This business is not BBB accredited.

Treetopia

Phone: (877) 768-7338 2226A Westborough Blvd STE 502, South San Francisco, CA 94080 http://www.treetopia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of Christmas trees online.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Treetopia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Treetopia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2008 Business started: 09/07/2007 Business started locally: 09/07/2007 Business incorporated 08/14/2007 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Board of Equalization
121 Spear St Ste 460, San Francisco CA 94105
http://www.boe.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 356-6600
The number is 100971780.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Chen, VP for Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Chen, VP for Marketing
Number of Employees

23

Business Category

Christmas Trees

Service Area
This business service area covers nationwide.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Treetopia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2226A Westborough Blvd STE 502

    South San Francisco, CA 94080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an artificial Christmas tree based on the picture depicting the tree on the website. The tree I received does not look like the picture. Ordered the Alison Spruce XXXXXXX on 1/6/15 for $212.85 including tax. Order #XXXXX. Received the tree on 1/8/15. Opened and set up the tree on 1/9/15 and called the company expressing my disappointment in the product. I was told to take pictures and send in to verify my complaint. My email was responded to on 1/12/15. The company explained that the problem with my tree was that I had not "fluffed" it properly. They said that the picture on their website showed spaces between the branches and that these space made the tree look more natural and gave room to hang ornaments. The picture on their website shows no spaces between the branches except on the very outer part of the tree. My tree has gaping holes that expose much of the trunk of the tree. Also, I have had an artificial tree for years and know all about fluffing. You can fluff branches that are not there. I worked on the tree from Treetopia for 3 hours and could not fill in the gaping holes exposing the trunk especially in the middle Nd at the top of the tree. On 1/19/15 I received a voicemail from the warrenty department letting me know that I was still within the time limit to exchange the tree for another one. Again I was told that there was nothing wrong with the tree except for my lack of fluffing. I called the company the same day and stated that I had plenty of experience fluffing artificial trees and that their website had misrepresented the product they were selling. I requested a shipping label so that I could return the tree which I was denied, but if I hurried, I could ship the tree back myself and be charged a %10 restocking fee upon receipt of the tree. I have filed a dispute with my credit card company which included the same photographs of the tree that I previosly sent to Treetopia. They have requested that I keep the tree until they process my dispute. I informed Treetopia that I had opened a dispute, but would be ***** to drop it if they sent me a shipping label to return to tree. They were not the least interested in this, so I am proceeding with the dispute. Another point I want to mention is that the reviews on their sight are all so positive. A couple have minor issues, but the majority have 4 or 5 stars. None have 1or 2. After I had this problem, I Googled Treetopia reviews and all the reviews were 1 or 2 stars. They were filled with warnings regarding the poor customer service, the lack of concern for customer satisfaction and the misrepresentation of their products on their website. When I saw they had 21 complaints filed with you, I could only imagine how many other customers were as dissatisfied as myself but didn't want to take the time to report this company. I have never done this before, but felt obligated to speak out against a company that blatantly falsely advertises their produce and then doesn't give a dam about an unhappy customer. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Synchrony Bank

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied with a complete refund, a prepaid shipping label, and the restocking fee waived. Unfortunately the amount of time I have spent dealing with this disaster cannot be compensated. It's too bad that companies get away with running their businesses with no regard for anything but profit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their order. On January 9th, 2015 the customer contacted expressing dissatisfaction with the appearance of their tree, claiming that it was sparse and not as pictured on our website. All of the pictures of our products are authentic photos that have not been altered in any way. As the tree is covered by warranty, we requested documentation to verify the issue. After reviewing the documentation received we verified the customer needed to shape and fluff the tree. When a tree is new and out of the box, it does take time and effort to extend the branches and shape them. If you do not spend the time doing this, the tree will not look as full as it can be shaped to look. Based on the information provided by the customer we were not able to verify an issue. On January 18th, 2015 we contacted the customer to advise them their warranty claim had been denied and offered to exchange the tree instead. The customer declined the option of an exchange and requested to return the tree without any restocking fees or cost for return labels. We have approved a return without any restocking fees and the customer has agreed to return the tree at their expense. Once the item has been received by our warehouse a refund will be issued for the item. As we have agreed to waive the restocking fee and the customer has agreed to pay to return the tree we feel this matter to be resolved. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/03/18) */ I have still not received my refund from Treetopia. And, they are lying when they claim that the pictures of the trees on their website are not computer generated. I've had an artificial tree for years and know how to "fluff" one out. The tree I received was only full enough to do this on the bottom third of the tree. The top 2 sections were extremely sparse and the trunk and wires were totally exposed no matter how many ways I tried to arrange the branches. You cannot see one inch of a tree trunk or a single wire in the pictures representing the trees on Tretopia's website. I didn't respond earlier because I was going to let it drop and just accept my refund. But since I still haven't received any money back, I am further upset that I had to pay to return this defective item. Which is what it must have been since they continue to claim that their website pictures are a true representation of their product. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/03/31) */ Hello, As stated in our previous response, the photos displayed on our website are authentic and have not been altered in any way. We did attempt to see if there was a way that we could resolve the customer's concern under warranty, but after reviewing the requested documentation provided we were unable to determine a warranty issue. We offered to exchange the tree for a different item or the customer could return the tree at their expense and we would waive the restocking fees. The customer declined the exchange and opted to return the tree instead. On March 18th, 2015 we confirmed that the tree had been returned to our warehouse and a full refund was issued back to the customer's account used for the purchase. We apologize for the delay in the refund being processed and any inconvenience this may have caused the customer. At this time, as the tree has been returned and a full refund has been issued we feel this matter to be resolved. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Treetopia received the returned tree on 2/3/15. I still would not have my refund if I hadn't called them in the middle of March. At that time I was told there was no record of my shipment in the warehouse and was not able to get any information until I gave the the FedEx shipping number. Apparently no one in the warehouse noticed the big box with a return label on it and the return ID# that I wrote in big letters on the outside of the box. I did finally get my refund on the 3/18/15, but am still out the cost of the return shipping. Also, due to the lapse in time on the return, the amount of the tree charged to my credit card was subject to interest fees.

