BBB Accredited Business since

Blurb, Inc.

Phone: (415) 364-6300 580 California St Ste 300, San Francisco, CA 94104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers software that allows users to make books.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blurb, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 10
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Blurb, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005 Business incorporated 04/07/2005 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Jessica Walker, Sr. Director of Operations & Customer Support Ms. Eileen Gittins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jessica Walker, Sr. Director of Operations & Customer Support
Number of Employees


Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Publishers - Book

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blurb, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 580 California St Ste 300

    San Francisco, CA 94104 (415) 364-6300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered books delivered with pages in Blank. Complaint filled with Blurb but no answer since Dec. 22nd, 2015. On Dec. 11th 2015 I uploaded and ordered 3 photo books (order nr. XXXXXXX) to Blurb with a total value of 331.63 USD (payment by VISA). The books arrived on Dec. 17th but I immediately noticed that around half of the pages were left blank. I filed a complaint on Dec 18th which was registered by Blurb as request #XXXXXX. Blurb Customer support answered the same day requesting pictures of the problem. I sent them back to Blurb on December 19th. Blurb answered on Dec 22nd referring an Upload problem and requesting a new upload of the book, which I did on Dec 23 rd. Since then I got no feedback from Blurb even though I already sent 2 additional e-mails.

Desired Settlement: I request Blurb to deliver correctly printed books. I can return the existing ones if needed

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/15) */ I already placed the new order with no aditional payment required. I think you can close this claim

1/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 7 books from Blurb. Only ONE was printed correctly. Contacted Blurb to rectify the issue and they have been non-responsive. Order #XXXXXXX Date: Dec 9th Contacted Blurb: Dec 16th I ordered 7 hard cover books from Blurb in the beginning of December as a Christmas gift. I followed ALL the guidelines and specs provided. Out of the 7 only 1 was printed correctly. The 6 faulty books are as follows: FOUR have defective skewed front covers, that wrap around the spine to the back TWO have skewed pages with abnormal, white voids where the image was suppose to bleed off the edge. I contacted Blurb immediately AND provided images as proof. I was in correspondence with ******* W. who stated he would "get back to me shortly" It's been over a week now and I haven't heard a word back. I expressed the urgency of the matter that it was a gift and it would need to be reprinted immediately.

Desired Settlement: It's now too late for the reprints as I am stuck with the faulty books. I would like a refund for the 6 defective books.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/04) */ Hi there, In reviewing your support ticket, I see that we have already submitted reprints for this defective order. Please reach out to Blurb Customer Support at if you require any further assistance with your order. Thanks! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My case was finally resolved and my books were reprinted free of charge. I never received a response back from contacting Blurb customer support through the company site. I resorted to sending them a message via Facebook in which to my surprise, I received an immediate response within 5minutes. *****, my customer rep, handled my case within 4hrs! A new reprint order was processed, with overnight shipping upon completion.

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a blank book and asked for refund. No response. On 7/6/15 I uploaded, reviewed, ordered and paid for the printing of a 258 page book. One week later I received the book but the cover and pages were completely blank. I phoned BLURB and spoke to *****. She told me that the printer did flag the book for some "unknown reason" but proceeded to print and ship the blank book and that it was their fault for technical difficulties. I asked that they fix the tech problems and get back to me. I was emailed an opened Customer Service ticket #Your request (#XXXXXX) has been updated. Reply to this email or click the link below: ********** ( Blurb Support) Jul 14, 16:11 Hello, Thanks for calling us in regards to your blank book, I am so sorry, I apologize for the let down. I am looking into this and we'll get back to you soon. Thanks for your patience. Best regards, ***** Blurb Customer Support To close a ticket, submit a troubleshooting video, or modify a satisfaction rating go to: I have since tried to call the phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX listed on the BBB website and only get a recorded message to file out paperwork on the support page of the BLURB website. I have sent 4 emails over the past 10 days and they have not responded to any of my requests for a complete refund as I plan to have the book printed with another company.

