This business is not BBB accredited.

Webshots

200 Tamal Plz Fl 2, Corte Madera, CA 94925 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.webshots.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wallpaper and screen saver software for desktop and mobile applications.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Webshots include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Webshots
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2013 Business started: 07/19/1996 Business started locally: 07/19/1996 Business incorporated 03/02/2012 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Corey Nelson, Customer Support Mr. Michael Sitrin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Corey Nelson, Customer Support
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Service Area
This business service area covers: National.
Alternate Business Names
Threefold Photos, Inc.
Business Management

On October 2, 2012, the businesses ownership changed. Webshots was previously owned by American Greeting. A separate report is available under Smile by Webshots Previous Ownership.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Tamal Plz Fl 2

    Corte Madera, CA 94925

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My checking account is being charged by Webshots without my permission. I cancelled my account with Webshots about 2 years ago but I am still being charged thanks to my daughter reviewing my checking account. I cannot reach anyone with this organization and the information regarding websites does not work. Phone numbers are extremely hard to find. Since I am on a fixed income I need this stopped being taken out of my account. The company does not have my permission to debit my account in any form. Please help. Thank you very much.

Desired Settlement: Just want debit charges to stop. They have received about 2 years of payments that I did not authorize.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* (CSM) Contact Email: *****@webshots.com Hello *******, I am sorry you've had a problem contacting Webshots Support. The Webshots billing support phone number is listed with the charge on your bank or card statement. We also provide support links on our website at www.webshots.com. I do see your account in our system registered to the email address *********@att.net with the user name *********. I am not showing that this account was ever cancelled. I am showing that a confirmation email was sent to you when the account was created in September 2013 and another was sent in January 2014 when the monthly payment was declined by your bank. I am also see that several payment confirmation emails were sent as well. Did you receive these emails? Could they have gone to your junk or spam filter? I've cancelled your account per your request and issue a refund of the latest charge. You should see this refund back on the card that was charged in 3-5 business days if not sooner. I've also closed your account which strips all billing information. Your account will no longer renew. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My email was changed several years ago so where the email was sent does not get accessed. Each way I tried to contact this business was not accessible either by email or phone number. This is a difficult business to contact. Thank you for your help. By the way, my bank also tried to contact this business while I was present with no success.

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have been charging my credit card since Aug. 2013 at $2.99/mo after I canceled Webshots. They reactivated without me knowing. This company goes under 3 names. I have found out that Webshots/Smilesaver/Threephotos have reactivated all Webshots Premium members accounts without their knowledge and started charging the account $2.99/month for a service in August of 2013. I never authorized this. Webshots was sold in late 2012 and I closed my account and moved to SmugMug photo hosting service. Since the charges I have instructed my credit card company to block them and issue a credit. They can't credit back that far. Here's a link that provided more information on their scam. http://***********************************************************************************************What's really gets me is they have been charging on a credit card that expired in 2012. There's a service that can routinely charge a reoccurring charge even after it expired. I never knew this. What a potential scam risk this can cause, and it just happened. THIS IS A COPY OF THE LETTER I SENT THEM Dear Sirs I understand you are the current owners of webshots/Smilesaver. I've just noticed your company has been charging my card for years, I never agreed to this. I canceled service when Webshots was sold in late 2012. I did not authorise Webshots or Threefold Photos to charge my card after I closed my account. I did not resubscribe to Webshots or Threefold Photos. Quite simple your stealing. I have contacted my credit card company and I have AGAIN canceled service with WebShots/ Smile Saver/Threefold Photo. I'm filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission for your practices. Your even using and expired credit card from 2012, I didn't know this could be done. It takes a smart bottom feeder to do this, I give you credit. I have instructed the credit card company to block all future charges from Webshots or any affiliated company. I just got a cancellation email from Threefold Photos, I don't know this company. Why are they answering the email?