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order placed on 12/27/14. Requested cancellation PRIOR to shipment leaving warehouse with company. I placed order for a Christmas tree on 12/27/14 with Treetopia. I found one much cheaper locally I called to company to cancel on 12/27/14. They are only open it turns out M-F. There was not an option to leave a voice message. After being unable reach anyone via phone I emailed. I told them to cancel the order. After several email exchanges I was told I could not cancel. I called my credit card company and also the shipper (Fed Ex). They were unable to help me until the item was shipped and charge posted. When I spoke with the agent at Fed Ex he told me all the company had to do was to cancel the label request email. I then emailed Treetopia and was told that I would need to refer to their return policy. I was attempting to stop shipment before it was shipped. It was not until 12/29 @ 4:00PM Eastern time that I received an email that it was shipped. I spent two days of email exchange attempting to circumvent the shipment. I wish I had read all the negative reviews about this company before I even ordered. I must say I have never encountered a company that WOULD NOT cancel an order that had not even left their warehouse. I had to call Fed Ex to refuse delivery. I have and will continue to advise anyone I know not to deal with this irresponsible company. I kept telling them I had attempted to call them to cancel the order. It is not my problem that they are not reputable enough to have an answering machine to leave messages. It is not my problem that they went ahead and shipped the merchandise in spite of my attempting to stop the shipment before it left their warehouse. What part of cancel does this company not understand. As the reviews stated, their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. They get your money and absolutely will not work with you.

Desired Settlement: I request full refund. I will not pay for any re-stocking charge, nor will I pay for shipping costs or the $50.00 refusal of delivery. I stated in an email to them it would be easier on all involved to just cancel before it left warehouse. Especially since it was ordered on 12/27 and did not ship until late afternoon 12/29. There was ample time to cancel. They just did not want to cancel the order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/21) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed in regards to placing their order online. As stated in the complaint, the customer placed the order online and then attempted to cancel after the order had already been sent to our warehouse for fulfillment. When the customer originally contacted us it was outside of the cancellation time-frame as stated in the cancellation policy, which the customer accepted when they placed the order in the terms and conditions. The policy states to call customer service within the first 30 minutes of placing the order to cancel or modify orders that are unprocessed. However, if the order has already processed, you would need to return in accordance with our return and exchange policies. On December 29th, 2014 the customer contacted customer service and was advised that we were unable to stop the order as it had already shipped and she would be subject to the standard return/exchange policies. The customer states there was ample time to cancel, but as they did not contact us until the day it was shipping, this is inaccurate. The order had already been processed and placed in a trailer with hundreds of other packages that were shipping that day. The expectation that hundreds of packages would be pulled off a trailer to search for a single package is unreasonable and not something we can accommodate. At this point in time the customer is outside of the exchange period, but is still within the 30 day return period. If the customer chooses to return the item then she is responsible for the cost of return shipping and a 10% restocking fee. In order to initiate a return the customer will need to contact customer service before she is past the return time-frame in order to obtain an RMA number prior to returning. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My order was placed on 12/27/14 (This business is a M-F operation. I attempted to call to this business to cancel the order on the 12/27/14 after the order was placed. They WERE closed and have no answering machine, nor customer service reps to take or leave messages. On 12/28/14 I sent an email requesting the order be canceled. I received an auto response email from Treetopia advising me that they received my email and would respond shortly.Later in the day I received another email stating it could not be canceled and my option was to call and get an RA# and I could return the merchandise. At this point it was still at their facility and not shipped.There was ample time to cancel/stop shipment before it left anywhere. There were several email exchanges telling them to cancel this order. They refused to cancel. I called Fed Ex several times and was told by Fed Ex they had not even received notice of a tracking number. I called the company earlier in the day on 12/29/14 requesting cancellation of the order again. I was told I could not cancel. Later on 12/29/14 @4:24 ET I had an email notice from Treetopia that it had shipped. As soon as I received the notice the merchandise had shipped,I proceeded to call Fed Ex and tell them I had requested a cancellation with Treetopia and I wanted to refuse the shipment. To the best of my knowledge Fed Ex never even picked the shipment up from Treetopia. I did not receive the shipment, nor do I want the shipment. My BIG mistake is the fact that I did not get on the internet and read the numerous complaints on this company. I gave them ample time to cancel the shipment. Their ploy is to ship the goods, and make the customer pay to return the merchandise and be charged a re-stocking fee?? The simplest way for both parties was to cancel the order prior to any shipment as the customer requested while it was still at their facility. Because this company doesn't have a means to talk with a human, nor leave messages and they are a M-F operation, customers should not have to suffer the consequences. Treetopia was impossible to deal with. I did all that I could humanly possibly do to cancel, stop the shipment, etc. I will never do business with with this company. I have never ever dealt with such a company. I tried from the very day the order was placed to cancel. I will read internet reviews on companies in the future. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/02/26) */ Hello, As stated in our previous response, we are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed in regards to placing their order online. In this complaint the customer states that they have no knowledge that FedEx ever picked up the package and attempted to deliver it to them. This information is inaccurate. The tracking information we have from FedEx shows an attempt to deliver the package to the customer on December 31st, 2014, but is listed as refused by the recipient. We can provide the customer the tracking information that can be viewed on FedEx's website. The customer also states that they provided us ample time to cancel the order prior to the shipment leaving our warehouse as they felt we were only open Monday through Friday. However, at the time the order was placed we were open Monday through Saturday, including Saturday, December 27th, and the customer failed to contact us until more than 24 hours after the order had been placed. Once we have passed *** 30 minute time frame, the order has been given to the warehouse for processing and we are unable to prevent an order from shipping without disrupting the shipment of other orders. The vast majority of our customers appreciate our ability to rapidly process and ship their orders, and we aren't able to accept exception requests that would impact the processing of other customer orders. This is the reason we provide the cancellation policy, and after an order has been processed, we require customers to refer to our return or exchange policies in order to return an order. Our policies, which are a part of the terms and conditions accepted at the time of purchase, outline this information. On February 11th, 2015 a refund was issued back to the customer's account less the refusal fee for one package. Ultimately the customer has filed a chargeback with their financial institution and we are awaiting the outcome. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a wreath and opened as soon as I was told to return to a driver and he never left a tracking number I was told by a customer service rep to give the package back to a driver on the same day I received the items. I gave it to a driver and no number was given. I was never told that I needed a number. I called several time to confirm that it was received. I was told that they will refund me once they received it. I called my credit card company and they said it was a valid charge sine Treetopia had a tracking number showing I received the products. I called Treetopia and asked why they never got a refund. A women said they never received the items. I said it was returned on the next day. She told me that she needed a tracking number. I told her I was never told that a tracking number was needed. She said that she could not help me. Now I am being charged for 136.00 for a product I sent back

