BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/25/2012

Grammarly, Inc

(888) 318-6146548 Market St # 35410, San FranciscoCA 94104-5401



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers digital proofreader software with grammar, punctuation, and style checking technology.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/25/2012

BBB has determined that Grammarly, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grammarly, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 155 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

155 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 86 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues110
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service36
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 155

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Grammarly, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (155)
05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$180.91 was charged to a credit card for yearly services not wanted. Cancellation has been impossible. Telephone not answered. Email unanswered.
The Grammarly program does not have have any information regarding any of the above. Their email stated that the service will run until April 9th, 2016. There is no one to talk to about cancellation. This activity borders on the fraudulent as there was little or no explanation as to terms, cancellation, etc. in the original application just a "click here" which was unfortunately clicked on. It was a big mistake to give this company a credit card number.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Walmart Financial

Desired Settlement
We want this service cancelled. We did not knowingly subscribe to such a service for one year. It has been removed from the computer and we consider the charge to the credit card to be dishonest.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Please provide us with the Grammarly login email or the last 4 digits or the card used, together with the payment date and amount.

************@sympatico.ca is not in our system.

Please let us know as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
The Grammarly Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/13/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not honor their "no questions asked, 7 day money back guarantee". Requested refund the same day purchase was made, and was denied.
On 4/24/15 I purchased the $11/month Grammarly plan using paypal (the account is under my email ****************@gmail.com) - without any indication that I would be charged immediately for the full year at $139.95. I used the product for about 10 minutes and did not like it. Not to mention I was not pleased with being charged for the full year unknowingly. I emailed them the same day that the purchase was made(4/24/15), asking for a full refund and for my account to be canceled. According to Grammarly's terms and conditions, they promise a "no questions asked, 7-day money back guarantee". They denied me a refund, stating that I had cancelled my account, which breached their terms. I had never cancelled the account... I had only expressed my desire: "I would like to cancel my Grammarly account AND receive a full refund." Instead, I received TWO SEPARATE EMAILS: A cancellation email and a refund denial email... both with the identical time stamp. After I received these two emails I replied to the refund denial email by explaining that I never cancelled my account and reminding them of their 7-day, no questions asked refund policy... I never received a reply to my last email. This company misrepresents their policies and engages in fraudulent behaviors.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: paypal

Desired Settlement
I would like Grammarly to honor their policy and refund me the full $139.95 .

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Grammarly offers the 7-day money back guarantee policy to NEW CUSTOMERS only.

The ******** renewed the subscription on April 24 selecting the annual plan.

For your reference, here is an excerpt from our Terms of Service and License Agreement:

"Your subscription includes a 7-day money back guarantee. If you are dissatisfied with your subscription for any reason, you can receive a full refund of the subscription fees you paid if you cancel your subscription within 7 days of activation. Please email refund requests to *******@grammarly.com. This money back guarantee applies only to new users and does not apply to users that breach any term or condition of this Agreement."

Please be advised that we refunded the payment as a gesture of good will. We hope that the terms of subscription and refund policy have been clarified. Please contact us with any questions or concerns you might have. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Grammarly Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was not a ******** at the time I purchased the annual plan, so I was a new ********. I never breached any terms or conditions. Grammarly did refund me after I filed a claim with Paypal.

02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered Grammarly software 2/14/2015 online

Didn't like it. Cancelled 2/14/2015 online

I uninstalled the Grammarly software 2/15/2015




On 2/14/2015 I ordered Grammarly software online around 6:30 p.m. Pacific time.

On 2/14/2015 @6:38 p.m., Grammarly sent me an email that said "Your Grammarcy Account Is Now Active(That email is still on my computer).

On 2/14/2015 less than one hour later, I cancelled the Grammarly subcription because I didn't like or want the software.

I used the Grammarly software for 5-10 minutes and didn't like it. I tried it again and still didn't like it. I immediately read the terms of how to cancel with Grammarly and did so via email less than one hour later.

On 2/14/2015 at 7:33 p.m., Grammarly sent me an email saying "your subscription to Grammarly has been cancelled from future billing..." (that email is on my computer).