Desired Settlement: I paid $148.14 on this book and want a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/08/28) */ Received business response via email on 8/28/15: I have reviewed *** ******'s support ticket with us, and a full refund was issued on July 27 for $148.14, 3 days after she opened a case with you. However, the support she received was certainly not our best, so we will be reaching out to her shortly as a follow-up and earn another shot at her business. Thank you, *******

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Conflicting advice, wrong advice do to support not reading the inquiries (numerous), no response to speak to supervisor. I have been writing a guidebook to local cemeteries for over a year. In that time I have had numerous software issues. Each time I contact customer service (which for tech support is only available by email) it takes sometimes days to get a response. Then about half of the time the response doesn't pertain to what I asked because tech support didn't really read the inquiry, and I have to totally rewrite the initial question. This happens ALOT. I have made numerous requests to speak to supervisors with no response. At this point I am unable to do what I wanted to with the book despite reworking it numerous times on advice from differing techs. I have shed a good many tears in this process.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by a supervisor. I would like to mail copies of the litany of emails I have which will show how really bad customer support is to the board of directors. I think at this point I should be entitled to have a staff person from Blurb look at my site and advise me or fix the issues for me. I would also think I should be entitled to a number of free printed books for my trouble. I think if the board were to see the support emails they would be horrified.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Hello *** - I am very sorry to read the frustrating experience you have had with my team. I've reached out to you via email to see if I can be of assistance. Please let me know.

12/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested paper randomly changed on my book in progress; no way to fix on my end. Contacted support who refused to fix; I was told to buy a new book. I set my book to print via Blurb using these specs: * Standard Landscape 10 x 8 in * Hardcover, Imagewrap * Proline Pearl Photo When I went to send the files to Blurb via Lightroom 5 interface I noticed the paper type changed. There was a drop-down menu to change the paper type, but my original PearlLine Pro option wasn't listed anymore. There was no way to revert back to the original settings without trashing it all and rebuilding from scratch, so I placed the order and immediately sent my request for help on November 29, 2014 at 12:14am, referencing Order#XXXXXXX. I got a response from a **** S. at Blurb Support on 11/29/14 at 9:38am saying "Thank you for contacting us regarding your book project, I am sorry that it changed. Unfortunately since it is already in production there isn't a way to change it. There also isn't a way to ship the book faster. It is that because it takes sometime in the printing process. It may not come on the 9th, the shipping date is just that it will arrive before or on that date. I am sorry for any inconvenience this causes you." I responded back on 11/29/14 to **** S. saying I felt that this information was not correct because if my book had already been in production, it would be ready for shipping, if not already shipped. **** S. replied at 11:28am the same day: "The only way to change the paper is to cancel the order and reorder it. I can do that for you, and credit you the amount that you paid so you would just have to purchase it again." By now I was infuriated and went off on **** S and asked for her supervisor and THEIR supervisor to contact me. On Wednesday, December 3 at 10:43, an ****** C with Blurb Support emails me: "I see that your order is shipping to you today and will be arriving soon, so I'm happy that your book will be arriving before your deadline! (**it actually shipped before this date and I received the book the day prior**) Regarding the paper mix-up, unfortunately, **** did give you the correct information, we are not able to change paper types of an order once it is placed. The only way to use a new paper type is to place a new order. This is because the file that you send to us is sized specifically for the paper type chosen. Changing to a thicker paper type, the Proline paper, would create a thicker book and the spine width would need to be adjusted. This is not something that our printshop can do on the fly. That requires a new upload (**this is not true, I've worked in a print shop**). I'm sorry that that workflow was inconvenient for you because you no longer had access to your book file, but it is the only way to have fixed the problem. However, I think you will find when your book arrives, that this mix-up will not be as drastic of a problem as you are expecting (**actually, it was. the images are muddy and much darker and the font in my text randomly changes throughout the book, and they cut out the last 15 or so lines of my bio.**) Our Premium paper is still a thick paper and produces beautiful images. Some professional photographers will often choose Premium Paper over the Proline Pearl to create a professionally beautiful book at a lower price rate. If you would like to still order a book on the Proline paper to have for yourself, I can offer you a 35% discount on the product total of that book. Would you like that? My response to ****** C on Friday, 12/5/14 at 11:56pm was pure venom but written professionally and spelled out all the asides I indicated to you here in parentheses. That is where it all stands now.