Desired Settlement: A full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their order. In this complaint the customer is stating they contacted to return the merchandise received and was advised by our representative to return the packages to the FedEx driver. This information is inaccurate. The customer placed an order on November 10th, 2014 online. The order shipped out on November 11th, 2014 and was signed for by the customer on November 13th, 2014. On November 13th, 2014 the customer contacted us and requested to return the wreath and garland they had ordered. We issued a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number and provided the customer with the standard return instructions, advising that they would be responsible for the return shipping and to send back using a traceable method. We have pulled the call and at no time did we advise the customer to return the packages to the original FedEx driver who delivered them as this would result in a refusal fee of $50.00 per box as stated in the return policy. Our policies, which are a part of the terms and conditions accepted at the time of purchase, outline this. The customer contacted us on November 28th, 2014 to follow up on the status of their refund. We informed the customer that we had not received any notification from our warehouse that the items had been returned and offered to look into it for the customer but we were not provided with any return tracking information from the customer. On January 20th, 2015 the customer followed up with us again and requested a refund for the items they returned. We advised the customer that we had not received any notification that the items had been returned to us and requested tracking information for the return which the customer was unable to provide to us. Ultimately the customer did file a chargeback with their financial institution in regards to the matter. The fact that the customer's chargeback was resolved in our favor confirms that we have worked in good faith within the policies the customer agreed to at the time of purchase. At this time, as we are unable to verify that the wreath and garland have been returned we are unable to issue a refund for the product. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

2/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tree not as described by CSR over the phone, company refusing to exchange bc outside of 30 day policy I ordered a tree from treetopia at the beginning of this year (January) in anticipation of this 2014 holiday season. We have just taken the tree out of it's box and set it up and we are EXTREMELY disappointed!! Not only is this tree nowhere near what I originally ordered (or at least believed I was ordering) but it has design flaws that can not be masked and I do not feel this product is anywhere near worth the price I paid! The original order was for a different tree which I eventually came to find out was out of stock (AFTER my credit card had been charged and I had still not recieved any shipping info I had to contact the company to find out what was going on! I sincerely questioned the legitimacy of this company and to whom I may have foolishly entrusted my credit card information!....which is a shame because initially, this company came highly recommended by colleagues!) I SHOULD NOT have had to contact them, that is THEIR JOB! When the product that was offered online somehow magically became unavailable a representative should have contacted me immediately, not the other way around, and my credit card should NEVER have been charged until AFTER I authorized the new purchase; instead my card was charged AND I was then told I needed to pay an additional fee because the replacement tree we (myself and the CSR) chose, was apparently a more costly model. This "California Douglass Fir" is a puney, pathetic, misrepresentation of a Christmas tree! It is skinny, and not at all what I would consider to be a "full" look! The space between the top piece and middle where they meet has a gap of bare space so large that it can not be masked no matter how I try to "fluff" the branches! It is comparable to a 10 dollar 3 foot tree you can buy at your local pharmacy, only taller! It is horrible and I feel completely mislead and ripped off!

Desired Settlement: In short, I either want a replacement that is up to par with my expectations or a full refund including any and all shipping fees! I do not feel i should have to pay for this company's false advertising!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their order. The customer placed their order online on January 4th, 2014. On January 13th, 2014 the customer contacted us to let us know that she had still not received her item. We requested a status update from our warehouse and on January 14th, 2014 we contacted the customer back to inform her that the original item she had selected was out of stock. The customer was presented with the options of selecting a different item or having the order cancelled for a full refund. The customer chose to select a different tree and the order was updated accordingly. The item shipped out on January 15th, 2014 and was received by the customer on January 16th, 2014. On December 17th, 2014 the customer contacted us and requested to return the item since it was not to her liking and she felt mislead by the agent who had assisted her with finding an alternate tree. We informed the customer that since she had received the tree on January 16th, 2014 she was outside of the return timeframe. Our return policy states: Returns for your tree, wreath, or garland are accepted within 30 days of receipt of your order or before December 25, whichever comes first. Please ensure that your merchandise is returned in new and unused condition, and in its original packaging. A credit will be issued upon receipt and inspection of the returned item, less a 10% restocking fee and any shipping fees that were charged at the time the order was placed. In this complaint the customer states that she is having foliage issues with a section of their tree, as the tree is covered by warranty we can assist the customer in determining a resolution for the issue. We have taken note of this complaint and will have a supervisor contact the customer to discuss the matter and see if some kind of resolution can be reached. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have yet to hear from anyone at the company personally. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/03) */ Hello, As stated in our previous response, we are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their order. We have reached out to the customer in an attempt to try and resolve the issue that they are having with their tree. We requested documentation of the foliage issue to submit to our warranty department for review. The customer refused to send in documentation and declined the option of warranty, requesting again to return the tree. As the customer is outside of the return time frame by 11 months, this request was denied. The customer's tree is covered under warranty and as such we are more than willing to try and resolve any foliage issues they are having under warranty. However, until we receive the requested documentation showing the stated issue we are unable to move forward with assisting the customer. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

