BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2006

Oracle America, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(650) 506-7000View Additional Phone Numbers500 Oracle Pkwy, Redwood CityCA 94065-1677

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers database software sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2006

BBB has determined that Oracle America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oracle America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: This company appears to be a threat to the security of my personal computer in the name of "service."
Apparently this company issues the Java software, without which many internet features do not work properly (at least that is how they market themselves). I have tried to resist Java, but I guess it got on my computer somehow.
Now Oracle sends me a message requesting that I allow them to "make changes to" my hard drive supposedly to update the Java software. HOWEVER, the security certificate attached to the request EXPIRED on 6 July (today is 20 October).
I have no intention of allowing any entity without current security to get anywhere near my hard drive. Is Oracle just unable to stay current? Are they incompetent as to their obligations? Just lazy? Incompetent generally?
OR ARE THEY JUST SCAMMING AND LOOKING FOR ACCESS TO INNOCENT PEOPLE'S PERSONAL COMPUTERS?
This suggests to me that nothing about Oracle is trustworthy.
Please advise me about submitting my concerns to the appropriate federal agency, as I believe this may indicate a problem that transcends business practices. Thanks.

Initial Business Response
We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that producing secure products is one of Oracle's greatest priorities. The company continues to take a number of measures to ensure the security-worthiness of Java.

The Java software may have been pre-installed on your computer, it may have been installed by other software that required it, or installed by you or someone with access to your computer. Java is free software and may be removed at any time by following instructions at *****.

If you choose to continue using Java software, the following information addresses your specific questions.
* The "make changes" prompt is a normal operating function of Microsoft Windows, and is likely triggered by the Java Auto Update feature described at http://java.com/autoupdate (instructions for changing the update settings are included).
* The expired security certificate is a known issue in certain versions and configurations of Microsoft Windows documented at *****. If you are still concerned by this warning and wish to continue using Java software, we strongly recommend removing your current version of Java as described at*****/remove and then installing the latest version available for download at *****.


If you have any further questions, please visit the Java Help Center at *****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have also queried Microsoft about this issue, without getting any response. Essentially Oracle has told me nothing about why their security certificate is not up-to-date; instead, they have simply said it is a "known issue." Why don't they update their security certificate? Could it be that they are NOT SECURE and therefore cannot get the necessary certificate? In light of the fact they do NOT have a certificate, their representation that they "continue to take a number of measures to ensure the security-worthiness of Java" WITHOUT MENTION OF ANY SUCH MEASURES is disingenuous at the least, and probably just plain false. No. I do not consider this to have addressed my concern that Oracle seeks to have me allow them to make changes to my hard drive. There is no evidence whatsoever that doing ** would not render my data NOT secure. Rather than answer the concern, they make a declaration contrary to the facts already presented: I see evidence that they do not have security certification, and yet they tell me they are secure. ** now they are lying? How can BBB endorse a company that simply denies the facts and suggests that the consumer go ahead and trust them by installing their product? Is BBB prepared to defend Oracle when the Java download proves insecure? (By the way, the Java download I do have came directly from Java don't blame Microsoft, even though they perhaps stupidly rely on Java.) I do not have any particular interest in using Java, EXCEPT THAT MANY MICROSOFT PROGRAMS DO NOT PERFORM WELL WITHOUT IT. You may be certain Microsoft will receive a copy of this correspondence. Class action, anyone?

Concerning a "middle ground" I outlined the information I need from Oracle in a previous email. It seems to me that their providing the information is middle ground enough. Why would they not be willing to explain to me a reason to trust them notwithstanding the FACT that their security certificate is expired?

Final Business Response
There are different reasons a user may run into an expired installer or auto-update, the most typical of which is that a user aborts an install/update attempt and tries it again at a later date after the expiration has passed. In this case, the security certificate expiration, the warning, and the related help page are functioning as intended to encourage users to get the most current Java version directly.