On 2/15/2015 @5 p.m. I emailed Grammarly the following email:

RE: CANCELLED GRAMMARLY SOFTWARE AND THE RETURN OF $139.95 TO THE ONLINE ACCOUNT OF *** **********

Dear Grammarly, Inc.

I cancelled my contract with you effective February 14, 2015.

Please redeposit the $139.95 you removed from my online account. You removed it quickly, return it quickly.

If the $139.95 is not return, I will report you to the Better Business Bureau.

Your advertisement wording is misleading, and I feel, fradulent. The $11 and some cents that you said you would take monthly, you did not; instead you took from my account $139.95 and that's not right.

On February 14, 2015 at 6:38 p.m. your sent me an email confirming Grammarly software to me.

On February 14, 2015 at 7:33 p.m., less than one hour later, the subscription was cancelled by me, *** **********.

I used the Grammarly software for 5-10 minutes and didn't like it. I tried it again and still didn't like what the software did. I immediately read the terms of how to cancel with you and did so less than one hour later on February 14 at 7:33 p.m.

Please redeposit the $139.95 you removed from my oneline account.

*** **********

BBB, I unstalled the Grammarly software 2/15/2015 around 8:00 p.m.

I never used the software after knowing that I didn't like it or want it on that day of 2/14/2015.

I used my VISA online account to pay for the software. Grammarly took less than one hour on 2/14/2015 to remove $139.95 from my online account. It shouldn't take them this long to refund the $139.95 that they took.

I'm asking that they redeposit the $139.95 or send me the full refund of $139.95 via cashier's check or money order.

Desired Settlement
I want the full return of $139.95 that Grammarly, Inc. took from my VISA online account that they deposited into their Grammarly account.

I want them to (1) redeposit $139.95 to *** **********'s online VISA line account or (2) via U.S. certified mail, return the full refund of $139.95 via cashier's check or money order ASAP made out to *** **********, 409 West *** ******* **** **** **** ****** ** XXXXX.

Thank you BBB.

*** **********




(2)

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

The ******** associated with email: *********@yahoo.com has not contacted the Grammarly ******* at *******@grammarly.com to request a refund. We offer a 7-day money-back guarantee no questions ask. Simply send an email to the Grammarly ******* team.

The payment has been refunded. Please note that it may take up to 10 days for the refund to appear on your statement.

(The payment has been processed according to the subscription plan chosen and the Grammarly Billing Policy and Terms of Service: http://www.grammarly.com/terms#billing)

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or comments you might have.

Best regards,
Tha Grammarly Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
February 19, 2015

I accept the terms to have my $139.95 to be redeposited back into my online banking account.

However, I had to create a Grammarly Member password ** order to get into their "*******@grammarly.com" website.

**************** was cc:*******@bbemail.org in that email to *******@grammarly.com. in which I requested my $139.95 refund.

Thank you ****************, BBB for your help.

*** **********

02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Grammarly is refusing to credit the $139.99 I paid on 01/26/2015. I canceled before the 7 day policy. Service was not what they said it was.
I issued the cancellation on 01/26/2014 knowing the 7 day policy to cancel which would of ended on 02/02/2015. On 02/03/2015 I checked to see if the refund had been done to my credit card and it wasn't. Then I went into the Grammarly webpage on 02/03/15 (when I sent you the email) and saw that it said it would be cancelled on 01/26/2015 .... I assume is because I paid for the whole year $139.99 @ 11.99 per month. But I Cancelled it before the 7 days. I am demanding a refund of the 139.99 back to my credit card. **** replied back refusing to refund amount back to my credit card. Saying that i Went over the 7 days. But as explained earlier I canceled the same day I ordered it becasue I was not satisfied with the service. The account is under my email - ******@gmail.com ****** ****** - their is no account number.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a credit of $139.99 that I paid on 01/26/2015 and canceled the same day based on the refund policy that their was a 7 day trial period. Lori from Grammarly is refusing to credit after i emailed on 02/03/2015 when i checked my credit card to see if their was a refund and their was not a refund. I was no satisfied with the service . It was not what they said it could do. Please help in getting my refund of $139.99 that i paid for one year at a rate of $11.99 per month.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the ********'s request has been satisfied via the Grammarly helpdesk.

