BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (650) 348-1454Fax: (650) 348-1781View Additional Phone Numbers36 E 4th Ave, San MateoCA 94401-4002http://www.peninsulabeauty.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

This company offers retail beauty supplies.

BBB Accreditation

Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I returned a product, the store would only give me credit. They did not inform me that there are no refunds, nor were there any signs stating no refun
I purchased a hair product, the sales clerk did not mention there were no refunds when I bought the item. Sales date 2/18/14, cashier *******; inv. no. XXXXXX; charged on mastercard $26.15. I returned the product on 2/19/14, and cashier ****** told me there were no refunds only store credit. I said I wasn't told that, and she said the sales clerk would have told me, and she reiterated that more than once, and also said it was on my receipt more than once (it is, however, I hadn't noticed), and I said I didn't know that before I purchased the product the sales clerk didn't mentioned it to me. She repeated it, and I had said there's no signs here in the store at all about no refunds on returns, not near the register or counter. She insisted that I was told, and I said I was not told and the receipt is after the purchase. She said I could call the manager, and I said okay, and there was a phone right there at the counter (never had I seen that in a store before), so I asked her to call, and then she said oh, we can not call her after 5:30 p.m., I said well why not because she just had said I could call, and she said she didn't like my tone. She gave me the credit and the manager's card with her telephone no. The manager calls me later that night (after 5:30 pm), so I called back. Her name is *****, and asked what she could do to better service. I told her that the sales clerk did not mention there are no refunds, and she almost insisted her clerks always mention there are no refunds, and I told no, and told her there are no signs posted anywhere that state only store credit will be given on returns. She mentions it again, and I told her it is after the fact that one purchases that it is on the receipt. She says I harassed her sales girl, when in fact she must have got the story wrong, I had mentioned to the girl that she was harassing me because I had to say a number of times I wasn't told there were no refunds. In the end she told me that I can not go into her store. I did not do anything wrong, and now I can not go into the store to even use the credit which I don't think is legal because she has no grounds for that and shows that they do not even want customers to use the credit. I think they go through this probably quite a bit, and I would like to know if you have had complaints about this before (???). Unfortunately, I did not check "Yelp" until after I had been there. I must say, when I walked up to the counter with my return, they already knew it was a return and the two sales girls at the counter just stood there talking to each other like I didn't even exist, neither acknowledged me, or greeted me in a manner one would normally get going into a store. In retrospect, I suspect they have to deal with these returns and unhappy customers that haven't been told about their policy and do not like to do it.

Desired Settlement
They should refund me $26.15 for the product that did not do what the sales girl said it would do and what was advertised on the bottle, and because I was not informed prior to purchasing the product that there was only store credit on returns, and also because there were no signs posted that there are no refunds.
The manager had mentioned many stores now give only store credit that many do not give refunds, so I asked her to name a few, but she didn't. Possibly this is why she was upset and didn't want me in the store, or because maybe they just want to keep the customers money.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/06/1993Business started: 01/01/1959
Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1973, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Silverstein (President)Ms Talia Turkenitz (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Peninsula Beauty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc.

36 E 4th Ave

San Mateo, CA 94401-4002

To | From


5 Locations

  • 1319 Burlingame Ave 

    Burlingame, CA 94010-4108

  • 1043 El Camino Real 

    Redwood City, CA 94063-1632

  • 18 Bayhill Shopping Ctr 

    San Bruno, CA 94066-2902

  • 4 Embarcadero Center, 100 Drumm Street 

    San Francisco, CA 94105

  • 36 E 4th Ave 

    San Mateo, CA 94401-4002

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Peninsula Beauty Supply, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (650) 383-1454
  • (650) 299-1454
  • (650) 583-1454
  • (650) 343-1454
  • (415) 373-4088
  • (650) 342-1454

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Beauty Supplies & Equipment


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.