Desired Settlement: I want a credit of $23.92 for a charges of $2.99/month for 8 months. And they should also agree to stop all future charges. I want nothing to do with them. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ We responded to ******* within a few hours of being contacted through our support email on Sunday April 27. 2014. As requested, we've cancelled his account. No future billing will take place for his account. We also issued a refund for the charges back to his card as well as offered to send a live refund check for the charges that could not be refunded automatically. Please see reply email below. I've removed all personal information from the email response. Hello, Thank you for the email. When Webshots.com closed last year in October, your membership was transferred to Smile and then paused until Smile had a billable product for Wallpaper & Screensaver. Now that we've released the new Webshots Wallpaper & Screensaver software, all premium recurring memberships are starting to rebill at $2.99 a month for premium membership. You should have received several emails to the email address registered to your premium account prior to billing at ____ . We gave everyone a 30 day trial period, so users could opt out of the service before the account was actually billed. I've closed your account registered to _______ and issued 5 refund of $2.99 back to the card that was charged. You should see this refunds within 7-10 business days. Processing time may vary depending on your bank or credit card company. These refunds cover the monthly charges from December to April however, your account started billing after the free month in September. Unfortunately my billing system will not allow me to issue a refund back to the credit card past 90 days. We'd like to send you a refund check for September, October and November billing. All we'll need is your mailing address to send the check to. We do apologize for your account billing with out your knowledge as it was not shown as cancelled durning the transition is 2012. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I need a check for the balance due. It can be mailed to **** ****** **** ******** *** ******** ** XXXXX. I canceled and closed the account when webshots was closed. You shouldn't be able to reopen a closed account. That's a shady business practice. When can I exspect the check ? Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/30) */ ****, We've already closed your account and issued 5 refund of $2.99 back to the card that was charged. You should see this refunds within 7-10 business days. Processing time may vary depending on your bank or credit card company. These refunds cover the monthly charges from December to April however, your account started billing after the free month in September. Unfortunately my billing system will not allow me to issue a refund back to the credit card past 90 days. We'd like to send you a refund check for September, October and November billing in the amount of $8.97. Thank you for sending us your address. It usually takes 5-7 days to process and ship the live refund check. With the refunds back to your card and the refund check you've received a total refund of $23.92. We are not showing that your account was cancelled during the time of transition which is why your premium membership was paused and then reopened with the new service. We did send an email to your email address listed above in reference to the new account billing during a 30 day free trial of the new service issued to your account in August. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I\'ll accept the terms. you did reactivate the account without my knowledge. I don\'t want to ever hear from webs shots or any affiliated company in the future. Thank you. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/08/12) */ Hello ****., Thank you for the email. I do apologize, this was human error on my part when refunding your charges on April 27th. Although the refunds were issued, I failed to close out the renewal properly. I've issued 3 more refunds of $2.99 back to the card that was charged for May 23rd, June 23rd, and July 23rd payments, you should see these refunds back on the card that was charged in 3-5 business days. I've also made sure and have double checked that your account registered to ****@solidimage3d.com has been closed and all billing information stripped from our system. Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cannot access my photos at Smile.webshots.com. In early 2013, Webshots transferred their photo service to smile.webshots.com. Initially, I was able to access my photos. Later in 2013, I decided I wanted to back up the photos and close the account. I found after logging in, I could not access my photos. I have sent about three emails to Smile.com and have received no response accept for the computer generated message that "we have received your email". At this point I would just like to get my photos from them by CD or something so that I can close this account.