Desired Settlement: I would like my book reprinted on the correct paper stock, using the correct font I had typeset this book with, and I don't want one word cut or added to my book. Then I would like them to ship this new, properly printed book to me at no cost. Normally, I would say that I'd be more than happy to pay the additional costs for the PearLine Pro paper, but after this nightmare and horrific customer service, I have no intention of giving them one extra dime. While I'm dreaming of this actually being corrected: IF I could wish one other thing to happen for settlement it would be to have all of their support staff forced to undergo a rigorous and accredited training for proper customer service. Should anyone refuse to take those classes or fail this re-education, they should be terminated immediately. I've worked in customer service form the bulk of my life and I've never experienced anything as awful as this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ Hello ****, I am very sorry to read that your first experience with Blurb has been so frustrating. This is definitely not what we are shooting for. As a print on demand company, we only produce the books that are submitted by our customers. Our system is highly automated and we don't have the ability to make changes to the book after the 1 hour cancellation window has expired. While we do not usually offer refunds, if you would like to return the book, I would be happy to issue you a full refund for this order. If you are interested in uploading an updated version of the book, please let me know and I will send you a coupon code for the print cost to order the new version. I will follow up with this same message in the support thread. I certainly understand the frustration. I would also be frustrated in this situation. Please know that the members of my team are doing their best to help. I appreciate the need to vent, and am ok with certain words to express frustration, I am not ok with them being used in a hurtful manner against my team. Best Wishes, ** ****** Director, Customer Support Blurb, Inc.

11/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold books via and earned a $219 profit. I have still not received that money, and is no longer responding to my inquiry's. I make and sell books on, at the end of the month if I have over $25 in profit they process the payment and send it to me via PayPal. In October I made 200 (plus a rollover of 20 from September), so on November 5th I received the normal email stating that my money ($219) had been processed and it would be in my PayPal account in 24 hours or less. On November 6th I sent Blurb Support and inquiry about the payment because it was still not in my account though on it stated that the payment had been made via PayPal with reference # XXXXXXX. I received a form response apologizing for the delay and that they would have to contact an employee who was out of the office to get it sorted out so there would be another “slight delay.” I heard nothing after that from them so on November 12th I submitted another inquiry to support. I received basically the same email from them, with some of the exact same phrasing saying that an employee was out of the office and they needed to talk to them to get this sorted out. Again, after that first email from a support employee I heard nothing. So again, on November 15th I sent an email describing my frustration about lack of communication and how I still have not received the money in my account. It is now November 19th, I have no money in my account and I have not received any form of response from a person after my inquiry submitted on the 15th. I have another payment that is going to be processed in December and I’m wondering if I will ever receive the money I earned.

Desired Settlement: All I want from is for them to do their job, PAY ME MY MONEY by the end of the month, and if they’re having a problem COMMUNICATE with their customers so that we don’t feel frustrated, in the dark, and fully taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ Hello ********, Thank you for your patience; I am very sorry for the delay on this. We have found that this payment was not received by your account. Due to this, I have resubmitted the payment to **********, which should post to your account in approximately 24 hours. Please let me know if you have not seen it within that time. Thank you again for your patience and understanding! Best Wishes, ** Blurb Customer Support Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/21) */ 11-21-14 Sent via email: Thank you for your assistance with this. The company reached out to me and has resolved the issue.

11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book, received badly printed, got a second book shipped with worst print quality. I sent 3 emails to support, got no answer. On October 22nd I ordered a book from It arrived à week later however most black and white photos turned green so I wrote their tech support who re-printed a book on the spot. A week later I received the 2nd book which had unfinished printing on the last page. As I cannot deliver such poorly printed book to my client I once again contacted Blurb and keeps saying "we will see what we can do". In 5 days, no answer was provided by blurb.