1/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product has given us problems from day one.When they were advised it took them months to replace section and then when we had same issue They have any and all documentation. In January 2010 my family and I survived a horrific house fire in which we lost everything. We escaped with literally just the clothes on our backs. These clothes were pajamas. The fire occurred at approximately 2:30 am. Thank G-d for smoke detectors otherwise my family would not be here and I would not be writing this e-mail. In these last few years we have tried to rebuild our lives. All in all we have done a pretty good job of doing this, I think. We have rebuilt our home in the same spot. There are however things that we will never be able to replace, these things are gone forever. We are all thankful for surviving this ordeal, and it makes you appreciate what really is important We were watching News Channel 4, here and saw a spot about Trees and they spoke about Treetopia. Based upon what we saw we decided to order a tree and new we wanted this tree to be our new special Christmas tree and make may memories for our family. The only memories that this tree has given have been nothing but heartache. Each and every time we put it up it has given us nothing but grief. As stated above the product was purchased and from day one we had issues. We were told they would only replace section that we had an issue with. I asked to have entire tree replaced as I explained to them that if we had problems from day one then we will continue to have issues and it might effect other sections. Was told by them that this would not be the case that changing out this one section would fix any and all problems. Pleaded with them to please replace the whole tree since from day one it has given us issues. Was told this is not their policy and they would not do this. It literally took them over six months to replace the one section. When we finally got the new section now there were other issues with other sections. Exactly what I was afraid of took place. No one at this Company wanted to listen to me. Now when I called to let them know what is going on, I was now informed that if I wanted to hae this item fixed with a new section they would be more then happy to send me out a new section that was not working but at this point in time I would have to pay. I stated PAY! Then I proceeded to tell them that we have has nothing but problems from day one with this tree, I explained that I thought they should stand behind their product considering we had nothing but issues the first year we put it up. I was then told well that is really too bad but if I want their help I could now pay to have the next section replaced! Really! So now I have one of their special trees where I have to run strands of lights because their sections do not light up. To add insult to injury I have been they keep sending me e-mails and I have asked politely on numerous occasions to be removed from their mailing list. Which they have never done! I am so disguised with them that I sent them a few nasty e-mails to remove my address from their list and they continue to still send me e-mails.

Desired Settlement: Please for G-ds sake take back this tree and just do the right thing and send us a replacement. That is all we are asking for so when it comes time to put this tree up we would like to have fond memories not ones of what is going to happen this year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their tree. The customer ordered their tree in December of 2010. In this complaint the customer states they have had issues with the tree since day one. We did not hear from the customer until November of 2011 when they called to order extra replacement bulbs but, with no mention of an issue. The next time we had contact from the customer was in January of 2012 when they contacted us pertaining to lighting issues in one section of the tree. When there is an issue with a tree, we go through a troubleshooting process to verify the stated issue. The reason we do this is because often times a stated issue is nothing more than a fluffing issue or something else minor which is easily adjusted to resolve an issue, and is not an actual defect. Our policies, which are a part of our terms and conditions agreed to at the time of sale, outline this. After completing the troubleshooting process we advised the customer we would request a replacement section to be manufactured and they would receive it when it was available. The customer was informed of the warranty policy on the tree at the time the order was placed over the phone with a representative on December 26th, 2010 and again at this time that tree was under a two year warranty for the lights. We shipped the customer a replacement section for the third section of the five section tree in August of 2012 when they became available. We did not hear from the customer until January of 2013 pertaining to a new issue 5 months after the replacement section was delivered. At this time we again advised the customer that the warranty on the tree had expired and they were welcome to purchase replacement light stands or a new section. The customer declined all the options we offered. As there is not a warranty on this merchandise we are more than happy to troubleshoot the issue with the customer. We have taken note of this complaint and will have a supervisor contact the customer to discuss the matter and see if some kind of resolution can be reached. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes it is true that we ordered the tree in December of 2010. By the time the tree arrived we in fact decided not to put it up as it was so late in the season. Our friend and neighbor actually purchased for us a prelit 3 1/2 foot tree prior to us getting the tree from Treetopia. So when we received the tree from Treetopia it went right downstairs to be used for the next Christmas in 2011. As had been our tradition we always put the tree up the Friday after Thanksgiving. SO when we brought the Treetopia tree up the Friday after Thanksgiving in 2011, we had nothing but issues from the moment we took it out of the box. SO when I stated in my previous letter that we had nothign but trouble from the first moment of taking the tree out of the box this is true. Yes they are correct in stating that they did not hear from us until 2011 even though we purchased the product in 2010. Treetopia told us to check all the bulbs in the tree. We did and found many issues. I explained to them at the time that even thought we purchased the tree in December of 2010 that in fact this was our first year of putting it up and we have had nothing but trouble and I am concerned about the tree and have no faith that this tree will give us many years of trouble free service like our previous tree. i was assured that as long as we followed the procedure of check each and every buld that ther product was guaranteed and it would stand the test of time. What a joke! After the Christmas season I called to inform them that we still had issues with many of the bulbs and we are now done checking the bulbs and we are not checking them anymore that they need to replace the tree. I was told this would not happen but they would replace the section that was bad. I again raised my concerns about the whole tree and the fact that this was only the first season and we are having all these issues. Again I was told that they would only replace a section of the tree. I was told that the would replace the section and that typically this process might take up to two months to get the new section to me. We waited two months as we had been informed. After which I stared calling to find out where my replacement product was and I received nothing but a runaround with everyone that I spoke to at treetopia. I was told on numerous time that it would be another few weeks and weeks and weeks. Finally these few extra weeks turned into SEVEN MONTHS! SEVEN MONTHS REALLY! We finally received the bad section replacement in August 2012. When it was delivered we plugged it in to make sure that it lit up. It did and we put it away. Well guess what in November of 2012 when we went to put the tree up and actually put the section on the rest of the tree we had nothing but problems. Wow we were right back to square one with problems. I called treetopia to advise them of the issues we were having and was told that we need to start checking the rest of the bulbs and fuses. Boy doesn't this sound familiar. We also got the run around by their customer service department.SO we had to start off at square one the very beginning with everyone that I spoke to there. So by the time they got around to actually getting back to me low and behold my warranty was now up but if I want they would be more then happy to send me a replacement section as long as I paid for it now!!Really after everything they put me through they want me to spend more money on a bad tree that has given me nothing but issues from the first time we set it up. So much for their customer service in trying to work with me. I had previously spoken to there customer service supervisor prior to contacting the BBB and I was told again that they would be more then happy to help me with getting me a new section as long as I paid for it! I guess I must look that stupid to throw more good money after a bad product! So here we are through the 2014 Christmas season and I still have there tree that does not work properly and we have purchased stands of lights so there prelit tree will light up. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/12) */ Hello, As stated in our previous response, we are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their order. In regards to the time frame for the replacement section in 2012, the customer was told that a new section would be manufactured, and in that instance our standard timeline for delivery of the new section is by end of summer. Our notes indicate the customer was told this, and we apologize that this was not properly understood. The customer purchased their tree on December 26th, 2010, with a 2 year light warranty, which is no longer valid. Our policies in which the customer accepted when they placed the order online, outlines this information. We have had a supervisor contact the customer to see if there was any kind of resolution that could be reached in regards to the lighting issue. We have agreed to send light strands to the customer at no cost. As the order has already been placed for the replacement light strands we consider this matter to be resolved at this time. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

