BBB Accredited Business since

Napa Inn Bed & Breakfast

Phone: (707) 257-1444 View Additional Phone Numbers 1137 Warren St, Napa, CA 94559 http://www.napainn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bed and breakfast.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Napa Inn Bed & Breakfast meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Napa Inn Bed & Breakfast include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Napa Inn Bed & Breakfast
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1998 Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Brooke Boyer, President Mr. James Boyer, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brooke Boyer, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Bed & Breakfast Hotels

Alternate Business Names
The Napa Inn, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Changed term of deal/contract; put a restriction on usage of paid value of $320 to be used only on weekdays, which was not part of Fine Print. I bought a deal with Napa Inn through Living Social that I paid $320 for. The contact provided that even if I did not continue with the deal offered (2 nights at Napa Inn during a specific time period), that I would be entitled to the full value of what I paid toward a stay at Napa Inn. I requested to use that value of $320 toward a stay and was told that I could only use it on weekdays,which is not a condition in the contact. These are the terms: "The Napa Inn: A. February 21 to April 12: Two-Night Stay for Two, Any Day of the Week" The Fine Print Must book by 5/15/12 • Entire value must be used in a single visit • Limit one per purchaser, up to five additional as gifts • Reservations required and subject to availability • Merchant cancellation/re-scheduling policy of 10 days applies; voucher subject to forfeiture and a $15 processing fee, per room, is charged with the cancellation of any reservation • Vouchers include daily breakfast for two, two wine tasting vouchers to 12 select Napa wine tasting rooms, afternoon appetizers, evening desserts, port, and sherry, and complimentary parking and Wi-Fi • Limit one voucher per reservation • Not valid on existing reservations • Based upon double occupancy • Taxes/Resort fees not included; 14% taxes payable upon check-in. • Blackout dates 4/20-4/21, 5/24-5/27 Except where noted in the Fine Print: Cannot be combined with any other offer or promotion Tax and gratuity are not included PAID VALUE ($320.00) DOES NOT EXPIRE PROMOTIONAL VALUE ($320.00) EXPIRES: 06/20/2012" As you can see, there was no restriction on weekday use. Essentially, the merchant is changing the terms of the contract such that I would not be able to use it on days that I would like. I was tricked into buying this deal, both Living Social and Napa Inn took my money, and now they are not honoring the contract.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $320. I do not want to stay at their establishment anymore because it is a bed and breakfast inn where I might have to see these people who own it- who I am not happy with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@napainn.com The customer emailed me about 2 days before a holiday weekend (memorial day weekend) asking if he could use an expired voucher to pay for a room for the weekend. We were completely sold out and it was suggested that he use the voucher on weekdays. At that time we had no idea which promotion he had purchased as he only emailed the question and he indicated he had spent $320 for the deal. We had run four living social deals and the third one (August of 2013) was also for $320 and it did have the restriction that it could only be used Sunday through Thursday. I assumed that was what he had purchased. Later I discovered he purchased our first promotion which expired June 20th of 2012 and had blackout dates for memorial day weekend of 2012. I have been in dialogue with living social and they were also supposed to contact him. I have also emailed him to explain that we will honor it on weekends IF we have availability. Unfortunately, at this time of the year our weekend availability is pretty slim many weekends are already sold out till the middle of October. I suggested the gentle man CALL to choose a time that he can come and that we have availability. I have not at this time ever talked to him, it has all been email communication which has led to much miscommunication. Since the gentleman bought the voucher in February of 2012 and waited till three days before he wanted to come I can only guess that he doesn't have much time to travel and maybe feels he doesn't want to choose another date? I have asked him to call us so we can work out an alternative date and so that he can use the voucher. He had not given me the opportunity to make this right and find a suitable date. And as of this date I have never talked to him. I also do not have the authority to refund his money as that is between him and living social. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It appears there were many misunderstandings between us; I spoke with the owner and we worked out a resolution. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/06/03) */ I would like to reopen this case. I thought and hoped we resolved the matter, but the merchant is now trying to charge me more than what was quoted and also made an unauthorized charge to my credit card. I have sent two emails and have received no response. Please contact me ASAP. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/06/06) */ Copy of the first half of the confirmation to Po *****: May 31, 2014 ** ***** **** S. ********* Ave Apt *** *** ******** ** XXXXX USA Dear *** Thank you for your reservation with the Napa Inn. We look forward to your visit, and want you to know we will do everything possible to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. If you wish any special items during your stay, we have many available. These include our Spa packages, picnic baskets, our Sweetheart or Sweet Romance Special, or champagne in your room upon arrival. All of these packages and specials can be viewed on our web site, www.napainn.com. Should you choose any of these specials, please let us know at least one week in advance of your stay. If you are coming on a weekend or holiday period (especially May-October) we recommend you call and talk to an innkeeper about making dinner reservations for you at one of the fine restaurants we have near usunless you have done this at the time of booking. The details of your reservation are as follows: Arrival Date: Friday, August 22, 2014 Departure Date: Sunday, August 24, 2014 Room(s) Booked: The Chesney Suite #4 # of Nights: 2 # of Guests: 2 Quoted Price: $198.00 Taxes: $67.72 Total with Tax: $265.72 If the above information is NOT correct please contact us as soon as possible. Your card has been authorized for the taxes. These funds will be returned to your account within three to ten day, per your bank's policy. You will be charged for the total booking upon arrival. We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover, American Express, Travelers Checks (but no personal checks), and cash upon arrival. All room rates are based on one or two people in a room. If more than two people occupy one room there is a $40 charge per night per person (beyond the first two), regardless of age. If a friend or family member wishes to contact you during your stay with us, please have them call XXX-XXX-XXXX extension *** This guest booked a Friday/Saturday reservation in one of our smaller rooms for the first weekend in August. After a few hours she called me back and said "I've changed my mind, we'd like to come another weekend, August 22,23, and we want the room with the king bed, I think you have, at $249." The room she was referring to is the ******* Suite the lowest price room for the weekend in question, a room I had talked to her about before. My response was "No, it's $259" and she said "OK" and continued to book it. Not only did I tell her the correct price of $259 several times but it is very easy to see the rate on our website. If she went to the "guest rooms" page and clicked on the room and enter any available date up to August 28th it will show that the room is $259. After Aug 28th the price goes up to $299 a night. We sent a confirmation to her with the charges detailed out and a paragraph right below that explaining that we authorized her card for the taxes ($67.22) and that the funds would return to her account in a few days. We always authorize credit cards so that we know that they are good. We do not receive the funds and she has access to them after a few days. Then the guest pays when they arrive for the room and taxes. In this case the balance after we gave her a $320 credit for the living social voucher. She obviously did not read the confirmation if she thinks we "charged her". In her last email to us she asked we call her - we have tried three times now and her phone says she is not accepting calls. Living Social has also tried to call her with no success. Neither did she respond to an email which we explained the above information, before she reopened this complaint with you. We are now asking Living social to go ahead and give her a refund as there does not appear to be any way to reconcile this. I will send a copy of her confirmation letter to you in a separate email. ****** ***** Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As usual, the company has lied and modified what they have said and written. The quoted email they cite (to BBB) claiming that they have sent to me is NOT what they actually sent to me and I HAVE THE EMAIL PROOF OF WHAT THEY SENT. Clearly, they went back to modify what they had originally sent to make themselves look better here to the BBB. I know what I heard- ****** quoted $249 per night and I even wrote in in my notes and in my Google calendar the exact price and details. Right after I noticed the discrepancy between the price over the phone and what she charged in her confirmation which was sent the next day, I wrote back immediately about it- she did not reply until after I contacted Living Social and re-opened this case with the BBB. Also, I have been back and forth with them- email after email- they only respond after I reach out to BBB. I have the email proof of all of my attempted email contacts of that, as well. They have my address, phone number, and credit card number. I never authorized any charge on the card, and was never asked to allow any authorization. Just because they say on their confirmation that they charged my card doesn't mean that I authorized it. Permission is required. Also, my phone number has been in the signature line of all my emails to them. Never once did they reach out to me by phone as they claim. I communicated my nightmare of this experience to Living Social. Finally, Living Social agreed to refund my $320. This response here on BBB by Napa Inn, and ****** in particular, is offensive, incorrect, and demonstrative of their business practices. I am most thankful to BBB for existing, otherwise I would surely have been out my $320, in addition to having to suffer the extremely distressful situation by Napa Inn. In fact, this response here is even more distressing- not only have they continued to lie but they are attempting to paint a false picture of what actually transpired. Further, they have put my FULL NAME AND ADDRESS in their response, even though the BBB has indicated in another place to avoid putting personally identifying information for the public to see. I ask that the BBB please redact that portion of Napa Inn's response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Napa Inn Bed & Breakfast
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)