BBB Accredited Business since

Reputation.com Inc.

Phone: (888) 720-9980 Fax: (650) 369-0116 View Additional Phone Numbers 1001 Marshall St Fl 2, Redwood City, CA 94063 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.reputation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers: Removal of harmful online user information.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reputation.com Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reputation.com Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Reputation.com Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2006 Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated 06/01/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Winnie Davis, Contract Administrator Mr. Michael Fertik, CEO Chris Sundermeier, General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Winnie Davis, Contract Administrator
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Computers - Network Security Internet Marketing Services Personal Services

Service Area
This business service area covers: World Wide

Additional Locations

  • 1001 Marshall St Fl 2

    Redwood City, CA 94063 (888) 720-9980

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/18/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reputation.com said they could fix a negative search result associated with my name for $3000. The search results now are worse than when i started. I contacted reputation.com a year ago upon discovering a negative search result on the internet associated with my name. Actually I received a phone call from someone trying to extort $700 from me. The person i spoke to directed me to the website posting the derogatory information. Someone, or some group of people, made up some lies and posted it on the internet to extort money from me. I didnt pay them anything. Instead I contacted Repuation.com and they promised me they could move the negative search result back several pages. For this service they requested and I paid $3,000. Over the course of the next several months my account executive, ****** *******, assured me they were building a strong network for me that would push the negative result back on the Google search results. It never happened. Reputation.com did publish some biographies that I approved online at various websites but these were low value websites that separately or together never improved the search results. Months would go by and I kept asking ****** when will I see an improvement and he kept saying be patient. Now an entire year has gone by and the results are actually worse now then when I contracted with Reputation.com to help me. In addition, I am receiving emails from ****** to discuss my case because "my account will renew for another year at the full cost of the original service." I sent an email to ****** expressing my displeasure at the results of his service but he continues to try and contact me, presumably to get more money and make some more attempts to improve the search results. I have no proof of a relationship between the company posting the negative results and Reputation.com but I will say that when I didnt want to renew suddenly there was two negative results on the first page of the search results when before there was only one. Coincidence? Maybe but there is something very shady going on and I think some high level authorities need to be contacted to stop this nonsense. The company posting the negative results refuses to take any responsibility and I cant get any help from Google either. At this time i would like a refund. The service they provided was never enough to change the search results and they must have known that from the beginning since my account executive said he was familiar with the company posting the negative results.

Desired Settlement: I want Repuation.com to refund the entire $3000 for false advertising.

4/7/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a company that cares about it's reputation they have awful terms and business practices. We signed up for reputation.com in October of 2014. We were sold on services that actually don't make sense for our brand. The contract terms are very shady you have a brief 30 day window during the renew period to cancel the contract or you are signed up for another 12 months. We called to try to cancel and were told we could not. We are now stuck with a service that provides no value. For a company whose business model is having a good reputation their contract does not fit the model at all. We just want to cancel our contract as it provides no value to us.

Desired Settlement: We want to provide a 30-day notice today and have the service end April 8.

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reputation.com did not deliver services as expected, or discussed. In 2015, I hired Reputation.com to remove one bad link about me. My customer service rep told me it would most likely be done in 3-4 months, but no promises. I was also told I would need to verify various pieces of information, which they would send to me periodically. I was also told the link many not be completely removed, but would be at the bottom of page 1 of an internet search about me, or maybe on page 2. In the end, the one negative link was not removed nor did it move from the top hit on me. Reputation did send me some links to approve, but none were consistent. When I complained the link was still at the top of the hit list, they said I purchased the bottom tier service and I would have to make some upgrades to the links they provided (this is not explained during the sales process). They also seemed to backpedal a bit and said the link was most likely not able to move due to google's algorithms. When I complained a second time, I was told, again, that I had to go in to each provided link for 15 minutes each day to update my online presence. Like before, this responsibility on my part was not explained in the sales process. The negative link about me has not moved in the almost-year that I have been doing business with Reputation.com.

Desired Settlement: I would like Reputation to refund my money as absolutely nothing happened with the negative link. It did not move, and in the end, I had to do more work than originally explained.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/08) */ See attached Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2016/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The only question I have is how will I receive the money? Thank you.

2/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we were suppose to get a $2500.00 credit for a canceled subscrpition which they said we would get on Sept. 12th. no credit has been issued. same as above.