Desired Settlement: I just want my photos. They can send them by CD or DVD. Then I will close this account. There are several complaints about this company on the web, but it seems no one can do anything about it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ Ms. ***** asked to retrieve photos from previous owners. Since she was a paying user we had her photos and sent her a download tool to retrieve them. Instructions were sent on March 13 and we have not heard back from her.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CANCELED SERVICE. RECEIVED ONE REFUND, THEN WAS AGAIN CHARGED THE NEXT MONTH. 10/28/2013 WEBSHOTS WEBSHOTS CORTE MADER *********** BUSINESS SERVICE - Transactions FinApp - Press enter to edit Business Miscellaneous - Transactions FinApp - Press Enter to see links for various options -$ 2.99 10/10/2013 ELECTRONIC PAYMENT RECEIVED-THA - Transactions FinApp - Press enter to edit Credit Card Payments - Transactions FinApp - Press Enter to see links for various options $ 2.99

Desired Settlement: REFUND OF $2.99 AND NOT FUTHER CHARGES.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ The account for *** ********* has been cancelled and the amount that was charged refunded. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Webshots dissolved by new owners Dec 2012. SEP 2013 new owners begin charging old members for service. Webshots sold to new owners, new owners discontinue service to all members and delete all photos(the service was providing photo screen savers and storage of photos), Dec 2012. Sep and Oct 2013 my credit card gets billed $2.99 per month for new Webshots service that I did not sign up for nor was this charge authorized by me. My dad has been gone now since Jan 2012. This was his thing. The new owners of Webshots discontinued his account before his year was up and offered no refund even though a refund was requested by me on a number of occasions. Sep and Oct 2013 my credit card is charged for premium membership for New Webshots. I was not contacted by Webshots at anytime about beginning a new membership. My father's email account was never contacted regarding a new Webshots. Since the original Webshots was dismantled and all the members pictures deleted, I was pretty sure the service was dead. The new owners of Webshots/Smile started a service called Smile by Webshots for which I did not sign up to get and the service was discontinued I assume because it failed. Fast forward 9 months and I am getting charged for a service I did not sign up for nor did I authorize charges by Smile, or Webshots or whatever they are calling themselves now. This stinks of fraud. It is as though they kept everyone's information so they could charge them at some future date when they decided they needed the money. I am apparently not the only one. There is a website on Facebook dedicated to warning people of the "new" Webshots and that this new set of owners are crooks. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: My credit card's anti fraud division

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund. The refund cannot be sent via my credit card because my bank has closed the account due to fraudulent activity. They can send me a postal money order. No personal or company checks, I do not trust this company. I would also request they remove my name and my deceased father's name and all our personal information from their database as I do not want them selling my or my dad's information to other companies.(I do not want to have anything to do with this company ever again) I suspect the fraudulent activity was because Of this company. Someone should dig a little deeper here there is definitely something fishy. I am very careful with my card and accounts. I have had the card for many years without incident and I do not travel extensively. As soon as their charge showed up within weeks another fraudulent charge from the UK showed up on my account. Hence my bank closed the account. These guys are crooks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/29) */ Webshots dissolved by new owners Dec 2012. Answer: American Greetings (AG) was shutting down Webshots and Threefold Photos purchased some of the assets. SEP 2013 new owners begin charging old members for service. Answer: Correct. Webshots sold to new owners, new owners discontinue service to all members and delete all photos(the service was providing photo screen savers and storage of photos), Answer: During transition Threefold Photos, the new owners gave the screensaver and wallpaper service away for free while building the new system. No photos were deleted by Threefold. There was a transition period with AG where users could download their personal photos. On December 1, 2012 AG deleted all unclaimed photos. Photos from paying users were transferred to Threefold servers. Dec 2012. Sep and Oct 2013 my credit card gets billed $2.99 per month for new Webshots service that I did not sign up for nor was this charge authorized by me. Answer: Once our service was ready we notified users with multiple emails alerting them the auto renew they signed up for with their subscription (from AG) would be activated again unless they decided to cancel. The new owners of Webshots discontinued his account before his year was up and offered no refund even though a refund was requested by me on a number of occasions. Answer: Refunds were paid out to anyone that requested and we provided a simple form on our site to get a refund. We never collected the money so were refunding money we never got in the first place. Several thousand users were refunded. Sep and Oct 2013 my credit card is charged for premium membership for New Webshots. I was not contacted by Webshots at anytime about beginning a new membership. Answer: We sent numerous emails to the account on file explaining that the service would be turned back on. Fast forward 9 months and I am getting charged for a service I did not sign up for nor did I authorize charges by Smile, or Webshots or whatever they are calling themselves now. Answer: Happy to send a refund. This stinks of fraud. It is as though they kept everyone's information so they could charge them at some future date when they decided they needed the money. Answer: Turned peoples subscription back on when we felt we had a product to sell. Prior to that date we paid $100's of thousands of dollars to keep those paying users photos on our servers. I am apparently not the only one. There is a website on Facebook dedicated to warning people of the "new" Webshots and that this new set of owners are crooks. Answer: There are two sides to every story. *** ******* from the site above continues to spread her fictional version of the story. Again, we will gladly cancel your account and provide a refund. Please let me know the email for the account and mailing address for a refund. Regardless, I'm sorry for the frustration we may have caused. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/31) */ Our condolences for your fathers passing. Our records show a refund for both charges was made (see attachment). If for some reason the bank does not transfer the money back to you because of the closed account then we will send you a check.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Threefold Photos in the guise of Webshots billed me $2.99 in the month of September when I had not ordered from this company. I had cancelled my subscription with Webshots in 2012. I had not received any information that I would be billed.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I expect a refund of $2.99. I realized this is a small sum. It is the principal of the matter - billing people without their knowledge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ We apologize for billing you for something you do not want and will refund your card. However, I can not find your name or email in our system which is why you never would have received any emails from us around your account. Is there an old email or different name your account is under so I can credit your card and cancel your account?