1/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased white Christmas tree, 12/27/2013. Tree was stored, never erected, and when opened on 12/07/2014, the tree had discolored to a yellow-brown. On 12/27/2013, I purchased a white Christmas tree from Treetopia (Invoice #XXXXX). Since the order was post-Christmas, the tree was stored until opened on 12/07/2014. Upon opening the box, the white tree has discolored to a yellow-brown color. I immediately contacted Treetopia's Customer Service and was directed to forward photo's, invoice #, and description to their customer service group. I was told, someone would contact me within 72 hours. The rep. also indicated that this was not the first complaint of this problem. Needless to say, no return call from Treetopia. Subsequent calls to Treetopia provided no additional information on replacement status. Allegedly, according to Customer Service, the email and decision was referred to a committee for resolution. Spending approx. 40 years as a upper-level manager in customer service, I have never seen a defective product referred to committee for resolution on an individual basis. It's not hard to understand why nothing is accomplished. Prior to filing this complaint, I tried again to receive some definitive information relative to my issue. Again, no answer. Bottom line; we are waiting for inventory status from our warehouse; someone will call soon. The common theme among those employees I spoke with was "I have no answers nor do I know what's going on". since it was post-christmas

Desired Settlement: The tree replaced in time for Christmas 2014. If this cannot be accomplished; a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/31) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with the warranty process. The customer placed an order on December 27th, 2013 for a White Christmas Tree. On December 7th, 2014 the customer contacted us and advised the tree had some yellowing. As the tree is covered under warranty, we advised the customer it was currently out of stock but provided the customer the options to use the credit to choose another tree of choice or wait until the tree became available for us to send a replacement tree, which the customer accepted. Ultimately, the customer chose to wait till the tree became available understanding it could be in the off season. If the customer would like to choose a different tree with the amount paid for the original tree, we are happy to move forward in processing that request. At this time we have the customer on our replacement warranty list for when the tree becomes available, as they requested. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a white tree from Treetopia last year that turned yellow over the summer They offered to replace it but I have yet to receive the replacement I bought a white tree from treetop last year and it turned yellow after one year. They did say that they would replace it. I submitted the request via email, as they requested, along with photos of the tree. They told me it would be turned around within 72 hours. it is 3 weeks later and I have yet to receive my replacement tree. I called thrice to update our address with them as we had moved since last year. Both reps assured me that the tree would be sent to our new address. when the replacement tree was ready to be shipped, their rep called me to confirm the address, in *****. They somehow shipped the tree to our old address in Ohio. They did not include their phone number on the shipping label so the new homeowner called me since my phone number was on there. I called treetop and they were CLUELESS as to how that happened. They said they would set up with Fedex to pick up the tree from Ohio and have it sent tome here in texas.....never mind that Christmas is now 9 days away and I have had to just bite the bullet and buy another tree or we would have NO CHIRSTMAS TREE. Today, Fedex showed up at my house in ***** to pick up the tree!! The tree that is in OHIO! I have asked numerous times to be refunded but they will not honor a refund, even after all of their poor business practices. this is not one single mistake, it is complete and utter failure on every level!! I have called three different times to speak to a manager, once I was told I would be called back within 24 hours, no call. ever. The second time I was told I would be called back within an hour, NO CALL, EVER. And the last time I was put into the "mangers queue" to which I was on hold for over an hour before I just gave up and hung up. This company is FAILING ON EVERY LEVEL.

Desired Settlement: AT THIS POINT SINCE I HAVE HAD TO GO OUT AND BUY ANOTHER TREE SO THAT MY FAMILY COULD HAVE A CHRISTMAS TREE IN OUR HOME I WOULD LIKE A FULL REFUND OF MY ORIGINAL PURCHASE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with the replacement of their order. On December 7th, 2014 we placed an order for a replacement tree for the customer. We were made aware that the item was being sent to a previous address and attempted to correct the error by having the item picked up at the old location and delivered to the customer's current address. Unfortunately we were not able to get the situation corrected for the customer and the tree is currently out of stock. As we are not able to send the tree to the customer and correct the issue, we are willing to honor the customer's request and issue a full refund. We have attempted to reach out to the customer in order to obtain the proper information for us to be able to issue the refund. Until the customer calls us back with the requested information we are unable to process the refund. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Nothing short of a nightmare! I finally got a refund on 1/12 after 6 weeks of horrifying customer service. I am glad Treetopia stepped up and FINALLY did the right thing but they only offered a refund after I opened this complaint and complained on their social media avenues. They stonewall their customers with frontline reps who say "I'm not authorized to do that" No idea where they find these poor people or how they train them have such a lack of empathy. They need a serious overhaul of their customer service practices. I'm so happy to be done with this company.

