BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/1998

Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining

Phone: (650) 758-2237Fax: (650) 758-11891700 Hillside Boulevard, ColmaCA 94014-2801

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers card rooms & fine dining.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/1998

BBB has determined that Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It is with utter shock and great displeasure I am forced to contact you about the blatant cheating by your card dealer/ house player, violation of my
January 17 at approximately 7 p.m. I came to the Lucky Chances Casino (hereafter referred to as 'LCC') to have fun and win. I lost a $300 bet the black jack table, and moved on to a double hand poker table. I placed a 600 bet at that table, I looked at my cards, I put them down (I did not set my hand) and I said 'house way' to the dealer.
The dealer turned over his hand, he had 10 & 9 up front and of his last five cards the highest was a King high. My hand was Q, 10 (first two cards) pare of Jacks in the back. I played this hand for years and the dealer has never pulled two cards from the top of the cards that were laid down house way and set the cards to a losing hand. He pulled 7 & 3 off the top cards face down, setting the cards to losing hand. It has been my experience in all the years that I've played that the dealer turns over all seven cards, the dealer makes the best hand possible for the person betting to win. The dealer put the 7 &3 up front and put the Q, 10, (2) Jacks, and another card in back, and the dealer mistakenly stated I did not win and I had a push. Everyone at the table won (except the highest bet of $600 I placed).
My initial reaction was shock and tried conversing with the dealer's obvious mistake, after he basically ignored me, I asked to speak with a manager. The other betters at the table were also shocked and we conversed with one another about the complete blunder & outright cheating by the dealer. When a manager arrived at the table there was discussion among the dealer, manager and myself - my hand was shown back to me on the table. The first manager was reluctant to get involved and did not provide me with any satisfaction. At that time I asked to see the tape, the manager stated that I could not see the tape and that the he would look at it and make a decision. When the manager returned his decision was not in my favor. I emphatically disagreed and asked to speak with his manager. This manager had security alert the Operations Shift Manager, ***** ******
After telling Mr. ***** the grave mistake and situation, he tried to explain away the incident as house policy and seemed oblivious to what I had experienced stating he could not give me the money that I won, 'where would it come from?' along with continued other nonsensical rhetoric. At this point I concluded that cheating is 'house way'. Mr. ***** eluded that maybe this was my first time at LCC, I let Mr. ***** know that I had come there for years, and if the policy is that ''house way'' depicts a losing hand for the patron – no one would ever let a hand be handled by the 'house' dealer. Mr. ***** threatened to call the Colma Police Department as I tried to reason with your staff. This was infuriating and unacceptable. There was no resolution in site as this discussion continued, and I was abruptly escorted out the door my staff and followed by security workers.
I got in my car and drove to the door letting your staff know I would be filing a complaint. I got out of my car to make my point, management staff requested to see my identification and allowed this – claiming they wanted to verity that I had been there before. The person that requested my Identification, took it upon himself to take my ID back inside the LCC, violating me further, and did not return for several minutes, violating me further. When he returned he stated he could not find a record of me ever coming to LCC. I explained again, that I have used the ATM machines many times included a few nights prior.
When I asked for names/cards of the other managers, Mr. ***** stated I was not going to get anyone else's name.Throughout all the many years I have played this same hand, it has not ever been the practice of any of the gaming establishments that I have frequented to create a losing hand from cards that have been laid down, 'House Way'.

Desired Settlement
I have listed options for Lucky Chances Casino to restore my long standing faith in the integrity of your gaming practices and business operations and to settle this matter without further actions. I am demanding that one or equivalent take place:

ïïïïïïï The original winnings of $600 (six hundred dollars) be issued to me immediately with an apology, in addition to $2500 (twenty five hundred dollars) for the deplorable treatment of a customer, degradation of character, and mishandling of the blatant cheating of the dealer that led to exorbitant frustration, undue stress, and disdain for LCC

ïïïïïïï The original winnings of $600 (six hundred dollars) be issued to me immediately, in addition to $3500 (thirty five hundred dollars) for the deplorable treatment of a customer, degradation of character, and mishandling of the blatant cheating of the dealer that led to exorbitant frustration, undue stress, and disdain for LCC
ïïïïïïï Forty five hundred dollars ($4,500) for the deplorable treatment of a customer, degradation of character, and mishandling of the blatant cheating of the dealer that led to exorbitant frustration, undue stress, and disdain for LCC

Moving forward in a timely manner, I expect acknowledgement of receipt within 10 days and a satisfactory resolution within 30 days from the date of this letter.

However skeptical I may be due being cheated of my winnings, the crude customer service and degrading treatment I've received, resulting in financial loss and mental stress. I am writing to allow for a fair and just resolution through what I expect to be more responsible business practices of Lucky Chances Casino, than those of its' customer service practices.

Business Response
We are in receipt of this complaint regarding the incident that occurred on January 17, 2015. Several things need to be set straight: (1) The individual's accusation that he was "cheated" is inaccurate and untrue. The dealer was following long established house rules and procedures regarding the setting of hands. (2) This individual refuses to accept any responsibility for his own actions in the matter, including failing to read the rules and regulations guide prior to making a wager and failing to stop the dealer if he did not wish his hand set "top 2". (3) Established rules must be followed by Lucky Chances for all parties involved. The rule that takes precedent in this case is as follows: "Players are responsible for the final setting of their hands. A player's request for setting a hand "house way" will be honored only if the player has not yet touched the cards". A ruling in this individual's favor would have, in essence, been a ruling against the other player(s) (acting as banker) when they did nothing wrong. (4) While this individual's interpretation is that he "lost" $600 due to his failure to set his own hand, in fact his hand was a "push". There is no record of how much the other player(s) wagered as Player-Dealer (banker) and therefore it is unknown how much of his wager would have been covered (paid by the guest wagering as Player-Dealer). (5) It was due to this individual's actions of being extremely disruptive to other guests, loud, argumentative and unwilling to discuss the issue in a civil manner that resulted in him being asked to leave.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Casinos, Restaurants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/03/1998Business started: 06/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Gambling Control Commission
1110 K Street Ste. 210
Sacramento, CA95814
(916) 263-0700
http://www.cgcc.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of GE-001108 for this company, issued by California Gambling Control Commission. Their web address is http://www.cgcc.ca.gov.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rommel Medina (Chairman & CEO)Mr. Ryell Medina (Vice-Chairman)Mr. Robert Reyes (President)
Number of Employees

600

Business Category

Casinos, Restaurants

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining

1700 Hillside Boulevard

Colma, CA 94014-2801

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1700 Hillside Boulevard 

    Colma, CA 94014-2801(650) 758-2237

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lucky Chances Casino & Fine Dining is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Casinos

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.