This business is not BBB accredited.

Telltale Games

Phone: (415) 258-1638 101 Glacier Point Suite E, San Rafael, CA 94901 http://www.telltalegames.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Telltale Games include:

  • Failure to respond to 16 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Telltale Games include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Telltale Games
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2004 Business started locally: 04/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dan Connors, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Dan Connors, CEO
Number of Employees

116

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Alternate Business Names
Telltale Inc. The Walking Dead

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 Glacier Point Suite E

    San Rafael, CA 94901 (415) 258-1638

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought minecraft story mode season pass disk. Disk will not allow me to download fourth part of game without paying more. I purchased the season pass mine craft story mode disk for my son for Christmas. This disc is supposed to allow the purchaser to be able to download each part of the game as soon as it is released for no additional cost. When the fourth chapter in the game came out however it would not allow me to download it wilt paying more money. Telltale games was made aware of this issue over a week ago and has said they are aware of the issue but as of this time have not been able to fix it. My child has not been able to download this part of the game as promised when the disk was purchased and has now waited over a week to continue playing the game.

Desired Settlement: Since the disk does not allow my child to download each episode of the game as it comes out I would like a full refund of the purchase price.

12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No response from customer support after attempts were made to get a question answered. My 11 year old autistic son is a huge fan of Minecraft. He recently was given the new Minecraft Story mode game on the Xbox 360. Upon completing it the end of it had a dedication to someone and it made him curious. He asked me to help him contact Telltale support to find out who the person was. I helped him submit a ticket with their support team 14 days ago and still have yet to receive more than the initial email thanking me for submitting my support request. Below are the messages that were sent to their support team over the last 2 weeks.. *************** October 16, XXXX XX:XX Thank you for reading my request. My name is ****** and I am 11 years old. First I would like to tell you that, the first episode on Xbox 360 was awesome! My favorite part was making the treehouse. I cannot wait for the next episode to come out, it is a really cool game. I have one question though, who is *********? At the end of the credits it says in memory of *********. Thank you, MNECRAFT IS AWESOME! ****** Avatar *************** October 18, XXXX XX:XX Hello this is ******'s Mother. I can't help but noticed you have this ticket marked as solved with literally no response yet....do you intend to answer my son's question or are you just brushing it off? - ******* Avatar *************** October 21, XXXX XX:XX This is an innocent question from an 11 year old kid that thinks the world of your game- please do the right thing and just answer his question....thank you- *******, ******'s Mother Avatar *************** Tuesday at 07:34 This request is almost 2 weeks old and you all haven't touched it...am I really going to have to contact the better business bureau to get this simple question from an 11 year old answered? Sincerely- HORRIBLE response time for your support team...*******

Desired Settlement: My son would just like to know who the person was that the dedication was made for please, that is all.

4/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Telltale continues to market a game that is known to be defective to its Mac-using consumer base. Has ignored my request for a refund. On March 6th, I purchased 'Puzzle Agent 2' from the steam store, and since then, despite countless attempts, I have never been able to successfully launch the game as it crashes each time I attempt to run it. I have restarted steam and my computer, reinstalled the game, checked the files for corruption, and still have the same issue. I checked the Steam forums for answers and discovered that this is an issue that is almost guaranteed to happen to Mac users using on any operating system that was released within the last two years. Further, Telltale has also been aware of the issue at least two years now, and claimed (two years ago) that they would be developing a "patch" to rectify the situation. However today the original, malfunctioning Mac version is still on sale in the steam store because they continue to market the game, knowing fully well that they haven't fixed it. I am completely dissatisfied with this purchase, and requested a refund for the $9.99 that I paid for a completely nonfunctional game. I emailed my request to the support team on March 6th, 20 minutes after I downloaded and did troubleshooting with the game. They have never contacted me with regard to my complaint. They refuse to offer technical support over the phone ( phones are reserved for "business inquiries only"), so I am forced to rely on them to reply to my email. If their track record for replying to an email matches their record for developing a patch, then an email response (or refund for that matter) is likely to never materialize.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the price of the game ($9.99).

4/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received their game "The Wolf Among Us" for a gift which was unplayable. The Company is doing nothing to fix the problems or refund my money. In early February I received a disk copy of their video game "The Wolf Among Us" for the Xbox 360. I tried playing the game many times but due to the lagging and skipping I experience in the game the game is unplayable. I posted on their website asking for support along with many other people having the exact same problems I am. I have tried all the options they gave to try and make the game work properly like it is supposed to but none of their solutions make any difference to improve the game. I also emailed their support team with no response yet and it has been weeks since the email was sent.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like to either see a $29.99 refund for the game or a code for the digital copy so that I may finally be able to play the game properly.