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no email response after several emails and billed when I said I did not want to renew unless issues resolved I loved webshots before smile. then it never really worked and now with the new webshots it still is not doing everything I need it to do. I have used their "helpful notes" but wasn't able to resolve this. I wrote them that I didn't want to pay the new premium until this was resolved and they have ignored all my requests. I can't add my own photos, I can't add old webshots or smile photos. THey are charging more for less features than before. I don't like it that I cant talk to someone on phone or get chat to resolve these issues.

Desired Settlement: I want to talk with a tech person on the phone till webshots works on my computer the way it is suppose to work. And is it doesnt I want a refund for the last year since Smile started and you were holding my money captive

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Your credit card was refunded the $2.99 on October 2 and your account was also cancelled. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want to know how the software works not to have it canceled. I want to talk with a tech person on the phone till webshots works on my computer the way it is suppose to work. Why is that asking too much?

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Webshots erased my online album without notifying me, then initiated an authorized charge of $2.99 for unknown services. I have been a "Premium" member of Webshots since 2005, paying $29.88 a year to have unlimited photos and photo albums on their site. They erased my online albums without notifying me, then initiated an unauthorized charge of $2.99 for unknown services. My email address has not changed since at least 2000, so it does not add up that they have the wrong email address which they used to notify me of changes. I have disputed the charge with my credit card money but feel ill-used as a loyal customer and would have appreciated warning about the changes in my service and contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my investment in their services. I paid every year for a reason - to keep my albums available to my friends and family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/03) */ My apologies for the aggravation this has caused. We credited your card $2.99 and cancelled your account.

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: being charged $3.18 on my visa debit 1 year after accounts were canceled with webshots. 1 year ago i canceled my webshots account, I had received a refund between October 2012 and November of 2012. today (1 year later)October 10th 2013 while reviewing my online banking i was made aware that webshots performed the following transactions on my virtual visa card without my authorization to do so. October 1st 2013 withdraw 3.16 October 4th 2013 deposited 3.16 October 4th 2013 withdraw 3.18 please note that my bank has been made aware of this, we attempted a virtual visa/visa credit card dispute but the contact phone number only contains a recording providing information to e-mail webshots support. which i have done but have yet to hear back from them.

