BBB Accredited Business since

Visioneer, Inc.

Phone: (925) 251-6399 Fax: (925) 416-8607 5673 Gibraltar Drive, Pleasanton, CA 94588 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.visioneer.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a manufacturer of document imaging products that include scanners, software and storage devices.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Visioneer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Visioneer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Complaint Information

Visioneer informed us that there is no free telephone tech support for discontinued or "Out of Production" scanners. Furthermore, there is no warranty nor phone tech support available for "End of Life" models. These scanners can be purchased from many different retailers and liquidators. To find out if your product has been discontinued go to www.visioneer.com, click support page, and put in the product number. This pulls up a link with information for that product including support options. If the product was discontinued consumers would then be directed to call 900-776-5724 (which is $2.00 per minute) for tech support.

If you have purchased a new scanner that is currently in distribution through a retail store the warranty applies for one year and consumers can reach Visioneer tech support at 925-251-6397.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Visioneer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 1999 Business started: 01/06/1999 Business started locally: 01/06/1999 Business incorporated 10/15/1998 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walt Thinfen, VP
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Computers - Multimedia Computers - Supplies & Parts Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computers - Graphics


Additional Locations

  • 5673 Gibraltar Drive

    Pleasanton, CA 94588 (925) 251-6399

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 2/9/15 I initiated a request for repair/refund of a scanner. After four days, I'm informed they won't honor the warranty. They refuse to respond. On 2/9/15 I called Visioneer and spoke with ****** ******* He told me to email him proof of purchase and a picture describing the problem. On 2/13/15 I receive a short email from ****** ******* claiming that due to "physical abuse" the warranty would not be honored. I responded with questions, an explanation and why I didn't agree that it was due to abuse. I never received a response. I mentioned I would report this to the BBB and again, no response.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a replacement product, per the terms of terms of the warranty.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/05/19) */ Hey *****, I received a replacement product from Visioneer. I thank you sincerely for following up on this and convincing Visioneer to re-establish contact with me over the defective scanner. Thanks again, ******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Visioneer, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)