This business is not BBB accredited.

American Tech

Phone: (800) 406-1544 View Additional Phone Numbers 2280 Fulton Street, Berkeley, CA 94704 http://www.myamericantech.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer sales, service and repair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for American Tech include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for American Tech include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Tech
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2012 Business started: 01/31/2005 Business started locally: 01/31/2005 Business incorporated 01/31/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Rpr.
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
www.bear.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Samson Eric, President Ms. Kiran Saba, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Samson Eric, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2280 Fulton Street

    Berkeley, CA 94704 (800) 406-1544

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I faced some problems with one of my MacBook Pro\'s not booting up. I looked up the computer repair section on the Craigslist. I saw this AD by American Tech that offered a flat rate of $69.00 for repairing any problem on a mac Laptop at their site in Berkeley. I called American Tech they told me to bring in my MacBook Pro.They diagnosed and told me that my computer had Video problems and that they will have to re-solder the video chip on the motherboard and told me that it would cost me $99.00. They further told me that if I don\'t want to have it fixed the charges would be $69.00 just for the check up they had performed. I had no choice other than to agree for having it fixed and pay extra $30 for a total sum of $99.00. On my approval the repairs were carried out. However, after the Video chip was re-soldered on my Mac., they called me and said that my laptop has some boot up issues now, it still wouldn\'t boot up. The next day I received a call from them that the booting issue has been fixed and that I can pick up my laptop. I trusted them for their word that it has been fixed. I paid them $99.00 and picked up my MacBook Pro. Ever since I have had my laptop repaired. It has been giving me trouble. It boots up sometimes and at times I have difficulty in booting it up. Since I have another Macbook Pro that I mostly use, my repaired Mac has been sitting idle because of the boot up issues. I have not used it for a single day ever since the repairs.My request to the BBB is to intervene and ask American Tech to fix my Mac for which I have paid more than the deceptively advertised price of $69.00 and yet, I have a dead machine at my hands.I am surviving on a fixed income which I get in form of \'Social Security Disability\' each month from the Social Security Department.Please help me have my mac fixed by American Tech they are located ******* ****** ****** Berkeley California XXXXX. Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks. Product_Or_Service: Repair services Order_Number: XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please help me have my mac fixed by American Tech for which I have already paid them $99.00. My Laptop still does not boot up. American Tech is located ******* ****** ****** Berkeley California XXXXX. Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX.Thanks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Tech
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)