Desired Settlement: refund of any and all monies withdrawn from my accounts and to stop any and all access to my accounts as was supposed to be done in october/november of 2012.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Our apologies. We credited your account $2.99 (the amount charged -- consumer must be paying a banking fee that brings total to $3.18) and we cancelled your account. No more charges will be made to this account. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) i accept the response although after checking for transactions i have yet to receive their credit.

10/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company suddenly started automatic billing again after one year without service, without my authorization, and provides no way to request a refund. The company apparently went out of business or otherwise suspended service and billing one year ago. Now, suddenly they resumed automatic billing without my authorization or proper notice to me. I want to request a refund, but they provide no way for me to contact them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of course, but even more than that I want to warn others about what is clearly an improper and dishonest business practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/27) */ We refunded customer and closed account.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New company that was d/cing current on line web program. They hacked our computers and hijacked the old programs we had for 8+ years Late 2012, an email was sent saying that Webshots would cease to be and you would no longer be able to download or upload pics on internet. OK. However, this new company invaded our privacy by hacking into our computers and hijacking our original (for free) program that had been offered to us. They continue to do this, even currently. Is this legal "hacking". How can a new company arbitrarily invade one's privacy and remove something that is not part of their current business?

Desired Settlement: Restore my old webshots program and pictures and remove themselves from our computers

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/25) */ American Greetings, Inc. sold partial assets to Threefold Photos, which included the Webshots software mentioned by Mr *****. As the new owners, we updated this software to be more relevant so the company could stay up to date with new technologies and trends. As a free user of the software, Mr ***** can still display this photos from his hard drive using the Webshots screensaver program. If this is not acceptable, then he should remove the software by following the instructions here: https://webshots.desk.com/customer/portal/articles/XXXXXXX-how-do-i-uninstall-the-software- Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am only partially satisfied. What a chore replenishing all photos and-still-no answers re: highjacking the program originally. And, no offer to restore what was taken! It dosn't say----Is the "original" WEBSHOTS program going to be gratis or cost? How will it work? What tracking mechanisms will this program include by the company? Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/03) */ Re: Converting your pictures. We just released this tool as a way to convert your images from the American Greetings format to a conventional file type. Download this program and run to convert the files: http://download-webshots-com.s3.amazonaws.com/extractor-latest.exe Re: Original American Greetings Webshots program. We have located the older version and will be releasing soon on Webshots.com.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not apply for services nor authorized deduction for services from my checking account at Threefold Photos ***************, Corte Madera, CA 94925. I have sent e-mails to ******************* and have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: Cancel subscription!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ Cancelled account and credited customers credit card. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) On September 25, 2013, the business provided the following information: Cancelled account and credited customers credit card. Thank You for correcting this matter. I will check to see if my account was credited as stated above. ****************

