This business is not BBB accredited.

Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (650) 348-1454 Fax: (650) 348-1781 View Additional Phone Numbers 36 E 4th Ave, San Mateo, CA 94401 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail beauty supplies.
This company offers retail beauty supplies. This company offers retail beauty supplies. This company offers retail beauty supplies. This company offers retail beauty supplies. This company offers retail beauty supplies. This company offers retail beauty supplies.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated 09/27/1973 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Lori Silverstein, President Ms. Talia Turkenitz, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Silverstein, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Peninsula Beauty

Additional Locations


    1043 El Camino Real

    Redwood City, CA 94063


    1319 Burlingame Ave

    Burlingame, CA 94010


    18 Bayhill Shopping Ctr

    San Bruno, CA 94066


    36 E 4th Ave

    San Mateo, CA 94401


    4 Embarcadero Center, 100 Drumm Street

    San Francisco, CA 94105


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a product, the store would only give me credit. They did not inform me that there are no refunds, nor were there any signs stating no refun I purchased a hair product, the sales clerk did not mention there were no refunds when I bought the item. Sales date 2/18/14, cashier *******; inv. no. XXXXXX; charged on mastercard $26.15. I returned the product on 2/19/14, and cashier ****** told me there were no refunds only store credit. I said I wasn't told that, and she said the sales clerk would have told me, and she reiterated that more than once, and also said it was on my receipt more than once (it is, however, I hadn't noticed), and I said I didn't know that before I purchased the product the sales clerk didn't mentioned it to me. She repeated it, and I had said there's no signs here in the store at all about no refunds on returns, not near the register or counter. She insisted that I was told, and I said I was not told and the receipt is after the purchase. She said I could call the manager, and I said okay, and there was a phone right there at the counter (never had I seen that in a store before), so I asked her to call, and then she said oh, we can not call her after 5:30 p.m., I said well why not because she just had said I could call, and she said she didn't like my tone. She gave me the credit and the manager's card with her telephone no. The manager calls me later that night (after 5:30 pm), so I called back. Her name is *****, and asked what she could do to better service. I told her that the sales clerk did not mention there are no refunds, and she almost insisted her clerks always mention there are no refunds, and I told no, and told her there are no signs posted anywhere that state only store credit will be given on returns. She mentions it again, and I told her it is after the fact that one purchases that it is on the receipt. She says I harassed her sales girl, when in fact she must have got the story wrong, I had mentioned to the girl that she was harassing me because I had to say a number of times I wasn't told there were no refunds. In the end she told me that I can not go into her store. I did not do anything wrong, and now I can not go into the store to even use the credit which I don't think is legal because she has no grounds for that and shows that they do not even want customers to use the credit. I think they go through this probably quite a bit, and I would like to know if you have had complaints about this before (???). Unfortunately, I did not check "Yelp" until after I had been there. I must say, when I walked up to the counter with my return, they already knew it was a return and the two sales girls at the counter just stood there talking to each other like I didn't even exist, neither acknowledged me, or greeted me in a manner one would normally get going into a store. In retrospect, I suspect they have to deal with these returns and unhappy customers that haven't been told about their policy and do not like to do it.

Desired Settlement: They should refund me $26.15 for the product that did not do what the sales girl said it would do and what was advertised on the bottle, and because I was not informed prior to purchasing the product that there was only store credit on returns, and also because there were no signs posted that there are no refunds. The manager had mentioned many stores now give only store credit that many do not give refunds, so I asked her to name a few, but she didn't. Possibly this is why she was upset and didn't want me in the store, or because maybe they just want to keep the customers money.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)