This business is not BBB accredited.

Silver Ride LLC

Phone: (415) 861-7433 View Additional Phone Numbers 425 Divisadero St Ste 309, San Francisco, CA 94117 http://www.silverride.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transportation and concierge service for seniors.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Silver Ride LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Ride LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2006 Business started locally: 09/01/2006 Business incorporated 09/26/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave 2nd Fl, San Francisco CA 94102
http://consumers.cpuc.ca.gov/default.aspx
Phone Number: (415) 703-2059

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Maltz, Partner Ms. Susan Steiner Saal, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Maltz, Partner
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Concierge Services Transportation Services Wheelchair & Disability Transportation


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    425 Divisadero St Ste 309

    San Francisco, CA 94117 (415) 861-7433

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to adjust overcharge to credit card bill. **** quoted $40.00 to me when I made a reservation for their ride service for a 2 mile trip from doctor's office to my apt. They showed up between 20-25 mins. late (which on their website states: On Time Guarantee - ride is half price if over 15 mins late). The driver never brought this up (or tried to contact me to let me know they were running late) nor did the driver assist me up the stairs to my front door - which is what they are supposed to do-I had received anesthesia. Instead they charged me $85.00! I spoke to 3 different employees on 5 different occasions and was assured they would correct the overcharge. During my last phone conversation with the company, the accountant Jeff personally said he would handle and confirm by phone call to me the following day (2/19/15). I heard nothing further. They have made zero good faith effort to correct the error that "****" admitted making to me. They leave me no alternative than to file a complaint. I need the charge reversed and I should only be charged $20.00. I am really disgusted with this company! I do not want others to have the experience I had. They do not deserve the business if they do not conduct themselves in an honest and professional manner.

Desired Settlement: I need confirmation that they have reversed the erroneous $85.00 charge and instead bill me $20.00. (An apology wouldn't hurt either.)

Consumer Response: See attached

8/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Drivers are not First Aid certified. I recently had a phone call with my mother, whom I would like to remain anonymous. I asked her about how her trips with Silver Rides were going. She likes the service, as it helps her get out much more than she would otherwise be able to. But one thing she mentioned that was very concerning, which was that she had asked her driver about his training. He informed her that it was basically non-existent, and that he was not actually First Aid certified. It states very clearly on the web site that having this certification is one of the requirements that all drivers must have. To be honest I didn't think too much about this at first, until I started thinking about how vulnerable Mom is to getting taken advantage of, and I'm sure many elderly passengers are the same. I started to question what other claims are untrue regarding background checks and training, if Silver Rides would lie about this? That's why I decided to let the Better Business Bureau know, since you are also on their web site.

Desired Settlement: Silver Rides should do what they promise on the web site to keep passengers safe

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ ****** - Thank you for voicing your concern. We take the safety of our clients very seriously, and want to assure you that our training is benchmark in the industry and that all drivers have received this training before driving independently. In fact, we have won the highest awards in both the aging and transportation industries for our safety practices and innovation. We also try to maintain close relationships with our clients and their families, so in the future please feel free to contact us directly to voice your concerns, and also to share with us thoughts on your mom to help make her outings even better. We are very responsive to client feedback as that is what helps us improve. You raise several concerns, and I would like to address each one. First, all of our drivers are required to have basic first aid/CPR certification from a reputable training organization. From their date of hire, we allow them a thirty day grace period to complete the training. Anyone who does not complete that training within the grace period, or who subsequently allows that certification to lapse by not taking the required refresher courses, is taken off the road and not allowed to serve clients. Second, prior to driving clients independently, drivers get in-field practice working alongside our more experienced drivers in addition to time in the office. Each driver receives training in proper transfer and body mechanic techniques, on both a theoretical and practical level. No driver is allowed to assist clients physically until they have been cleared through our transfer training as being competent and capable of providing assistance in a safe and effective manner. Our drivers spend time learning about the specific needs and extra care required to serve senior clients safely and with confidence. All told, our drivers receive five full days of combined field and office training before they are allowed to work independently. We maintain a continuing training program, whereby the initial training procedures are refreshed and built upon in subsequent intervals, helping to keep all our drivers at the peak of their service abilities. Last, in addition to training, all of our drivers are fingerprinted and background-checked by the Department of Justice and the FBI. All employees receive initial drug screens before we permit them to work with clients, and are part of a random drug-screen program on an ongoing basis. It is also important to note that all of our vehicles are commercially insured for one million dollars each, and our company is licensed to drive your mom. A scary amount of companies serving seniors do not have the correct insurance, if they have insurance at all. As we all know, having the correct insurance is a critical part of delivering a safe ride. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always striving to improve our systems and maintain our high standard and record of reliability, care and safety. We will check-in with each driver to see if they have concerns about training per the odd statement it sounds like a driver might have made. We were saddened to get your message, as we know getting out for many seniors is sometimes the most meaningful activity they have, and we want them to feel safe with us. We also know it is difficult to help care for parents remotely. Again, please call our office any time to talk to us and get more comfortable with who we are. If there is anything we can do to reassure you of the quality of our service, or make sure your mom is still comfortable using our service, please let us know. Sincerely, **** ***** CEO and Co-Founder SilverRide, LLC


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Ride LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)