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WEBSITE DUPED ME INTO PAYING A MEMBERSHIP BY STOPPING SERVICE FOR UPLOADS, WITH THE OWNERS ALREADY AWARE THEY WERE KILLING THE SITE AROUND 9/6/2012, I FOUND I COULD NO LONGER EDIT OR ADD POHOTOS TO THE WEBSHOTS SITE THAT I HAD BEEN USING FOR YEARSM AND HAD SEVERAL ALBUMS OF PHOTOS UPLOADED TO THE SITE. TO CONTINUE TO USE THE SITE, I HAD TO NOW BUY A MEMBERSHIP. I DIDN'T SEE THAT AS A PROBLEM, SO I BOUGHT IN. LESS THAN A MONTH AFTER DOING THIS, MEMBERS WERE NOTIFIED THAT THE "NEW OWNERS" (WHO HAD ALREADY PURCHASED THE SITE PRIOR TO MY MEMBERSHIP PURCHASE, BASED ON SEVERA ARTICLES I FOUND ON THE INTERNET) WERE GOING TO REMOVE THE WEBSHOTS SITE AND IT WOULD NOT BE USABLE IN THE SAME FORMAT AS IN THE PAST. THEY ALSO IMMEDIATELY CUT THE ACCESS TO THE PHOTOS FOR USE IN LINKS OR NEWSGROUPS, AS WELL AS EDITING AND UPLOADING ADITIONAL PHOTOS. I ASKED AT THEAT TIME FOR A REFUND AS THEY POSTED THAT THIS WOULD BE POSSIBLE AND THEY WOULD BE WORKING ON DOING THAT. I HAVE WRITTEN THEM AFTER SENDING THE FORM FROM THE SITE (THEY SAY THEY NEVER GOT IT - IT WAS SENT THE FIRST DAY THAT I SAW THE OPPORTUNITY TO REQUEST CANCELLATION, AND SPECIFIED I WANTED AN 11 MONTH REFUND AT MINIMUM AS THEY HAD PRETTY MUCH DONE AWAY WITH WHAT I HAD PAID FOR AFTER ONE MONTH. I HAVE SENT SEVERAL EMAILS ASKING WHAT IS GOING ON AND WHERE IS THE PROMISED REFUND, AND GET A SONG AND DANCE EMAIL BACK ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE DOING (LIKE I REALLY CARE?) AND THAT THEY ARE PROCESSING REFUNDS. THIS IS NOW ABOUT 8 MONTHS LATER - STILL NO REFUND, YEARS OF LINKS TO NEWSGROUPS I FREQUENT NOW HAVE POSTS WITH PHOTOS THAT NO LONGER EXIST, AND EVENTS AND STUFF I HAD PHOTODOCUMENTED THERE ARE GONE. I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK AT LEAST!

Desired Settlement: I PAID THE SITE 19.99 FOR A ONE YEAR MEMBERSHIP AND WAS ABLE TO EDIT AND UPLOAD FOR A MATTER OF DAYS BEFORE THEY CUT OFF THE EDITING AND UPLOADING, AS WELL AS DUMPING EVERY PHOTO ALBUM I HAD BUILT INTO A JUMBLE OF DISORGANIZED CHAOS. I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK. I DO WISH THAT THEY HAD TO PAY FOR TH TIME SPENT IN BUILDING THE ALBUMS AND THE LOSS OF PHOTOS THAT WERE ONLY LOCATED ON THEIR SITE, BUT I DOUBT THAT WOULD HAPPEN. THE NEW OWNERS WERE ALREADY IN PLACE WHEN THE CHANGES IN THE ORIGINAL SITE MADE ME BUY A MEMBERSHIP, AND THEY HAPPILY TOOK MY AS WELL AS A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLES') MONEY KNOWING WHAT THEY WERE GOING TO DO - THE ABILITY TO USE THE SITE AS HAD ALWAYS BEEN THERE WAS NOT ANYWHERE IN THE SCOPE OF WHAT THEY PLANNED TO DO - AND DID - WITH THE OLD WEBSHOTS SITE. DELIBERATE MISINFORMATION, DECEPTIVE PRACTICES, AND COMPLETE DISREGARD FOR THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE SITE IS WHAT THIS ALL CAME DOWN TO. TAKE A LOOK ONLINE AT THE "SMILE BY WEBSHOTS SUCKS" STUFF THAT IS ACCESSABLE THROUGH GOOGLE, YAHOO, AND OTHE SEARCH ENGINES. THE LOSS OF ALL OF MY PHOTOS AND POSTING LINKS WAS A GREAT PERSONAL LOSS, AS WELL AS REFERENCE MATERIAL FOR OTHER PEOPLE WITH SIMILAR INTERESTS.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****Contact Phone: na Contact Email: *****Our apologies. We bought the company on 10/2/2012 and we did agree to reimburse anyone who asked for a pro-rated refund for unused portions of their membership. We owe Ron $27.75 and will send him a check. He wasn't in our system as having requested one, but he is now. We've also closed his account so his subscription won't be renewed. Our apologies for the change in service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Webshots
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)