BBB Accredited Business since

Abbey Carpet Of San Francisco

Phone: (415) 752-6620 2900 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118 http://www.abbeycarpets.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers flooring, carpet, and window covering installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abbey Carpet Of San Francisco meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Abbey Carpet Of San Francisco include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abbey Carpet Of San Francisco
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954
Business Management
Mr. T.C. Mcmechen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. T.C. Mcmechen, Owner
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New


Additional Locations

  • 2900 Geary Blvd

    San Francisco, CA 94118 (415) 752-6620

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wanting info on how to care for new carpet and questions on it's appearance since installation. No call backs received after promised. Purchase-6-23-13, installed-8-29-13, order# *****, sales rep-******-store manager. Immediately after install the wool carpet became very fuzzy, at times, with rolls 1-2 inches long of fuzz forming. A few weeks after install I called store and clerk explained that this could be loose fuzz surfacing that will eventually subside. I called manufacturer to get info and they referred me to vendor and gave me no info on carpet. Fuzz balls still continue and early December '13 called store and ****** answered and said she was too busy then with customer and will call vendor and research and return my call with info about the carpet fuzz. No call back was received. Jan. '14 called store and clerk said ****-VP of company will call back to discuss and possibly come to home and examine the problem. It's been 1 month and have received no response from store. Problem of fuzz balls continues. When vacuuming we have only used hard floor setting, no brushes have been on carpet.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive customer service. I would like to understand the fuzzing of the installed carpet and what to expect of its appearance as the fuzzing and fuzz balls continue. This phenomena with this carpet, especially the forming of 2" long fuzz balls, was not explained to us when we were looking at carpet choices so it is a surprise to us. Can we expect the fuzzing/fuzz balls to subside eventually? What can we do to care for it other than what we have done to use the no brush vacuum setting? Will carpet cleaning process add more fuzzing? Why was this problem with this weave of carpet not explained to us when we were looking at carpet choices at the store with the manager ******? As well, more than once ****** has promised that the warranty info for this purchase would be sent to us and it has never been sent. We would like to receive warranty info. Confidence with the integrity with this store and has been lost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, Owner Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ********************** Dear Mrs. **********, I would like to schedule a preliminary inspection this Friday to assess the situation with your carpeting and make some recommendations. If there is in fact some defect with the carpeting itself, we can send a state licensed inspector to take a report. That being said with a boutique wool carpet like this, there aren't warranties beyond what would be initial obvious defects that we can present to the mill, however our labor is guaranteed for 2 years. Most wool carpet sheds for the first few months. Little has changed in the way that wool carpeting has been made for 50 years, however the amount of suction that vacuum are capable of has changed dramatically, and as we told you this is will causes excessive fuzzing. Turning off the beater bar and reducing the suction will stop the vacuum from pulling the wool from the backing. there are some good resources online for care of wool carpeting. I Thought this passage **** Unique carpets was the most clear and concise... "Vacuuming The most important maintenance step is proper vacuuming. Regular and thorough vacuuming at least once a week and more often in heavy traffic areas will remove soil and dirt particles before they become imbedded into the pile of the carpet. An upright Vacuum cleaner with rotating beater bar and brush or canister type with a power head are the most efficient cleaners. The head of the vacuum cleaner should be adjusted so that the brushes barely touch the surface of the carpet. The easiest way to do this is to place a sheet of paper under the vacuum and adjust it until you hear the beater bar hitting the paper. DO NOT use a self-adjusting vacuum since they adjust too deeply into the pile and will cause excessive fuzzing. DO NOT use an overly stiff brush on the beater bar since this too will cause excessive fuzzing. DO NOT use any vacuum made by Oreck or Dyson as these will cause excessive fuzzing. No claims will be accepted when an Oreck or Dyson vacuum is used. It is important to remember to move the vacuum cleaner slowly to allow time to remove soil, and above all, make sure that the dust bag is never more than half full. Remember you cannot over vacuum, and vacuuming should begin the day the carpet is installed" I apologize for the disconnect, please let me know if you would be willing to let me inspect the carpet. ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Abbey Carpet Of San Francisco
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)