Desired Settlement: I want a replacement as well as a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Hello ***, I am terribly sorry that we have had so much trouble fulfilling this order. I see that you are in contact with ***** from my team, who has refunded this order. She has also ordered another reprint. Please respond to her if we can be of any additional assistance. Thank you very much for your patience and understanding. Best Wishes, ** ****** Director, Customer Support Blurb, Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have indeed received a response from the business however I still have no book. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/11/13) */ 11-13-14 Sent via email: We can close tis case as blurb Inc shipped me the book I ordered. Thank ou for your help. *** ****

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an online order with Blurb and need to make changes and changes were denied because the were not completed with in 1 hour. order number XXXXXXX Order Date: 15 Oct 2014 Order Status: In production Delivery on or before: 29 Oct 2014 Tried to make changes to order on web site even though it clams changes can be made with in one hour but the web site would not allow me to make changes. I then set a message to customer service email and revived a message that It has already entered our automated production process and cannot be modified.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have production stopped on my original order and replaced with the corrections or just cancel my $279.00 order and i will go else ware to do business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ****** *** ** Hello *********, ****** has asked me to review this situation. Please note that we have 1 hour before an order is received by our print partner. After this happens, Blurb is charged for the full production cost of the books. This means we eat the cost of the books, which is obviously not a tenable long term practice. While we do not usually cancel orders after the hour, I have done so. Please look for a full refund to be processed back to your account in several business days. Here's how to cancel an order yourself within the 1 hour window. This must be done within one hour of the order being placed. Sign in to your account: Go to My Account>Order History: Click on the order number you want to cancel. Click the Cancel button to cancel and completely refund that entire order. If you do not see the Cancel button that means the one-hour window has passed *** it is too late to cancel that order. You can see more information, and an image showing the Cancel button, here: Please let me know if you have any questions. Best Wishes, ** Blurb Customer Support

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book on 9/12/2014 and it has still not been delivered. I ordered a book on 9/12/2014 and tracked the shipment and found that they attempted delivery on 9/19/2014 but needed a flat number. I contacted blurb immediately to supply a new address. I initially heard back from blurb but after multiple emails asking the status, they are now ignoring me. The book has still not been delivered and my account has not been credited. It seems they just hope I forget about it. There is no customer service provided and there is no phone number to reach them live. It was intended as an anniversary gift for 10/13/2014 and so this has now passed but I would still like the book delivered or at least a credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like the book delivered or a credit so I can order the book again. I still want to send it as a gift and am very disappointed with blurb.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/22) */ Hello ******* I am very sorry that you have not yet received order XXXXXXX. I see that **** S. from our Support team sent you an email yesterday requesting confirmation that the book could not be found. If not, please respond to his message and we will issue you a reprint to be shipped via expedited delivery. Thank you again for your patience and understanding. Best Wishes, ** Blurb Customer Support Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This has been resolved now.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company MESSED up on my order and they will not get back to me. My order was for nearly 3000.00. I have been a customer for many years. I expect and deserve the customer service to get back to me. inquiry number XXXXXX order number XXXXXXX rep name: ***** D

Desired Settlement: for customer service to get back to me! and to cancel my order and start again doing the correct thing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/26) */ Hello ********, I see that we have canceled and refunded this order, even though it was already in production. I will reach back out to you via our Support system to see if we can be of any additional assistance. Best Wishes, ** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/05/27) */ they dealt with the problem to my satisfaction! thanks blurb

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Books were damaged in shipment because of poor packaging; print job was bad. Customer rep keeps promising to look into it for me but nothing happens. Order Number XXXXXXX of 22 Apr 2014 was received on 30 Apr 2014 in badly damaged condition because of insufficient packaging, and print quality was bad many images were much darker than shown in PDF version of the book. I contacted Blurb Customer Support on 30 April 2014 (Request #XXXXXX) and got a reply the same day from ****** J. in Blurb Customer Support in Salt Lake City, requesting photos of damage and bad print. I submitted many photographs, clearly demonstrating the bad print and damage. I just keep getting the runaround, thanking me for my patience, and promising to look into it for me, but nothing has happened.

Desired Settlement: I want the books reprinted immediately (and correctly) and shipped to me overnight.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******, Director of CS Hello *******, I am very sorry to read about the problems with your recent order. I am also sorry for the time it took us to fully investigate the issue and come up with a solution. Our goal is to get you books you will be happy with, the solution sometimes takes longer than we'd hope to find. I see that one my Managers has reached out to you with coupon codes to make changes to your original file and order replacements for free. Please follow up with ******* and we'll make sure this gets resolved. Thank you for your patience and understanding! Best, ** Blurb Customer Support Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ the issue has been resolved to my satisfaction. Thanks.