For reference, each Java update includes renewed expiry dates and information with the installer and auto-update service. Users who are keeping up-to-date and not running old software won't encounter security certificate expiration warnings.

The best way to manage a certificate expired warning, as explained at *****, is to install the latest version of Java directly downloaded from*****. Java is gratis software and no user should ever run software they are not comfortable with. Instructions on removing Java can be found at *****.

Consumer Response
I have heard nothing about the captioned matter for almost a month. Will you please advise me of its status?

Oracle still has not explained why their security certificate has expired, nor have they taken any action to get a new security certificate, as is evident from the fact that EVERY DAY THEY CONTINUE TO INTERRUPT MY USE OF MY COMPUTER TO ASK IF THEY CAN MAKE CHANGES TO MY HARD DRIVE, AND THEIR POP-UP REQUEST STILL SHOWS THE EXPIRED SECURITY CERTIFICATE.

If necessary, please consider this a new complaint against Oracle for their continuing interruptions and for their negligence: any reasonable company doing business on the internet would have a current security certificate.

What I want from them is primarily that they cease and desist from bothering me.

Thanks for your prompt attention.


Business Response
There are 2 ways to avoid getting expired security certificate messages:

1. Install the latest version of Java by downloading it from http://java.com/download (each Java update includes renewed expiry dates)
2. Remove Java entirely by following instructions at http://java.com/remove

Regards,
Oracle Global Customer Programs


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is the certificate on the "LATEST VERSION UPDATE" which is expired. I cannot get the update, because the update is sent on a certificate which expired last July. The message comes every day, and the message still comes with an EXPIRED certificate. It is ridiculous for them to tell me to get the updated version in order to see an updated certificate, because it is the updated version that keeps coming with the same old expired certificate. WHY CAN'T THEY GET THEIR SECURITY CERTIFICATE UPDATED?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Oracle did not honor the Raffle Prize as agreed. I won a Raffle and they did not provide the Open world Pass.
Helllo There -

Oracle did not honor the Raffle Prize as agreed.

I attended an Oracle Conference which was on 7/19/2013 in Santa Ana,CA. In which I own a Raffle It was a pass(worth $2700) to the Oracle open world(2013).
I was contacted by Oracle personnel ******** ***** on 7/22/2013 for filling up the Reistration Form so that they could issue the pass.
I duely filled up the form on 7/22/2013 and sent it through email to ******** and other oracle employees.
I did not receive the Pass at all, so I contacted Oracle personnel on 9/24/2013 inquiring the reason for not sending the pass. ORacle employee ******** *****
said she was sorry for the confusion. assured me that oracle would compensate this as the open world had already started on 9/22/2013 and also, it
was there mistake in not sending the pass.

I received a call from her on 9/25/2013(Wed) asking me to attend the confernce for the remaining two days(wed and Thu).I told her that I would not
able to attend as I do not reside in San Franciso and woudl have to make travel arranges , apply leave etc.


Did not receive any email from the or any compensation from them.


I have all emails exchanged between my and the oracle employees to support my claim



Initial Business Response
Oracle will be contacting Mr. ******* directly to address this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you BBB for you support. I am afraid I cannot acceept the solution provide by Oracle.I would like Oracle to compensate me Monetarily. The reason being I do not want to wait for another one year and chase oracle for the pass. From my pas experience , I know how hard is that. I would like them to honor the 2013 raffle Prize by providing the equvalent Money as they did not provide me the pass on time even after follow ups.

Thank you so much.

Final Business Response
Oracle sent another email to Mr. ******* today using his company email address of record (instead of his personal email address indicated in this complaint).

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/1995Business started: 01/01/1979
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1987, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Bush (Global Customer Programs)
Number of Employees

74000

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Industry Tips
Computer Software Piracy

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oracle America, Inc.

500 Oracle Pkwy

Redwood City, CA 94065-1677

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oracle America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 223-1711
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Computer Software Piracy
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.