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered an online game with bugs, was not prompted to read return/refund policy at any time during my transaction, refuses to refund $29.95 On December 8, I ordered Game of Thrones Episode 1 (PC download) from the company. From the start, the game was full of bugs and became virtually inoperable. After reading numerous reviews and similar complaints from other customers on the company's website, I decided to contact them and requested a refund for the faulty product on January 12. By February 9, I had to receive a response from customer support regarding my inquiry. I then informed them, both in email and on the website forums, that if I did not receive a response I was going to file a complaint with the BBB. I finally received the response, on both the forums and in email, and "****" stated that they would not be refunding me because it was past the 30-day return policy. However, the problem with this is I was never prompted to read a return/refund policy when during my original purchase nor was it included in the receipt that was emailed to me. It is not visible on the website. However, it is conveniently nestled in the "Terms of Use," located by a very small link located at the homepage of the website. I feel that this is very faulty business practices regarding their lack of communication, the faulty product, and the fact that they do not clearly represent the return/refund policy when/where appropriate. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: $29.99

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Tales from the Borderlands with the company stating a new episode 4-6 weeks.Ep 1 was released November 25, 2014.It is now 13wksand 4days Purchased Tales from the Borderlands with the company stating a new episode 4-6 weeks.Episode 1 was released November 25, 2014.It is now 13wksand 4days. When trying to contact this company via phone or email, there are never any responses to anything from anyone. I do not want the answer of "it will be released soon" I want a specific sate just like others who already prepaid for this product with no product yet. Have left messages with ************************ and neither email or call back.

Desired Settlement: Rest of the Tales from the Borderlands to be released at the same time when the next release is released. Or at least 2 episodes at once.

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NO response after sending in my proof of purchase and details they asked for by email. I am know finding out they been doing this for over a year now This company has ignored all my attempts at contacting them by phone ,email or others after the initial ticket placed with them. I had just wanted to get a updated status of the process. Now I want a working product or my money back in return. If a company can't honor their product with a warranty and follow thru? Then they should not be selling it to customers. plain and simple

Desired Settlement: Working replacement product or my money back in return

3/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a video game "a wolf among us", the actual disk. The disk does not play on the console (Xbox 360). I can't return game to Best Buy since it has been open. I emailed customer support of which took over 2 weeks for a response, and then the response was for the wrong game, like they didn't even read my email. The second email I got from them said to try a bunch of things with my Xbox (clear the cache, clear history, etc) which I told them in the first email o had already done. This email took another two weeks to respond again. I sent a third email explaining I had already tried everything under the sun, it has now been a month and no response via email or their online forum. If you call, you just go through to voicemail, of which is full so you can't leave a message. Terrible product and ridiculously bad customer service.

Desired Settlement: A refund, disk that will actually play, online code to download the game from Xbox live, or a credit on Xbox to purchase any new game.

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to deliver product to Kindle customers. Telltale Games claims to be an episodic gaming company. I purchased "The Wolf Among Us" for my Kindle several months ago. The fourth episode of this game was released over 2 months ago for ALL other platforms. ALL other customers have received the product, except Kindle customers. Kindle customers pay the exact same price for a Season Pass as all other platform customers, yet we have received NO communication and NO product from Telltale. This is seriously unprofessional. Every time I contact them, they tell me that they'll relay the message to the "team". They provide NO information on when I will receive my product. This is outright theft and misrepresentation on their part. In no place do they state that Kindle customers are treated differently from other platform customers. They ought to make that distinction so customers can be informed PRIOR to spending their hard-earned money on the product. Kindle is the ONLY platform that is treated in such a negligent way and I think it's discriminatory and unprofessional. I did not purchase the game directly from them. I bought it through Amazon, but Telltale is responsible for the release of the Kindle version, not Amazon. I want my product. I don't want a refund. I just want what was promised to me.

Desired Settlement: I want the product I paid for. I want my game, the same game that everyone else has received.

5/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought episodes 2-5 and 400 days from the company. Now because of a update I am unable to play the games I payed for. Problems started in March. Original Game was free, I bought 1 episode originally then bought the combo pack for $14.99 then the 400 days separate when it came out.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to restore and play my game since the new one came out and I want to transfer my saved games to the new one. Ive already bought the new game and all the expansion episodes.