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The preview online of the product when purchasing online does not match what is actually being printed. We ordered 16 albums via the Blurb website totaling just under $1000. I verified the layout of the book (in particular the cover image of the album). When received, the cover image ran off the edge. We were told that the software has a trim area and that neither the PDF proof nor the preview match what is being printed and that we should have ordered a sample book first before order the rest of the order. Their responses are delayed and have caused me significant issues with my client (whom these 16 books are going too). There were other quality issues that I asked them to resolve since they would have to reprint since they had errors with the cover. They refused to replace the books, but rather offered me a complimentary sample then I would only receive 75% off the remaining 15 books. They have no quality control since the books are printed at numerous locations/third parties. But the fact that the preview does not match what is being ordered is baffling to me. What is the purpose of a preview that does not match the actual product being sent?

Desired Settlement: If they do not resolve this issue by 4/18/14 and send complimentary revised copies, then I will request a full refund for the full order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ I am very sorry to read about the frustration with your order. As a custom created product, we produce the file which is submitted to print. While we do not usually offer compensation for design selections, we have offered a 75% discount coupon. This will allow the file to be updated and replacement ordered for a fraction of the cost. The originally received books may also be kept as a bonus.

4/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** misrepresents the quality of their product, product features and passive *********** helpless customer service. I spent 40 hours working on a book design, a proprietary design, that can only function exclusively with the book printing company *****. On February 6th I ordered a hard cover copy of this book from ***** using the InDesign Plug-in feature of ***** creation and then completed the order on *****.com. I received the book on February 12th and noticed several errors. Upon contacting *****, my request to speak with a supervisor was ignored two times, by two different ***** employees who delayed, denied and stalled the issues. I repeatedly provided photographic evidence and proof of all errors and ***** denied they were errors, delayed action and asked the same questions repeatedly after I answered. ***** has a long history of deny, delay and harass in attempts to drag out and frustrate, rather than simply follow rules they create and simply make the product ***** advertises it can. I personally have a long history of being on the receiving end of the abusive and misleading tactics of the ***** support system, including a ridiculously passive aggressive letter the COO once wrote full of untrue accusations and statements. All I want is book I ordered, produced as ***** advertises. My issue today is simple, it is a failure to provide accurate details of the book at time of purchase. Upon inspection there were three major errors with the quality, all three of which were outside my control or correction. 1. There was a crease in all 130 pages caused by production. 2. There was an erroneous extra page. 3. The end sheets, first and last pages of the book, were not the proper color. They were cream colored, when I had ordered a white book. I had two opportunities and only these options upon checkout of my book order regarding page color: - In the InDesign Plug-in controlled and created by *****, I could choose either “B/W-Cream Uncoated (60# Text)” or “Color-White Uncoated (60# Text).” No other page color option of any kind was presented at this time. - On *****.com when my order was uploaded and ready for final check out, I was again given only two options, “Black and white printing (on cream uncoated paper)” or “Color printing (on white uncoated paper).” I provided ***** with screen captures clearly showing that there were no options besides white or cream at each of *****’s two check out points. At no point in the order process was I told my book would contain anything other than what I chose, white and white only. I chose the white pages at both times. No other pages in my book should have been anything but white according to both places ***** informed me of page color. I was given no warning at checkout or upload that book would contain anything but white pages, as selected. I was given no options for anything but white pages, yet my book has cream pages within it. I notified ***** of all the orders problems on February 14th and provided both photographic and video proof of all the problems. I asked to speak with the supervisor, ** ****** in every email. ******* *. ***** (last name purposefully hidden from customer) ignored 3 requests for a supervisor and demanded more images even though images had already been provided. ***** ***** ***** also ignored my 2 requests for the supervisor ** ******. ***** ***** also then confirmed that the pages were in fact the wrong colors, then explained that this was true to the order even though I had not been told at checkout. Confirming my order never had a chance of being correctly printed as ordered at checkout. ***** ***** then took it upon herself to order a replacement even though no request had been made. I informed ***** ***** that I would like a refund for this order in full and a warning at both check out points that pages will not match, ***** ***** took no action on this.

