BBB Accredited Business since

Broadway Union 76, Inc.

Phone: (510) 655-7662 3943 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94611 http://www.broadwaytouchlesscarwash.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and car wash services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Broadway Union 76, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broadway Union 76, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Broadway Union 76, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1979 Business started locally: 05/01/1979 Business incorporated 11/01/1985 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clement K Leung, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clement K Leung, President
Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Car Wash & Polish Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Broadway Car Wash

Additional Locations

  • 3943 Broadway

    Oakland, CA 94611 (510) 655-7662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On sat May 30 I took my car to the Broadway union 76 for a deluxe car wash at a cost of $29. The car was not washed to any reasonable standard. As stated I took my car to the facility for a deluxe car wash at $29. The car came out of the wash with multiple, approx 60, flecks of small bird poop. The workers spent some time hand drying the car which reduced this somewhat but when my car was returned to me as ready it still was covered in many marks and could not be considered clean by anyone's reasonable standards. I brought this up to the worker and said I should have it waxed. My understanding of car detailing is that waxing is best on a car that is already clean. Mine was not. I decided I could Di a better job at home and went home immediately and washed the car myself. The reason I did not do this in the first place is that I am trying to reduce my home water consumption due to CA drought. It was not difficult to produce a better result on my own, in fact, a quick wash of 15 minutes made a huge improvement. This indicates to me just how sub par the service I received was. I returned on Monday, June 1 yo the car wash to ask for a refund and he glay out told me they have a no refund policy and that their service is not for everyone. He recommended I should have had a more expensive detailing service. I actually believe a basic deluxe wash should have taken my car to a reasonable level of clean. I was not expecting my car to look waxed or showroom flawless. That would be unreasonable. But I do think a customer should expect clean to a degree when it is not still covered with bird mess such that it needs to be redone. I think a basic level of clean that doesn't look like it requires a redo is not unreasonable. The manager stated a refund could not be issued because the service had already been provided and I disagree that it had not been adequately provided. Again, no expectations on my part of showroom standards. Just a car that looked washed. I feel ripped off that I paid $29 for a car wash to have to go home and do it myself. Waste of time, money and water.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $29. Credit for service not acceptable. I have no confidence in their service or their attitude to customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***************@yahoo.com We apologize for your inconvenience. We will refund you $29.00. With that said, we would like for you to understand the level of expectation for our services. Our services range from $29 for a basic wash up to $299.00 for a 4 hours complete full detail with many options for what is needed in between. Many of our customers purchase unlimited monthly washes because they understand their vehicle needs this maintenance on a daily/weekly basis. We offer more thorough cleaning based on what is assessed to the customer's car which is why we suggested doing a hand wax for you to eliminate the excess grimes and dirt on the paint. We would not have recommended the basic wash with the condition of your vehicle and because the recommendation was not followed, it led to a feeling of a subpar wash. This is the same system for all full service carwashes. So if you happen to go to any full service carwash, please listen to their recommendations. We will send a check to your mailing address promptly. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept the response from the business and thank them for agreeing to refund the $29.00. However, I would suggest that if they have recommendations to make to the customer about the level of service that will be required, that this is expressed *before* the service is purchased. In my case, I did not ignore any recommendation - none was given until I raised a complaint. If they have recommendations to make, please, do not wait until after the car service has been rendered and the customer has complained. Train the person making the initial transaction to make an assessment and we can all avoid disappointment. I look forward to receiving the check and appreciate the response.

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vendor claimed that my car was I eligible for the monthly prepaid car wash service. Was denied both service and a refund for the unused amount. On june17 I enquirer about a unlimited car wash plan at this establishment. I reviewed the options with the clerk and stated that this would be for my vehicle that was used with the ride sharing service"uber." The clerk said that "this was a great plan for uber." I prepaid with a credit card for one month's service and was told that my card would be charged every month on the "anniversary date." I and my spouse took the car in at different times (about once a week) with no issues. The card was charged a second time , as agreed to, on July 17. On 29 July when my spouse brought in the vehicle it displayed the uber logo. It was accepted and taken to the wash. When he went to the cashier to complete the transaction, he was informed that the car was ineligible for unlimited washes at that rate as it was an "uber." He could pay the difference between what was prepaid and the 99.00 plan for "commercial" vehicles or stop bringing in the car for service. He was told that the unused days were not eligible for refund as there is a "no refund" policy in force.

Desired Settlement: 40.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/19) */ Dear ******** *******, I apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused you. I do need more information from you since I do not see your name or number in my customer records. Please give me the name on the plan, your vehicle's license plate, the last four digits of your credit card you used, your phone number and your anniversary date. It is in the signed agreement that we are able to cancel the plan at anytime, however I would like to look further into this matter to hope I can resolve this issue for you. Thank you. ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It was done either in my name, ******** ******* or my spouce's name, **** ******* . Same card ending in ***** Lic plate **** **** The phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX. Anniversary date is the 17th of each month. I contend that the cashier encouraged me to apply when I specified that it was for use as an uber. You are welcome to cancel at any time, however as this is a prepaid service I feel I have claim to the value of the unused days. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/08) */ Thank you for providing me with your info. The prorated amount from the day of termination (8/5/14) to your next anniversary day (9/17/14) is amounted to $15.36. In this case, we have to respectfully decline your request for refund of $40.00. I apologize for any confusion with our membership plans, and I would like to offer a free carwash (valued at $29) in a gift card for you. Please provide me with your mailing address and I can have that sent. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/10/08) */ Issue has been resolved. Partial restitution has been made by the vendor.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pay for unlimited carwashes/month, but they close the carwash for days/weeks at a time. When I ask for a credit they refuse. I pay $39.95 as a recurring credit card charge for unlimited car washes per month. They charge at the beginning of the month for the next four weeks of service. However, I have learned that this business routinely closes the car wash (not the whole gas station) sometimes for long periods of time (like a week or two) and you can't get your car washed. When I finally went back for the third time this month and the car wash was still closed the manager ****** ***** told me by phone it was in the 'membership contract' that they can close for as long as they want and don't have to refund your money. Is it even legal to charge for a service you cannot perform? Other patrons' Yelp reviews note the same business practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like this months membership fee of $39.95 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ We have to respectfully decline Ms. ******** ******'s request for refund. According to her records, Ms. ****** has washed her vehicle on March 4th and 14th. With our regular wash priced at $22, this exceeds the amount of her unlimited wash membership pricing for the month. As a member since October 2013, she has averaged 3.2 washes per month. Our carwash is currently remodeling to increase efficiency on our chemical and water usage. Mechanical issues are also being addressed to better serve our customers in the long run. We expect our members to cooperate and understand our situation through their signed contract when becoming a member, and we understand that opportunity cost is detrimental to our business. We are providing a hand wash service until completion of the remodel. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, my membership runs from the 8th of the month to the the following 8th so that the wash on the 4th was from the previous month's charge. Second, I was NEVER oferred a hand wash for my car. The only remedy oferred, after 10 minutes of discussion, was a free washing of my mats next time I came in. I would have been happy to accept a hand wash but that was not oferred on any of the three occasions I stopped in to the carwash while it was closed. Unfortunately, in the case of a monthly membership it is impossible to make good on service for the days that I needed a carwash and was unable to receive it. Those days are gone and I went elsewhere. As a middle ground, I would normally accept a free extension of the 10 days in question but I would be very uncomfortable to go back to this car wash. As you can see the management accepts no responsibility for closures AND falsely represents how they offered to remedy the situation. A middle ground would be to refund me partially for the month. I received exactly one car was during my last billing cycle (which began on March 8). Based on my use, that's worth $12. 48 a wash. As a middle ground I would accept a refund of $27. 45. This doesn't not account for the time and inconvenience I experienced going to the car wash three times over the month when the car wash was closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/02) */ We do apologize for the inconveniences. Our regular retail price for a wash is $22.00, however we will refund $27.45 in gas credit as requested. Please provide a mailing address to ***************************. We will send out a card once we have received an email. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Broadway Union 76, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)