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed in the condition of the 4’ Ruby Red Tinsel Tree I received today in the mail. Poor packing damaged the tree. Charge $35 ship. eMail with pix: "I am very disappointed in the condition of the 4’ Ruby Red Tinsel Tree I received today in the mail. THE BOX HAD BEEN OPENED PREVIOUSLY AND WAS TAPED SHUT. Please find, below, pictures of the product as I received it. This was a gift from my son, Trey ******* (*************@yahoo.com), and you will also see a copy of his bill below. "In the pictures, you can see how tightly it was wrapped, and 2 limbs that pierced through the bubble wrap and were stripped. That same heavy force caused the other tinsel ends to be irreparably bent and the tinsel looks like last years K-mart garland, pulled out from the bottom of the Christmas box. "Call my son at XXX-XXX-XXXX, if you need credit card info, or other info re: exchange. We were unable to contact by phone, and I want to be sure the exchange is offered at the same sale price, which goes off at midnight. I also expect a pre-paid mailing label and no re-stocking fee. The Lipstick Tree is more expensive than the tinsel tree." They responded that I would not be charged restocking, but would be charged $35 RE-SHIPPING. THE PICTURES SHOW CLEAR PACKAGE DAMAGE.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THEM TO PAY FOR THE RE-SHIPPING, SINCE DAMAGE WAS THEIR FAULT.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/17) */ Hello, We are sorry for the frustration the customer has expressed with their tree. When there is an issue with a tree, we go through a troubleshooting process to verify the stated issue. The reason we do this is because often times a stated issue is nothing more than a fluffing issue or something else minor which is easily adjusted to resolve an issue, and is not an actual defect. Our policies, which are a part of our terms and conditions agreed to at the time of sale, outline this. In this complaint the customer stated the tree arrived damaged due to the tree being wrapped tightly in the bubble wrap. The trees are wrapped tightly to help assure no damage occurs during shipping. We requested documentation from the customer showing the stated issue so we could provide a resolution. After reviewing the pictures the customer provided us we were not able to see an issue with the tree as it shows they did not even take the tree out of the wrapping. When a tree is new and out of the box, it does take time and effort to extend the branches and shape them. If you do not spend the time doing this, the tree will not look as full as it can be shaped to look. Based on the information provided by the customer we were not able to verify an issue with the tree. The only thing we can suggest is that the customer determined they wanted a different size of tree then they originally ordered since the customer expressed this in the emails they sent to us. We offered the customer the option of the exchange program, which is an option that allows the customer to return the tree and choose a different tree. If the tree is the same price or higher the 10% restocking fee would be waived and the customer is responsible for return shipping. We offered our return label at $35.00 per box for return shipping or they could look into their own traceable shipping method. The customer refused this option as they did not want to pay the return shipping back for the exchange option. If customer wants to return a tree without verifying an issue with the product, then they are subject to our standard return policy. We will not make exceptions to the policy without verifying a product is defective as being claimed. We have taken note of this complaint and will have a supervisor contact the customer to discuss the matter and see if some kind of resolution can be reached. Regards, Treetopia Customer Service

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing concerns and policies surrounding non-delivery of products ordered. December 25, 2013, I placed an online order #XXXXX for several items including: a 6" full Baby Blue Christmas tree, a 6" full Winter White Christmas tree, a 24" colourful wreath, a 3" mini colourful tree, 2 tree storage bags, and a wreath storage bag. Treetopia promptly processed my order on December 26, 2013. December 31, 2013 I called and spoke with ********, a supervisor at Treetopia in regard to my concerns with the tree storage bag. She told me there was nothing they could do to assist me with my concerns as the bags on their web site indicate they are meant to store 6"-9" foot trees. They don't state whether these are slim, full or palm trees. Regardless, I purchased two trees in past with Treetopia and had great service to this point. I attempted to switch my 7" full tree with the 6" full tree to store in this particular bag, and there was more bag then tree, and made storage difficult because it took up most of my storage, and kept slumping over. My fiancé struggled to put it away, and had great difficulty. I expressed to ******** these two new bags which are identical to the one I bought from them won't work very well for the new trees and I am concerned they will do more damage then good. Needless to say, she did nothing to help. Frustrated with her lack of concern, I contacted FedEx and spoke with ******* at the Montreal, Canada call centre and was advised I could refuse the packages and that they would be returned to Treetopia. She provided two file numbers *********** for 6 items) and *********** for one item. I agreed with this resolution and called back and spoke to ********'s supervisor which was ****** ***** stated this would not be in my best interest (I was unaware of their return policy because it tells you nothing when you place an online order, you have to go back and read up on it) she stated I would be charged a 10% restocking fee, plus $50 for every returned parcel in this case there was 7 packages. She did offer to give me a 10% discount given I am a repeat customer and she said they appreciate my business and told me to contact FedEx right away to have them continue with the delivery. I immediately did so. In my opinion, the 10% discount at least covered the cost of one of the bags and I left the call feeling somewhat neutral. January 2, 2014, I received one package from FedEx under tracking number # XXXXXXXXXXXX for a wreath storage bag without any instance. January 3, 2014, I went on FedEx's website to track the second parcel which contained the remaining 6 pieces under tracking number # XXXXXXXXXXXX. The website indicated it was scheduled to be delivered January 7, 2014. I then contacted FedEx to have the delivery date rescheduled due to scheduling conflict, and was told it was impossible because the packages were in transit in Ohio being returned to sender - after I previously contacted them to tell them not to. I had the opportunity to speak with *****, a supervisor/manager and he said there was nothing they could do to intercept my order, that it was on a packed 18-foot trailer. I explained to him that *****, a FedEx representative from the ******** call centre, assured me the cancellation had been reversed, not to worry, and the packages would arrive on schedule. I asked ***** if their calls are monitored and if he could go back and verify my conversation with ***** (because he said they don't guarantee anything with a reversal of a cancellation which was news to me). He said only some of their calls are monitored and not all of the calls are. This is one instance where calls should be monitored by FedEx and clearly was not. Needless to say, I have a $960 Canadian dollar Visa bill, a very expensive wreath storage bag, and additional charges pending from Treetopia (10% restocking fee at $65 USD, $50 x 6 packages at $300 USD) because of the company Treetopia contracts their shipping out to and I am out a whole lot of product and a lot of grief to contend with.