Please let us know if you have further questions or requests.

Sincerely,
The Grammarly Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did accept the response from Grammarly. They did give a full refund after I had to submit the complain to BBB.

01/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am requesting a refund for the annual plan. I purchased within 7 days, and my account is *************@gmail.com. They promise refund within 7 days.
I am requesting a refund for the Grammarly annual plan. I purchased within 7 days, and my account is *************@gmail.com.

I experienced a few issues with the software and can't continue using the product. I have already canceled my billing agreement on PayPal. I paid $139.95 USD, and the account is still within the website-advertised refund period of 7 days. They have yet to respond to my refund request. I contacted *******@grammarly.zendesk.com. No help has been provided and I haven't received my promised refund following their procedure. They have no real refund and I am therefore reporting this in hopes that they will be recognized as fraudulent.

Desired Settlement
In settlement for their fraudulent advertising, I have to receive my full refund as advertised. It will be added to my bank account and received through PayPal from Grammarly Inc. They must do this within 7 days as advertised to honor their agreement. They must honor what I have done to request a refund at *******@grammarly. I settle for $139.95 USD. I do not receive profits from this settlement, and they honor their agreement.

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
I have received a full refund and the settlement has been honored as of now, kind regards. In the file, I included an image confirming this. I appreciate the help very much, king regards.

Page 1 of 16
05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being charged for money that I should not even be charged for yet.
Starting on 1 May 2015 I have purchased my premium subscription with Grammarly.com. The subscription that I have purchased was for the price of $11.00 and some cents (keep in mind all I can see are the monthly purchases) I used this site for one day with the premium to help me with my essay (keep in mind there is a 7-day free trial money-back guarantee). On 3 May 2015 I canceled my subscription for no further billings to my bank account. I have also emailed *******.grammaly.com to get my refund (that is what the site told me to get my refund back) I have not heard back from them and no further information was found on when I would get my money back. (I still have not passed ** my 7 days) Continuing on with my day of 3 May, I checked my bank account to see if I had any money to make a purchase. Grammarly.com charged me for an annual fee of $139.95 up front. Grammarly did not inform me of this. No email was sent to me about it being an upfront transaction, and if they did I would have canceled right then. I am wanting my money back. Grammarly.com has not only done this to me, but also a lot of other people. I was up all night looking for ways to get my refund and looking at people's comments about how Grammarly.com cheated them for their money. Later on I came across a comment that mentioned BBB, so here I am writing my complaint. I just want back the money that is rightfully mine.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Grammarly.com

Desired Settlement
Only thing that I am seeking for is to receive the money back that is rightfully mine. I am not supposed to be charged till my 7 days are up, but they are not and I sent my refund email. I still have not heard back from them. I have also canceled my subscription. I want my money back please. Because of this website (grammarly) not informing me that I would be charged full; it made my back account go negative and that is not okay. I was uninformed by grammarly's poor communication. My bank account is now -$62.76 because of grammarly charging me $139.95. I want and need my money back inorder to fix my bank account

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the ********'s account has been cancelled and refunded already. Refund date: May 4. It may take up to 10 days for the refund to appear on the credit card statement.

The payment has been processed according to the subscription plan chosen and the Grammarly Billing Policy and Terms of Service: http://www.grammarly.com/terms#billing

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or comments you might have.

The Grammarly Team

05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I canceled my service 2 years ago and haven't used since and I recently discovered two times with a years subscription 280 something dollars worth!
I'm not getting replies to my emails and when you called phone numbers they are cancelled phone numbers or you get rerouted elsewhere, it's really upsetting to to me that these guys can debut my account at will!! 300 is ALOT of money!

Desired Settlement
300.00 for the two years service charges plus taxes and bounced checks fees.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the subscription associated with ***********@gmail.com has been active. We cancelled the subscription and refunded two payments of 2014 and 2015 on May 7.