Desired Settlement: full $2500.00 refund like promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/10) */ ******* ***** - Case No: XXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized credit card charges 4/5/2015. Unauthorized credit card charges 4/5/2015. No agreement made to enter payment plan only one time charge authorized.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/08) */ April 8, 2015 via email Ms. ***** ****** Dispute Resolution Specialist Golden Gate Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@bbbemail.org Re: Response to email received by Reputation.com on April 8, 2015 Complaint Case ********* - ******** ****** Dear Ms. ******: We are in receipt of your email dated April 8, 2015 concerning a communication that you received from a ******** ******, who raised complaint about an unauthorized credit card charge on April 5, 2015. We offer the following information in response. ******** ****** signed up for our monthly service plan for $9.95 per month on March 5, 2015 and requested to cancel service on April 5, 2015. Reputation.com cancelled the Account on April 5, 2015, and voided the charge at the same time. ******** ****** will not be seeing any charges or credits on the credit card statement, since the transaction was simply voided. Furthermore, ******** ****** will not be seeing any further charges on the credit card, since the Account has been cancelled. Please advise if you need anything further from Reputation.com concerning this complaint. Sincerely, ****** ***** Contract Administrator Reputation.com, Inc. ******@repuation.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It was not CLEAR that my credit card would be charged monthly nor was it my expectation that I was signing up for a monthly service plan but free services. Also, I received no email or written notification that I signed up for a monthly service plan nor do I have a record of any service agreement with Reputation.com. There are hundreds of complaints against this company on the internet with customers having negative experiences. Many customers have complained of loosing large amounts of money with little to nothing to show in return. Please perform due diligence before dealing with this company. In response to my request, it appears that a refund has been issued.

3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: services did not work as advertised, was not able to remove my name and pertinent information. called to delete account and rep said does not know how no area to delete my account.

Desired Settlement: looking for refund and to delete my account with them as their services were not provided. called their "24-7 help line" and said were closed and had no one with the knowledge of how to close teh account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/13) */ March 13, 2015 via email Ms. ***** ****** Dispute Resolution Specialist Golden Gate Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@bbbemail.org Re: Response to email received by Reputation.com on March 12, 2015 Complaint Case ********* - **** ***** Dear Ms. ******: We are in receipt of your email dated March 12, 2015 concerning a communication that you received from a **** *****, who raised complaint that she is not happy with our services and request for her Account to be deleted. We offer the following information in response. Ms. ***** signed up for our monthly service plan for $9.95 per month on March 10, 2015 and almost immediately requested to have her Account deleted. Reputation.com cancelled her Account on March 11, 2015, and voided the charge at the same time. Ms. ***** will not be seeing any charges or credits on her credit card statement, since the transaction was simply voided. Please advise if you need anything further from Reputation.com concerning this complaint. Sincerely, ****** ***** Contract Administrator Reputation.com, Inc. ******@repuation.com

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my membership in Jan and was billed in Feb. Dear Sir, I cancelled my membership in Jan 2015 and my credit card was billed 2-19-2015. I received a cancellation E-Mail X-XX-XXXX Cancellation of membership, Case# XXXXXXXX By Eduardo of Reputation.com I had an online chat with a guy from Reputation.com and He told me that there would be no additional charges and that was mid Jan 2015. This is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. Sincerely, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: To Please Credit the Credit Card $9.95 and to never ever charge my credit card in the future. To please remove the $ 9.95 charge that, I discovered today to my surprise. The charge was on X-XX-XXXX Thank you for your help in this matter! Sincerely, ****** *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ March 3, 2015 via email Ms. ***** ****** Dispute Resolution Specialist Golden Gate Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@bbbemail.org Re: Response to email received by Reputation.com on February 25, 2015 Complaint Case ********* - ****** ***** Dear Ms. ******: We are in receipt of your email dated February 25, 2015 concerning a communication that you received from a ****** *****, who raised complaint about a charge on his credit card on February 19, 2015, after Reputation.com has accepted his cancellation of service on January 28, 2015. We offer the following information in response. It would appear that our employee who took the phone call failed to process the cancellation and refund in our system after the phone call with Mr. *****. This error has since been corrected and a refund has now been issued to Mr. ***** for the charge of February 9, 2015 in the amount of $9.95. It is common practice that any credits or debits to a card take at least a whole cycle for the transactions to appear on the account, Mr. ***** should see the credit transaction within 30 to 60 days from now. Please advise if you need anything further from Reputation.com concerning this complaint. Sincerely, ****** ***** Contract Administrator Reputation.com, Inc. ******@repuation.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. ******, I appreciate Reputation.com and the fact that they are crediting the $9.95 on the credit card. There was no mention of answering the following that was in my complaint. To never ever charge my credit card again. I have trust issues in General and need to know from them that my credit card will not ever be charged in the future. When that is done, I will consider the matter fully resolved! Sincerely, ****** ***** P.S. If, I can be of further assistance, Please let me know Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/09) */ March 9, 2015 via email Ms. ***** ****** Dispute Resolution Specialist Golden Gate Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@bbbemail.org Re: Response To Consumer Rebuttal on March 4, 2015 Complaint Case ********* - ****** ***** Dear Ms. ******: My apologies for not addressing Mr. *****'s "Desired Resolution" in my response to the complaint. Once an Account is cancelled, we will no longer make further credit card charges to the Customer. The February charges on Mr. *****'s credit card was an unfortunate human error that the cancellation to his Account was not processed properly. The cancellation to his Account has since been properly processed and there will be no further charges to Mr. *****'s credit card from Reputation.com. Please advise if you need anything further from Reputation.com. Sincerely, ****** ***** Contract Administrator Reputation.com, Inc. ******@repuation.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Reputation.com was very professional in their business response. I thank all of you! I'm satisfied and do know, That we are all human and not perfect.All my best! Regards, ****** *****