Desired Settlement: My order reshipped, at no cost to me to be absorbed either by Treetopia, or FedEx, 10% restocking fee waived, and $50 fee per piece (6 items) also waived. I also would like a new order processed, because I fear with all the handling given the distance that my packages will arrive damaged.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How could this company not be aware of this complaint when the Better Business Bureau attempted to contact them twice, and both times this company failed to address my complaint? This is a pattern that has been established by the Better Business Bureau when it comes to this company and how they fail to address complaints made not just by me, but other customers as well. I think the failure to respond to customer complaints illustrates how this company will ''cherry pick'' which issues they will address. Additionally, I contacted ***** to discuss the complaint on or about February 10th, at which point she just laughed and I have since escalated this matter to the local DA's office for further investigation into their unethical and dishonest business practices. If this company truly appreciates the frustration I have experienced in regard to my order, they would do everything possible to ensure 100% customers satisfaction. They have no idea what true customer service is, once this company makes the sale, that's where it stops. It's no longer about the customer, but doing everything possible to find whatever loopholes they can to avoid meeting or exceeding customer expectations. What amazes me is how they continue to stay in business just based on product alone. Furthermore, everything that this company has asked me to do, I did within my own power and control. FedEx assured me the cancellation request to cancel this shipment would be cancelled. FedEx would never have been involved in the first place should the initial manager, ********, I spoke with dealt with this matter in a professional and customer centred manner. It would seem from the top down this company needs an outside management consulting company to go in and review their business practices and perform an extensive audit, and consult the company on how to make world class customer service, just that. They do everything possible to defer and put it all on the customer, when consequently it is a direct result of their actions/inactions. They did nothing to work with Canadian customers when it comes to excessive charges and billing of return goods. The bags are designed for trees on the larger end of the scale. They do not fit 6 foot trees, and as I have said before I had a full size tree, not a pencil, slim, or palm tree, I can just imagine those customers who have purchased these bags who have much smaller density trees. My husband struggled with the excess fabric to get it into storage (with a previous sized bag that fit a little better for a 7-foot tree) and the fabric was bunching up, slumping over and wouldn't store nicely at all. I called once we discovered this, prior to receiving the shipment and was given a lot of static, and a migraine after this call. I explained to ******** this was unsatisfactory, because I would have to pay out of my own pocket to either return or refuse each carton. How is this resolving my problem, by incurring additional fees for faulty bags that accommodate trees of a larger size? Interesting, the company now offers a wider range selection of storage bags from a different supplier (both staff and management know very little about the storage bags or their supplier, because I had tried to ask questions prior to purchasing them) and bags that fit up to 7.5 foot trees. When I spoke to *****, the second time (same evening, within a half hour time frame of speaking with ********), ***** agreed to refund the 10% restocking fee to my credit card as a good will credit and for being a repeat customer and wanting me to be ''happy''. I did everything in my power to ensure the packages were not returned and was assured by FedEx they would not return them. I viewed the 10% restocking fee as way to at least cover the cost of one of the storage bags that I was unhappy with, and felt neutral with the proposed resolution with ***** at the time we spoke. FedEx delivered the wreath storage bag, on January 6, 2014 but failed to deliver the six other pieces (one of the pieces included a wreath to store in the wreath storage bag) despite the tracking notification indicating they were going to deliver them to my address on January 7, 2014. I only discovered the same day of delivery on January 7, 2014, by phone that they were being returned despite the tracking notification indicating they were scheduled for delivery (I provided Treetopia with a copy of this documentation). Treetopia should be arguing this with their shipping contractor, FedEx and not me since they dropped the ball in cancelling the cancellation request. Once again this company fails to address any issues or take any responsibility with their shipping supplier they contract their shipping with. At this point, because this company has a large commercial shipping account with FedEx this company needs to establish a point of contact in regard to ensuring open communication and verification of what's going on, and/or what both the company and/or customer require. This company doesn't present the ''return'' information up front at the time the customer clicks ''submit'' of their order. Rather, the customer only discovers once they encounter a problem by phone and then (and only then) is directed to their ''returns'' section of their website. I don't believe any customer would read up on their policies prior to placing an order (especially if a repeat customer who has had good experiences in past). I believe the majority of customers believe their order will be processed smoothly and without incident. I come back to the same principal, this company should be doing more to work with their customers more favorably rather than hinder the relationship. Word of mouth is always a powerful tool when it comes to future business. Based on this experience, which has carried on for almost two months, I will NEVER place another order with this company again. Additionally, if you review the Facebook page for this company, you will see a mix of customer feedback and experiences. Those who have negative experiences as I have, document the same common denominators of poor customer service and/or product. I tried multiple times to interject when ***** spoke AT me. Consequently, I the call was disconnected when I was unable to get one word in edge wise. There was also a delay when I said hello prior to ***** speaking (almost like a telemarketing call) which is indicative the call may have been recorded. Why else would ***** speak at me, run off everything she needed to say without the customer being able to mutually participate in the call and/or resolution. If this company had any regret in regard to my order, they would take responsibility in rectifying it. Clearly, the company continues to deflect, and refuses to take any ownership for faulty product (the tree storage bags), and poor customer service (from management down to front line).