Desired Settlement: ** ****** ***** writes back after multiple emails to ***** but offers no solution and took no action of any kind. ** ****** states there is multiple paper choices for end sheets for these size orders but fails to acknowledge the fact there was no option but white or cream at both check out points. Right here ***** claims for the second time with prior knowledge, ***** knows my pages will not match my book as ordered. ** ****** says I had an option, but at both check out and upload points, I was not offered any choice but white, or cream. I ordered white yet my order had both white and cream even though my order was for white only. ** ****** than asks questions I have already answered in the email chain and states facts already known in my very first email to further delay and frustrate the situation. This ***** book had no chance to turn out correctly, with all white pages, throughout, start to finish, as ordered at two ***** checkouts. On top of this egregious failure of ***** to have matching pages as advertised, the two other issues were severe enough to warrant reprints or refunds on their own, all three of these large errors, are a failure of epic proportions I have come suspect is commonplace now of ***** quality. They are not the quality ***** advertises on *****.com or in trade shows the world over. I am seeking the full compensation of this order - $62.68. I am also seeking compensation for time spent creating an order with no chance to be done correctly due to *****’s false information provided at checkout - in the amount equivalent to 40 hours of salary of ******* *., ***** *****, ** ****** and COO **** *******, combined. Mostly, I am hopeful ***** will simply change their tactics of false advertisement of services and abusive, passive aggressive customer service where one must send email after email, begging for solutions. I just want to make books, order books, as ***** advertises it can.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ******, Director of CS Hello BBB Team & ********, As requested I have issued a full refund of this order ($62.68), which should post back to Mr. ******** PayPal account within 24hrs. Best Regards, ** ****** Sr. Director, Customer Support Blurb, Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response did not change the deceptive business practices nor compensate me for time spent designing a book that had no chance of being produced as advertised. Blurb's bait and switch advertising/ordering process needs to change as does the abusive nature of the customer service as each and every order is done incorrectly. When notified, Blurb demands erroneous information in the face of proof after proof of Blurb's failed printing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/28) */ Hello BBB Team and Mr. ********, I want to clarify my understanding of Mr. ********' latest comment. My understanding, based on previous correspondence and photos, is the complaint is about the internal pages not matching the endsheet (not a mismatch between stock of the internal pages). As I mentioned in my first email to Mr. ********,the paper used for the internal pages is a separate stock from the paper used as endsheets, manufactured by separate mills. While they are both white, they are not an exact match. We would anticipate that you will be able to see a difference between the two papers, especially under a warm light. To the best of my knowledge, we do not promise anywhere on our site that the internal pages will be an exact match to the endsheets. If this information is presented incorrectly somewhere, please let me know and I will get it changed. Along with the already provided full refund and free book, I would also be happy to send Mr. ******** a high resolution PDF of his book file, which he could use to produce a book with another manufacturer. Please let me know if you would like this file. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again Blurb fails to acknowledge the problem at the core, the book that had issues should have never been produced in the first place and my time building it was directly wasted by Blurb's false advertising of Blurb services. Mr. ****** is again hijacking the conversations to be about a print error. This is not the issue and this is the typical abusive and passive aggressive behavior done by Blurb over and over to deny and confuse issues with Blurb service. Mr. ****** specifically has a long history of this side stepping of issues as well. There should be no reason to again repeat the issue. This is what Blurb does. Blurb is not acting in the "good-faith" championed by the BBB. The issue is that Blurb said I would get a book with white pages, yet the book came with white AND cream pages. Then after the order arrived and I notified Blurb, only then did Blurb admit that they cannot print a book with ONLY white pages. After the order was complete. The system at Blurb is falsely stating and selling services Blurb cannot provide and Blurb, specifically Mr. ******, has even informed me as such. That is the issue. This abuse couldn't be any more black and white and is literally black and white, and cream... So as I have already stated here only to be ignored: In the order process, I was given the choice at two different points for a book with WHITE pages OR a book with CREAM pages. Not a book with a mixture of both. The book had both. I notified Blurb and was told ONLY AFTER THE ORDER that my order was impossible, Blurb does not print books with all white pages - but that is what I ordered. That is not what I received. I provided Blurb with screen captures of both points of order I was given. The options again, were white, or cream, NOT both, at both check points. Blurb needs to correct their ordering system and should compensate me as I have requested in the beginning of this moderation for the time wasted designing something that cannot be produced elsewhere nor be produced the way Blurb advertises, by Blurb's own admission (only after my order was trapped in the Blurb system). This case could not be simpler and ** ****** has not addressed the actual issue in both replies here.