3/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased online product/service did not work 100%--despite waiting multiple months for repair. poor customer service. privacy policy violation For many months, my paid Reputation service prepaid for five (5) years did not work properly. I reported the problems to Reputation, and sent reminders when -- months later -- the problems still existed, and when no update had been provided, nor problems resolved. The Reputation suggested that I moved to their new product, and -- as a gesture of good faith, I did move to the product they suggested. I encountered problems with the new product, and again reported those issues. Despite having asked for my telephone numbers to be placed in their legally required internal DO NOT CALL list, Reputation did call me against my wishes. Despite asking for a correction on how I was addressed as a customer, Reputation did not always use my preferred name. I submitted a written request (via email) under Reputation's published Privacy Policy, to wit, that I did not want Reputation to send me email, and Reputation continued to send email to me. When I reported what I felt to be a TRUSTe violation by Reputation, Reputation retaliated against me by cancelling my paid service. In good faith, I escalated my concerns to Reputation's corporate office in an attempt to informally resolve the matter. Because Reputation has refused, my only resource is BBB (I have saved emails to prove the months of delays, issues, etc.)

Desired Settlement: Reinstatement of service as it existed prior to cancellation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/02/27) */ Please be advised that the subject matter is now fully resolved, and that Dr. ******* ***** is a current customer of Reputation.com. Sincerely, ****** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2015/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) at first, they refused to resolve with me. after threatening them with arbitration, they decided to resolve. so while I accept the reply, they should have resolved informally the first time.

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/4/2014 Delivery Issues
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company renewed a subscription for 2 years without my authorization. I had a two year subscription over 2 years ago and could never access their site. It was money wasted so it never even occured to me to subscribe again????I called the company to complain and they said they would refund my 129.00 on my amex 'today'. Instead they returned 46.28. Ive written, called, left messages to ask them why on earth they refunded a portion of my money. No response. Its been two months since this happened.I orginially subscribed 2 years ago due to identity theft and wanted a watchguard on my accounts. They did nothing during that time. Its ironic they refer to themselves as Reputation.com while conducting theft. Product_Or_Service: sevice protecting from id theft Order_Number: case no XXXXXXXX Account_Number: 129.00

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the remainder of my 129.00 returned to me. It does not belong to them.Very unethical company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ Response to Better Business Bureau Complaint Complaint No.: XXXXXXXX Dated: 01/10/2014 Submitted by: ******* **** ****** Against: Reputation.com, Inc. Thank you for the opportunity to submit a response to this complaint. Reputation.com, Inc. is a business that seeks to help consumers protect their privacy and businesses manage their online reputations though a variety of techniques. The client signed up for a service that cost $129.00 per year. The Terms of the service she signed up for stated that the service would automatically renew unless terminated prior to the end of the first term. Prior to the end of the first term, the client was sent communications about the pending renewal, but took no steps to terminate the services or state that she did not want the service to renew. Nevertheless, we are amenable to giving the client a full refund. The client states that she was only given a refund to date of $46.28. This is not accurate. The client was refunded $64.50 on November 7, 2013. We have authorized the remaining amount of $64.50 to be refunded today. We trust that this information satisfies any concerns that you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any more information. ***** *********** Reputation.com, Inc.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 20, 2013 I signed up with reputation.com and purchased an online reputation management package for $3000. I was unhappy with slow response time from my reputation advisor (who has since left the company) and with the quality of the biographical materials that the company prepared for my review. On November 5 I spoke about my concerns with a Mr. ***** **** from reputation.com. I told him that I wanted to cancel the agreement. He offered to release me from the $3000 contract in exchange for a payment of $600 for work done to date. I agreed and sent him an email on November 6 confirming our agreement. Mr. **** responded on November 7 that the matter would be taken care of soon. To date my credit card, whose information reputation.com has on file, has not been credited the $2400 in question, although the credit card issuer has contacted reputation.com, who affirmed that they would process the credit. Nor has Mr **** responded to an email query I sent on November 28. Product_Or_Service: online reputation management services