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Treetopia said dispose the damaged tree. But no replac avail.Now they want more $$ for dif tree & require donate receipt for disposed tree refund/exch I purchased Sassy Sapphire Blue Tinsel tree on Treetopia.com January 13, 2014. Tree arrived looking like damaged return or floor model. not properly packed, broken-missing-unraveling branches, broken caps for tree ends, crushed tinsel. I wrote Treetopia & they responded with request for detailed pictures of damages/problems. I received email from Treetopia thanking me for pictures. Next, I received a phone message stating they would refund or replace tree, BUT that they would require me to donate old tree & send them donation receipt first. I responded with email saying I wanted replacement. I explained how difficult it would be for me to donate tree (as donation places near me require bringing items to them or to street level for pick up). I am disabled cancer patient & it is impossible for me to bring tree downstairs. In email to Treetopia I also expressed my shock & disbelief over this very strange & unsettling condition on resolution offer. I've never heard of company demanding a customer (who had rec'd damaged/used item), to do work of donating item for them. It is not acceptable to require already disappointed customer (a customer who in good faith purchased item that was supposed to be new & not damaged) to do legwork for company by donating a damaged item to charity & retrieving receipt for company's tax write off. (in addition, it's pretty impossible for me to do such a thing, even if it were an acceptable practice (which it's not). I wrote to back asking them to please send pre-paid return label for tree (because fed-x will come upstairs to pick up). TreeTopia responded with following email.. ******@treetopia.com writes: Dear *************, Thank you for contacting us. We have submitted this information through ticket number XXXXX, and we assure you that we will contact you by sending an email or by calling you to confirm that we have processed and shipped the replacement of your 7' Sassy Sapphire Blue Tinsel Christmas Tree Unlit.Please note that you no longer need to return the original tree you received and you can simply dispose or keep it. We appreciate your patience and cooperation as we work on a resolution to your tree issue. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us and we will be ***** to help you. Warmest Regards, ** Treetopia Customer Service Sounded ok But tree was not in stock on website. So I wrote back ** to suggest if there were no more Blue Tinsel Trees, my second choice would be "some like it hot"unlit7' tree. I received acknowledgement email from **... the response "We appreciate your reply. We have noted your request to get 7' Some Like It Hot (Pink tree) Unlit if the 7' Sassy Sapphire Blue Tinsel Christmas Tree Unlit.We will notify you as soon as we receive word on the replacement. Thank you for your patience." Next I received call from rep "********". She said if I wanted pink tree I need pay $40 more. I said would rather have Sapphire replacement tree.She said Sapphire tree was clearance item not available. She said pick another at same price, or get refund, but insisted on donation receipt for old tree first. I was baffled. I quoted to her email ** had sent. She found it in system & read it. Then she put me on hold for very long time. When ******** came back she told me I could not get refund or exchange without donation receipt, & that email was wrong. What upset me most was when she started getting personal & questioning why I couldn't have family member/friend bring tree down. When ******** suggested I call fire dept for pick up, that's when I'd had enough. I told her that if there was to be anymore contact, it need be in writing I paid for new Tree I received something obviously damaged & possibly used I was told dispose of tree & that I'd be sent replacement Now being told no replacement, & if I want refund or a different tree, I must find way to give treetopia donation receipt for tree they told me to dispose.

Desired Settlement: After the uncomfortable phone call from Treetopia's Brittney this morning (which left me quite upset all day during my appointments at Sloan Kettering), I am done. It's such a shame... My faith in this company is gone. I don't feel like I could trust what might show up even if they did send the pink tree. All I want now is my money ($148.88) refunded for the damaged tree they told me to dispose of. Thank you.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the refund resolution from Treetopia. However, I must say that their unjustifiable, frustrating, and time consuming hesitations to correct this issue were far larger than them simply not seeing the BBB complaint at first. The treatment I received from that rep on the phone was horrible and manipulative. In addition, I REPEATEDLY, and in writing, requested a refund and WAS simply ignored. I am grateful to the BBB for being the catalyst in motivating this company to finally do the right thing.

3/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your order number is XXXXX. Poor quality/Defective Tree. 20Biltmore PineTree6'Narrow 45"Clear400800+ Sections/Lights defective. On 10/22/2011, I placed an order (#XXXXX) to purchase a Billmore Pine Tree for $229.00 (Code #XXXXXXX, 20Biltmore PineTree6'Narrow 45"Clear400800+). We received the tree in a timely fashion and used for the Christmas season in 2011. The tree was then taken down and stored in the provided bag in a dry storage area. In early December of 2012, we took the tree out of storage to find that 1 section of the 3 piece tree (the middle one) was broken. All the lights were not functioning properly. We also examined the top and bottoms sections to find that ~25% of the lights on those sections were no longer functioning. I contacted Treetopia and provided them with pictures of the broken section. They said they would replace the middle section, but not any other lights. The lights were out of the 1 year warranty period. However, due to their policy, they do not do any warranty replacements, during the holiday season. They stated they would replace the middle section in February. So unfortunately, we had a Christmas tree with only half of its lights functioning. In February, contacted Treetopia to determine when my warranty replacement would arrive. They stated at the time, that unfortunately my tree section was not in stock so I would not receive my replacement section until late summer, 4-5 months after the initial February date. (I did receive the replacement section August of 2013). However, in order to make up for the long wait time, I asked if they could provide some complimentary replacement light bulbs so I could fix the lights on the other sections of the tree. They initially said no, they would not do that. After multiple customer service calls/emails, they reluctantly agreed to ship 2 packages of replacement bulbs for the hassle of waiting until late summer for a replacement tree section. They stated however, that those bulbs were currently not in stock and that I should request them in early Fall so they can ship them out. On 10/07/13, I contacted Treetopia to please send the replacement bulbs they had promised earlier. They created ticket **** for the blubs on 10/07/2013. They replied on 10/09 stating that the replacement bulbs were out of stock again and that I should ''Rest assured that you are part of our list that needs to be contacted when it becomes available.'' Three weeks have passed and I still have not received bulbs or information about the status of my order. At this point I'm sick of dealing with poor customer service for poor product. I waited over 9 months to receive a replacement section and another 2 months with delays for some replacement bulbs that I could buy in big box store. I will admit openly and honestly that I have been very angry and used foul language both over the phone and via email while communicating with Treetopia's customer service, but it's very frustrating to wait over a year for a product that is functional. It's even more frustrating to have business commitments broken multiple times; the first -a delay from Feb to Aug for replacement section, the second - multiple delays for replacement bulbs.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I an not impressed with the product or the service I've received from Treetopia. What I would like is a full refund for my purchase for the amount of $229.00.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Treetopia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart