Text Sizesmall medium large

This business is not BBB accredited.

Livescribe Inc

Phone: (510) 777-0071 Fax: (510) 777-0159 7677 Oakport Street 12th floor, Oakland, CA 94621 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.livescribe.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Livescribe Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Livescribe Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 31
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 40

Additional Complaint Information

Livescribe came to BBB's attention in October 2009. A review of the company was done in October 2015. Complaints on file with BBB state the OLED display on the smart pens goes dark after a few times of usage, making the product defective.

A letter was sent to Livescribe, Inc. requesting they address the above issues as well as explain the warranty for the pens, the steps they are taking to address the OLED display on the pens going dark, and the process for returning or replacing the pen.

Livescribe Inc. responded with the following:

1. Warranty summary - Livescribe warrants a Smartpen to be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use for a period of 1 year from the date of original direct or retail purchase. A replacement Smartpen is issued for smartpens under warranty. People may also exercise other rights (hardware, consumer, etc.) that vary from state to state and country to country.
2. Return Policy & Warranty period - We have a 30-day Return Policy for any purchases made through our webstore (store.livescribe.com). Below please find details regarding our broader warranty program for all smartpens purchased, both through our online store and through any third-party reseller/retailer:
Smartpen Warranty: 1 year general warranty with an extended 3 year warranty for OLED Screen (increased from 2 years on January 1, 2015)
o Extended OLED Warranty: Historically the warranty has been 2 years. By taking advantage of advancements in OLED technology, we are now able to offer a 3 year warranty. This policy change went into effect on January 1, 2015.

3. How we are addressing the OLED issue - If any customer experiences an issue related to OLED screen performance during the warranty period, we have a full replacement policy (details provided below in item 4). OLED screen failure has never occurred at a rate to indicate an underlying defect with the parts we use in our smartpens. At the same time, though, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our customers' experience with our products and have continued to take advantage of advances in OLED technology to benefit our customers.

The OLED (organic light-emitting diode) warranty has historically been 2 years, but thanks to ongoing improvements in OLED technology, Livescribe now offers Smartpen customers a 3-year warranty on the OLED display screen used in our smartpens. This extension applies to Echo and Sky/wifi smartpens purchased on or after January 1, 2015. Over the seven years Livescribe has been making smartpens with more than a million smartpens sold, our OLED displays have proven to be reliable and the vast majority of our customers have not encountered problems.

With that said, Livescribe smartpens do require proper maintenance and usage in order to ensure longevity like any other electronic device. Note that failure to properly maintain a Smartpen can cause premature failure of the battery, display or other hardware components. We recommend performing a complete battery cycle each month (drain battery and recharge for 2.5 hours). Storing a Smartpen for long periods of time such as 3 months or for Summer Break is not considered proper maintenance. Additionally, low humidity environments can lead to static electricity; high humidity environments can lead to condensation - both of which are harmful to your Smartpen.

These care instructions and other information related to our smartpens and warranties are accessible online via our Support site. We also share much of this information with customers who choose to register their smartpens and elect to receive emails from Livescribe. For registered customers, we also send reminder emails when their warranty end-date is approaching. We remind customers to check their smartpens and encourage them to take advantage of the warranty if any problems have arisen.

For customers who have fallen outside of their warranty, we have launched a number of programs to help:

a) We offer significant discounts on new smartpens. Discounts vary on a case-by-case basis.
b) When possible, we also offer a refurbished Smartpen program, allowing customers to purchase refurbished replacement smartpens for $49.95. These smartpens are fully covered by our latest warranty. The program is constrained by inventory, though, and is currently on hold.

4. Returns/Warranty Replacements Process
Refunds for purchases from Livescribe.com: If purchased directly from Livescribe, customers can return their Smartpen within 30 days of purchase for a full refund. In order to return a Livescribe purchase, an individual must contact Customer Support at CS@livescribe.com in order to receive a CRMA# as well as return instructions. Customer Service makes exceptions for customers beyond the 30-day return window, but that is handled on a case-by-case basis.

In-Warranty Replacements: For an in-warranty replacement, an individual must address the issue with Customer Support at CS@livescribe.com. After the problem is deemed unresolvable through troubleshooting efforts, warranty status and ownership needs to be verified using Proof of Purchase and verification of the Smartpen serial number. Beyond the Proof of Purchase, we use the Smartpen registration data and/or our internal serial code "birthdate" database.

Once the warranty is verified, we request the defective pen be returned and provide a pre-paid FedEx label. We do not require receipt of the defective pen before shipping the replacement Smartpen.

Once warranty status is verified, a replacement Smartpen is issued. If a Smartpen is beyond the warranty period, a 20% or 30% discount code is issued for US residents. Customer Service may make exceptions for customers beyond the warranty period, but that is handled on a case-by-case basis.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Livescribe Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2009 Business started: 04/16/2006 Business started locally: 04/16/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
James Marggraff, CEO Ms. Priscilla DelRosario, Manager Brian Kaliher, Director of Customer Service Mr. Bryan Rodrigues, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Brian Kaliher, Director of Customer Service
Principal: James Marggraff, CEO
Number of Employees

70

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.