had not damaged the item. Customer was using foul language and was upset that it was broken stating she needed to buy a new one due to damage. My installers were trying to be helpful and felt sorry for this customer so they tried to fix it for her to prevent her from having to purchase a new one. Customer was asked before they had tried to help her if she would like them to try to fix it. Customer was made aware multiple times by three of my installers that they had not caused any damage to this item and it was found in the way she saw it on her driveway. We are not in anyway responsible for the damage done to this item as it was found in the condition the customer had saw it. We have apologized to customer via email and phone. We have proof of emails and phone calls made to the customer. The material will arrive this week and will be in customers home on July 27,2015. In addition, due to the unforeseen additional work needed to be done to strengthen customers subfloor the installation date did change. Again, this is UNFORESEEN and could not have been known before project had been started.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C & A Flooring, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)