BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2010

Driver Whiz

Phone: (925) 523-3096Fax: (925) 913-7014

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Driver updates simply wont work after installation of latest DW software version.
Order: #XXXXXX placed on 09/4/2013 17:20:35
Payment: PayPal

Product Unit price Quantity Total price
Driver Whiz - *** ******* *** $39.90 1 AUD ******

PC is running Windows 7 latest SP; ********* AV.

Had a few problems in 1st year but these were resolved in combination of DWSupport and GoogleSearches.

Since June 2014 after applying the latest version upgrade to DW, I have problems that are not being resolved. The problem is that DW scan shows 15 OUT OF DATE drivers and whether I run the DW Update for 1 or for 14 and then reboot and rescan - the same 15 drivers show as out of date.

DW is not assisting me to resolve this although I have clicked their support link and lodged issues several times. So I have asked for HALF my 2 year subs back and they refuse. The Support is being handled by a Finance Company named SecureWebPayments.

Initial Business Response
Hi *****,

Since you had the software for 1 year we can refund $10 back or we can offer you support for the software until it expires which is on 9/4/2015 without the $10 refund. For 1 year it costs $29.90 and for 2 years which you selected it costed $39.90. So if we refund $10 you would have only paid for the 1 year. Please let us know what you would like to do.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Because they are big business and I'll go mad trying to fight them for another ten dollars.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: It did not give me a driver for my hp printer.
It did not give me a driver for my hp officejet 6600. I made several calls and was very unhappy with the pushy operators and it appears they don't know when I will receive a refund I purchased the product as well as an additional 5.99 for other machines to have access to "Driver Whiz." With each call I got the same response, I was clear on the onset of the call, yet they kept trying to perform a one on one with my computer. I am upset because I trusted them to deliver and they did not.

Initial Business Response
As per our website, there is a 60 Day Money Back Guarantee. We have issued your refunded as you have requested on 5/15/2014. You have received an email concerning each refunded amount.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Driver Whiz application cannot be uninstalled from computer; only option offered is to update. Just want to get rid of it. No cust. svc route offered.
Product version:8.0.1

Initial Business Response
We most certainly would be happy to help you with the uninstall of the product. You are encouraged, as was mentioned on the website, to contact Secure Web Payments at (XXX) XXX-XXXX to discuss a refund. When you call, please provide as much of the following as you can:

Customer Name
Email Address that was used to register online
Order ID #
Last 4 digits of the credit card used.

There is also an email link you can follow to uninstall the software.

To uninstall Driver Whiz, please visit the following link:

http://driverwhiz.com/support/uninstall

Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: REFUND
AM NOT LONGER WHAT THEIR PRODUCT PLEASE REMOVE IT FROM MY COMPUTER AND I WOULD LIKE A REFUND.SINCE THEY DELETED THE PRODUCT THEY DID SOME DAMI ORDERED THIS PRODUCT ONLINE FOR MY COMPUTER WHEN
THE COMPUTER TECH PERSON FROM DRIVER WHIZ WAS INSTALLING THE PRODUCT ON MY COMPUTER THEY WERE TRYING TO SELL A MORE EXPENSIVE PRODUCT THAN THE ONE ADVERTISE. I REPETED SEVERAL TIMES THAT I WAS NOT INTERESTED BUT THEY CONTINUED TO TRY TO SELL ME A MORE EXPENSIVE PRODUCT AND THEY TOLD THE PRODUCT I BOUGHT WONT DO THE JOB. I TOLD THE PERSON ON THE PHONE THIS WAS FALSE ADVERTISING AND AGE TO MY COMPUTER AND ALL MY SOFTWARE WAS WIPED OF MY COMPUTER. I EMAILED THE COMPANY ABOUT MY REFUND THEY SENT ME AN EMAIL SAYING IT WOULD BE ONE MONTH BUT I STILL HAVEN NOT RECEIVED MY REFUND AND THEY REFUSE TO RESOPND TO MY EMAILS EVER SINCE. YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Initial Business Response
This was the email that was sent to him below:



SecureWebPayments Support
Sep 3

to **************
Hello ****

We apologize Driver Whiz did not work out for you the way you had hoped. We have gone ahead and processed the refund you requested and you should receive an email shortly regarding Order ID # ******. Each credit card company and bank is different so your refund processing time may vary. Please allow up to four weeks for the refund to show up on your credit card and/or bank statement.

Take care and have a nice day.
Best regards,

******
Customer Service Specialist
SecureWeb Payments

I have sent a request to review what has transpired with your refund, since it is your claim that it has not been received to your credit card.

The only emails that you have sent have been of a threatening nature that has included foul language and not really of a nature regarding an inquiry. As I have mentioned, I have submitted a request for a review of what has transpired with your refund and I will be in contact with you personally when there is a response. In the meantime, you may want to contact your credit card company to see how they release the funds, as each credit card company is different.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No am not accepting their response and the only thing am sorry about is the language which I used. This is a business which is in the business of scamming hard honest working people am not the first and I wont be the last.and if this was the first email I sent them why did ****** say I would be refunded in one month. They had enough time to refund my money they are just stalling. I will ask the attorney general to investigate if am not refunded immediately

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Ordered OneClickRoot for $29.95 to root my phone but the software didn't work.
I emailed already Mr. ******* ***** & his Team and waiting for his reply.

Last August 10, 2013, I ordered your OneClick Root product - http://screencast.com/t/qL5RF7cXkZtV to root my Alcatel OneTouch 918N or my MyPhone A818 Duo - ***********************************

Based on my research, OneClickRoot and SecureWebPayments is under Driver Whiz business that has A+ rating at the BBB - http://screencast.com/t/dkowIBhTbOsx. I am hoping that my phone will be rooted successfully in no time with your technical help and if not, I am formally asking for a refund of $29.95.

I downloaded their software and at first had some error message - http://screencast.com/t/RiUh64JsHm but later on was able to install the software successfully, however after how many attempts on different computers, I was not able to successfully root my Alcatel OneTouch 918N or my MyPhone A818 Duo.

I tried the link they provided on my order in good faith to reach for customer support, however, I am able to log in using the following credentials so I can initiate a ticket for technical help and later on the http://www.rootsupport.net/oneclickroot/ site will route to http://www.rootsupport.net/faq/:

Help Desk URL : http://www.rootsupport.net/oneclickroot/
Help Desk Username : ****@hurdman.net
Help Desk Password : 3hw5fX

Hope to hear from them and as much as possible I need help.

Thanks.

- ******* ********

Business' Initial Response
We have processed your One Click Root refund for Order # XXXXXX.

You can review your order status by visiting Securewebpayments.com. Simply select Lookup Order to review your current refund status.

Should you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support Team at *******@securewebpayments.com.

Kind Regards,

Secure Web Payments Customer Support Team

**** ******* responded:

Thank you very much.
******** ****
**** ******** : Executive Secretary / Country Manager
p XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** : f XXX-XXX-XXXX : www.*******.net
******** ****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
01/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computer Software Publishers & Developers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.