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like reputation.com to carry out its agreement to refund me $2400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ Thank you for the opportunity to submit a response to this complaint. We acknowledge that we agreed to refund $2,400 to the client. However, before we were able to process the refund, we found that he had filed a chargeback with VISA in September which we represented in October. We could not issue the refund while that case remained open and waited for notification that it had closed. We have now submitted the refund and the client should receive the credit shortly. Allan Page has contacted the client as recently as today, December 05, 2013, to discuss this refund. We trust that this information satisfies any concerns that you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any more information. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have just spoken with Bank of America, who told me that on November 19, 2013 BofA closed the dispute and refunded reputation.com the $3000. This confirms the contents of a letter BofA sent me on that same date, and which I have sent to Allan Page at reputation com. So for almost three weeks there has been nothing blocking the refunding of the $2400 to which reputation.com and I have agreed. I am glad that reputation.com says they have submitted the refund but as of today it has not appeared. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/11) */ Our accounting team has confirmed that the refund check for $2,400 will be shipped today. We thank the client for his patience and urge him to contact us directly should the check not arrive in a timely manner.

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreement with Reputation.com was not at all as discussed. I am in the online marketing and I have a clear understanding of how all of this works. Spent several hours with my account representative and was specifically told that I would be assigned a 'high level' account manager. I was told that my account would be given to this particular 'high level' account manager since I personally have first hand knowledge of the online industry and how all of this works. Well that was, if I am not mistaken, two months ago. Patiently I have been waiting and this morning I called to check in on their work. This morning I called and spoke to the first female rep who was not professional at all. The person sounded sarcastic, condescending and unprofessional to questions - and without any reason. Annoyed by the lack of professionalism, I asked for my account rep. The female sarcastically tells me that the account rep is on the phone and that she can transfer me to voicemail. I said that am not going to stand for it and that I would perfer to hold. The female again responded with further sarcasms by stating that they are not a 'holding' service - this is where I just lost it! Rightfully, I started to threatened legal action for being scammed out of $15,000.00. You should have heard the attitude. The female never apologized or made any second effort to calm me down. The female, again with sarcasm, instructed me to call back when I can control myself. Really? On my second attempt I called back and was transfered to a service manager. I recapped my poor experience with service and detailed the many bullet points of their sales presentation that wasn't met. During this conversation I informed the service manager that I was in the online industry and that I have first hand knowledge of how all of this works. I asked for a summary of work and I requested to know more about our strategies going forward. For instance, I asked which sites their drafted content would be published. I got no answer. I asked what domain names will be registered. I got not answer. The only answer I got was "We have an algorithm and strategy.". Nothing more and nothing less. When asked for specifics I was told by the customer service manager that "We are going to talk about refund. We are not going to be talked to or treated this way" and the proceeded to hang up. Wow. Once this company sees that you know what you are talking about and that you are not going away easily - they refund you. Reputation.com does not want me to know what is going on, they do not want to answer to reasonable questions and they certainley do not care. Whats are strategy? What domains are going to registered? Whats registerant information do they have for our domains to be registered? Where is the 'high level' account executive? These are reasonable questions. Anyway, I have tried calling Reputation.com back to settle our refund and I keep getting hung up on. This is actually the first BBB complaint I have ever written. That is how bad my experience was.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $15000.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title:****** ****** Contact Phone: (***) ***-**** Contact Email: *****.******@reputation.com Thank you for the opportunity to submit a response to this complaint. Reputation.com, Inc. is a business that seeks to help consumers and businesses manage their online reputations though a variety of techniques. The client contacted Reputation.com this summer to seek assistance repairing the online reputation of his business, which had been criticized online on certain websites in a manner that the client did not believe fairly represented his company. Due to the difficult nature of the online problems the business faced, Reputation.com recommended a more expensive package of services to address the situation. However, despite these recommendations, the client elected to try a less expensive package of services. On August 8, 2013, the client's company entered into an agreement to purchase reputation management services for $15,000. Reputation.com began performing services promptly after payment was received. Ultimately, we believe that *** ***** had unrealistic expectations as to how quickly the services would work. Only about a month after the services had begun, *** ***** complained about the services and made threats against the company and its employees. In light of the complaints, we agreed to terminate our services and immediately provided him with a full refund. The full refund of $15,000 was processed on September 11, 2013. We disagree with this customer's characterizations of our conduct and believe that he was treated courteously and respectfully at all times, despite his aggressive treatment of our employees. We trust that this information satisfies any concerns that you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need additional information. ***** ****** Contract and Sales Support Representative Reputation.com, Inc. *****.******@reputation.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Denial under defeat. Sounds like they have their noses down. Reputation.com needs to overhaul their sales and service departments. They are rude, antagonistic and shameless. One who will not accept lies and insults is abusive and threatening in Reputation.com's world. Interesting concept. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/30) */ Dear *****: We obviously disagree with the client's characterization of what has transpired. At all times, our employees were candid and forthcoming with the client and worked diligently on his behalf as promised. When it became apparent that this client was not satisfied with the progress of our work and became abusive and threatening, the engagement was terminated and a full refund of $15,000 was granted. Please let us know if the BBB needs additional information from Reputation.com on this matter. Best, ***** ****** Contract and Sales Support Representative Reputation.com, Inc. *****.******@reputation.com