12/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I created my books through Blurb book creating software "BookSmart". There is a critial spine problem on their system and my books. Order number: ******* and ******* I created my book through their software "Booksmart" but the book spine text was not in the right place. I asked Blurb staff about the spine errror and they sent me reprinted books. But the reprinted books still got the same problems. I asked them again but ******(staff) sent some refund-money (not full refund) to me without any my agreement or fixing the book problems. She said that I have to reprint with my money and Blurb coupon. Blurb have to fix Booksmart software but ****** told me that they can't fix the problem. She asked me to change my book text by myself and upload again for the new order. This error was from their book creating tool. I didn't agree for the refund or return because I have to submit my books to some book fair soon. I have to fix it instead of refund. Also I registered the copyright for the book. I don't want to lose my effort for making books and my book fair submission. I already spent my time much for their reprint and delay. Booksmart have many text font types. Some of those text types have the critial font and spine problem. They have to fix Booksmart instead of forcing refund money or changing my book font type by myself to different style or size.

Desired Settlement: First of all, they have to fix Booksmart, all texts, type setting correctly. They asked me to use different text font type instead of fixing Booksmart setting. I already published my books with copyright. It's a big matter for me to change font type, size or just refund. 1. Please asked them to fix the Booksmart software(Blurb book creating tool) for all text font settings and spine size correctly. There is a critical error on "Futua" Font for Booksmart user. 2. Please reprint my books as soon as possible instead of refund or return.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ *************. I'm sorry to see the trouble you have experienced with your recent book, but see you may have placed an order after this BBB complaint was filed. We are not able to make changes to BookSmart before next year, so we will need to resolve this situation through either a coupon to adjust the book file or a refund. I see that you have ticket ****** in our system and ****** responded to you on Wednesday. Please respond to that ticket if we can be of additional assistance. Creating new tickets will make it take longer, and make it more difficult, for us to resolve this situation. Best Wishes, ** ******* Director, Customer Support, Blurb, Inc.

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered printed material. The printed quality is bad. It was order September 30, 2013. Received October 9, 2013. Order #*******. Order reference #********************. The finished printed book was badly put together. I filed a complaint on October 9, 2013 through their website at https://*****************. Request #******. Received a response on October 10, 2013, saying they would look into it. Never heard back from them. On October 21, 2013, wrote them back through the support website under my request, asking for a full refund since I hadn't heard back from them at all.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my money back, even the cost of shipping.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/28) */ Hello ******, I am very sorry to hear about the problem with your recently received book and the length of time it has taken us to find a solution. I see that we've now issued you a coupon code to update your book and reorder for free. Please let me know if you would prefer that I cancel the code and refund this order. I apologize for the inconvenience this issue and delay may have caused. Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding! Best Wishes, ** Blurb Customer Support Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I finally received the help. They offered the code and I was willing to accept their assistance. They offered some recommendations to avoid a few problems, but I still had questions. I replied back through their support section of their website with my questions. Asked for a timely response back. I wrote to them October 29th, 2013. I haven't received anything back. It is very discouraging and disappointing. I just wrote again, today, November 4th, 2013, directly replying to the support email they sent. I'm getting tired of waiting. Now I just want my money back and I never want to use their service again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/05) */ Hello ******, I am very sorry that we were unable to resolve this issue as quickly as needed. As requested I have issued you a full refund. Please look for a credit of $19.98 to post back to your account in several business days. I certainly understand if this experience will dissuade you from using Blurb again in the future. If you do choose to try us for a future project, and I hope you will, please accept the following coupon for 30% off the purchase price of your next book.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Blurb, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart