BBB Accredited Business since

Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner

Additional Locations

Phone: (510) 614-6833 View Additional Phone Numbers 3041 Teagarden St, San Leandro, CA 94577 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stanleysteemer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides carpet and rug cleaning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1991 Business started locally: 09/01/1991 Business incorporated 06/13/1994 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard James, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard James, Owner
Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Tile & Grout Cleaning Upholstery and Rug Cleaning Hardwood Floor Maintenance Auto Upholstery Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Semaj, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • 15091 Wicks Blvd

    San Leandro, CA 94577 (800) 783-3637

  • 3041 Teagarden St

    San Leandro, CA 94577

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company failed to delivery on its promise/warranty. Appointment window was between the hours of 1pm to 4pm. No show. No communication. Company performed initial carpet cleaning service. Per their warranty, company will come back out and service area again if any spots comes back within 10 days. Website quote: "We are happy to work with you to correct any situation that may arise. In some cases this can mean spot cleaning specific areas of concern or even completely re-cleaning the area in question. In the end, we're not satisfied until you are." Appointment was scheduled between 1pm to 4pm for 10/16/14. No show. Contacted company and **** on the phone cannot give me any ETA (estimated time of arrival). I cannot wait for them any longer since I have to pick up my kids from school. No communication from the company of any kind to let me (the customer) know that they were running late. When asked to speak to management, none was available. All they can do is to take a message and have someone call me back in 1-2 business days. So in my case (since today is Thursday), I will not be able to talk to someone until Monday (2 business days). This is a vacant home. I have open house scheduled for this weekend. Waiting till Monday to speak to a manager is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. Original goal was to have carpet professional cleaned so that my vacant home can "show" better. Goal was not achieved since I cannot have this issue resolved until Monday, in which my open house event will have already passed. I wasted 3 hours and strongly feel that I should be compensated for my time. I did not do anything wrong and followed all directions. I know that Stanley Steemer is 100% at fault here for not showing up to appointment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com 10/16 @ 3:41pm Dispatch called and sent truck to Mr **** residence, while techs were en route the job was cancelled by call center, Mr **** made complaint on 10/18. GM called Mr **** and he was told that Mr **** wanted compensation for his time. GM told him that he would investigate the incident and get back to him. Mr **** called me on 10/21 and relayed his complaint I assured him that his apt would be rescheduled for the time and day of his choice. He is on schedule for 11/1 at 9am. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please note that I did not cancel the techs at 3:41pm. I've called their call center at 4:15pm. (This is bad communication. I should not have to call them, they should have called me and let me know that they are running late) They said that techs will take about another hour to get to my house. That will put the techs at 5:15pm, 1 hour and 15 minutes late. GM also did not respond to my request. GM and I spoke on Friday. GM promised me that he will get back to me Friday, or latest Monday. I have to call the regional manager Tuesday 10/21 to schedule the 11/1 at 9am. The GM failed to communicate back to me as promised. The company still have yet to compensate me for the 3 lost hours (failed no show). Will discuss on 11/1 when they are onsite. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/03) */ On November X XXXX Our technicians were sent at 9am to do a courtesy call at Mr ****'s address. His concerns were "permanent stains that were documented on original apt", the areas were treated and re cleaned again pointed out that they were permanent. The conversation that Mr **** had with ******* *****, ******* made it clear that he was the owner and at that point Mr **** made no request for compensation and by scheduling the courtesy visit at a day and time of Mr. ****'s convenience we were under the impression that we had taken care of his concerns. This was satisfied on Saturday November 1st. We value him as a customer and would further extend a $50 gift certificate for services in Alameda County. Hoping this will resolve this complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)