BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2004

NetSuite, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (650) 627-1000Fax: (650) 627-10012955 Campus Dr Ste 100, San MateoCA 94403-2539

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in on-demand, integrated business management software - in a single hosted system, including: customer relationship management (CRM); order fulfillment; inventory; accounting and finance, product assembly; ecommerce; Web site management; and employee productivity.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2004

BBB has determined that NetSuite, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised NetSuite, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on NetSuite, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Netsuite won't allow cancellation of an additional module I purchased in 2 days. Their information on HELP is misleading for this purchase.
I am currently a Netsuite client and user. On 7/16/2014 I purchased an additional module from Netsuite. This module is called "Advanced Financials Module". The purpose for me to buy this module is to have revenue recognition and expense amortization those two features, but later I realized that this module doesn't include "Revenue Recognition" this feature and is another module I need to purchase. On Netsuite's HELP, if you search "Amortization" you will see the results showing "Revenue recognition and expense amortization" listed together. It is a misleading information even my rep agreed with me. On 7/21/2014, I wrote an e-mail to let my rep know that I would like to cancel this purchase because this module couldn't fit my need, but my rep told me that Netsuite doesn't want to let me cancel it but would like to give me discount if I can purchase another module "Revenue Recognition". I don't think this is a right way to treat their loyal customer (I have been using Netsuite for 5 years). I made cancellation request in 2 business days after I signed the contract. I realized this contract can't be cancelled, but the HELP on Netsuite is misleading me to believe this "Advanced Financial Module" includes revenue recognition and expense amortization. I didn't wait for a week or a month to make this cancellation request but in 2 business days. The HELP information doesn't mention the functions are in separate module.

Netsuite is a public trade company and I don't believe this is the way they should treat their customer. I am asking BBB to get involved and I am filing complaint to state of California and state of Texas. I would like to see Netsuite can do the right thing to keep their customer satisfied.

Desired Settlement
Either Netsuite can refund my payment or include "revenue recognition" to advance financial module for free.

Business Response
Senior management will investigate this customer's concerns immediately and work quickly to resolution with them. More details to come as we track this down internally.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
**** ******
VP, Marketing for NetSuite
*******@netsuite.com

09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a planning product that we were able to get to work. Netsuite did not provide timely service level so we were unable to use the product.
******* distribution purchased an add on planning software, Adaptive Planning from ****** our ******provider in September 2012. The purcpose of buying this software was to creative ******s 2013 budgets.

We paid for Adaptive Planning in September 2013, weopted not to spend an *extra* $10k for "implementation" since they had step by step instructions. We believed we needed its multi-scenario budgeting capabilities vs NetSuite's standard budget functionality . We committed to use software that we were told worked with NetSuite. We were given instructions and support on how to make it work with NetSuite. It didn't work with NetSuite. They didn't say "it won't work unless you pay for implementation." Our IT department spent 2+ months trying to get it to work, and neither Netsuite or Adaptive Planning support was able to help us get it to work. We then paid for "training" - I believe 30% off $2k, after which we still couldn't get it to work. On 12/10 we decided to get stop wasting our resources trying to get the soft ware to work and ask for a refund. Netsuite has refused.
We filed 5 separate cases with Netsuite support center to get our issues resolved and they took weeks to respond.

We paid $13,000.
Our sales rep is:
Account Manager: ******
Phone: *****
Email: ******

THe sales person who sold us the software is:
******, NetSuite Finanical Planning Sales
******
*******

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund of the money paid.

Business' Initial Response
* ****** is an important NetSuite customer who is using the bulk of our services successfully for their back office operations such as financials, order management, inventory management, warehouse management and more
* We had recommended implementation and training services to nuCourse up-front to ensure a smooth path to usage of the Financial Planning module (*******), which they purchased from us as an add-on to their core NetSuite service in September 2012, however they unfortunately initially declined this recommendation
* We then made good faith efforts to resolve issues and get this particular Financial Planning module (*******) working for them and they did eventually attend a training session on the module but apparently were not able to get the usage they were expecting from it
* They did make an initial request to us for a refund in March 2013 but as they had had access to the planning solution for some time, we had to decline their initial request and we had not heard from them on this topic since then, despite many other positive interactions with our account management team
* As a result, we did not realize this was still a remaining issue for them
* Upon learning of their remaining concerns regarding the Financial Planning module, we have reached out and are working actively to reach an agreement directly with them to address the request for credit / refund
* We fully expect they will be withdrawing this complaint voluntarily within the next few days (if they have not done so already)

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would like to withdraw the complaint.

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/20/2004Business started: 02/02/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2007, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Zach Nelson (President & CEO)Mr. Jim McGeever (COO)
Number of Employees

2500

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
McGeever, Jim

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for NetSuite, Inc.

2955 Campus Dr Ste 100

San Mateo, CA 94403-2539

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2955 Campus Dr Ste 100 

    San Mateo, CA 94403-2539

  • 8000 S. Chester Street 

    Centennial, CO 80112(303) 600-3800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*NetSuite, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers Hardware, Software & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.