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The walking dead season 2 episode 2 won't download for macs the game dlc has been out for 24 hours and Support is not responding to anyone in regards to the download issue we get a single guy telltale mike who tells us troubleshooting steps that work for windows not macs. the Date of the dlc release is 3/4/2014. purchased the game on December 18th, 2013 payment amount is 24.99, order number XXXXXX, and used paypal to purchase.

Desired Settlement: i would like to be given a steam key to be able to use the game with.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Telltale included a joke in Poker Night 2 that made fun of the original voice actors of *** and ***, actors which it didn't include in its voice cast. I am writing to you to complain about a certain joke in Poker Night 2 that made fun of **** ****** and **** ******** the two original voice actors of *** and ***. In one scene, ClapTrap is having a conversation with ***, and it goes like this: CLAPTRAP: Am I eating crazy chips or did you use to have a different voice? ***: You mean more like this? "****-oooo!" CLAPTRAP: That's it! What happened to it! ***: Criminals used to laugh at me. They said my voice was too goofy. So I got a voice coach. Now when I say, "Freeze, dirtbags!" the dirtbags really freeze. CLAPTRAP: Okay, but what's HIS excuse? ***: Ah, *** just fell in love with his ***** ********* impersonation one day, and it kind of stuck. Considering the alternatives, I kind of dodged a bullet there. "My voice was too goofy" is a clear reference to **** ******* who is the current official voice of Goofy, and also the original voice of ***. He voiced *** in two *** and *** games - *** and *** Hit the Road and *** and ***: Freelance Police. The latter was never finished, and the former is currently not being sold anywhere in the United States, not even on Steam, Gametap, or Good Old Games. In those two games, **** ******* also voiced ***. Neither of those two actors have been included in Telltale's sixteen *** and *** episodes, nor have they been included in either of the two Poker Night games or any game from Telltale. Appalled that Telltale would dare make fun of actors it has not hired, I wrote a complaint letter to the company in May of 2013. That letter did not get a response. This month, I have also sent a message to ***** ******* on Facebook, requesting a special edition that included the actors Telltale made fun of, but my message was once again ignored.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a redubbed version of Poker Night 2, with all of ***** ********* dialogue redubbed by **** ****** and all of ***** ******* dialogue redubbed by **** ******** I also want the abovementioned conversation changed so that it no longer makes fun of the two original actors.

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4 unauthorized charges for 24.99 were made to my debit card. There were 5 authorizations made to my debit card when I saw them I started trying to find out what they were. I found out that the site had told my 10 year old autistic son to get a card. He did. He never could get the game to work and it kept asking him to put in the numbers. It was 4 charges for the very same game with my sons email *************@gmail.com all within a couple hours. I have called them multiple times and explained the issue and also emailed them multiple times to explain. I finally got an email back saying that my email was not on record. Of course I had already given them the email that had been used. I sent them another email telling them that. The games were never played or were ever even able to be authorized but my card was still charged 24.99 four times which came out of my checking account. They refuse to answer back and you can get nothing on their phone line other than a voice mail for a ****. They gave my issue a ticket number of 9801. and that was the last I heard from them. I would think it should have been a red flag to any honest company when the same card with the same email address ordered the same game 4 times within a 2 hour time frame.

Desired Settlement: I want them to reverse the charges on my card.

10/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a game from them and it doesn't work. There is a severe mouse delay within the game that prevents me from doing anything. I bought a game from them and there is a severe mouse delay within the game. I am not the only one with this issue and they refuse to give me a refund and will only provide a credit for another game (which will probably have the exact same issues). My mouse works perfectly fine outside of the game. The game was 75% off a few days after I bought it and when I asked about getting a price adjustment they ignored me. My computer met all of the specification required so their is a defect in the game. They offered no solutions except for a credit for the full amount. I don't want a credit especially when I literally played it for 5 minutes trying to get it to work and when the game went to 75% off on Steam. I can't play the game if the mouse is lagging 5 to 10 seconds, it doesn't work. I don't want to spend hours trying to fix a game that should have worked as soon as I installed it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund or A price adjustment for 75% off and I will accept a store credit for the rest. I would prefer not having a store credit since I've had to deal with their lack of customer service and wish to have no further dealings with this company.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They make video games, and I bought one called The Walking Dead which is unplayable, I have informed them of the issue but no response back Problem Date: 19/06/13 Purchase Date: (varies, game is in 5 episodes all released last year)

Desired Settlement: Either a refund or a replacement for a faulty product which they have sold to me


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Telltale Games
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)