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reputation Defender charged my credit card on file $2500.00 , I was unaware of the charges and never authorized those charges. The charge was on or around 8/13/12 . I never authorized this charge as I had used the $ 100.00 service in 2011 and told them I planned to use that annually. I caught this when they charged me $ 2000.00 this September without my consent. I asked them to reverse that and the August 13, 2012 charge. They reversed the 2013 charge but not the 2012 charge. I think what they do is unjust and illegal. Correction on my refund I would like the $2500.00 to be refunded in full from 8/13/12.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $ 2000 regarding the unauthorized charge from 8/13/12 to be refunded on my credit card

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@reputation.com Thank you for the opportunity to submit a response to this complaint. Reputation.com, Inc. is a business that seeks to help consumers and businesses manage their online reputations though a variety of techniques. The client originally signed up with us for a $2,500 reputation management product on August 13th, 2010. It is stated company policy to auto-renew services at the end of a year of service unless our clients inform us to do otherwise. This auto renewal of services is part of our Terms of Services found at *****. We reached out multiple times to the client as the 2011 renewal date approached, and he chose to pay $100 for an activation renewal of his original service. We continued to create content for the client throughout the next year. We reached out to him several times over the course of the year to see if he was satisfied with our services and received no complaints. We attempted to contact him by phone and email several times in the weeks before his 2012 renewal date to inform him that we would be renewing his reputation management service for the full $2,500 renewal price, and he did not answer us to cancel the renewal. We charged him the $2,500 on August 13th, 2012 for the next year of service. In the next year we again reached out several times to make sure that the client was satisfied with the services we were providing him. At no point did he offer any complaint of any kind to us, but rather continued to accept all of the services we provided to him during the entire year. We then began reminding him as early as April 2013 about renewing his services in August and reached out to him by email and phone several times. Since he did not cancel, we charged him $2,000 on September 12th, 2013. When he called for a refund, we refunded him the full $2,000 later that day and cancelled all Reputation.com, Inc. services. Because the client affirmatively renewed his services in 2011, because we gave the client notice of the auto renewal and offered the client several opportunities to cancel the service before the 2012 renewal deadline, because the client did not cancel but accepted the services for 2012, because we communicated with the client regularly during the 2012 year while we were providing services and at no time did the client complain or attempt to cancel, we do not believe the client warrants a refund of the 2012 charges. As noted above, the 2013 renewal was refunded in its entirety as soon as we received a request from the client to do so. We trust that this information satisfies any concerns that you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any more information. ***** Contract and Sales Support Representative Reputation.com, Inc. ************@reputation.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the refund of $ 2500.00 to my American Express Account. Thanks for making this right. ******* G. ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/07) */ Although we do not believe that he is entitled to a refund under our terms of service and because the services have been fully performed already, we are giving a refund to him for the $2,500 charge nonetheless. Thank you, and have a wonderful day!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Reputation.com Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)