BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1931

Levi Strauss & Co. (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 872-5384

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints25

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (25)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 jeans for my wife in this store on 2/15/2014. My wife was not satisfied with 2 of them and wanted to exchange them. We went there in the end of May. The sales associate told us we could exchange, but after spending 30 minutes on finding other suitable items, the manager told us exchange not allowed.The return policy in the receipts says:1. Purchase with receipt with 60-day can get refund for return.2. Without receipt, store credit or exchange.3. Discout larger than 50% off are final and cannot be returned or exchange.My 2 items are just 40% off.Based on the printed policy, I argued my items qualified for exchange, and the sales associate also verified this and this made me spend 30 minutes there. But the manager simply said she was the manager, and just couldn't do the exchange. She could not convince me based on the printed policy
Product_Or_Service: 2 jeans
Order_Number: SXXXXXXXXXXXXX, S005

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@levi.com
I left a message and sent an email to this consumer on 7/14/14 asking to hear back so we can resolve this issue. I have not heard back yet and will hope to hear back soon to take care of this complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Exchange within 2 days of purchase was denied!
I bought this jeans for my boyfriend from your munich store but he wanted another style so we went back on the 2nd day to exchange it for his taste along with the bill and tags intact, however after several minutes of trying when we choose to buy another one for the same price the man on the cahier desk(Store manager) told me he cannot exchange due to company policy!!!!!! according to his explanation the jeans once sold becomes SOFT!!!!!!!!!!!! and he said he can not sell it again.......now I'm sorry coz i am first to hear this kind of ********. i have worked in retail, have infact bought clothes in the past from stores that sell clothes.....policies of return are generally accepted if the item has its tags intact, bill of purchase and if not found damaged! I am hopelessly disappointed by his rude behavior. Customer service reflects directly on the Company and i need an appropriate response to this experience. Even aftr bringing this issue on their Facebook page no response was recieved. Thanks

Initial Business Response
This consumer's complaint has been forwarded to our retail team in Munich for follow-up with the customer directly since the consumer lives in Munich and the jeans were purchased there. The issue is with the store exchange policy - I will update this page as soon as I hear back from the team.

Final Business Response
Our team in Germany has confirmed that the consumer was contacted via email and as of 6/20, the complaint has been resolved. We are closing the case on our end.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I purchased jeans from a retail store. I was advised to return them to the returns department at 100 Precision DR But I have not received refund.
I didn't wish to file a complaint but when I called the customer service number I was constantly transferred without any resolution. I sent back jeans for a return April 28th and still have not had my card credited. The UPS tracking number is 1ZXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I left a copy of receipt in the package for verification. Please contact me if you have any questions.

thank you

Initial Business Response
I have spoken to the consumer and apologized for the confusion (he was told to return two jeans that were purchased at one of our stores to the online returns address) and have initiated a refund check of $78.97 for him to resolve his complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: jeans bought and holes wore in crouch in short time very unhappy customer.
I have been a levi customer for about 25 yrs and I have about 8 pairs of 501 38x30 preshonk jeans and everyone of them have wore holes in the crouch area. I bought them from jcPennys they are the only retail store in my area that sale 501s. I love they way they fit but they wont handle the warranty. the have been rude. I am looking for levi to stand up for there product.And hold there retailer accountable . Not only have I spent a lot of money nto buy these jeans I don't have the money to ship them. this is sad that I have to go thru this because when I call the 1800 number for levi they always tell me to call another number no wants to handle this matter. I want to stay a customer please help out for I have invested a lot of money in your jeans. Thanks ****

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Email: *********@levi.com
On 3/24/14 I sent the ******** an email response to this complaint with a link to a prepaid mailing label for returning the jeans for inspection and replacement if they fall under our guarantee. Our records indicate we have not heard back from him or received his jeans back yet. When the jeans are returned, they will be forwarded to me for review.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: Levi's will not take me off their email list.
I have attempted to unsubscribe 6 times via the email "unsubscribe" process, as well as calling Levi's directly, in which I spoke to two different people. They said it could take up to two weeks for the emails to stop coming, and this was a couple of months ago. I am still receiving emails from them, and I was told that I was removed from the list. This is extremely annoying, and after multiple attempts to get this situation taken care of, I feel like I am being harassed by their advertising company. This should be a simple process, and allI want is for the emails to stop. The email they are using is my "************@gmail.com" address.

Initial Business Response
We have confirmed that consumer has been unsubscribed from email distribution. Her complaint was raised to our online management team and they followed up to resolve.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
09/24/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Bought 550 Relaxed Fit Jeans " Inspector" Size 42X30 Two pair and they broke down after a few months the belt loop stitching gave out and other seams.
The company sent me letter with label to send back the two pairs of jeans and sent them. Still nothing back and company said they never got them and then said they have no record of my shipment or complaint. I want my hundred and five dollars back or two new pair of jeans back. I want American made as these jeans are suppose to stand up not fall apart at the seams .

Initial Business Response
We have spoken to the customer and have ordered two replacement jeans per his request. We are closing the case on our end. Thanks.

Final Consumer Response
This company has not sent any jeans even after they had contacted me.Can you please get them to send the jeans and I will accept this to resolve this matter. Thank you

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clothing - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.