The payment has been processed according to the subscription plan that had chosen and the Grammarly Billing Policy and Terms of Service: http://www.grammarly.com/terms#billing

Best regards,
The Grammarly Team

04/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have no idea what this company is, I'm attempting to dispute the $139.95 charge with my bank.
February 17, 2015

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Bank

Desired Settlement
Need a refund

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the payment has been refunded.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any additional questions or requests.

Sincerely,
The Grammarly Team

02/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Grammarly commits false advertising practices. They say you can cancel your subscription during the trial period but they do not live up to that.
I decided to try Grammarly based upon their website and the offer therein. However, when I tried it I discovered that their service is not compatible with a MAC. I wrote to them and pointed out that this conflict is not mentioned on their website. This is a major problem and no one using a MAC would want a service that is incompatible with their system. I then went to cancel my service. It is required to pay for Grammarly in order to try it, but their site says one can cancel during the trial period. When I attempted to cancel my service on the 6th day I followed the procedure on the Grammarly website for "how to cancel". When I did so there was no option for canceling during the trial period. If I clicked "Cancel" it said that my subscription would be cancelled in January 2016!! One year after I wanted to cancel.
Seeing the number of complaints on the BBB website I can only ask how has this company been allowed to continue?

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Citibank

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Citibank

Desired Settlement
A refund of my $139.95

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the ******** contacted the ******** service and received a full refund per our 7-day money-back guarantee on Jan 28. Please note that we don't offer a 7-day FREE TRIAL. The ******** paid for the subscription immediately upon sign-up. The ******** confused the trial we used to offer with the 7-day money-bad guarantee, which is being offered right now. www.Grammarly.com's online Editor works on both Macs and PCs. Safari and other Mac-supported browsers are supported by Grammarly. The Microsoft Office add-in though runs only on the Windows Word, not Word for Mac. One can use Grammarly in a Word on Mac if Parallels are installed on a Mac, which would run Windows on a Mac.

Please let us know if you have further questions or requests.

Sincerely,
The Grammarly Team

02/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company doesn't give authentic instructions to unsubscribe and stop billing. Furthermore, the telephone numbers that are provided are bogus.
Grammarly, Inc has billed me for months without giving proper and authentic instructions to stop the subscription and billing. Their website has given fallacious instructions to unsubscribe; however, when I log into my personal account it does not provide that tabs that it says I need to have.

Moreover, I have gone on a scavenger hunt to find fraudulent phone numbers that this company has provided to resolve this issue with a customer service representative. Of course that did not happen. Because of this,I felt like I was backed into a corner to use their "services'.

Due to this company's inability to provide genuine and legitimate customer service, I had to pay a $30 service fee from my bank to stop payments from this company.

It is clear that this company is a scam and lures you into to making payments that you can never get out of. This company needs to be shut down so that other people will not fall victim to this company's deceitful scam.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of last month's payment, the $30 service fee that I had to pay my bank, and any future billings that they will take out of my account.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our records show that the customer's request has been satisfied already through the Grammarly helpdesk within 10 minutes of receipt.

Best regards,

The Grammarly Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They said that they would refund me the amount back, but they have yet to do so. Furthermore, they tried to put the fault in my hands by saying I had two accounts with them which is not true. They only canceled myou account, or accounts as they say. Grammarly's customer service is not up to par.

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,

In response the the additional note: "They said that they would refund me the amount back, but they have yet to do so. Furthermore, they tried to put the fault in my hands by saying I had two accounts with them which is not true. They only canceled myou account, or accounts as they say. Grammarly's ******** service is not up to par."

Please review the screenshot attached, confirming that the refund in amount of $59.90 had been issued.

Please let us know if you have further comments, concerns, or requests.

Sincerely,

The Grammarly Team

Page 1 of 16

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/15/2012Business started: 01/01/2009Business started locally: 01/01/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2011, DE

Business Management
Mr. Brad Hoover (CEO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Valerie Bonear (Support Mgr.) Customer Support
Number of Employees

90

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Service Area

This business service area covers: worldwide.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Grammarly, Inc has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grammarly, Inc

548 Market St # 35410

San Francisco, CA 94104-5401

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 548 Market St # 35410 

    San Francisco, CA 94104-5401(888) 318-6146

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grammarly, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computer Software Publishers & Developers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.